Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamestop scrounging pennies, literally

• Registered Users Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

FYP.

:(

Xtravision used to do this penny thing once. First time I didn't care. Second time soon after I thought it was a bit weird, but still didn't really care. If it is a company wide policy though, then it is a frickin' joke.
    Back when I was working XV, I used to have to do it a bit, but I put the balance of the change onto the persons account, so next time they were in they got it off.
    Used to happen on long/busy weekends and we'd run out of copper coins, as nearly nobody pays with them, but prices were *.99 or *.95.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'd say disc insurance could work out well for folks buying games for their kids, but sadly, the poor shmuck behind the counter doesn't get to specialise his pitch for that purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Azure_sky

I wonder if I were a cent short for a game would there be hassle? Actually I was one cent short for a game one time in Game. They wouldn't sell it to me because I was one lousy cent short even though they left me short a cent countless times when they were "out of one cent coins". So ****ing embarrassing. I actually thought it was a joke at first and asked the guy was he serious. You got to love the ethics of Capitalism...oh wait there are none. I'm slowly turning into a Commie...

3492969245_39da298387.jpg

If somebody insists, they usually get a 2c anyway, so it ultimately makes a negligible difference to the chains themselves.

The vast majority of people would be too embarrassed.
    Liam O wrote: »
    who cares about 1c coins tbh, they shouldn't be there in the first place.

Have you any idea how many stores they have worldwide and how much it all adds up to at the end of the year?

It's because of attitudes like the above which allows them to get away with this crap. (Nothing personal)

Anyway, I remember when Game stop was Irish owned. It was called Games World. I know the workers were treated a lot better and were more happy and productive. Then the Yanks came, Game Stop, and introduced "the American business model"...many of the workers hated the changes and left pretty fast. I'd love if the Yanks fecked off and it was Irish owned again. I'd love if the lads from RAGE set up a chain with new and retro games across the country and put Game Stop out of business.

Rant over.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭weiland79

Off topic but i once heard a taxi driver on the radio saying that everytime he gets petrol he will put in an extra 1 or 2 cent worth and that he then just says sorry i only have a 50.

The reasoning being that it builds up over time.

I now do this too.

Stick it to the man...:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    how can you expect them to have that many 1c coins in the tills like...

I expect them to have 1c coins in the till because they are charging €39.99 for a game. Either make it €40 (or €39) or stock enough 1c coins.

I don't mind the crap about disc insurance and pre-orders and whatnot, as i know the employee's have to say it. It sucks, but it's not that big a deal. Just say no twice, and you're grand.

I hate Gamestop though.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,829 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Kiith wrote: »
    I expect them to have 1c coins in the till because they are charging €39.99 for a game. Either make it €40 (or €39) or stock enough 1c coins.

EXACTLY!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gulliver

I'd love to have the neck to go up with the game and wait for the spiel and then say "Here's a bag of cents. Count out €39.99 as I'm mathematically challenged."

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭spookymuffin

I don't really understand how people can call disc insurance a scam or a waste of money. I personally have to deal with at least three people a week who need replacement games because they've destroyed the original they've bought.

People (and not just children) snap, crack and scratch their discs in a surprisingly large number. I've seen smashed UMD cases and crushed DS games, not to mention the fact that the Xbox console itself can wreck your games without any user error.

Of course most people who buy the insurance never need to use it, but that's how all insurance models make money. Do you think that most people with house insurance ever make a claim? And is it a scam if they don't?

no I don't want disc insurance in case I stand on my disc and break it - and if I did do that that probably wouldn't be even covered would it :mad: and no I don't want to preorder a game that doesn't even have a review for it yet :mad:

If you got your insurance in Gamestop then you would be covered. Even if someone admits that they snapped the disc themselves we will replace it, if they have the insurance.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I don't really understand how people can call disc insurance a scam or a waste of money. I personally have to deal with at least three people a week who need replacement games because they've destroyed the original they've bought.

I really don't understand how people can be stupid enough to think they are entitled to a new game if they break the old one :confused:

Kiith wrote: »
    I really don't understand how people can be stupid enough to think they are entitled to a new game if they break the old one :confused:

I meant that they have to come in and buy a replacement at full price because they broke the old one.

If they had paid the couple of euro for the game insurance then they wouldn't have to cough up another 40-odd euro for a replacement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

besides seriously like - how can you expect them to have that many 1c coins in the tills like

easy, because they charge an amount for the majority of their products that requires 1c change be given

I don't really understand how people can call disc insurance a scam or a waste of money.

its a waste of money for people who aren't morons

• Registered Users Posts: 26,388 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Some Euro countries have actually done away with the 1c and 2c coins because they literally are not worth the hassle.

In such countries everything is rounded to 5c.

I have to say, if a game wasd 39.99 and I gave 40, obviously I would wait for my receipt but I would not turn back if I relaised the 1c wasn't in my hand.

I know it may be principle for some people but I couldn't care less.

Helix wrote: »
    its a waste of money for people who aren't morons

It's a service that wouldn't be offered if there wasn't a market for it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Just one point on the other side of this argument cause a couple of people have mentioned it. I remember when I was in school in Bus. Org. class (about 20 years ago now, so I appreciate this may have changed) learning about legal tender etc. The teacher said that a shop was not legally forced to accept more than £15 in pennies as payment for a debt.

As I said, that was about 20 years ago, so it's entirely possible that things have changed since then.

To the main issue though. If a shop is selling items at *.99 then it is not unreasonable to expect that they have bags of pennies sufficient to cover the day's transactions. I sincerely doubt it's official policy, can't imagine they'd be stupid enough to think they'd get away with it :)

But I was curious, so lets imagine that they have an average of 500 transactions per day (that's possibly quite low, I really have no idea how busy these sorts of places are) that each requires a penny in change which isn't given. That's €5 clear profit per day X 7 days a week = €35 X 52 weeks a year is €1820 X 53 shops (having very quickly counted what's on the map on their website's store locator) = €96460

That's paying 3 people's wages right there.

not true

it was a market that was forcibly created by gamestop by the continual offering of a service that they pitched as essential, codding people into buying it

not true

it was a market that was forcibly created by gamestop by the continual offering of a service that they pitched as essential, codding people into buying it

If people avail of the service on a regular basis (breaking/damaging their games and receiving replacements for a fraction of the price) then I don't see how anyone is being "codded" into anything.

if people pay €3 or whatever it is knowing that they can abuse their games, the likelihood is that they will abuse their games. it's not geniuses buying this protection, so it's not beyond the realms of possibility to surmise that they're not paying as much care as normal to their games since they "can get a replacement free anyway"

lets be honest, the fact that theyre shopping in a rip off chain like gamestop in the first place very much points at their lack of smarts

• Registered Users Posts: 16,631 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

This thread makes my head hurt.

Making millions from not returning cents? Every till will be out by a few euro regardless at the end of the day, usually under, and usually because someone was given too much change, cents really really don't matter, but if you want to get all flustered about your 1c coins, go ahead.

Zillah, and his rant on giving change. Look up invitation to treat, change is not a right, it's a courtesy afforded to customers who don't have the exact change, all shops follow it, but you have no legal right to change in payment of a debt. Shop can also not insist you buy the item if they have no change.

On the petrol man getting 1c or 2c more, the pumps themselves get calibrated on a yearly basis, over the year, they can go out of sync by a few small %, so you could be getting slightly more or less depending on which pump you use.

As for the commie comment, wtf, how can you equate an idiot not selling an item due to it being 1c short to capitalism?

if people pay €3 or whatever it is knowing that they can abuse their games, the likelihood is that they will abuse their games. it's not geniuses buying this protection, so it's not beyond the realms of possibility to surmise that they're not paying as much care as normal to their games since they "can get a replacement free anyway"

It is entirely their business what they do with items that they've bought with their own money and I don't see how it factors into argument at all. My point was (and still is) that many people who get the insurance benefit from the service so it can hardly be called a scam.

i never called it a scam

i called it "a waste of money for people who arent morons"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The people who the Gamestop spiel about disc insurance is aimed at are people who don't regularly avail of the service though. They're parents or casual purchasers who probably barely know what a PS3 is in the first place! They're in over their heads, and when Gamestop offers all these 'extras' I'm sure they don't quite realise that it's far, far from a necessity.

Yes, there probably are people out there who buy disc insurance - although, TBH, it beggars belief that anyone but small children are out there breaking games with such regularity that it actually warrants DI :pac: But the Gamestop head office policy of getting employee's to ask every single customer about it means that many people less familiar with purchasing games are being suckered into purchasing this 'extra'. I'm sure even Gamestop employee's would agree on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭RedXIV

i never called it a scam

i called it "a waste of money for people who arent morons"

I've used it. Don't usually get stuff from gamestop but I bought FFXIII when it came out and when my baby girl decided to use it as a teething ring (graciously donated by her 6yr old brother who wanted to play something else) I was able to get a new game.

So lets include morons AND people with kids, just so I don't get lumped in with the morons :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Yea, the disc insurance thing - really annoying being asked all the time, but that's as much the person's job as any other part of their day in the shop. However, if I had kids, it'd be a total no-brainer and absolute must have. Even with slightly older children who know better, they're not always as careful as they need to be. There's definite market and demand for the service, but a lot of people don't think beyond their own experience and can't see that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Dermo wrote: »
    Ok guys here are 2 previous threads that explain the law better than I can about the retailer not having to give change:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056050563&page=4
    &
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056036617

Thanks to seamus for putting me on the right track for these.

OP, I agree it's a ****ty thing for Gamestop to do but they are well within their rights to do it. The only way to complain is to complain with your feet and buy it elsewhere.

Is there relevant legislation for this, as I can't find it? Not saying your wrong but from a legal perspective when they tell you how much you want they are creating a contract you can accept or deny, if they don't give you a total then they don't have to give you change. I was just wondering were the relevant legislation was/can be found on the statute books?
    Whatever about being tight, it's absolutely stupid work practices. Regardless of what it was, handing it over to some random punter in the hope that it'll be delievered is mental.
    Daemos wrote: »
    I know, wasn't thinking at the time. I assure you I won't fall for it againI heard it's also something to do with recording transactions, that if they're rounded to the euro staff can more easily cancel it and pocket the cash. Putting it down a cent makes it harder, apparently

Is it harder if they don't have cents in the till anyway and therefore expect the till to be slightly out on any given day?
    Overheal wrote: »
    Either way, pay by card, and they get charged a bank fee. Cash is free for them to process, Debit costs a little, Credit costs more. American Express? No retailer is ever pleased to accept these!

Cash isn't free to process (for businesses) as if you are depositing in the bank you will often have to pay a small fee based on the amount and number of notes deposited. While I don't work in retail anymore so maybe it has stopped but their definitely was a charge, in bigger chains I imagine it is more as they probably have to hire security to transport and insure the money.
    weiland79 wrote: »
    Off topic but i once heard a taxi driver on the radio saying that everytime he gets petrol he will put in an extra 1 or 2 cent worth and that he then just says sorry i only have a 50.

The reasoning being that it builds up over time.

I now do this too.

Stick it to the man...:D

I used to do that as well but now they ask me for the change :( If you don't have it you don't have it but it is an awkward moment. On a side note someone asked about what happens if they don't accept your money as payment (ie they refuse 500euro notes) I remember from a Garda I talked to years ago, if the petrol was in the tank and you couldn't cover the cost, all you have to do is make an offer of payment and then return when you could. Obviously they would have to take details/plate reg/license no. etc but once the attempt was made you were given leeway to return at a future date with payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 GLaDOS_old

Mod edit: Stupid post deleted, infraction given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Azure_sky

Parents who don't have a clue about games paying for it thinking that it's actually needed. Essentially taking advantage of peoples ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

I'd say disc insurance could work out well for folks buying games for their kids, but sadly, the poor shmuck behind the counter doesn't get to specialise his pitch for that purpose.
    I don't really understand how people can call disc insurance a scam or a waste of money. I personally have to deal with at least three people a week who need replacement games because they've destroyed the original they've bought...

...People (and not just children) snap, crack and scratch their discs in a surprisingly large number. I've seen smashed UMD cases and crushed DS games, not to mention the fact that the Xbox console itself can wreck your games without any user error...

This is why it should be called user insurance and not disc insurance. There is nothing wrong with the games just the people who wreck them. If there was something wrong with a game, you'd be entitled to a replacement without the need for insurance. This has been had out on this board over and over in relation to hardware and extended warrantees.

In years of gaming I've never had a disc fail on me, be damaged by a machine or damage a machine. I keep them in their boxes when I'm not using them, thats all. I called it a scam because I think its totally unnecessary, the fact that it is available suggests to the uninitiated and those who don't know better that game discs are something in need of insurance as they might fail. As we all know if you don't mistreat them they will be fine.

I have however had the experience of sales assistants tell me I should buy such insurance as "they have had a lot of complaints about discs failing" not only do I find this insulting to my inteligence but I also find it to be a misrepresentation of the facts to try and induce people to buy cover they don't need, as you yourself say, people seek replacements for discs they have destroyed or damaged themselves.

I'm aware of the argument that its good for parents with kids who mistreat games, I'd rather teach my kids (if I had any) to look after their things rather than encourage such behavior by simply replacing the games they break.

Edit: just saw RedXIV's post, fair enough these things happen, sounds like its a rare occurrence for you thankfully

the actual pitch that goes with this cover should be "do you intend to mistreat or deliberately damage this game? if so you should get our disc cover" because as I said, otherwise its not needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Once off really since i don't let him use my consoles anymore so little miss can't get her hands on the games. Its actually pretty fortunate because I'd say i only ever bought it on a handful of my games and thats the one she broke :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,359 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Used to work in GS myself, we never got a change delivery with 1c coins in it, I never knew why but i always got that when people asked me for their penny. Was very emabarassing.