Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Ah, thanks.

I have not seen this tin; a search on the site for "boardsie hat" doesn't bring any helpful results.

This may be of help, though beware that asking where to buy boards gear is a bit like asking how to join fight club ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

smacl wrote: »
    This may be of help, though beware that asking where to buy boards gear is a bit like asking how to join fight club ;)

Oddly, no. I guessed it might have had to do with that, but didn't read all 11 or so pages; skimmed the first couple and then went back and opened the spreadsheet, which had bibs, jackets, extras - but no hat.

Is this the €45 Rapha had people were buying a couple of years ago?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Mea culpa, this should do it.

Ahh. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

Nice top and warm when you are cycling but I was not so sure when descending. But I didn't get cold as such, it was more a cooling feeling. or was I getting cold?

At no stage was I cold when I was going up the gap...

I made the mistake of assuming that a couple of summer tops would be the same as a winter base layer - not making that mistake again!

smacl wrote: »

Thanks… no problem; I'd look a bit funny in most of the gear people are buying. I look funny anyway, but… normal funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Still warm enough out there this morning, was too warm in my Gabba, although my commute was shorter than usual this morning so it was grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Bolloxology

Fancied a spin around the Suburbs,wind got stronger as the morning progressed but lovely,sunny and clear.Enjoyable along the coast from Booterstown to Killiney.Managed to pass places I had not seen in yonks.
    61kms avg speed 23.

Unable to post Strava link as im a noob.

Cad é an scéal MODS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Cad é an scéal?

When you hit 50+ posts you can add links/pics etc

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    When you hit 50+ posts you can add links/pics etc

Ah,thought it might be so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭nilhg

My auld van needs a bit of TLC from the diesel specialists so I dropped it down this morning, I had a lift home sorted but when I saw the weather forecast yesterday evening I realised that I'd have a nice strong tailwind most of the way home, 2 top 10s and a KOM isn't a bad return for what wasn't a particularly hard spin.

The last couple of kms home were into the wind, HR was in the 170s just doing 18km/hr, you don't be long being brought down to earth....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭marty_crane

Decided to brave the wind so headed south from Bray. Kilmac was an absolute disaster but kept with it and it died down through Glen of the Downs. As soon as it opened up again at Kilpedder it turned very hairy and just north of Newtown I needed to put on the rain jacket too. Unfortunately, that only had the effect of catching the wind under it. Made a call and turned left at Garden Village, under the N11, and towards home. Bit of shelter through Kilpedder and Willow Grove but when I hit 68kmh while freewheeling on the Kilcroney off ramp that said it all.

25k at about 24kmh. I'm limping towards 4k for the year when at one stage I was heading for 4.5k

Rant over :rolleyes:

Decided to brave the wind so headed south from Bray. Kilmac was an absolute disaster but kept with it and it died down through Glen of the Downs. As soon as it opened up again at Kilpedder it turned very hairy and just north of Newtown I needed to put on the rain jacket too. Unfortunately, that only had the effect of catching the wind under it. Made a call and turned left at Garden Village, under the N11, and towards home. Bit of shelter through Kilpedder and Willow Grove but when I hit 68kmh while freewheeling on the Kilcroney off ramp that said it all.

25k at about 24kmh. I'm limping towards 4k for the year when at one stage I was heading for 4.5k

Rant over :rolleyes:

Yep, N11 area is a disaster when it's windy.Too open. 68kmh love it 😊

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Was windy this morning but not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Uneventful slow commute, but completed this:

371306.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I had a day off work so I went for a spin. I'd checked the weather forecast as usual but when I got to the Tallaght Bypass the wind was much stronger than the forecast had indicated. It was chilly to.

Anyway, I carried on up the Embankment and on to Blessington. I returned via Threecastles.

I haven't been out that way in a few weeks. Plenty of water everywhere from the recent rain.

I took it easy and took time to look at the scenery as the sun was shining. Wicklow is beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

crosstownk wrote: »
    I took it easy and took time to look at the scenery as the sun was shining. Wicklow is beautiful.

It really is - I've only recently moved there and find that I keep getting distracted by the views; also makes the grind uphill really worth it.

ezra_ wrote: »
    It really is - I've only recently moved there and find that I keep getting distracted by the views; also makes the grind uphill really worth it.

I never tire of crossing Sally Gap, love the place

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Alek wrote: »
    Uneventful slow commute, but completed this:

371306.JPG

MuHaHaHa

Distance 12,564.5 km Time 475h 1m Elev Gain 105,668 m Rides 275

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

Had the plan to do about 90k out to Howth for my usual coffee, got as far as Blanchardstown and stopped at lights and looked down at a puncture. Swapped tubes and limped home for a measly 30k. Well pi$$ed off with that day. Wont get out now till Sunday when the rains are due. Argh

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Mattie500

Took a new route on my morning off... Planned 50k ... Should be done in 1 hour 45...Was looking at the garmin and things were not going well at all... Distance travelled after 70 mins was 19k... God terrible morning on the bike I thought... As it turns out the speed sensor probably needs battery's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭marty_crane

Still quite windy in Nort Wickla but once I'd seen tomorrow's forecast I decided I'd go regardless. Turned out to be a very pleasant 55k. I won't be getting any speeding tickets and I had to layer up as it was a lot colder even than Wednesday but it was lovely out and one of those days that reminded me of why exactly I cycle-you know the ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I never tire of crossing Sally Gap, love the place

Agreed. I don't know what it is about that location but I absolutely love it. Maybe it's the utter desolation and bleakness in winter or the top of the world feeling in summer but it's a special place. Just standing at the crossroads and looking around is an awesome spectacle. Far superior to the Wicklow Gap, imo.

On a more boring note, I cycled to Swords (work) this morning and as I came off the roundabout after the Coachmans, I heard the fatal pssst, pssst, pssst of a puncture. The first puncture in my front Michelin Pro4 SC in 1,250kms. I was only 1km from work so I decided to walk to the office rather than fix it at the side of the road. My overshoes didn't like the walk. I fixed the puncture at lunch time and rather than inflate the tyre with my compact pump, I walked around to Eurocycles where they let me use their Park Tools track pump. Thanks to the lads in Eurocycles. I need to invest in CO2 cartridges.

crosstownk wrote: »
    Agreed. I don't know what it is about that location but I absolutely love it. Maybe it's the utter desolation and bleakness in winter or the top of the world feeling in summer but it's a special place. Just standing at the crossroads and looking around is an awesome spectacle. Far superior to the Wicklow Gap, imo.

That just about sums it up for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

First time on the turbo trainer today. Planned to do a training plan as per the DVD that came with it but the DVD doesn't work. So I decided to set it to resistance 2 out of 5 and aimed to keep any cadence above 70. It was the first time using a cadence and speed sensor too.

Distance 23.39 km
    Avg Speed 39.4 kph
    Avg Cadence 70

That is by far the fastest average speed I've done and my legs are like jelly after it.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭YungKeo

Didn't go out today but saw two lads on a tandem bike in Thurles, fair play to ye whoever ye are, there must have been more rainwater than tarmac on the roads today!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

100km today. Miserable out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

traprunner wrote: »
    First time on the turbo trainer today. Planned to do a training plan as per the DVD that came with it but the DVD doesn't work. So I decided to set it to resistance 2 out of 5 and aimed to keep any cadence above 70. It was the first time using a cadence and speed sensor too.

Distance 23.39 km
    Avg Speed 39.4 kph
    Avg Cadence 70

That is by far the fastest average speed I've done and my legs are like jelly after it.

Your living room must be absolutely massive :)

Miserable wet damp morning.Headed south to Rathnew and over to Rathdrum and Glenmalure.Road resurfaced on a decent stretch which was welcome.Something about cycling alongside a river...calming.
    Up Shay Elliott and the descent into Laragh was eerie,low cloud & mist covering the valley.

Parts of me soaked through but glad to get out.Feet up on d sofa now,fire on, watching Leinster....happy days. 😊

98.4 km Ride on Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/449428405

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Hamper race today . Going fast is fun but hard !!