Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stephen Soderbergh's Haywire

• 23-07-2011 12:14am
    Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,405 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like it will be a busy year for Stephen Soderbergh. He's got Contagion coming out, and then in January there's this one called Haywire. It looks like an action thriller in the Bourne mould. It's got a cracking cast and looks like it could be good!

Here's the trailer:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Gina who?

Trailer isn't doing anything for me. Maybe it's the stupid voice-over. Or that strange feeling that I've seen this movie before.

Oh and apparently Soderbergh isn't retiring now. But if this is the best he can do, maybe retiring would be for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

The world’s deadliest assassin…is a girl. Zzzzz. The cast is really interesting and the inner nerd in me had to applaud the casting of Bill Paxton. Paxton = fun.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,405 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Gina who?

Trailer isn't doing anything for me. Maybe it's the stupid voice-over. Or that strange feeling that I've seen this movie before.

Oh and apparently Soderbergh isn't retiring now. But if this is the best he can do, maybe retiring would be for the best.

Gina Carano apparently. Never heard of her either! Here's her entire fimpography :P

2011Haywire

2009 Blood and Bone

2008 Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 (Video Game)

2006 Fight Girls (TV series)

Apparently she's more well known for being an American Gladiator, oh dear. I guess this is a similar casting decision to what he made with casting Sasha Grey in The Girlfriend Experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Apparently she's more well known for being an American Gladiator, oh dear.

She is best known for her MMA career, she'd be reasonably well-known in the states among MMA fans.

I doubt she can act worth a damn but i'd imagine she's decent at stunts and puts a few extra bums in the seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭SVG

The trailer looks very generic and spoilery- I wish I hadn't watched it. I'll still probably watch the film though because it's Soderbergh plus the guy who wrote The Limey plus a great cast. I think the posters I've seen did a much better job of selling the film.

haywire1.jpghaywire-poster-413x600.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15 goodFeather

Surprised no one has mentioned that Dublin features in the trailer, College Green at 54s and Abbey Street at 1m44s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

a girl kicking the **** out of men :rolleyes: this looks ****ing ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well that was a bit spoilery, no? Heh, was odd seeing all those actors and then a Gardaì car screeching to a halt :pac:

Who's stupid idea was it to show how she wins all the fights she seems to have got in, zero suspense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭weemcd

ricero wrote: »
    a girl kicking the **** out of men :rolleyes: this looks ****ing ****

Gina Carano is a professional cage fighter, and would kick the shít out of most men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

Gina Carano

Ooohhhh dat face!

sexy_yeah_gina_carano_gif.gif

gina.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

weemcd wrote: »
    Gina Carano is a professional cage fighter, and would kick the shít out of most men.

yea but i dont want to pay nearly 10 euro to see a woman kicking ass. i like me women in films to be there to get bonned like the bond girls. also more than likely she will be a woeful actress

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Ha, its bizarre seeing Gardai getting the ****e kicked out of them :D. Ive been waiting for this for ages, think ill go see it just for the dublin scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭weemcd

i like me women in films to be there to get bonned like the bond girls

Touché :cool:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,405 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Opinicus wrote: »
    Gina Carano

Ooohhhh dat face!

sexy_yeah_gina_carano_gif.gif

gina.gif

Fap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

dr gonzo wrote: »
    Ha, its bizarre seeing Gardai getting the ****e kicked out of them :D. Ive been waiting for this for ages, think ill go see it just for the dublin scenes.
    +1. Had to pause the trailer on youtube to see the Gardai patch. Should be entertaining enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,604 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wow surprised by the choice for the lead role :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

yea but i dont want to pay nearly 10 euro to see a woman kicking ass. i like me women in films to be there to get bonned like the bond girls. also more than likely she will be a woeful actress

You're comedy gold ricero, keep going. ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Has there ever been a director as hit & miss as Soderbergh? Lad craps them out something fierce. Although I really enjoyed the Girlfriend Experience (pretentious but interesting) / Informant (genuinely funny and clever take on a 'true story') combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭KilOit

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Wow surprised by the choice for the lead role :eek:

Shouldn't be, one of his previous films had a famous porn star as the lead role.
    Movie looks interesting, had to pause the trailer, thought i was seeing things when i seen the Gardá cars :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

I thought it looked pretty good,she looked the part pretty bad ass and didnt look like she was doing much acting.Could pass a thursday night for me.Had to stop the trailer has it was giving to much away!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Has there ever been a director as hit & miss as Soderbergh? Lad craps them out something fierce. Although I really enjoyed the Girlfriend Experience (pretentious but interesting) / Informant (genuinely funny and clever take on a 'true story') combo.
    Even at his best, I don't feel Soderbergh ever lived up to his potential. Most of his films are rush jobs and heavily influenced by other far superior films. I get the impression he likes making films, working with actors, etc, but isn't too concerned about the finished result. He's very self-depreciating about his own work which is an unusual quality in a director.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Ah, the Michelle Rodriguez paradigm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Surprised no one has mentioned that Dublin features in the trailer, College Green at 54s and Abbey Street at 1m44s

Just watched it now and it's College Green and later on Lower Abbey street, no question about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Decuc500

Maybe Steven Soderbergh is a bit hit and miss because of the amount of films he directs but when he makes crime films they're usually very good. Underneath, Out of Sight, Traffic and The Limey are all great so I have high hopes for Haywire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Looks ok, I'm sure I've seen worse

Here is Gina Carano in her day job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Was that Fassbender in the trailer?

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭CdeP

Colmo52 wrote: »

Yep. We'll be seeing him quite a lot over the next twelve months or so it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭arsenallegend

Colmo52 wrote: »

also it seems fair to say he's not the lead performer in the male side of things going by the trailer. Pity i really think fassbender is probably the best young actor out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 MissKK

Yeah it doesn't seem like many people realise that he shot in Dublin! I'm not liking the trailer but looking forward to seeing Michael Fassbender in it! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 25 MissKK

also it seems fair to say he's not the lead performer in the male side of things going by the trailer. Pity i really think fassbender is probably the best young actor out there.

I could not agree more :) Followed all his work and I'm so glad he's finally getting the recognition he deserves!! It's going to be a really busy year for him loads of films coming out!

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

A couple of images of the movie taken in dublin.

Haywire-Dublin-Roofs-600x323.jpg

Heuston Station
    Haywire-Heuston-Train-Station-600x399.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's due out in about 3 weeks, but Variety already has a review up, here. It's fairly positive.

There was another trailer too:

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

i thought his best film was THE LIMEY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

I saw this last night and was quite impressed. It plays like a sort of arthouse action film, so - a bit like the way people expected Drive to have had more car chases - anyone going expecting relentless kick-ass action throughout may be disappointed, despite a few great fight sequences, one in particular.

It's a fairly simple story, but told in the trademark Soderbergh disjointed chronology, so you have to pay attention at the start, just to be sure you know what's going on.
    The Dublin sequences are very well done, and - for a change - don't include the standard distractions (for those familiar with the city) of having someone, for example, turn a corner off Grafton Street and end up immediately in O'Connell Street. The action is very focused on the relevant areas and there are no awkward location jumps, which are not a big deal, but I liked the fact that there was a natural flow to the movement around the city. There is also a very naturalistic quality to some of these sequences, not least the rooftop scenes. While the film has a David Holmes score, it is often used very sparingly, and to great effect.

Gina Carano does very well and deserves further high-profile film work on this evidence. The supporting cast are all decent, though I can never take Ewan McGregor seriously when he's not talking in his own accent. Michael Douglas probably only did about three days work on it, but he adds his usual gravitas.
    Probably my second favourite Soderbergh film, after The Limey.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Opinicus wrote: »
    Gina Carano

Ooohhhh dat face!

gina.gif

Wow. First time I've felt "teased" by a GIF.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I thought was ****ing woeful, how could such a decent cast, McGregor, Fassbender, Banderas, Douglas, hell even Bill Paxton, wind up in such a crappy film? the fight scenes were great, loved how they werent overchoreographed or quickly edited, so no complaints there. but the dialogue, sweet. fcuking. jesus. It was like one of those direct to video movies with some female cop on a rampage you'd see in a video store in the 80's.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

How much of this film is set in dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    How much of this film is set in dublin?

bout 20 mins of it or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Going to see this tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Such a poor film, hard to know where to begin. Soderbergh must have bumped into Fassbender when they were filming in the street, only reason I can think of why he'd want to be in this. Some of the dialogue was awful, like terrible. Carano was ok, for the character she's given it can cover up any acting shortcomings she may or may not have, the cold blooded, no emotion assassin type etc. It was cool to see Dublin in some of the scenes, which is probably the best thing I can say about the film. Staggering how it got a cinema release really, I guess the actors being the only reason.

Looks like it could be this year's 'Skyline'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Just back from this. Rather enjoyable movie but not shot like a typical action movie. Soderbergh style is rather distinct and this feels and looks like a low key Soderbergh movie. Interesting to see Dublin and Wicklow in an international movie. The female lead was fine considering this was her first role in a movie. It certainly way better than Skyline :D

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Just back from this. Rather enjoyable movie but not shot like a typical action movie. Soderbergh style is rather distinct and this feels and looks like a low key Soderbergh movie. Interesting to see Dublin and Wicklow in an international movie. The female lead was fine considering this was her first role in a movie. It certainly way better than Skyline :D

Not as bad as Skyline, but not that far off IMO. One of Soderbergh's worst films, probably somewhere around Ocean's Twelve bad. None of the actors parts in it can be justified in anyway, Douglas, Banderas, Pullman, Paxton, only Fassbender and McGregor have any part of worth really.

Been a while since Soderbergh made a really good film, probably Che or The Good German were the last decent ones. Carano was ok in it, but devoid of any charm as a lead actor really.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Can't beat the internet for hyperbole - as bad as Skyline? Come off it - how many of you actually saw that film: 'cos if you did you wouldn't throw around accusations that vile so easily ;) I saw Haywire this afternoon & whilst it was no classic by any stretch, it's only crime is mediocrity. Whilst the action scenes were well done, those in between were just interminable & slightly over-stylised. Soderbergh definitely has a tone all of his own (one that couldn't be described as being warm & fuzzy), but he overcooked the 'downtime' scenes just a tad too much.

Nice to see Dublin in a non-Oirish context though - even the geography was correct for once. And who better to accompany those scenes than the Irishman-de-jour, Mr. Fassbender. He was criminally wasted mind you, and once again managed to muddle his accents between Brit & his own native one.

I must admit though - she may not be the most versatile actor on the planet, but there was something oddly magnetic about Carano on the screen. Not 'conventionally' attractive in a Hollywood sense, but everytime she bit her lip I came over all weak in the knees :)

Having said that, I could have done without the cringey "Hi Dublin!..." introduction by Carano herself; that was just a bit embarrassing, the whole cinema laughed at that.

pixelburp wrote: »
    Can't beat the internet for hyperbole - as bad as Skyline? Come off it - how many of you actually saw that film: 'cos if you did you wouldn't throw around accusations that vile so easily ;) I saw Haywire this afternoon & whilst it was no classic by any stretch, it's only crime is mediocrity. Whilst the action scenes were well done, those in between were just interminable & slightly over-stylised. Soderbergh definitely has a tone all of his own (one that couldn't be described as being warm & fuzzy), but he overcooked the 'downtime' scenes just a tad too much.

Nice to see Dublin in a non-Oirish context though - even the geography was correct for once. And who better to accompany those scenes than the Irishman-de-jour, Mr. Fassbender. He was criminally wasted mind you, and once again managed to muddle his accents between Brit & his own native one.

I must admit though - she may not be the most versatile actor on the planet, but there was something oddly magnetic about Carano on the screen. Not 'conventionally' attractive in a Hollywood sense, but everytime she bit her lip I came over all weak in the knees :)

Having said that, I could have done without the cringey "Hi Dublin!..." introduction by Carano herself; that was just a bit embarrassing, the whole cinema laughed at that.

Can't beat the internet for not reading posts right, I said it wasn't as bad as Skyline.

Didn't Fassbender purposely change accents though? He spoke British when he was working and a bit Irish when he was talking to McGregor about the job. I wish Haywire was just mediocre, might have been at least worth going to see.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Corholio wrote: »
    Can't beat the internet for not reading posts right, I said it wasn't as bad as Skyline.

Uhm, how else was I supposed to read "Looks like it could be this year's 'Skyline'"? I mean taking one of 2011's worst films and comparing to this one isn't exactly a stirring endorsement.

pixelburp wrote: »
    Uhm, how else was I supposed to read "Looks like it could be this year's 'Skyline'"? I mean taking one of 2011's worst films and comparing to this one isn't exactly a stirring endorsement.

Do you know how the phrase "this year's so and so" is used? It's not a direct comparison, it's a comparison of a year's quality of film. Just like 'Skyline', im not sure how Haywire got a cinema release, based on it's quality.

Corholio wrote: »
    Do you know how the phrase "this year's so and so" is used? It's not a direct comparison, it's a comparison of a year's quality of film. Just like 'Skyline', im not sure how Haywire got a cinema release, based on it's quality.
    Sooo, you don't think the movie was any good then? Right, good. :rolleyes:

So... Haywire anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭faddius

I have to say one of the worst movies I have ever had the misfortune of seeing. Shockingly bad. How did this get a cinema release?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,064 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Went to see this on Friday night and wasn't impressed. Was expecting much better but still good to see plenty of Dublin in a film. 4/10 for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Thought it was watchable probably because much was set in Dublin but the fights were poor.

I was a bit worried when she got into the taxis in Dublin. I was expecting a rant about black drivers taking over the taxi ranks or similar from the driver.

Laughed at the suggestion that they would track her with the broach through the Heuston Station CCTV. CIE and its subsidiaries can barely run a few trains on schedule, or make station announcements on the Dart trains let alone integrated CCTV.