Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Australian government begging unemployed Irish to take up jobs in Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Cant say I have any regrets about ever studying Engineering, dead end my arse.

Depends on the type of engineering as I pointed out earlier:rolleyes: - don't forget the likes of India and China are churning out hundred of thousands of engineers every year now.

PS: China is now probably the biggest property bubble waiting to burst - wait till all their construction engineers look to emigrate!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

does it meen you need to blow yor nose

No. It's an acronym (look it up: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acronym_and_initialism)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

3ndahalfof6 does it meen you need to blow yor nose

No. It's an acronym (look it up: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acronym_and_initialism) LOL

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,615 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Does this include jobs requiring a degree? I'd be mad to a bit of travelling but I thought one had to go through a massive pile of paperwork to get into Oz unless it was a WHV they wanted.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I think some aboriginal Australians were of the same opinion a while back... but it didn't turn out too well.

I don't think the European colonialists were invited.
    Nulty wrote: »
    I've been in calgoorlie and plenty happens on the weekend....they drink the place dry.

So they're shit at running pubs then, yeah? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Cybercubed

saatana wrote: »
    Let's face it, the Aussies still haven't completely shaken off the racist "White Australia" policy that they pursued until fairly recently.

To be fair though, Australia is more diverse than nearly all european nations. 2 million born asians account for almost 10 percent of the population, then you have to add those born in Australia of asian descent and then add the Aboriginal's who make up 3% so in total 15% of the population isn't white and rapidly increasing. Hopefully it'll become more so like that and match countries like America or Brazil, could definitely do with some more Africans though IMO. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭toby08

I personally would advise anyone in 20-40 age group to go for 5 to 10 years.In
    reality Irish qualifacitions are well recieved. Its true that some of the higher paid jobs are not in the main cities but for highly paid skilled jobs anywhere in the world this is the case. I have spent a good deal of time working abroad and the best paid jobs were in as an earlier commenter said in the boonies.some areas as follows northsea,canada,australia,middle east.The best of luck to anyone that goes and remember they do say that travel is in itself further education......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

beagle001 wrote: »
    The Indians who go to Oz to study usually gave a good degree from their own country and pick some mickey mouse course at a taffe college,the Chinese choose the higher end uni's and all with the purpose of getting residency which is guaranteed after 2yrs study.
    As for the Oz govt they have been offering this visa pull for over 10 yrs,they want people to go to the arse end of nowhere it's nothing new and not as a result of the recession in Ireland the fact of the matter is these outback towns are soul destroying.
    Anything mote than a few days and you will climb the Walls with boredom.

Sure ya could play knifey spooney to pass the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Birdnuts wrote: »
    PS: China is now probably the biggest property bubble waiting to burst
    Probably, but Australia isn't far behind. In my opinion they are in a couple of different kinds of bubble at the moment, so get it while it's hot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭slum dog

Cybercubed wrote: »
    To be fair though, Australia is more diverse than nearly all european nations. 2 million born asians account for almost 10 percent of the population, then you have to add those born in Australia of asian descent and then add the Aboriginal's who make up 3% so in total 15% of the population isn't white and rapidly increasing. Hopefully it'll become more so like that and match countries like America or Brazil, could definitely do with some more Africans though IMO. :)

i was in australia back in the dai. too many asians if you ask me. if they want to keep australias indentity they should keep to the old isles or they will be swamped in no time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

We tuk der jerbs!

Gnobe wrote: »
    Why not hire more Indians and Chinese? Australia needs to become more ethnically diverse.

If they employ too many Chinese they may end up a part of China in the future, a scary prospect considering that China would hapily colonise the place to have unrestricted access to the minerals.

i couldnt understand why australia was such a racist country until we had the boom

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

If they employ too many Chinese they may end up a part of China in the future, a scary prospect considering that China would hapily colonise the place to have unrestricted access to the minerals.

Don't be stupid. :rolleyes:

Ethnic Chinese are everywhere in this world. They give a lot to a host country, work hard, commit little crime and have high rates of interracial marriage showing signs of true integration. Shame we don't have about a million more of them in this country.

i wouldnt be surprised if that was chinas grand plan

Don't be stupid. :rolleyes:

Ethnic Chinese are everywhere in this world. They give a lot to a host country, work hard, commit little crime and have high rates of interracial marriage showing signs of true integration. Shame we don't have about a million more of them in this country.

Do you want to have to learn Mandarin! The Chinese takeover of places in Africa should be seen as a warning, they will ensure that they have a supply of minerals & fuel in the future, if that means colonising then so be it.

Chinese a great bunch of lads! Beware what you wish for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

The Chinese takeover of places in Africa

They become Australian....

And yes I wouldn't mind learning some mandarin.

They become Australian....

And yes I wouldn't mind learning some mandarin.
    and then Australia becomes Chinese!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Say the Australian unemployed are annoyed, probably as we speak the AH Australia version have a thread about Irish taking jobs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Say the Australian unemployed are annoyed, probably as we speak the AH Australia version have a thread about Irish taking jobs :p

Considering the current unemployment rate, most of those unemployed here choose to be so.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Jumpy wrote: »
    Considering the current unemployment rate, most of those unemployed here choose to be so.

Well yes it is quite low there,however even during the "Celtic Tiger" people were complaining about the immigrant workforce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Birdnuts wrote: »
    They can't get enough of Irish doctors, nurses and other medical professionals(same with Canada and the UK). Young people here should look to this area instead of dead end arts, business or engineering courses:)

Are they heading for an health crisis just like Ireland ?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Well yes it is quite low there,however even during the "Celtic Tiger" people were complaining about the immigrant workforce

Well I have seen it from the other side. I was the immigrant workforce in Ireland.

I was handed a renewable visa for the sole purpose of filling work that there were not enough people in Ireland to do. There still isnt.

Australia is the same, however they have far more control over their immigration, so when the jobs start to decline, so will the visa offerings.
    Europe sort of makes that impossible for Ireland.

Are they heading for an health crisis just like Ireland ?

Public hospitals still have long waiting times but generally no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭universe777

keithzer wrote: »
    I'd love to go i'm a Electrician but cant afford to get there its a pain in the arse i have a friend over there working as a carpenter getting $850 dollars a week

That's not a lot really, I have gotten over $900 a week doing basic office admin work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

When I went there I had a job set up in Syndney , a trade and was getting $15 and hour and ended up getting a labouring job when I got $23.50. So a trade isn't the be all and end all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I thought they were clamping down on the number of people taking up jobs in Australia now that they are introducing a scheme where you need work experience and third level qualifications? There was a documentary on it a few months ago 'departure' mentioned that I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

doovdela wrote: »
    I thought they were clamping down on the number of people taking up jobs in Australia now that they are introducing a scheme where you need work experience and third level qualifications? There was a documentary on it a few months ago 'departure' mentioned that I think.

Yeah you are correct, the Dept of Immigration cut skilled migration from 133500 per year (2008-2009) to 113850 (2010-2011).

and they made it slight more difficult for those without any formal qualification or experience. And who have not got a high level of English.

Last year there was only about 3000 Irish people migrated to Australia, of course there was about 20,000 came on a Working holiday visa (which at the end of the day is only a holiday).

Australia unlike Ireland has a closed door immigration policy, we get to choose who comes in our country.

**Think the TV program you were talking about was called Departure date?

theboss80 wrote: »
    When I went there I had a job set up in Syndney , a trade and was getting $15 and hour and ended up getting a labouring job when I got $23.50. So a trade isn't the be all and end all

That sounds like a sh!te trade job to me.

I am a service Engineer and I make about $2000 ( €1500) a week, friend of mine is a form worker and he makes about the same and a few other are making $1500+ pw working in construction.

as far as immigration goes an unskilled job wont keep you here, a legit trade will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Blackpitts

Nulty wrote: »
    http://www.seek.com.au/
    http://www.jobsearch.com.au/

Worth a look. I'm not paying for the bailout....pfff :pac:

A friend of a friend found a job+sponsorship applying from Ireland throu seek.com.au...is it just a BS or does anyone has a "friend of a friend" with the same luck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Oh right I didn't know that, ye pick and choose who ye allow into Oz to work then oh right that's ok then. Probably better to regulate that way unlike in the EU. Is it mostly craft/trade/engineering/construction jobs though they offer not being as specific as business/science/teaching/nursing/IT and other areas of specialist areas? Is there still a downfall of people from OZ taking up employment there or has it saturated with all the incoming immigrants taking up jobs there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Downlinz

snubbleste wrote: »
    Did we not send Mary Harney off to Canada and New Zealand about 5-7 years ago to encourage their unemployed young people to come to Ireland?

There's a good point here for people considering a long term immigration move. see-saws come to mind.

Blackpitts wrote: »
    A friend of a friend found a job+sponsorship applying from Ireland throu seek.com.au...is it just a BS or does anyone has a "friend of a friend" with the same luck?

I know of about 3 people tops who managed this, getting sponsored of the back of a WHV is the more common route. Even that is difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

i have to agree with mandrake i was labouring for an electrician and he told me the going rate for it was $75 dollars an hour also a plumber is higher in demand so they get $100 an hour. I also agree about the white racist remark the australians well at least 90% that i have come across in my travels hate asians and anything that is made there eg toyota cars (even when he was driving one),sony things like that and also every irish person was stupid the crap about irish beig stupid we had to listen to over there!!

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Yeah you are correct, the Dept of Immigration cut skilled migration from 133500 per year (2008-2009) to 113850 (2010-2011).

and they made it slight more difficult for those without any formal qualification or experience. And who have not got a high level of English.

Last year there was only about 3000 Irish people migrated to Australia, of course there was about 20,000 came on a Working holiday visa (which at the end of the day is only a holiday).

Australia unlike Ireland has a closed door immigration policy, we get to choose who comes in our country.

it was quite pathetic having to watch grown men cry. one thing that documentary did touch on was the undying pessimism of the irish paddy. if i was forced to emigrate, i'd be dancing to the airport. once those people get a taste what its like to live in australia or canada for a year they will be crying having to come back to this hole and only then i might possibly have some sympathy for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I would rather shoot myself than go to that scorpion infested desert on the other side of the world. Europe is closer, cheaper to get to and theres none of that visa sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Watched that clip, found it very sad :(

May sound silly but at least this generation can use Skype to visually contact the folks back home, not perfect but a lot better than the past.

OneArt wrote: »
    I would rather shoot myself than go to that scorpion infested desert on the other side of the world. Europe is closer, cheaper to get to and theres none of that visa sh!t.

I think you been watching too much National Geographic channel, there's cities down here too.

Sure it's only a day away on the plane, Europe may be a bit closer and cheaper but I wouldn't fancy working in some crappy Polish factory or digging roads in the Czech Rep.

I think you been watching too much National Geographic channel, there's cities down here too.

Sure it's only a day away on the plane, Europe may be a bit closer and cheaper but I wouldn't fancy working in some crappy Polish factory or digging roads in the Czech Rep.

the weather is a big plus too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Nice property bubble they got going over there. China in a similar bubble right now. I don't predict it ends well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

dsmythy wrote: »
    Nice property bubble they got going over there. China in a similar bubble right now. I don't predict it ends well.
    I have so Many friends in Oz buying way overpriced condos along the docklands in Melbourne or off the plan houses on the eastern suburbs.
    Told them as long ago as 2008 that it was going to burst but they don't reckon it will.
    It's very easy to point this out when your not an owner or directly involved in it,they are caught up in the same bs that was pumped around this country during the fake bubble.
    I see a sharp dive in prices but they have serious resources and I think they will learn from the mistakes in Europe/America.
    The fall will not be as bad as it is here I suspect but it will be a good kick in the arse for the Ozzies.
    One of my friends owns 12 houses and 2 apartments in Victoria and she is on a detectives salary.
    Thankfully I was in Oz for all of the Celtic tiger here as I prob would have been caught by the crap but it's definitely coming for Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

slum dog wrote: »
    the weather is a big plus too

Quite poo here in Perth now, rained off today.

Iam a Bricklayer here in Perth and since the end of Christmas 2010 it seems there has been a general slow down in the construction, dont get me wrong there is plenty going on its just harder to find work and less is happening in the way off employment in construction.

I know of 2 other brickies that have jacked in the bricklaying and are heading up north to the mines because off this slow down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Irish Slaves for Europe

When their crash happens it will be much softer than ours. Their economy isn't built on the property market. They aren't building housing estates in the middle of nowwhere, all their estates are close to city centres with good transport links. They aren't building show box apartments. Australia has the largest houses in the world, and the design and build quality of their houses are top notch. They are building houses people actually want to live in rather than ****holes which people use just to get on the property ladder.

When their crash happens it will be much softer than ours.

Well it couldn't be any worse. It will probably be a long drawn out deflation rather than a pop..... that is if this bloody carbon dioxide Tax does not send the country broke first.
    They aren't building housing estates in the middle of nowwhere, all their estates are close to city centres with good transport links.

That itself is a problem, traffic and transport is not that good.

They aren't building show box apartments. Australia has the largest houses in the world, and the design and build quality of their houses are top notch.

In some cities especially Sydney yes they are, older properties used to be larger that is a fact but with property prices the best locations are now so subdivided.

The build quality is crap compared with Ireland imo, but the winters are not as wet or cold as Ireland so no big deal.
    They are building houses people actually want to live in rather than ****holes which people use just to get on the property ladder.

Na they don't have an open door immigration policy where any spide can just show up and work in the country and no one is trying to make a killing out of buying a load of houses and renting houses out to eastern europeans.

A lot of Australian's own a city property and a holiday property outright they bought years ago before prices and population went up, in general they have smaller families compared to Ireland and many kids own property outright from a younger age.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Going out there in 3 weeks, going to start in Melbourne but reckon if they're looking for chemists in the mines I'll head there soon enough after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

saatana wrote: »
    Most educated Indians speak English (note that the word is capitalised) at least as well as most Australians, and better than many. They also integrate well wherever they go and are highly upwardly mobile.

I completely disagree. I've worked on a daily basis with many, many Indians over the past 6 years (literally hundreds), and I have never met a more cliquey bunch. Not only do they not integrate with the community, but they band themselves together by their state or language, and don't integrate with each other. Also, the overall standard of English is appalling, with many home-grown idioms and meanings of words completely different to native English speakers, leading to confusion and misunderstandings. At this point, I can understand this strange pidgin that they like to call English, but only because I've had so much exposure. It's gotten to the point I can tell what state many of them come from by their English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭endabob1

I was out there in 2003 and we looked at places for 250k-ish, those same places are now 370-ish which is about 5% a year. I agree that they're overpriced but 5% a year (anecdotally & based on personal experience) is not outrageous.
    One thing I will say, unlesss the system has changed mortgages were based on affordability and they were a lot stricter that I was used to, having bought & lived in London for 7 years prior to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Irish Slaves for Europe

Well it couldn't be any worse. It will probably be a long drawn out deflation rather than a pop..... that is if this bloody carbon dioxide Tax does not send the country broke first.

The carbon tax furore is a load of nonsense, I can't believe people actually listen to that clown Tony Abbot, he makes some of our politicians look good. Australians love a good scare campaign, they fell hook line and sinker to the scare campaign the mining industry created last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Lefty2Guns

Anybody on here attend the presentations held by an Australian Recruitment company. I was at one in Limerick the other day and left my contact details they said they'll be in touch this week at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

As has been mentioned previously the state of Alberta is desperate for workers.

http://www.edmontonjournal.com/business/Foreign+worker+shortage+forecast/5034888/story.html