Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MOTHER GIVEN 24 YEARS IN PRISON

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

Your dead right. and i guarantee that the HSE and the guards and local people etc where all too scared to do anything cos this woman was a bully and a travller and prob had everyone who came into contact with her in fear. Is this good enough? Damn right it isint good enough.
    yet again we fail as a country like the Roscommon case
    Do i want to pay taxes into an incompetant public service where children are not protected, no fecking way. the system needs to change now.

Too right this system needs to change immediately. Child protection procedures need to be highlighted and all personnel who work with children should receive this child protection training and know the correct procedures for reporting abuse or even a suspicion of abuse. Yes there is the Roscommon case as well. How do teachers, neighbours, relations, social workers and all the other people who come into contact with these children not know that the child is being neglected/abused. The simple truth is that they do know, but choose to turn a blind eye because they don't want to be the person to report it. What are social services there for, if not to protect children from monsters such as these? They should have the protection of the gardai where necessary to enable them to do their jobs effectively.

The state treats families should as these too well and in many cases benefits received are not passed onto the children, but are spent on alcohol etc. These people know their every entitlement, but give absolutely nothing back in return. Food stamps/clothing vouchers/fuel to heat the home is the way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Doesn't the DPP have the right to appeal over lenient sentences?, surely theres no precedent for such a suspended sentence. Shes in jail since 2009 so will probably be out in another couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

she should have got the death sentence. pity she wasnt in the USA. Ireland is far too leniant. shes guilty shes a sick scumbag she should be beaten black and blue and put in the electric chair

The USA wouldn't have given her the death sentence for this?? The only thing you can be executed for is murder (there are other crimes but the death penalty is never used). What she did is horrific but you're a tad misinformed if you think the US would have executed her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Nobody cares.They turn the other way.And the guards are the worst.I went to them after I was assaulted and they basically said
    a: they didnt believe me
    b: if it happened then it was my own fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Please don't tell me we are now stooping to the level of blaming social workers for child abuse?!

By that token we should be blaming all doctors for our getting sick and/or dying, all gardai for people turning to crime etc etc

Less of the blame shifting please. The only ones responsible for what those children went through are their parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

IT'S A DISGRACE, joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Less of the blame shifting please. The only ones responsible for what those children went through are their parents.

That's not strictly true, They were reported to the authorities. Social workers were aware of problems in the family.

Yes the parents are ultimately to blame but there are answers needed as to why the abuse went on for so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Doesn't the DPP have the right to appeal over lenient sentences?, surely theres no precedent for such a suspended sentence. Shes in jail since 2009 so will probably be out in another couple of years.

Yeah but if they did appeal the sentence could be reduced as well. Would you put it past them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

hondasam wrote: »
    That's not strictly true, They were reported to the authorities. Social workers were aware of problems in the family.

Yes the parents are ultimately to blame but there are answers needed as to why the abuse went on for so long.

That I agree with, but I just felt some were keen to blame the social workers only.

But if I took it wrong, fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 mee23

this is disgusting!!! let down by parents den social nd now d judge, seriously wud only happen in ireland dat woman shud never b let out its a disgrace...assault causing serious harm carries a life sentence why isnt dis woman carrying 8 life sentences its a joke. don't understand d 16 years suspended sentence???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

mee23 wrote: »
    this is disgusting!!! let down by parents den social nd now d judge, seriously wud only happen in ireland dat woman shud never b let out its a disgrace...assault causing serious harm carries a life sentence why isnt dis woman carrying 8 life sentences its a joke. don't understand d 16 years suspended sentence???

Try not to use txt spk thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

KeithM89 wrote: »

it aint da worst we've sn on hre, dntca no? :P

see i am down with kids:rolleyes:

i know they protected her identity for the sake of the kids, but she'd one case of where they should bring back the burning at the stake.:mad: