Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v Croatia thread - August 10th - SS3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Correct with the exception of Andrews.

If McCarthy was fit and 100% commited, I reckon Trap would start him. I also think that if Meyler can stay fit and rack up a few Premier League games, that he would also leapfrog Andrews. Trap is on record as saying that he likes Meyler a lot due to his size and physical strength. To be honest, it wouldn't surprise me if Andrews never made an appearance for Ireland again.

Andrews still a better bet in midfield than Gibson and are we seriously saying that Hoolahan, a key player for a premiership club, is not as good as Keogh?.

It hard to know what Trap thinks. He has completely thrown me with the Conor Clifford inclusion as he's usually more conservative than the Pope himself. The main reason I'm not sure he'd drop Andrews - even though we'd all love him to - is he has had absolutely ages and countless opportunities to drop Kilbane and still hasn't done it for a competitive game.

Think Andrews has done very well for us and deserves to play when fit. He has not let us down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Does anyone know what Croat players are over? Can't find anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

thats the full squad, don't know who has pulled out if any

Goalkeepers
    1 Stipe Pletikosa
    12 Vedran Runje
    23 Danijel Subašić

Defenders
    3 Josip Šimunić
    11 Darijo Srna (captain)
    5 Vedran Ćorluka
    6 Danijel Pranjić
    2 Ivan Strinić
    4 Dejan Lovren
    13 Gordon Schildenfeld
    24 Šime Vrsaljko

Midfielders
    19 Niko Kranjčar
    10 Luka Modrić
    8 Ognjen Vukojević
    16 Tomislav Dujmović
    15 Ivo Iličević
    7 Ivan Perišić
    22 Milan Badelj

Forwards
    18 Ivica Olić
    21 Mladen Petrić
    9 Eduardo
    17 Mario Mandžukić
    20 Nikica Jelavić
    14 Nikola Kalinić

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

€30 seems a bit steep for the cheapest tickets. I would have gone but for no more than €20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

thats the full squad, don't know who has pulled out if any

Goalkeepers
    1 Stipe Pletikosa
    12 Vedran Runje
    23 Danijel Subašić

Defenders
    3 Josip Šimunić
    11 Darijo Srna (captain)
    5 Vedran Ćorluka
    6 Danijel Pranjić
    2 Ivan Strinić
    4 Dejan Lovren
    13 Gordon Schildenfeld
    24 Šime Vrsaljko

Midfielders
    19 Niko Kranjčar
    10 Luka Modrić
    8 Ognjen Vukojević
    16 Tomislav Dujmović
    15 Ivo Iličević
    7 Ivan Perišić
    22 Milan Badelj

Forwards
    18 Ivica Olić
    21 Mladen Petrić
    9 Eduardo
    17 Mario Mandžukić
    20 Nikica Jelavić
    14 Nikola Kalinić

Thanks. Saw that's the squad from Wiki (God Bless Wiki) but ridiculously hard to find out who actually traveled to Dublin. Guess will have to go in early and hear it announced. Got the season ticket and collecting this evening. Hoping for a good spot!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0809/1224302142520.html

Can't understand why he called up this chap and not someone like Hoolahan or Sammon. I have never seen this chap play and I'm pretty certain he has never played for Chelsea.

If you give this kid a sniff of goal 25 yards out he will more than likely score,

Great work ethic also ,

http://youtu.be/KOahS8Dg9KM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Clifford chuffed by senior call-up

By John Fallon
    Wednesday, August 10, 2011
    CHELSEA midfielder Conor Clifford thought his Under-21 boss Noel King was joking with him yesterday when delivering the news of his senior call-up.
    19-year-old Clifford was taken off at half-time in last night’s 2-1 win over Austria to allow him link-up with Giovanni Trapattoni’s squad for tonight’s meeting with Croatia.

"I thought Noel King was winding me up," said the playmaker, who had loan spells with Plymouth Argyle and Notts County last season.

"He is always having a bit of a laugh. He said to me: ‘Trap wants you’. My first words to him were ‘you’re having a laugh’."

Despite the nature of the message being relayed to him, Clifford is deadly serious about trying to win his first full cap at the Aviva Stadium tonight.

He said: "It’s going to be a good experience. I just found out about it a few hours ago. I can’t wait to get there and meet the lads.

"Hopefully I can get a run-out but if not it’s still good to be a part of it. It has definitely come sooner than I thought but that’s football; you never know what’s around the corner. I’m just delighted to even get a sniff — to be in and around those kinds of players."

Following tonight’s game, Clifford plans to secure a loan move away from Stamford Bridge, possibly to Germany.

He said: "I’m looking to go out on loan as soon as I can. There are a few options there. I just have to sit down with Chelsea and my agent and see what the best option is. I’ll be out on loan for the season, as soon as I can.

"A lot of the Chelsea lads went on loan to Hamburg. Michael Emenalo (Chelsea’s Technical Director) stepped up and he had a talk with the reserve manager. They want to get me out as soon as possible on loan."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Got some boot on him

Reminds me a bit of Gibson - good shot but can he do much else?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

darkman2 wrote: »
    Got some boot on him

Reminds me a bit of Gibson - good shot but can he do much else?

A midfield general, I have heard him described as.

Watched him a fair bit for the youths and in a couple of the reserves game , his tackling is brilliant , work ethic is top notch , I was just saying on the chelsea thread that he is the first Irish midfielder that I would put on par with Roy Keane in terms of work on and off the ball, he is also a great passer of the ball and has great vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Clifford looks the real deal lads, I hope he gets a run tonight... And anyone looking for tickets for tonight, there's a lad selling them cheap here http://www.adverts.ie/sports/ireland-v-croatia-august-10/773948 €10 a pop, got myself 5 yesterday for me and the lads..

Is he that good or is this just a "he's Irish - better talk him up" thing? I have not heard or seen much about him. Surely if he was that good he would be battling to get in to the Chelsea 11 at this stage? At the very least on the bench...

Still look forward to seeing him play if he get's on the pitch tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Is he that good or is this just a "he's Irish - better talk him up" thing? I have not heard or seen much about him. Surely if he was that good he would be battling to get in to the Chelsea 11 at this stage? At the very least on the bench...

Wait, have you not actually seen him play and still decided that he reminds you of Gibson because you saw one 30 second clip where he scores an excellent goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Look at the 6 minute video posted earlier, he looks a cracking all round player..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

How many of the current Irish midfielders would make it into the current Chelsea XI? Defo none. The squad? Prob none. I wouldn't let the fact that Clifford hasn't made his debut yet keep him out of the senior squad. Might be worth seeing what he can do for 45.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Wait, have you not actually seen him play and still decided that he reminds you of Gibson because you saw one 30 second clip where he scores an excellent goal?

I heard about him a couple of years back then he started going on loan. Yes, of course I have seen some of his goals. But like I say Gibson also scores stunning goals but his overall game is not up to scratch. That's all im saying. I wonder are we looking at potentially "the real deal" or yet another boy thinking he is up there with the men until he is politely told to basically get lost - like Gibson last season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I heard about him a couple of years back then he started going on loan. Yes, of course I have seen some of his goals. But like I say Gibson also scores stunning goals but his overall game is not up to scratch. That's all im saying. I wonder are we looking at potentially "the real deal" or yet another boy thinking he is up there with the men until he is politely told to basically get lost - like Gibson last season?

Silly post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭VW 1

Its definitely a very positive sign that he is looking for football and wants to go out on a year long loan to get regular football instead of playing in the reserves or on the bench as a bit part player. Very good proactive sign from our young man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

He looked good for the U21s last night. Constantly moving and making himself available.
    Himself and Brady were a different class to the rest.

Id say after one more good loan he will be primed for the first team.
    Chelsea FC wrote:

Conor Clifford
    Born 1/10/91 in Dublin, Ireland.
    Conor is a Chelsea fan and Irish Under 21 international who captained last season's FA Youth Cup winning team, scoring the winner in the Final against Aston Villa with the type of long-range strike that is fast becoming his trademark.
    He is a central midfielder who is hard working, strong in the tackle with good distribution.
    During 2009/10 he appeared 10 times in competitive reserve fixtures after making his first start at that level early in the season. During that campaign he scored from distance in two games, a feat repeated against Nottingham Forest in the Youth Cup in which he was an ever-present. He played 18 youth games last season with three goals.
    He is now in his third full-time year having joined from Crumlin United. His first Under 21 international appearance was in October 2009, having previously captained the Under 19s. He also played in May 2008's European Under 17s Championships and was the Ireland Under 16s Player of the Year in 2007.
    He spent two months on loan at League One Plymouth Argyle in the latter part of 2010, holding down a place in the side and playing eight games with the Devon club, before joining Notts County, of the same division, on loan in early February 2011, making five starts and four subs appearances before returning to Chelsea two months later, helping the second string to a first national championship since 1994.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

While I dont work in the IT department, I sit in the same cubicle as the guy who does. He arrived in today with a trolley with boxes, and said to us "If anyone wants to 'test' a HD projector, let me know, - I have 3 now".

So I shall be watching tonights game in HD :D

Sorry to gloat, but I had to tell someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

Clifford looks quality but its hard to know if he will get his chance...best thing is for him imo to go out on loan (ive heard leeds is after him)...come back and impress during preseason. He missed pre season this year with an injury! do ye reckon mite get minutes tonight? Even 20 minutes or would be interesting.....

superfrank wrote: »
    Clifford looks quality but its hard to know if he will get his chance...best thing is for him imo to go out on loan (ive heard leeds is after him)...come back and impress during preseason. He missed pre season this year with an injury! do ye reckon mite get minutes tonight? Even 20 minutes or would be interesting.....

I heard Germany might be an option. TBH I think he could flourish in the Bundesliga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    I heard Germany might be an option. TBH I think he could flourish in the Bundesliga.

Really?? To Hamburg?...I wouldn't know the first thing about Bundesliga but getting games every week would be great for him.

He probably has 2 years or less left on his contract so we will know he future with Chelsea soon enough, whether or not they will give him a new contract will be interesting & give us a hint whether or not the club see him in the first team....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Off to the match now. come on ireland !! ;)

superfrank wrote: »
    Really?? To Hamburg?...I wouldn't know the first thing about Bundesliga but getting games every week would be great for him.

Bundesliga is a good league. Certainly no match for the Prem or La Liga but it is of a high standard (don't forget practically the entire German national team are home based and there's also a sprinking of World Class players playing there too). Further, attractive attacking play is encouraged there and high scoring games are frequent. Could be just the sort of place for a technically good player with phenomenal shooting ability (as seems the case from that vid at least).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

If he gets his move to Germany, I shall be paying close attention to the fixtures list on ESPN. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Realistically, he probably won't become a Chelsea regular. When you look at the players they've got, it's going to take someone very special to break into that team. That doesn't mean he can't be a very good player for us and possibly a mid-ranked Premier League team. If he turns out to be another Stephen Reid or Lee Carsley (which I think is fairly realistic), we're laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Hopefully Westwood gets 45 minutes.

linky for stream anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Nu-Centz

any streams for this lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

How much were they charging for tickets for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

like the keeper jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Horrible jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

That tempo is much too slow for anthem.

They look like employees of a DIY store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Who's centre mid?

Whelan/Gibson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

That was hardly a minute long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    How much were they charging for tickets for this?

think €30 where the cheapest one's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

No chance that was a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Horrible jersey

Agree I hate it, horrible looking. Givens is grand, but lets hope we are seeing those rotten jerseys in Poland/Ukraine next summer!

Stevecw wrote: »
    Agree I hate it, horrible looking. Givens is grand, but lets hope we are seeing those rotten jerseys in Poland/Ukraine next summer!

I'm sure the FAI will change it again for that tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Wonder how many are at this?

less then 20,000 I'd guess from the looks of things.

Funny how a lot of the players have gotten themselves notably tight haircuts and there is Hunt still looking like a scruffy pikey as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

About 15,000 I'd say by the looks of it, haven't seen West stand yet which normally is more full than rest

Wonder how many are at this?

less then 20,000 I'd guess from the looks of things.

It's hard to tell without seeing the other side but I'd guess 10k if the same.