Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kildare GAA General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

Well done kildare. Our status in division 1 is looking good now but still very early days.
    The changes in the second half is what won it for them. Kelly brophy and o Connor turned the game in the right direction. Brilliant.

Up the lilies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Cracking result for Kildare especially down in Cork - early days of course but already looking like it could be a very good year..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,212 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Cracking result for Kildare especially down in Cork - early days of course but already looking like it could be a very good year..

I have no expectations I just love seeing Kildare playing great football..

So Tom will ye win neighbour battle with Meath?? ;) should be a good game

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Great result all told. Excellent travelling Kildare support as well.

Kildare kehoe cup winners for first time after beating Meath..

Kildare ladies beat Cavan in league and senior footballers had another great win vs cork in league, fantastic weekend for Kildare gaa

CILL DARA ABÚ

Great result for the hurlers. They have done very well considering the interrupted preparation. We're probably a few weeks behind after all the messing over the new year.

PROUD TO

PROUD TO BE

PROUD TO BE A

LILLY

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Congratulations on the Kehoe Cup lads.
    Always nice to see a new county win the title.

Felexicon wrote: »
    Congratulations on the Kehoe Cup lads.
    Always nice to see a new county win the title.

Thanks felex huge achievement for Kildare hurling.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Nice win in Cork at the weekend. Dont care how it came its two points in the League.

Fair play to the hurlers too. Great w/e for Kildare Gaa.

I thought our friend might be on this morning congratulating us. Or maybe he has spontaneously combusted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Kildare will storm the NFL, Leinster and All Ireland. Its a foregone conclusion. In my honest opinion, it's most likely just a case of how much Kieran's boys win each game by to be honest. Damascus is a wonderful journey.

It must be an awful burden when someone has to carry all that bitterness around with them the whole time.

Lovin it.

Huh?

Na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na lily whites....

CILL DARA ABÚ MADA FAKAS

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Was just saying in our own thread how impressed I am with your lads so far. I did see Kildare as one of the relegated two before hand (I called it in the pools thread) but hands up I look totally wrong on that.

It looks the typical KMcG work rate and commitment is in everyone on the pitch now and going forward could be a big year for the Lillie's. Looking forward to March 10th in Newbridge, could be one of two league meetings between the sides. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

............. Looking forward to March 10th in Newbridge, could be one of two league meetings between the sides. ;)

Pssssst .... Kildare play their home games in Croker now :rolleyes:

There's nothing to say Kildare won't be involved in a relegation battle yet. It's encouraging to see Kildare with some fresh ideas and beating some of the established counties but the first two rounds of the league are not a great barometer of where teams are. We lost the first two rounds last year and still won the division.

Kerry will have some more players back for their trip to Newbridge and it's obvious that they are in serious heavy training at the moment under Cian O'Neill. Kildare on the other hand probably don't have as much of that work to do because of the residual fitness built up over several years with Julie Davis. Dublin and Mayo will be very tough games on the road and we will be underdogs against both. Tyrone look in decent fettle too. It has been a great start along with the O'Byrne Cup win but it's not going to get any easier.

DoctaDee wrote: »

Pssssst .... Kildare play their home games in Croker now :rolleyes:

Pssst no we dont. We play Kerry in Newbridge next.

largepants wrote: »
    Pssst no we dont. We play Kerry in Newbridge next.

LOL..Every team has a 2nd pitch :D ...

Ehh we hardly have a first one!!!

McGeeney fitness boost

Monday, February 11, 2013

Kildare manager Kieran McGeeney hopes to have Daryl Flynn, Eamonn Callaghan and Dermot Earley back in action by the time the Allianz Football League Division 1 returns in three weeks’ time.

By Denis Hurley

Flynn and Callaghan are both recovering from groin injuries, while Earley missed much of last year with a knee problem. But all three are on the mend and Alan Smith is back at full fitness, having also suffered from a knee complaint.

“We are still pushing to get Darryl, Leper [Callaghan] and Dermot back on the pitch,” McGeeney said.

“Dermot put in a half last week against Cross, so did Hughie. Leper is back running at the minute so hopefully that will push on over the next couple of weeks.

“Alan Smith is ready to come out of the traps at the minute, like everyone else he will have to work hard to get there.”

While the Lilywhites’ start has been very impressive, McGeeney is reluctant to put it down exclusively to superior fitness levels.

“Strength and conditioning coach Julie Davis always has our boys in good shape,” he said, “if you win, [it’s the case that] you are fit and if you lose you are unfit.

“A lot of people say when we play that we are back a couple of months, we were back a week before everybody else, apart from Donegal. We had two weeks back before them.

“There’s not much point in trying to exaggerate things. I think that we have a very fit team and a very strong team, but that banner always goes to the victor.

McGeeney also feels that the break ahead of Kildare’s next match against Kerry will not prove to be an impediment to his side’s momentum.

“Not at all, they will have a lot of hard work to do now over the next three weeks,” he said.

“It is very hard to put that work in when you are playing, we have played six games back-to-back, we have had no fitness work.

“When it’s just games, you can’t train fellas hard to increase their fitness levels but what we are getting for players is a lot of game-time, which is good.”

Meanwhile, it has been confirmed that Cork will rotate the captaincy for the remainder of their league games. Michael Shields led the team on Saturday night despite regular skipper Graham Canty being in the side. Colm O’Neill was captain for the previous game against Dublin.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/mcgeeney-fitness-boost-222336.html

It would be a great boost to welcome Flynner, Leper and Dermot back for the latter half of the league. Competition for places is something we might have lacked in years gone by. Too many players were too comfortable in their positions. There could be even greater depth this season if we can get two or three more from the u21s - Cribbin, Hurley, Dowling, Fogarty.

largepants wrote: »
    Ehh we hardly have a first one!!!

LMAO.. kerching ... yeah shockingly poor in Newbridge

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

Just checked it there on Paddy Power - throwing a tenner on Kildare to go on and pick Div 1, Leinster and certain Mr Maguire will pick you up just over €7500... get your arses down to the bookies.

full_irish wrote: »
    Just checked it there on Paddy Power - throwing a tenner on Kildare to go on and pick Div 1, Leinster and certain Mr Maguire will pick you up just over €7500... get your arses down to the bookies.
    Its like printing money.

Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!

full_irish wrote: »

Very early days tbh to be even talking about us having a chance of winning div 1 massive games with Dublin and mayo and Tyrone will decide our fate...

Although it won't happen think ill throw a few euro down if they are the odds sure what's a fiver even just for an interest..

If nothing else great to see the younger lads coming in with real passion I absolutely love seeing players giving it their all...

CILL DARA ABÚ

Its like printing money.

Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!

Oh go away will you... Again ^^ignore^^

Jesus can we not have a bit of banter here without a certain someone throwing an arse comment in..

Getting past a joke now can a mod please speak to cormac.. Really boring me now... Little do you know your friends with a guy I know on Facebook cormac.... ;)

Ah that can't be true, how would half their staff get to work then? :D

Whatever else you are Cormac ... yer certainly good for a laugh ..

Cheers m8, you're alright alright.

Paddy Brophy and Daniel Flynn attended the Australian Rules trial at DCU yesterday

Oh god please no.

Two very talented players