Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Barlett

I don't see how anyone can call the final with any real certainty. There is no clear gap between the teams (on paper at least) so all we can do is hope. Should be some build up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,797 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Saab Ed wrote: »
    How many All Irelands have ye lost now. Keep dreaming boy.

Less than Dublin.........
    (Dublin have lost 13, Mayo 10)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

kippy wrote: »

Count those wins lads. Up The Dubs.

You asked a simple question, trying to be smart. Turns out the dubs choked more often and on their home patch too!

We'll see how smart ya are on the 22nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

STB wrote: »
    My response was to a flawed statement that Mayo have improved more over the last year than Dublin.

Whats flawed about my logic ? Dublin have beaten Mayo twice this year in Croke Park.

They also beat Tyrone in the League Final this year.

Infact Dublin have lost only 1 of their 12 games this year (and that was by a point in Round 5 of the League).

You seem to think league results are a yardstick for championship football. I'm not sure how Dublin approach the league, but we use it as an opportunity to test out new systems and tactics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Mayo have lost 10 out of 13 All Ireland Football Finals.

Dublin have lost 13 out of 36 All Ireland Football Finals

Not that this should effect either current panel.

Mayo have lost 10 out of 13 All Ireland Football Finals.

Dublin have lost 13 out of 36 All Ireland Football Finals

Not that this should effect either current panel.
    A simple questions was asked and a simple answer given.

All that matters is the 22nd - I agree, the past means nothing.......but I didnt bring up the past.

I agree, the past means nothing.......

Well Mayos past anyway. Dublins on the other hand is supremely illustrious

It would want to be, playing all the major games on their own turf.

Still choked plenty times in front of their own.

Will be covered in red and green on the 22nd.
    We'll take the hill again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Mayo do not have the same quality of forwards as Kerry, no Mayo players are going to run at Dublin like JOD and Darran o Sullivan did today.
    But Mayo have a better set of backs than Kerry so they will not be giving Dublin as much space as they got today.

Again it may come down to kickouts, put pressure on Dublin kick outs and force Cluxton to kick to midfiled. There Mayo have an adavantage with the likes of AOS
    Plus unlike Kerry, Mayo will have 70+ minutes in them fittness wise and a good bench
    Keith Higgins and Kevin McLoughlin (if he finds form) might not agree.

Kickouts are the major area to be targeted in terms of disrupting Dublin's gameplan, serious discipline needed from the forwards for this to work.

Another area that turnovers can be obtained is when the ball drops short into Cluxton's hands, instead of pressurising him, guys should find a man and limit his options, force him to kick long out of his hands.

You seem to think league results are a yardstick for championship football. I'm not sure how Dublin approach the league, but we use it as an opportunity to test out new systems and tactics.

Is that some form of excuse for the defeats against the Dubs (twice), Tyrone Down and Kildare this year ?

We approach the league to win it just like Mayo who actually have a historic 11 (albeit 6 in the 30s) over Dublin's 10.

Bear in mind that I was simply responding to someone making some bald statement about how Mayo had improved over the Dubs this year.

It would want to be, playing all the major games on their own turf..

Sure its Mayos turf too. There's nobody left in Mayo. They're all teaching or on traffic duty up in the big smoke. That or they're digging holes in Woolich.

But to correct you, given that ye wouldn't have competed at the highest level very often, its fair to say its an amateur mistake, but Croker isn't Dublins home turf.

Is that some form of excuse for the defeats against the Dubs (twice), Tyrone Down and Kildare this year ?

We approach the league to win it just like Mayo who actually have a historic 11 (albeit 6 in the 30s) over Dublin's 10.

Bear in mind that I was simply responding to someone making some bald statement about how Mayo had improved over the Dubs this year.[/QUOTE

Fair enough I don't think either side can claim to have improved more than the other after all how do you measure something like that? Similarly as you know yourself past results mean nothing. Mayo beat Dublin last year, but it won't influence the result this year nor will the results in the league

A simple questions was asked and a simple answer given.

All that matters is the 22nd - I agree, the past means nothing.......but I didnt bring up the past.

I was just giving your answer some perspective.

I have been very impressed with Mayo in the championship this year. On those games, the Dubs have it all to do.

Given the nature of the population effect, you may actually get a good price on Mayo with the bookies should you feel strongly that championship form outweighs previous meetings and general performance in the league this year. With the Dubs you never get a decent price!

Sure its Mayos turf too. There's nobody left in Mayo. They're all teaching or on traffic duty up in the big smoke. That or they're digging holes in Woolich.

But to correct you, given that ye wouldn't have competed at the highest level very often, its fair to say its an amateur mistake, but Croker isn't Dublins home turf.

Indeed it's tough on the Dubs playing all their league and championship games away from home. Anyway the Hill will be divided for the final

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭mattser

Rebelheart wrote: »
    The Mayo team I remember could never rise to the occasion on All-Ireland Final day. They had some deep psychological inability to win, collapsing when the chances were thrown at them. The Meath-Mayo match years back was the worst example of this cultural trait.

Has the current Mayo team got the mentality to win?

I remember it well. Hopefully that failure will act to give them more bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

Could someone from Mayo tell me the story behind the "curse", please?

I've heard two of the team are still alive...

I write so I think there is great "comedy" potential in that story.

ie. Do Mayo fans want those two lads to die?

OR

Would you kill them in the next few weeks if it meant an All-Ireland?

GF is from Galway and she says a car/van/supporters went by a wedding, made lots of noise and priest/travellers(?) put curse on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

rockbeast wrote: »

OR

GF is from Galway and she says a car/van/supporters went by a wedding, made lots of noise and priest/travellers(?) put curse on...

It is said in Mayo that the curse will only be lifted when Margaret Thatcher is dead. Take from that what you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Cartman78

OR

At work so don't have access to the meme that people normally use in these type of situations...yer man from Futurama squinting.

Anyhoo, presuming you are serious.....yes, Mayo fans are desperate for an All-Ireland title...but killing 2 people or wanting them to pop their clogs to achieve that goal is a bit extreme to say the least

Cartman78 wrote: »
    At work so don't have access to the meme that people normally use in these type of situations...yer man from Futurama squinting.

Anyhoo, presuming you are serious.....yes, Mayo fans are desperate for an All-Ireland title...but killing 2 people or wanting them to pop their clogs to achieve that goal is a bit extreme to say the least

Therein lies the humour in a hypothetical comedy film...

Imagine one of the lads wanted mayo to win so much that he topped himself...

Ultimate fan??

Anyway enjoy the final.

Since 1989 Mayo have competed in seven All-Ireland finals whereas Dublin have competed in four. Fair to say that Dublin haven't "competed at the highest level very often" then as well?

As for Croker being neutral, please. If that's the case so ye'll have no problem giving Mayo fans the Hill seeing as ye've had it the last few times. There'll be no aggro from Dublin either if Mayo decide to warm up at the Hill, just like in 2006.

Therein lies the humour in a hypothetical comedy film...

Imagine one of the lads wanted mayo to win so much that he topped himself...

Ultimate fan??

Anyway enjoy the final.

A bit dark now in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Yeah....sounds like you've got a real comedy classic on your hands there alright, something whimsical and light along the lines of 'Waking Ned'.

Call it "Killing for Sam" or "Summer of Sam 2" and turn it into a Saw/Hostel style slasher-torture porn gore-fest, aim for a Halloween release date and you could have a real sleeper hit

PS the pitch for film would be:

24 hours before the All Ireland 2 Dublin fans try to keep a Mayo man, who is the last link to an age old curse, alive whilst a gang of marauding Mayo men attempt to kill him. If he lives...Dublin win

PS May be a bit like Ace Ventura - but that was great!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

PS the pitch for film would be:

24 hours before the All Ireland 2 Dublin fans try to keep a Mayo man, who is the last link to an age old curse, alive whilst a gang of marauding Mayo men attempt to kill him. If he lives...Dublin win

PS May be a bit like Ace Ventura - but that was great!

Someone email paul claffey quick with the above suggestions,it would make comedy gold!!

it would make great scenes with the mayo fans trying to kill them while the dubs have to keep them alive and it could be based in roscommon, otherwise where else will the rossies be ever mentioned about in a senior football final :)

kupus wrote: »
    Someone email paul claffey quick with the above suggestions,it would make comedy gold!!

it would make great scenes with the mayo fans trying to kill them while the dubs have to keep them alive and it could be based in roscommon, otherwise where else will the rossies be ever mentioned about in a senior football final :)

#scribblingfuriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Could be a new game mode for the next COD / Battlefield game due out soon?

MayoForSam wrote: »
    Could be a new game mode for the next COD / Battlefield game due out soon?

Dublin Vs Mayo is definitely going to be better than ManBat Vs The Man Who Is Super

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

this thread is gone to hell

Anyone willing to talk about the game v Dublin and how it may or may not pan out ?

Yeah,
    It'll be in Croker on the 22nd of September and Mayo will win it.

The Curse Continues

Dublin 4-17 - 2 14

Dublin aren't going to change their tactics and I hope Mayo don't either.

Can't wait for it.

PS Those scores could easily be reversed...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

We'll wait for a few days until the usual posters return and have a chat then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

Sure why would ya want to talk about the next game when we can talk about how mayo are bottlers and culchie boggers, or discuss a movie about killing the last 2 members of the 1951 squad.

Talk about football? On the Mayo GAA thread???
    tumblr_mbej03cdA41rzbvsto1_250.gif

yop wrote: »
    We'll wait for a few days until the usual posters return and have a chat then.

Ah yeah,
    The regulars.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Sure why would ya want to talk about the next game when we can talk about how mayo are bottlers and culchie boggers, or discuss a movie about killing the last 2 members of the 1951 squad.

See my post before yours. ;)

So there are two. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

5 actually, three players two subs

Oh F**k, I have been dragged into it now

5 actually, three players two subs

Oh F**k, I have been dragged into it now

I'll find them for three, but I'll catch them, and kill them, for ten. But you've gotta make up your minds. If you want to All Ireland, then ante up. If you want to play it cheap, be on welfare the whole winter. I don't want no volunteers, I don't want no mates, there's just too many captains on this island. $10,000 for me by myself. For that you get the head, the tail, the whole damn thing.

Disclaimer- Most of that may be from Jaws and I want those Mayo lads to live happily until September 23rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Rockfish

oh relax ffs, was a bit of crack

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Details of the curse available here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3VedcCeI38c

Details of the curse available here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3VedcCeI38c

And some folks say psychology doesn't play a part in sport....

Kinda feel sorry for Mayo with that curse on their shoulders.

So it's more Mayo can't win than Dublin can, I guess...

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭kevmy85

The curse is rubbish as everyone knows for two reasons 1) curses don't exist in any walk of life and 2) none of the players from '51 every remember such an incident happen.

Onto the real stuff .... one thing that has been overlooked so far is the experience within this Mayo team vs previous incarnations. If we assume the team that lines out on the 22nd would go something like:

Hennelly, Cunniffe, Caff, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, AOS, SOS, K Mc, Higgins, Dillon, Conroy, Freeman, Moran.

Likely subs include: B Moran, Feeney, Carolan, Varley, Keane, McHale, Doherty

Of that team 9 started the final last year with with 2 more coming on as subs and 1 starter and 1 sub from last years final on the bench (Only ones not involved in last years final were Andy, Cunniffe, Barrett and Hennelly). Dillon is starting his 4th AIF, Andy, Conroy and B Moran involved in their 3rd.

7 of that team won an U21 in 2006 (Cunniffe, Caff, Barrett, Boyle, SOS, Higgins, Conroy) with 2 more winners on the bench (Varley and B Moran). Another started in the 2004 U21 final (Andy along with Conroy with Feeney also involved in the squad). Both Hennelly, AOS and Keane got to the minor final in 08, as did Dillon in 99.

So plenty of experience and of the big day and a big bunch of winners also from the 06 U21 team. If you like history Mayo's record against Dublin in the Championship at Croker is pretty good winning both the '06 and '12 semis.

kevmy85 wrote: »
    The curse is rubbish as everyone knows for two reasons 1) curses don't exist in any walk of life and 2) none of the players from '51 every remember such an incident happen.

The curse is true and you have just acknowledged it:eek:

It will haunt every mayo player throughout the game. It will make their hands and feet slow in the last '15. They believe in The Curse too:eek:

kevmy85 wrote: »
    Onto the real stuff .... one thing that has been overlooked so far is the experience within this Mayo team vs previous incarnations. If we assume the team that lines out on the 22nd would go something like:

Hennelly, Cunniffe, Caff, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, AOS, SOS, K Mc, Higgins, Dillon, Conroy, Freeman, Moran.

Likely subs include: B Moran, Feeney, Carolan, Varley, Keane, McHale, Doherty

Of that team 9 started the final last year with with 2 more coming on as subs and 1 starter and 1 sub from last years final on the bench (Only ones not involved in last years final were Andy, Cunniffe, Barrett and Hennelly). Dillon is starting his 4th AIF, Andy, Conroy and B Moran involved in their 3rd.

7 of that team won an U21 in 2006 (Cunniffe, Caff, Barrett, Boyle, SOS, Higgins, Conroy) with 2 more winners on the bench (Varley and B Moran). Another started in the 2004 U21 final (Andy along with Conroy with Feeney also involved in the squad). Both Hennelly, AOS and Keane got to the minor final in 08, as did Dillon in 99.

So plenty of experience and of the big day and a big bunch of winners also from the 06 U21 team. If you like history Mayo's record against Dublin in the Championship at Croker is pretty good winning both the '06 and '12 semis.

V true, there is a solid line of experience there and that will count on the day.
    Any word on the championship matches yesterday, any scares from them games?

yop wrote: »
    V true, there is a solid line of experience there and that will count on the day.
    Any word on the championship matches yesterday, any scares from them games?

Will it though, really? Experience at losing and bottling? That's just a load of stats.

Hope Mayo do well 'n all but that's just attaching hope to numbers....

Need something more substantial than that to justify favourite's tag...

OR a better presentation of why you/he believe mayo will win

PS my 2nd team are Mayo and will PM details if anyone thinks I'm T'ing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Will it though, really? Experience at losing and bottling? That's just a load of stats.

Hope Mayo do well 'n all but that's just attaching hope to numbers....

Need something more substantial than that to justify favourite's tag...

OR a better presentation of why you/he believe mayo will win

PS my 2nd team are Mayo and will PM details if anyone thinks I'm T'ing...

So you're saying numbers aren't what defines favouritism? You must work for William Hill!

keane2097 wrote: »
    So you're saying numbers aren't what defines favouritism? You must work for William Hill!

Money is what defines favouritism.

Dublin by at least 4 and a red card for AOS in final. Please quote me on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

And some folks say psychology doesn't play a part in sport....

Kinda feel sorry for Mayo with that curse on their shoulders.

So it's more Mayo can't win than Dublin can, I guess...

As you well know the curse is a load of rubbish.

seligehgit wrote: »
    As you well know the curse is a load of rubbish.

But it's not, obviously. You just mentioned it...

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

But it's not, obviously. You just mentioned it...

Ah heyor, would ya g'way with your bulls**t