Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

My weekly saunter to Howth for a coffee today. Much more breeze than I thought but had great speed all the way out from Ratoath. Just the once over the hill as I thought I would try and maintain my average on the way home. From Sutton to clontarf was a headwind. Tough enough and felt like just plodding it but I kept the speed as high as possible. Down the malahide road to baskin and that when truck drives started to act like knobs. Two trucks came close to runnin me into the grass at the back of the airport. I normally let out a load of abuse but have started gesturing them to move out on the off chance they might check their passenger mirror to see if they killed me. Cars behind said trucks seem to then give me loads of space as i have been gesturing frantically. Went round by St Margaret's to get away from the traffic and onto a side wind which wasn't really a side wind. Legs failing at that point and avg dropped a little. 88k at 29.9. Yes that 0.9 is hard fought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

70km Dundrum - Sally Gap - N81 - Dundrum with a half full back pack on my back just to see if I could manage it.

Looking into going away on a cycle holiday and trying to avoid panniers on my road bike.

I thought if I could manage Sally Gap, I could manage anything!

Also did 85km flat around N Dublin yesterday and Howth Hill with it on. It's not as bad as I thought it would be. I travel light though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Gofaster

46.5 km - 30kph - 1,148 ft climbing, garmin still not counting climbing right I think. Almost an hour at threshold. Tough!

Still can't post strava link.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

Gofaster wrote: »
    46.5 km - 30kph - 1,148 ft climbing, garmin still not counting climbing right I think. Almost an hour at threshold. Tough!

Still can't post strava link.
    effin hell, are you a machine, like one of those transformers in the movies?

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Gofaster

Bloggsie wrote: »
    effin hell, are you a machine, like one of those transformers in the movies?

Thats feet of climbing not metres lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Gofaster wrote: »
    Thats feet of climbing not metres lol

ahhhhhhhhh now i get it! I was about to f**k my bike in the bin when I first saw that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

In San Francisco at the moment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

In San Francisco at the moment. Planned to do 80km.

Got lost with little food and water in the arse hole of no where. Ended doing 125km with 1700m of
    Climbing.

https://www.strava.com/activities/328787883

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

After two weeks away from any form of bicycling while I was on "holidays" I had two days off after getting home.

Ended up working all day yesterday and this morning...oh the hilarity.

This afternoon I finally took my old low grade steel 90s MTB with a single 38x17 gear out along the Canal towpath to Maynooth.

Nothing terribly challenging, unfortunately there are Yewths at large along the Canal at the moment so there were a few times I was left expecting a stone to the back of the head but no actual dramas materialized.

Quick coffee stop in Maynooth, had to run to an ATM, which nearly swallowed my card so I went with great trepidation to another ATM which thankfully worked smoothly, went in for a coffee, walked back out noticed something odd about the bike...I'd forgotten to lock it.

Poor old Wolfgang was just leaning against the bike rack for a good 20 minutes with no defences!

Journey back was fine apart from some light rain, did a sloppy job on a few trails in the Phoenix park, nearly dropped it when I panic braked crossing a bit knot of exposed roots and had to then panic unclip to catch myself but once again new dramas.

Knackered now, and still have to clean Le Wolf himself.
    tTPspl3ZQ5ZHUC5AILuhBGy6ma0w-_fsIFFE1IdWBVw-768x432.jpg

https://www.strava.com/activities/328829878

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Cleaned and tuned up the bike this morning, also changed a pair of ageing cleats for a new pair and tried a slightly new position. Out on a test spin coming down the hill heading towards pine forest at good speed, noticed there seemed to be way too much play on the left pedal, heard a loud clatter, and suddenly found myself descending with just one crank. Walked back up the hill a bit, found the crank but no screw, when a lady driving by stopped looking for directions to the sally gap. After giving her directions, she noticed my predicament and asked could she help. I held up the crank, told her I was looking for a screw, she smiled sweetly and pointed it out about ten yards up the road, to which I thanked her. If only life were always so simple :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Tour de Burren.

101km (My ocd wouldn't let me quit at 96)
    Moving time 03:59:39
    Ave speed 25.4 km/h
    climbing 871M (although I see some lads have 1100+M) I'm starting to doubt garmin data.

Great day out albeit wet and windy in the middle but. Beautiful place for a cycle.

Currently sitting in a bar drinking a pint after my car engine seized on the way home a long way from home!! Bummer :(

There's always something. Guess I could cycle home ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Zen0

smacl wrote: »
    Cleaned and tuned up the bike this morning, also changed a pair of ageing cleats for a new pair and tried a slightly new position. Out on a test spin coming down the hill heading towards pine forest at good speed, noticed there seemed to be way too much play on the left pedal, heard a loud clatter, and suddenly found myself descending with just one crank. Walked back up the hill a bit, found the crank but no screw, when a lady driving by stopped looking for directions to the sally gap. After giving her directions, she noticed my predicament and asked could she help. I held up the crank, told her I was looking for a screw, she smiled sweetly and pointed it out about ten yards up the road, to which I thanked her. If only life were always so simple :)

Sounds like the plot set up from from a bad porn movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

smacl wrote: »
    asked could she help. I held up the crank, told her I was looking for a screw, she smiled sweetly

Good man yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭devonp

sat spin
    home celbridge, Newcastle, Saggart ,Slade Hill ,Brittas, Blessington Hollywood Valleymount Lake drive,Kilbride, the Lamb, Athgoe hill, Celbridge home
    105Km 3h34m 1152m ascent, 29.6 avg

the lamb i found harder than any of the w200 climbs , on my own didn't help?

lots of cyclists around the lake drive and on the N81
    great day to be out on the bike

https://www.strava.com/activities/329409429

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

devonp wrote: »
    sat spin
    home celbridge, Newcastle, Saggart ,Slade Hill ,Brittas, Blessington Hollywood Valleymount Lake drive,Kilbride, the Lamb, Athgoe hill, Celbridge home

That's a great average speed for that spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Tour de Burren.

Great day out albeit wet and windy in the middle but. Beautiful place for a cycle.

Currently sitting in a bar drinking a pint after my car engine seized on the way home a long way from home!! Bummer :(

There's always something. Guess I could cycle home ;)

Was that you pulled in with the warning triangle out? That's bad luck mate!

Glad you enjoyed the spin at least. It was pretty miserable for a while alright but glorious spinning back in along the coast with a tailwind and sunshine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Up at 5:15 with a bang. A mildly sore head to say the least. I was refreshing whatsapp like an idiot expecting no one wanting to go out at 7am.

Got to the the 7am meeting point expecting to head off solo (dressed appropriately in bright yellow "don't run me over" Zoot top) and an LTC buddy turned up.

He's savage on the bike tbh :/ And he's more a GAA player, with the bike being a minor add on thing he does :eek:

Top fella for the banter though. He's not into Strava or any of that "tech bollix" and when I explained the Gran Fondo to him via Strava, he basically said, "So you're all saps then" :D

It was a great morning out. I love that warm rain thing that was going on.

Weird, I know.

Went from Clondalkin, up Slade hill and the down towards Manor Kilbride but taking the right to Blessington. Then headed back to Dublin down the N81 but took the right at a Statue? Then the Three Sisters/Kilteel etc back to Clondalkin.

At that point we were joining the LTC 9:30 am people for another 60 or so and I got a whole 30 meters and had a huge puncture on my rear tyre.

Tyre is now only fit for a turbo trainer :(

I waved the few people who stayed behind off as I didn't want to mess up their ride and after some Macgyver stuff involving a Centra shop, borrowing some scissors/super glue, semi repaired my tyre using the bust tube and tootled home.

With 75 km on the clock I tried to persuade the missus to do another 25 km with me but it didn't happen.

After some deliberation I decided to have a nap instead.

Wash rinse and repeat tomorrow, perhaps, but solo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

65kms this afternoon from Greystones out to Rathfarnham and up Cruagh to Glencullen and home to Greystones. I should really stop passing Johnnie fox's on sunny days, way too tempting! Beautiful day to be out and got a good few personal bests!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

devonp wrote: »
    sat spin

I walked / ran up the Lamb hill many a time. I can well imagine it being a gut buster. Fair play. I hope for your wheels sake the road surface is greatly improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

The wind whipped my a$$ today. Well and truly Ratoath to Thurles for a 155k avg 26.3 complete and utter slog. No respite at all fr the wind. I contemplated using the opposite hard shoulder to hide behind the hedging for a while around urlingford. Buggered now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭marty_crane

Zen0 wrote: »
    Sounds like the plot set up from from a bad porn movie.

As distinct from??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭cheerspal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭iAcesHigh

cheerspal wrote: »

wow, this seems like a fantastic, suffer course, hope it's supported with nice panoramic views at least :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

Dundrum - Howth - Malahide - Airport - Phoenix Park - Dundrum

104.8km, average speed 25.1

https://www.strava.com/activities/329350381

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Not today, yesterday!
    100k on the button. Not sure of average speed as I inadvertently reset my speedo when I stopped buy a drink on the way home, but it was 25kmph+
    Cycled from home in Clondalkin, thru Tallaght village, up past Old Bawn, turning right at the Old Mill and up over Ballinascorney, turning right at the end past the quarry and out onto N81. On past Blessington, turning for Valleymount and the up to the top of the Wicklow Gap. Warm oul day, and my legs felt it on the way back, tho I feel ok now. Longest spin since W200.
    2 weeks from today til Maratona Dles Dolomites, nervous about it, but looking forward to just getting going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭comete

Rode up Stocking Lane for the first time in a while, forgot how much it hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Rode up Stocking Lane for the first time in a while, forgot how much it hurt.

It only hurts as much as how hard you try - well done so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭MrSkinny

Ventured out for my first spin outside the daily commute in Dublin and rather foolishly decided to try the Kilternan - Glencullen - Enniskerry - Kilternan loop with the Harry Quinn I picked up from here a few months ago. The climbs were hard work (the bike has a single 48t chain ring) and I had to take a couple of short breaks on the way up to Glencullen but I'm glad I stuck to it because it really was a lot of fun and by the end of it I had a massive sense of achievement ... hence this post :)

I'm only sorry I didn't try this earlier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Wife has been away all week so I couldn't do my usual commute as needed the car to drop kids off. Got out for an hour or so today and had to revert to my winter gear!! 12 degrees and raining! Long tights, gabba, gloves and Northwave boots. Weather made it quite miserable and i only saw two other lads out, but it was better than nothing.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/811169959

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭nilhg

Mizen to Malin, straight through, about 800km of driving, 593km and 22hours on the bike, knackered now and heading to the bed, will put up a bit detail tomorrow if anyone is interested but a great weekend.

https://www.strava.com/activities/330149371