Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesco ardkeen worker attacked?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

eamonn3974 wrote: »
    Yes, the attacker was colored.

Jesus, you are something else.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 eamonn3974

Sweet wrote: »
    Jesus, you are an absolute moron.
    Get ****ed. Someone asked was he black so I replied he was colored thinking it was the PC thing to say. Go **** yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Master and commander

Sweet wrote: »
    Jesus, you are something else.

i doubt he was coloured. Most of the violence in waterford is either teen youths or else (most serious cases) those of east european origin

• Registered Users Posts: 41 eamonn3974

i doubt he was coloured. Most of the violence in waterford is either teen youths or else (most serious cases) those of east european origin
    Its not about race but to clarify once more...he was black English man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Get ****ed. Someone asked was he black so I replied he was colored thinking it was the PC thing to say. Go **** yourself.

Ah jaysus.. what is wrong with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Winghunter

My God what an asshole,the role of a security is to protect the property and staff of a company. as for a person stealing security has to be 100% sure that person has the item and is not going to pay,the person has to be gone pass the last point of pay before security can act and make the arrest.
    Heres the big question what kind of a man stands by an let a woman where ever it is Tesco or elsewhere take a savage beating in public and not act?
    Hope they did get him,only need one witness to get a conviction.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

You are the weakest link, Good Bye.

On a related note, can people stop registering multiple accounts to vent their frustration? We (mods) can see duplicate accounts. One account only thanks, we get your point.

We have a zero policy on racism and racist remarks. I issued a warning earlier, but some people keep going on and on. STOP! We are not in the business to generalize here thanks, and if you want to do that and start dishing out racist remarks then go somewhere else. Like a black hole ideally and stay there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

I wish that girl a speedy recovery. Unfortunatley though, the mental scars will run deep and will take a very long time to heal.

I still can't understand why the security man didn't get involved. We are dictated by senseless rules,laws and regualtions. Common deceny should have prevailed here and thankfully those customers that got invovled,Kudos to them.

Also this:

Master and commander said : 'I know about security cos my GF's bro was a guard/bouncer and he was always on about what the rules are in these cases.'

First, I thought it was against the Law for a garda to be a bouncer?

Second, I find it very strange that your GF's garda brother allowed his bouncing role to dictate his behaviour and not his role as a garda? After all a garda is always on duty, no?

Winghunter wrote: »
    My God what an asshole,the role of a security is to protect the property and staff of a company. as for a person stealing security has to be 100% sure that person has the item and is not going to pay,the person has to be gone pass the last point of pay before security can act and make the arrest.
    Heres the big question what kind of a man stands by an let a woman where ever it is Tesco or elsewhere take a savage beating in public and not act?
    Hope they did get him,only need one witness to get a conviction.

its fine syaing that if it is joe public is being expected to help but it is not the security mans job to protect the public or staff. It is his job to prevent theft only. And to clarify they cannot make "arrests", only gaurds can do that.
    Read my previous posts, long story short his comapny could be sued if he intervened. I'm sure he wants to keep his job and not be sacked over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭moonboy52

My sympathies go out to the girl for the attack.

What race the man who perpetrated the attack was does not matter.

A bad apple is a bad apple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Winghunter

Still have'nt a clue what your talking about.Suppose some people know everything about everthing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

How can bouncers say in Masons (who I have to admit are on the ball in such things) able to throw out guys for fighting and retail security can't? Is it a different licence? That doesn't make sense to me TBH.

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    I wish that girl a speedy recovery. Unfortunatley though, the mental scars will run deep and will take a very long time to heal.

I still can't understand why the security man didn't get involved. We are dictated by senseless rules,laws and regualtions. Common deceny should have prevailed here and thankfully those customers that got invovled,Kudos to them.

Also this:

Master and commander said : 'I know about security cos my GF's bro was a guard/bouncer and he was always on about what the rules are in these cases.'

First, I thought it was against the Law for a garda to be a bouncer?

Second, I fine it very strange that your GF's garda brother allowed his bouncing role to dictate his behaviour and not his role as a garda? After all a garda is always on duty, no?

sorry, to clarify i should hav said " security guard". I will go back and change that. trying to type too fast and missed it i guess!!
    he worked in w.ford crystal, then pennys and was a bouncer at dannos

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Winghunter wrote: »
    Still have'nt a clue what your talking about.Suppose some people know everything about everthing.

Will you just pick the one account and use it, or ill get both sitebanned. Your taking the piss now. Thanks

sorry, to clarify i should hav said " security guard". I will go back and change that. trying to type too fast and missed it i guess!!
    he worked in w.ford crystal, then pennys and was a bouncer at dannos

Ok, that's fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

ziedth wrote: »
    How can bouncers say in Masons (who I have to admit are on the ball in such things) able to throw out guys for fighting and retail security can't? Is it a different licence? That doesn't make sense to me TBH.

I doubt retail security guards are trained for that sort of thing. Anyway, he could have helped organise the posse to pin your man to the ground.

ziedth wrote: »

thats an iterseting one there. I am just speculating this; but maybe its coz a pub/club is potentially a more dangerous environment than a shop so the security companies job contract and job insurance will include for use of force to eject troublesome people.

Obviously because of the risk, this cover will be more expensive and the company may decide it is not needed for a supermarket Plus to keep their bid for the job competitive they will have to submit a tender with the lowest possible price. I imagine the client (club/shop etc) would have to specify if they wanted these extra items of service and presumably tesco did not include this in their contracts. Not sure though just speculating - it is an interesting one. I will show damo this thread when i talk to him next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

^ I'd say you could have a point too, if the security guard who was there's main responsibility is stock loss prevention he might only be trained/covered for that.

dayshah wrote: »
    I doubt retail security guards are trained for that sort of thing. Anyway, he could have helped organise the posse to pin your man to the ground.

good point, i agree. some of the sec men might be trained for different situations such as specialising in;

- clubs/pubs/ potential violence
    - anti theft (shops)
    - body guard

in any case though, i dont think he could direct/orgaise a possie of shoppers to assist the woman as a court would still rule this as intervening as he was directing the others and as such, influencing the outcome. Wisest thing to do in this case is just to watch, listen and take notes if nessecary and describe it to the guards when they arrive.

PS what was the name of that film a few yrs back about a retail sec man -"something something and report". What was it???

EDIT: observe and report thats it. Has seth rogen in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Mooley22

Wisest thing to do in this case is just to watch, listen and take notes if nessecary and describe it to the guards when they arrive.
    The wisest thing to do when a man is kicking a woman on the ground is to watch and take notes?what kind of person are you.So if you were there you would stand by and just take notes?

Mooley22 wrote: »
    The wisest thing to do when a man is kicking a woman on the ground is to watch and take notes?what kind of person are you.So if you were there you would stand by and just take notes?

if i was there i might intervene and help if i thought i could. But then, i'm not the sec man who has to worry about losing my job or ending up in court because i went outside the limits of my company's contract sd the company could end up being sued her or the man or the shop. read my previous posts, i know a bit about it cos gf's brother is a security guard and bouncer.

it was a stroke of look though that the customers intervened. i knows its immoral and all to sit back and watch, but hey thats business for ya.

it reminds me of the scene from the film Irreversible (2002) where yer wan is being raped and various people appear in the subway in the backround but when they see whats happening they turn around and leave, not wanting to get involved - sick relly but you'll find its what many do when they come across a fight or whatever. They don't want to get injured or otherwise embroiled themselves, whichis understandable i suppose from a certain perspective. but then it depends on wether your a 22 stone rugby player or an little old lady.

<SNIP>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

it reminds me of the scene from the film Irreversible (2002) where yer wan is being raped and various people appear in the subway in the backround but when they see whats happening they turn around and leave, not wanting to get involved - sick relly but you'll find its what many do when they come across a fight or whatever. They don't want to get injured or otherwise embroiled themselves, whichis understandable i suppose from a certain perspective. but then it depends on wether your a 22 stone rugby player or an little old lady.

<SNIP>

if i was there i might intervene and help if i thought i could. But then, i'm not the sec man who has to worry about losing my job or ending up in court because i went outside the limits of my company's contract sd the company could end up being sued her or the man or the shop. read my previous posts, i know a bit about it cos gf's brother is a security guard and bouncer.

it was a stroke of look though that the customers intervened. i knows its immoral and all to sit back and watch, but hey thats business for ya.

<SNIP>

Didn't that happen down in Cork a few years back. A girl was being raped and begging passer bys for help and noen offer any???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭cycletheroad

thats an iterseting one there. I am just speculating this; but maybe its coz a pub/club is potentially a more dangerous environment than a shop so the security companies job contract and job insurance will include for use of force to eject troublesome people.

Obviously because of the risk, this cover will be more expensive and the company may decide it is not needed for a supermarket Plus to keep their bid for the job competitive they will have to submit a tender with the lowest possible price. I imagine the client (club/shop etc) would have to specify if they wanted these extra items of service and presumably tesco did not include this in their contracts. Not sure though just speculating - it is an interesting one. I will show damo this thread when i talk to him next.

It may have something to do with the fact that bouncers operate in packs and more times then not its only one security guard on duty in shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭deisemum

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Didn't that happen down in Cork a few years back. A girl was being raped and begging passer bys for help and noen offer any???

Yeah I think your right, I've a vague memory of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭jammstarr

Jesus hope the poor girl makes a speedy recovery. There are some absolute animals out in the world it seems :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Off topic but here it is: go to 03:28 and see them in the top right at end of tunnell, ignore the rest - its sick and disturbing.

Is there really a need to be posting **** like that. What the hell is wrong with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Yes Boss

<SNIP>

What a sad reflection of our society when someone is either too spineless or selfish (in order to protect their job) to come to the aid of a woman who is being beaten by a man...Sorry but in my opinion there is No excuse..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

DEPENDS ON HOW LONG IT LASTED IF IT WAS ONLY A FEW SECONDS WELL THATS MABEY WHY THE GUY DIDNT GET OVER TO HELP,

or allegedly it could have been some poor unfortunate caught short on his way home from the pub and getting maced & jumped on by a few dodgy public servants but that is a far lot worse........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Jesus this thread has gone outa control!

The security guard is getting more of a going in than the attacker.

The whole attack probably lasted seconds, and he was probably over at the exit and even if he saw what was happening, might not have got there in time!