Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscomon vs. Mayo - Connacht Football Final 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

YESSSSSS!!!!!

Best Connacht final in years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

yaaaaaaaas

Maigh Eo Abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Best team won, certainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

That has to be the worst quality football match I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Shocking game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Two mediocre teams in reality, nobody will be quaking in their boots at the prospect of facing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

Still think Roscommon was a better team if it wasnt for the ref. Quality of connaught football is just shocking

Very poor game overall, very scrappy

Still think Roscommon was a better team if it wasnt for the ref.

Very poor game overall, very scrappy

Not in the second half they weren't. The referee was giving soft frees to both teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Roscommons tactics of short passing in the first half when they had a strong wind behind them was the reason they lost the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TopOfTheRight

They shot the wrong Michael Collins :pac:

hunter164 wrote: »
    That has to be the worst quality football match I've ever seen.
    Johner wrote: »
    Shocking game.

Can't fault Mayo's heart in the second half. No means a great game but look at the conditions, no team in Ireland would have turned in a good performance today..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

The ball was like glass I'd say. It's unfair to label it as a ****e game or whatever. The weather didn't lend itself to open, free flowing, beautiful football. Roscommon's handling of the ball was worse than Mayo and caughed up a lot of easy possession.

markie29 wrote: »
    Roscommons tactics of short passing in the first half when they had a strong wind behind them was the reason they lost the game.

Yes they should have pushed themselves more in the first have when they were in the position to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Well done Mayo, people are complaining about the game being awful but the conditions were terrible. Folks in the east and south rarely see weather that bad which we seem to have every second weekend down here.

Richie Feeney and Cunniffe in the backs were excellent, Aidan O'Shea picked up a lot of ball in the middle and it goes to show what difference a half-decent free taker can make. There were calls for O'Connor to be dropped for this game but he really stepped up to the mark today. Our much better subs bench really showed in the last 10 minutes too. McGarrity and Gardiner have plenty of miles on them but the old heads are handy to have around.

Roscommon backs were very indisciplined and you can't win matches with only one good forward - Donie Shine had a great first half but faded in the second. Senan Kilbride was anonymous but the Mayo backs can take the credit for that. I didn't see how the referee was biased in any way, Roscommon can have no complaints.

It will be hard for the Rossies to pick themselves up for the qualifiers. As for Mayo, I should think our All-Ireland odds may come down just a tad after this from 33/1. Not world beaters yet but I have a good feeling about this young team, hopefully they can leave the baggage behind and give us a good day out up in Croker (or maybe 3).

Mayo for Sam (just about reckon my user name is half-justified today ;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Very hard to see Mayo going any further than the quarter finals.

unknown13 wrote: »

Ya i can't see any team quaking in their boots after the last few matches which Mayo won, fair play to them, but overall they're not great.

MayoForSam wrote: »
    Well done Mayo, people are complaining about the game being awful but the conditions were terrible. Folks in the east and south rarely see weather that bad which we seem to have every second weekend down here.

Richie Feeney and Cunniffe in the backs were excellent, Aidan O'Shea picked up a lot of ball in the middle and it goes to show what difference a half-decent free taker can make. There were calls for O'Connor to be dropped for this game but he really stepped up to the mark today. Our much better subs bench really showed in the last 10 minutes too. McGarrity and Gardiner have plenty of miles on them but the old heads are handy to have around.

Roscommon backs were very indisciplined and you can't win matches with only one good forward - Donie Shine had a great first half but faded in the second. Senan Kilbride was anonymous but the Mayo backs can take the credit for that. I didn't see how the referee was biased in any way, Roscommon can have no complaints.

It will be hard for the Rossies to pick themselves up for the qualifiers. As for Mayo, I should think our All-Ireland odds may come down just a tad after this from 33/1. Not world beaters yet but I have a good feeling about this young team, hopefully they can leave the baggage behind and give us a good day out up in Croker (or maybe 3).

Mayo for Sam (just about reckon my user name is half-justified today ;)).

Spot on there.

Think Horan should take credit too for his changes. Varley and Gardiner kicked vital points and McGarrity was a calming influence when he came on - just at the right time.

Don't expect too much this year from Mayo but I'm happy with the bottle we've shown. Behind against London in injury time. Behind against Galway at half time and only took the lead today well into the second half. There's definitely a bit of heart in the team - night and day compared to our two outings last season. This is a young team too, Higgins, Moran, Mortimer and Dillion are seen as the experienced heads and they've plenty of football left in them. A lot of positives to be taken today for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Can't fault Mayo's heart in the second half. No means a great game but look at the conditions, no team in Ireland would have turned in a good performance today..

Ridiculous 2 yard hand passes that couldn't even hit their men. running into tackles soloing the ball. Just all round stupid play that you couldn't blame the weather on.

Yeah very sloppy at times but happy with all the possession our backs won in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I presume you are referring to Ros with that comment. 90% of Mayo's efforts at taking on a defender were successful. Ros ran up alleys ad nauseum. Poor game, but you have to take the awful conditions into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

unknown13 wrote: »

Mayo's record in croke park in recent years outside of encounters with Kerry has been very, very strong. I think they're well worth a win or two, don't see them having the quality to win Sam.

Out of the qualifier teams I don't know why you "can't see them going any further". Down/Tyrone/Cork are quality teams and would provide problems however they can only fill 2 of the 4 slots. The other 2 will be filled by teams outside of division 1 who traditionally choke in Croke Park. If they avoid those 3 I'd fancy Mayo over any of Derry/Roscommon/Wexford/Kildare/Limerick etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Poor enough game today, but I guess the conditions had something to do with that. Roscommon should have had a bigger lead at half-time as they were completly on top and only for a few soft frees Mayo would have been beaten out the gate.

DO Roscommon now play the winners of the Tyrone and Armagh game? At least if they do, they will have 13 days to recover, unlike the looser of the Ulster final who will only have 6 days break between games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

The differance between the two counties is very very obvious Roscommon have a shocking manager he has no idea how to change a game if things are not going well.Last year I was at a GAA function and a top GAA man said exactly the same thing.The minors won without a manager.After 10 mins Finneran should have been taken off he was a disgrace.God I hope he goes and he is from my club.Good luck to Mayo im sure they were delighted to be given the chance to play with the hurricane in the second half???As always I will go to Croke Park and support the west of Ireland.I complement the Mayo mangement on their study of Roscommons previous play ,well done Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Downlinz wrote: »
    Mayo's record in croke park in recent years outside of encounters with Kerry has been very, very strong. I think they're well worth a win or two, don't see them having the quality to win Sam.

Out of the qualifier teams I don't know why you "can't see them going any further". Down/Tyrone/Cork are quality teams and would provide problems however they can only fill 2 of the 4 slots. The other 2 will be filled by teams outside of division 1 who traditionally choke in Croke Park. If they avoid those 3 I'd fancy Mayo over any of Derry/Roscommon/Wexford/Kildare/Limerick etc

not kildare, couldn't see them beating kildare

Edit: to whoever said it, stupid play cost us more than anything, handpass game and over conservative play with the wind. 2 yard handpasses all over the shop, thinking we're in ulster or something, running into blind alleys with a wet ball with players available beforehand, overplaying the ball until we lost it..... jesus wept, as if donie shine couldnt catch a fecking long ball! insane!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

markie29 wrote: »

Agree with that. Had also 50 hardpasses in the first half i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

spiralism wrote: »
    not kildare, couldn't see them beating kildare

Edit: to whoever said it, stupid play cost us more than anything, handpass game and over conservative play with the wind. 2 yard handpasses all over the shop, thinking we're in ulster or something, running into blind alleys with a wet ball with players available beforehand, overplaying the ball until we lost it..... jesus wept, as if donie shine couldnt catch a fecking long ball! insane!
    So correct. Shocking tactics designed by O Donnell my god the whole of Ireland will laugh wait for Spillane.How O Donnell is allowed to continue is shocking.This is a very good Roscommon side managed by a complete moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Well done to Mayo today,overall I thought they deserved to win. Shine for Roscommon is some footballer but he's playing a lone role up front for the Rossies.

Today's result has to be seen as an improvement for Mayo football compared to the state it was in 12 months ago after defeats to Sligo and Longford but this is as good as it'll get for them I reckon,I can't see them going any further than the quarter finals but at least Mayo fans should be happy that they have won a Connacht title. As for Roscommon their run will come to an end against either Tyrone or Armagh in the next round.

A mention for the ref Michael Collins,he was diabolical but had no bearing on the result IMO,he gave some brutal decisions against both teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Just back the game. Anyone questioning the skill of either team would have to have been there to believe the conditions this game was played in. I can't remember a summer championship game I've been to where it was as cold, windy and washed out as today. It just never stopped. Both teams attacks routinely disintegrated into chasing a block of grease around the floor. I don't care if you're Colm Copper, Bernard Brogan or a junior b footballer it's almost impossible to look good in that situation. It wasn't 'tactics' or bad management by either side, it was simply a game played in terrible weather.

I have no misgivings about the result - Mayo dealt with the horrid weather just that little bit better. I was honestly wishing for a replay near the end just so Connacht could have a stab at a proper showpiece as all this will have done is help confirm over-inflated derision towards the quality of Connacht football in many quarters.

I honestly hope Mayo got on a great run in the championship after this and I have faith that Roscommon will use the extra week to recover and set themselves as neither Armagh or Tyrone are an unbeatable proposition and there's a top draw performance in this team. Weather pending, of course!

I'm not even going to honour the frankly stupid reaction by sting60 of blaming it on Fergal with a response, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

sting60 wrote: »
    The differance between the two counties is very very obvious Roscommon have a shocking manager he has no idea how to change a game if things are not going wellLast year I was at a GAA function and a top GAA man said exactly the same thing.The minors won without a manager.After 10 mins Finneran should have been taken off he was a disgrace.God I hope he goes and he is from my club.Good luck to Mayo im sure they were delighted to be given the chance to play with the hurricane in the second half???As always I will go to Croke Park and support the west of Ireland.I complement the Mayo mangement on their study of Roscommons previous play ,well done Mayo.

ah ffs please don't post here again, fergal is the main reason we are where we are today, we hadn't won a single championship match in ireland for 5 yes five years before fergal took up the reigns, the minors won the all-ireland without a manager, are you f**king nuts, roscommon were getting destroyed in that first 20mins of the minor final 5 years ago and fergal moved shine into midfield where he dominated against walsh, changed the full back and we never looked back....... who do you bring in for finneran tell me?? shaq who hasn't played competitive intercounty in 3 years??, personally i thought finneran had a decent game, he got little help from his half forwards though when carrying the ball forward

you are the same joker that said this current roscommon team were as good if not better than the 1980 panel

onto the game today, the weather was the worst i have ever seen at an intercounty match, 50mph gales, driving rain, however weather or not we simply don't have the panel, we saw that last year against cork, ormsby not fit was a huge blow, then losing ward 30secs in the second half (don't forget ian kilbride is off on army duty), thats half our regular starting back 6 gone, we then bring on cathal dineen who can't even get a game with his club, but thats our lot, mayo has such a huge pick lads are moving to other counties to get a game, aidan kilcoyne e.g doesn't get a look in these days

kilbride was badly hurt in that first half and didn't look right after, but again take him off and we have nobody to bring on, feel sorry for shine as he is such a terrific footballer, the poor mayo lad marking him will have nightmares tonight

word of congrats for the minors, fantastic game today, reduced galway to only 1 points in the first 42 mins of plays, amazing, hopefully those lads keep improving because we sure could do with donal smith, john mcmanus, thomas corcoran and conor daly on the senior team, i think corcoran would walk into our senior team as it stands he is that good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

As expected the favourites Mayo came out on top, Roscommon had Mayo on the ropes in the 1st half & if they where leading by 6-8pts at the break they probably would have won it. Mayo's experience was a telling factor in the 2nd half & all this talk of no free taker?? turned out a free taker won the game just like last year.

I like many said pre-match it was Div 1 v Div 4 but on today's evidence it looked more like two Div 3 teams. Roscommon have improved but still need someone to support Shine while i don't really know where this Mayo team are going & judging by the lack of celebrations today i don't think that provincial title will satisfied their expectations.

P.S sting60 pathetic trolling.

Mayo's experience was a telling factor in the 2nd half & all this talk of no free taker?? turned out a free taker won the game just like last year.

was saying to someone last night that mayo would score every free today didn't matter how far out and that when they get to croker they won't be able to get them off the ground again, well i got the first part right :(
    i don't really know where this Mayo team are going & judging by the lack of celebrations today i don't think that provincial title will satisfied their expectations.

incredibly small mayo crowd there today, i have seen bigger away support at league games in the hyde, then the few mayo fans that were there left BEFORE the presentation, leitrim and sligo would give their right arm for a provincial title and you have mayo fans turning their noses up at it

rossie1977 wrote: »
    was saying to someone last night that mayo would score every free today didn't matter how far out and that when they get to croker they won't be able to get them off the ground again, well i got the first part right :(

incredibly small mayo crowd there today, i have seen bigger away support at league games in the hyde, then the few mayo fans that were there left BEFORE the presentation, leitrim and sligo would give their right arm for a provincial title and you have mayo fans turning their noses up at it

Regardless of whether some of the Mayo fans at that match stayed for the presentation or not, I can guarantee that this title is important to Mayo fans the whole world over. We overcame a lot of doubters today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

sting60 wrote: »
    So correct. Shocking tactics designed by O Donnell my god the whole of Ireland will laugh wait for Spillane.How O Donnell is allowed to continue is shocking.This is a very good Roscommon side managed by a complete moron.

Bet you weren't saying that this time last year

Regardless of whether some of the Mayo fans at that match stayed for the presentation or not, I can guarantee that this title is important to Mayo fans the whole world over. We overcame a lot of doubters today

really you think beating roscommon (which ye have done year after year for the last 25 years) will overcome the doubters, thats like us saying we overcame the doubters beating leitrim........ sorry but the only way mayo will overcome doubters is by winning sam and they are as far away from that in 2011 as they were in 1993, can't see ye beating down/cork, tyrone/armagh or kildare in the quarters, thats leaves just wexford and if both barry and lyng are firing mayo will be in trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Barlett

really you think beating roscommon (which ye have done year after year for the last 25 years) will overcome the doubters, thats like us saying we overcame the doubters beating leitrim........ sorry but the only way mayo will overcome doubters is by winning sam and they are as far away from that in 2011 as they were in 1993, can't see ye beating down/cork, tyrone/armagh or kildare in the quarters, thats leaves just wexford and if both barry and lyng are firing mayo will be in trouble

It's funny in 96, 04 and 06 nobody thought Mayo were any good, you can only beat what's in front of you and while this team don't look like world beaters you can't write them off like that.

It's easy to talk yourselves down now after the loss but you cannot deny that many in Roscommon were confident of victory today. Even though Mayo were bookie's favourites a lot of people from within the county had written them off. Confidence within the team had been low since the Sligo and Longford disasters of last year. Even the 2nd half performance of the Galway game was dismissed by many as a sub-standard rally against a poor team. We seen today how Mayo picked themselves off the ground in the 2nd half. Of course Mayo will never silence all the doubters until they win the All-Ireland but given all the pressure that was on the players today I think we can be proud of how the players stepped up and gave it their all

Barlett wrote: »
    It's funny in 96, 04 and 06 nobody thought Mayo were any good, you can only beat what's in front of you and while this team don't look like world beaters you can't write them off like that.

who is going to score for you, only 2 points from play today from the 15 that started, longford forward line had our defence in all sorts of bother 2 months ago (same 6 that started today) o'connor had game of his life today, saw this kid last few years in person in minor (as mayo played us each year), he is good but i bet he doesn't score 8 or 9 points in another championship game this year

You could have made that argument before the Dublin game in 2006, Dillon and Moran are still playing on the team and James Horan still has the option of bringing on Ronan McGarrity when the going gets tough. I am not saying that Mayo are a giant-killing team but if they can lift their game a small bit a semi final is not out of the question!

It's easy to talk yourselves down now after the but you cannot deny that many in Roscommon were confident of victory today.

maybe you need to go back and read my posts, real roscommon fans who followed this team for years know different
    Even though Mayo were bookie's favourites a lot of people from within the county had written them off.

mayo were favourites with nearly everyone in county mayo, the only people picking roscommon were clueless pundits from outside the province like liam hayes who haven't probably watched a single game all year of either team........same liam hayes that went for an easy sligo win in last years final
    Confidence within the team had been low since the Sligo and Longford disasters of last year.

ye had one bad year and the sky falls in, try being a roscommon fan and losing championship games in successive seasons by 16 and 20 points, while at the same time losing league game to armagh by 25, dublin by 20 and home to westmeath by 15, thats where we were in 2008-09, when ye fall that low come back to me
    Even the 2nd half performance of the Galway game was dismissed by many as a sub-standard rally against a poor team.

not by me it wasn't, mayo were very good in that second half against galway, i didnt see any of that today, i actually gave mayo too much credit in the buildup, i really thought freeman was a better player than he was, you have to remember his marker carty is not a full back and is only playing there because we have nobody else
    We seen today how Mayo picked themselves off the ground in the 2nd half.

4 points down playing with the wind isn't picking yourselves off the ground, roscommon should have gone in 8 or 9 points up at half time in reality,

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

T2daK wrote: »
    hey you,

Galway are crap so what no need to be so rude talking like that I backed against them sure v Mayo.

Mayo and Galway are both poor this year.

Roscommon looked like they are definitely better than poor could have beaten Leitrim by a lot more.

My only concern is the Rossies have had a fair lay off, well feels like it anyway!!

Rossies @13/8 absolute steal

Bet you got robbed then ;) Then again I doubt you even watched it.

On the match, conditions were terrible and how they managed to hold onto the ball at all was good going.
    Great crowd and good banter considering the conditions.
    I had a feeling the experience of Mayo MIGHT sneak it, or hoped it anyway but even with 5 minutes to go I thought a draw was on the cards.

I can't fault any Mayo player, Vaughan cost us 2 points maybe in the first half and a few daft mistakes on the 1/2 back line also cost us.
    The O'sheas were good again and O'Connor did very well.

Shine looks like a very good player, why he wasn't fed more is beyond me, I think Ros got the tactics wrong in that. Outside of that Ros will be there or there abouts, there is shag all between the 2 teams, it will push them against Armagh/Tyrone but I think if they pick themselves up they will be ok.

It was a tad annoying that the young lads under the scrore board continued to chant during parts of the National Anthem, a bit of respect.

yop wrote: »
    It was a tad annoying that the young lads under the scrore board continued to chant during parts of the National Anthem, a bit of respect.

I think I heard the guy on the HAC forklift telling everyone to do it, so it wasn't simply to be asses.

maybe you need to go back and read my posts, real roscommon fans who followed this team for years know different

mayo were favourites with nearly everyone in county mayo, the only people picking roscommon were clueless pundits from outside the province like liam hayes who haven't probably watched a single game all year of either team........same liam hayes that went for an easy sligo win in last years final

ye had one bad year and the sky falls in, try being a roscommon fan and losing championship games in successive seasons by 16 and 20 points, while at the same time losing league game to armagh by 25, dublin by 20 and home to westmeath by 15, thats where we were in 2008-09, when ye fall that low come back to me

not by me it wasn't, mayo were very good in that second half against galway, i didnt see any of that today, i actually gave mayo too much credit in the buildup, i really thought freeman was a better player than he was, you have to remember his marker carty is not a full back and is only playing there because we have nobody else

4 points down playing with the wind isn't picking yourselves off the ground, roscommon should have gone in 8 or 9 points up at half time in reality,

It seems that we are both trying to argue the merits of our teams based on how rubbish we think they were. I have to disagree with your assertion that most Mayo people thought we were going to win. That's not what I was hearing in the last few weeks. The fact that we only won by 2 points would back that up. There was a lot said about the lack of competent free-takers on the Mayo side, hopefully this has been resolved but O'Connor has not been tested yet on the All-Ireland stage. Time will tell how he gets on.

Losing to Sligo and Longford in the same year is the equivalent for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

No, but winning a 43rd Connacht title after overcoming the two best challengers in the province along the way, off the back of bleak year last year and a horrible start to this years championship does.

AI talk is pure bollix frankly, however I do think there is a possibilty of a 1/4 final win in Croker as weve yet to see the best of Mayo' forwards yet but Mayo' full back line is still a work in progress even if they do defend well as a unit... Would be good to see what we are capable of playing in non gale force conditions too!

to be fair though, should mayo get the winner of down v cork or kildare(should they beat derry as expected), it's hard to see them coming out of it. anyone else is certainly beatable by them, mayo v wexford/limerick or tyrone/armagh would be a cracker in all likelihood

still gutted about earlier, stupid play cost us but the strides this county has taken in the past few years have been massive, this is the same team that beat us 3-18 to 0-7 two years ago and we should have beaten them in all honesty were it not for some bafflingly stupid play that i've already ranted about in this thread. onwards and upwards, let's hopefully give whichever nordies we face a stern test and learn from it. preferably in good conditions too, for a bloody change! hopefully a two week turnaround means we go down fighting and don't meekly surrender a la sligo to down this time last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

this is the same team that beat us 3-18 to 0-7 two years ago and we should have beaten them in all honesty were it not for some bafflingly stupid play that i've already ranted about in this thread.

There is at least 7 to 8 changes in the mayo team from last year alone never mind from 09 so to be honest it is not the same team really.

Having said that Ros will feel they let this slip, they did not push on enough early on.

edit: Oh and Ward going off for Ros was unfortunate.

There is at least 7 to 8 changes in the mayo team from last year alone never mind from 09 so to be honest it is not the same team really.

Having said that Ros will feel they let this slip, they did not push on enough early on.

edit: Oh and Ward going off for Ros was unfortunate.

Ormsby not making it was a big loss, as was having to play Dineen, he is useless, God love him

An the handpassing as has been pointed out already.

Luck played it's part too, we took the ball out of the square from a dropping ball then we lost but luckily Hennelly stopped the ball going over.

Hopefully Ward's ok for the round 4 game, when he's in full flight he's a damn fine wing-back and this is only his first year starting for the seniors. Ormsby must have been marginal if Fergal was willing to throw him on so he should be ready to go for that game too.

Would he be tempted to play David O'Gara, I wonder? I was surprised he didn't make the bench but since I've heard nothing about an injury setback I can only assume he just didn't feel he was up to pace yet.

Syferus wrote: »

Would he be tempted to play David O'Gara

Doubt it too be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Congratulations to Roscommon Minors on a truly brilliant performance today. The man of the match performance by Tom Corcoran was a joy to behold, lording over midfield, back defending, taking frees etc etc. The series of passing leading up to the goal was wonderful. Some great scores into the wind in the first half.

As regards the senior what can you say that hasn't been said. As someone who was sitting in it from 11.30 to 3.30 I can say the conditions were truly awful. People say they havn't seen it for Championship - you hardly ever see it that bad in February for the league!!! Just awful.

Our best player - Kilbride - got a bad knock in the first half and was out of the game. The ref was awful. We had a bit of bad luck with the goal chance missed. Mayo got the tactics spot on with the two O'Sheas in midfield. The substitutions in the forwards should have been made earlier. Lots of ifs and buts and what ifs. Bottom line is we lost by two points to a div 1 team. The backs did quite well - gave away some bad frees but then some of that was down to the ref. I would have loved to have seen the game played on a good day to really see where we stand. Hopefully the next day will be better.