Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I went out this morning and covered a miserable distance of 62km. No matter what direction I was going, the cold, gusty wind was against me and froze my face. Unusual feeling really, do not know what to think about it. I got back home and still part of my face under my right eye to the right side of my nose feels kinda cold. I am first time experiencing something like this, and I cycle regularly. Don't know what to do, will drink more tea for now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭The tax man

I know how you feel Seweryn. Headed out earlier to do a few Curagh loops, felt crap on the first ascent, some guy blew past me as if I was stopped. A jeep constantly on the brakes ruined my descent and after about 300mtrs of my second lap I just thought "sod this" and turned for home.
    I was over dressed for the climbs but grateful for the layers on the descent.
    Buff kept my face toasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

curse you Apheliotes.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭mad dave

Did 36 km's from Kells around a bit of country side up loughcrew (the main road, easier one) and back to Kells against the wind the whole way. There is a lot of high open ground out there and the headwinds were horible. The crosswinds at times pushed me towards the ditch. This felt like a 50 60 k on a normal day. My toes were bleedin frozen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Wind wind and more wind. Didn't feel the wind on the steep hills tho. Probably because I wasn't really moving :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

greenspurs wrote: »
    Did the Stephen Roche Atlantic Challenge 80km in Lahinch.
    Very cold,with Headwinds, tailwinds and very dangerous crosswinds (fighting hard to keep the bike up, wind trying to kick your front wheel off !!)
    A tough course made harder by the very strong winds, Stunning scenery though!

Just back from a week in Doolin, putting a 2-3 hours in each morning before the rest of the family got up. Cross winds on the cliffs of Moher were pretty scary ok, did them a few times and then changed to the smaller l-road that goes around. Fantastic spin out to Ballyvaghan and back, tearing around black head with the wind behind. About 250k for the week and seriously chapped lips from the wind and cold, fantastic all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭denbatt

First off i'm glad everyone is on about the wind, now i don't feel so bad:)

Head out today after nearly two weeks off the roadbike, head out from cork towards kanturk, trying to take the quieter roads with the best tree coverage and had pretty good shelter for a while, turned off and head to Coachford and on to windy gap, but got a puncture about a mile or two outside Coachford, changed the tube but to my horror on inflating my spare discovered that it too was punctured, wear and tear in the saddle bag? I don't know? Disaster, my wife was not around so had no one i could really call on this time of day, so had a lonely and very uncomfortable walk in my cleat's back into Coachford with the intention of calling a cab, A cyclest stopped to ask was i okay and was really sound by offering me his spare to get me home but i couldn't do that to him so into The Village Inn pub(thankfully their was only one guy sitting at the bar cuz i felt like a nob in my spandex) I asked for a number of a local taxi, the bar tender told me to go across the road to the hardware place that they might be able to help me that one fella working there was the chairman of the Coachford CC, so across the road my feet killing me from walking in the cleats at this stage met a fella working there as soon as he seen me walk in he was straight over asking was i in trouble? He walked outside to his car grabbed a tube and gave it to me, i tried to give him money but he refused and said to just drop one in next time i'm passing. So outside onto the street and whipped off the back wheel, i had never been so happy to change a puncture in my life!! When next thing a woman that was also working in the shop comes out with a proper stand up pump with a pressure gauge, i couldn't thank them enough for the tube (but more so that i didn't have to pump the thing with my little pr!ck of a hand pump:D) So on i went on my merry way, well chuffed by the good will from some fellow bikers, such a refreshing change from meeting d!cks on quiet country roads who won't even salute you! 29k from home and facing that horrible east wind ALL the way home! Really wished i took a cab;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Up before the dawn for a 110km cycle. Not doing a loop and heading SE so had wind at my back a lot.
    It was only savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Went for a nice 40km cycle this evening. After work! In daylight!

Summer is here; lots of kms on the way! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

Fell off my bike this morning just leaving the estate. Didn't expect a car at that hour of the morning, grabbed the brakes and had a brain fart about unclipping. Over I went in slow motion, to be fair the car stopped and asked was I alright but the guy had a look on his face that said 'are you sure you know how to use that?'. Nothing hurt other than pride but its true what they say, you only fall when someone is there to see it!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Nice little 35km spin around Garristown yesterday evening, beautiful evening for it, very calm & clear. And it was bright unto about 8:10pm. I went to switch on my rear light whilst moving and one of the lads told me a story about a guy a few years back messing with his front brakes, of course fingers went into the wheel and he was flung over the handbars and landed badly (breaking his neck). I will stop next time :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

Got home from work early, thought id try and expand the usual route around drimnagh, got this done in an hour (including a few necessary traffic lights stop and called into other work to get my hours!)

8616623428_a70c638572.jpg
    2013-04-03 14.06.07

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

alt and print screen buttons will take a screenshot of your open window, save you having to take a picture of your monitor in future..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,095 ✭✭✭buffalo

mossym wrote: »
    alt and print screen buttons will take a screenshot of your open window, save you having to take a picture of your monitor in future..

ooh, I never knew about the alt+ shortcut. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

^^^Or, just get onto Strava or Mapmyride!

http://app.strava.com/activities/47082906

89.7km today, was hoping to get to the full 100 but still very pleased with my efforts. Avg speed is outrageously slow I know. Mainly down to the majorly bouncy roads between Wellingtonbridge and Rosslare, but still a lovely route, would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice flat route in south Wexford. This is a very long cycle for me, but glad to say I'm not feeling too tired. Beans on toast and a cup of coffee later, I could go out again this evening!

Might treat myself to a new pair of bibshorts soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭furiousox

Did Drogheda-Naul Naul-Drogheda today or as we call it "the hell of the north" :pac:
    If you look hard into the distance you can see the snow capped Cooley mountains in the background.
    Wrap up well if you're doing the Tour of Carlingford on Sunday!

247831.JPG

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Used the cycle lanes at the Grand Canal which are a super addition. Coming to the end near Leeson Street bridge when 2 joggers on either path come towards me:eek:

Am I missing something here? Where is the confusion here? The cycle lanes are clearly marked.

Someday this will lead to an untimely accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

The sunset was too nice in Galway to be sitting inside. Did a quick (the quickest I've ever done it!) 28km. Got overtaken by a cyclist at a roundabout so of course, I had to try and stay behind him. It's rude not to try :D It certainly spurred me on as I got 2 strava podiums and as where I usually average around 23km/h on my own, I averaged 30km/h.

To who ever it was, cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

wheel sucking , free riding cyclists, whats next? drafting tractors ??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

t'bear wrote: »
    wheel sucking , free riding cyclists, whats next? drafting tractors ??!!

I didn't get close enough to wheel suck. I would of introduced myself if that was the case. I just used him as a marker lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Out for a quick spin. Ended up doing 60k around East Clare and back into Ennis. Lovely evening but very cold once the sun got low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Got out for a short spin today. New back tube from last ride as that had a slow leak from the valve. After 30k rear blew out, which was nice. Big hole in the tyre, probably picked up last time when the tyre was going soft. Should have looked it over better before I put the new tube in.
    Dropped my Garmin before the spin as well and wrecked the screen so that needs to be sent away for repair.
    Just waiting for the third thing to happen now ....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

fantastic morning for a cycle. Did 77km. route went along the cost road between Blackrock towards Shankhill at day break. Fantastic views

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

76k with Swords cc group and body bagged.
    Haven't felt this bad in 20 years...

(love it and will be back out tomorrow (after watching HR race today))

Ps nice to see Beasty, although not on the new bike....

Suffer Score - Extreme 202

Z1 - Endurance 0-108 00:29 0%
    Z2 - Moderate 108-143 14:24 8%
    Z3 - Tempo 143-161 1:15:04 43%
    Z4 - Threshold 161-178 1:21:01 47%
    Z5 - Anaerobic 178+ 02:27 1%

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

Short spin today. A little over 30k, sun on the back and only a gentle breeze in the flatlands of Kildare. Cycling porn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭nilhg

37.5km circuit downhill to Allenwood and home up over Allen and Dunmurry hills, beautiful to be out.

Very impressed with all the folk picking rubbish off the side of the road from Rathangan to Allenwood, community spirit is alive and well there, just wish the retards who throw stuff from their cars would cop themselves on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

RobFowl wrote: »
    76k with Swords cc group and body bagged.
    Haven't felt this bad in 20 years...

(love it and will be back out tomorrow (after watching HR race today))

Ps nice to see Beasty, although not on the new bike....

Suffer Score - Extreme 202

Z1 - Endurance 0-108 00:29 0%
    Z2 - Moderate 108-143 14:24 8%
    Z3 - Tempo 143-161 1:15:04 43%
    Z4 - Threshold 161-178 1:21:01 47%
    Z5 - Anaerobic 178+ 02:27 1%

Try painting 3 rooms after it! Hope to do another 100km with Orwell tomorrow. Is this Monday a bank holiday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

godtabh wrote: »
    Is this Monday a bank holiday?
    Oh yeah, every Monday should be a holiday! Not just for banks... :pac:

What a gorgeous day, can't get over it. Unfortunately, I only went for a short leg stretcher after all week of commuting. I have never passed so many cyclist before. There must be some people that just starting the cycling season. Fair play to them all :).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

godtabh wrote: »
    Try painting 3 rooms after it! Hope to do another 100km with Orwell tomorrow. Is this Monday a bank holiday?

Off to clean all the windows now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭rob w

Did a nice 40k, Ratoath - batterstown - maynooth - dunboyne - ratoath, what a cracking day for a cycle. Nicest cycle I've had since buying my bike back in September, all that winter riding seems worthwhile now after days like today. Long may the sunshine last! :cool: