Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bull**** Careers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Health & Safety has importance but it's expanded into a huge industry and many have managed to justify jobs for themselves out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

The very fact that it's called human 'resources' tells you everything you need to know.

PR consultants.

With "Kindest" Regards,

Dept of human expendables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Naikon wrote: »
    The Ivory Towers, they have spoken. The reason people don't know about some of these obscure research areas, is because they serve little use to most members of society. It's not through chance that the really important fundamentally earth shattering research generally comes from Industry, not Academia. This man has every right to indulge in English Lit. fair play. I don't think people should aquire Tenure because of it, though.

Industry and science are not the only important areas of research. Research in the arts has its merits. The arts are a very, very important part of society. To underestimate the value of studying something like English Literature and to say that people should not have jobs in that area is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Irish President

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

mikemac wrote: »
    Human Resources

The home of failed middle managers.
    Key skills are listening and acting like you care about employees while shafting them to protect the company

Following on from this...

Recruitment Consultants.

A costly, ineffective middle-man who does the job that Human Resources should be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

The Irish army.

Paid charity work more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

El_Drago wrote: »
    Philosopher.It's a past-time,not a career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Food critics, dejected failed chefs with an insatiable need to feed the absyss left in their ego by their own failures in life.

Plasterers, mix some stuff, smear it on a wall and charge a couple of thousand for something a monkey could do.

All the cast of Fair City, nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

List one nonsense career per post and justify the choice with a couple of sentances or so.
    Pet psychic. They have to ask the owner for their pet's name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

7Sins wrote: »

Plasterers, mix some stuff, smear it on a wall and charge a couple of thousand for something a monkey could do.

Have you tried plastering a whole room yourself? It's a lot tougher than it looks.

So... anyone seen their job mentioned yet? :pac:

Industry and science are not the only important areas of research. Research in the arts has its merits. The arts are a very, very important part of society. To underestimate the value of studying something like English Literature and to say that people should not have jobs in that area is ridiculous.

I agree to an extent. I just don't think some of these studies deserve funding though. For every good research publication, there is a real capacity to have absolute dross published in the name of "progess" at the expense society no doubt. Ever heard of publish or perish? Industry requires a practical justification for the research. Academia does not. It's just an important distinction some people fail to recognise.

This is going OT, so I will leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

All the cast of Fair City, nuff said.

gotta disagree. to get a whole wall nice and smooth is pretty skillful i think. i maybe basing this on a recent bad episode on trying to smoothen a wall with some polyfilla though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Office Manager.

Glorified secretaries making issues where there are none just to justify their own position.

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    Office Manager.

Glorified secretaries making issues where there are none just to justify their own position.

"Here is my reciept for your reciept"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    Glorified secretaries

Another term is Executive Assistant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Cold calling Telesales + Door to door sales.

Anything with "SALES SALES SALES" or " EARN €€€€'s this summer" in the job advertisement.

Paid charity bucket shaker. Its not charity if your getting a flat rate from the donations.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Nephinbeg

African princes. They seem to spend hours sending me emails about their inability to get money out of their bank accounts. Really annoying when you've emails about herbal viagra to read!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Begging Roma Gypsie Asylum seeker. Oh wait, that ones very lucrative indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

The Irish army.

Paid charity work more like.
    Ignant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Psychics?

I knew you were going to say that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

"Human Resources"

"Theoretical Astrophysicist"

"Homeopathic consultant"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I think I win.

Gossip columnist.

Have you tried plastering a whole room yourself? It's a lot tougher than it looks.

So... anyone seen their job mentioned yet? :pac:

Overpaid. Well ye were a few year ago anyway, can only assume ye charge normal rates now :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

Overpaid. Well ye were a few year ago anyway, can only assume ye charge normal rates now :confused:

extremely physical job, and very skillful work. they are artists with muscles they earned that money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I don't know how that could be considered a "bullsh*t career". A lot of lecturers in English (or in most subjects) are writers who lecture. They write extensively on subjects you or I wouldn't know the first thing about while also lecturing on them.

That's nice and all but should these people be indulged by the tax-payer?

I say no. GTFO imo.
    Research in the arts has its merits. The arts are a very, very important part of society. To underestimate the value of studying something like English Literature and to say that people should not have jobs in that area is ridiculous.

Again, it may have it's merits but that does not mean that it should be indulged by the tax-payer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

This ought to ruffle a few feathers but what the hell.Anything that requires an arts degree:p

And it only took 15 posts. Well done.

So we don't want translators, we don't want teachers, we don't want computer scientists (Maynooth do a BA in Comp. Science before anyone says it's not arts), we don't want journalists...

That's nice and all but should these people be indulged by the tax-payer?

I say no. GTFO imo.

Again, it may have it's merits but that does not mean that it should be indulged by the tax-payer.

Should we live in a society that only hands money over to industry and science? I say no. GTFO, imo. That, to me, is the epitome of a soulless society.

There's a reason the fascists burned books. Supporting the arts is extremely important, especially in times like this when they need to be defended more than ever. I'm not saying that industry and science are not important, of course they are, but equal importance lies with careers within the arts and they should be treated with more respect than just mere 'pass-times'. The idea of disregarding careers in the arts just because there's a recession going on is utter nonsense. It's a very important part a well-rounded society.

And it only took 15 posts. Well done.

So we don't want translators, we don't want teachers, we don't want computer scientists (Maynooth do a BA in Comp. Science before anyone says it's not arts), we don't want journalists...

I personally am against people who stumble into teaching. Teaching should require, at least, a four year professional degree maybe even a masters and the first couple of years of teaching should be peer reviewed and if people are not up to scratch GTFO imo.

Our kids are much too precious to be handed over to someone who is insulated from the real world by militant unions and who can spend 40 years being well paid with unbelievable holidays whilst being uttery incompetent.

Just no.

People working in admin for a civil service type department job, an absolute shower of useless c**ts, that don't even know their own boundaries on what does and does not comes under their job description. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

County Council "workers"

Should we live in a society that only hands money over to industry and science?

Yes - An unequivocally and resounding Yes. Universities are becoming big businesses these days. Except unlike Most businesses, you can't get your money back over poor teaching standards. Stonewalling is typical.

Union Workers - Whinge about "trophy houses" while raking in the dough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Event Manager.

"Hi, I'm an event manager. I manage events. I did a Level 5 FETAC course in Event Management."

Should we live in a society that only hands money over to industry and science? I say no. GTFO, imo. That, to me, is the epitome of a soulless society.

There's a reason the fascists burned books.

Who said anything about burning books?

I think most people would rather see their money being spent on researching cancer cures or perhaps sustainable energy or something which will make the world a better place for everyone.

Philosophy, history, english and the like?

Now why would anyone want to indulge €100,000+ a year lecturers and millions of €uros a year funding degrees which are essentially hobbies?

No. Just no.

County Council "workers"

Just fix the bloodly potholes - 10+ years is a long time to sit and ponder fixing em :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Ever read 1984, chuck?

Yes - An unequivocally and resounding Yes. Universities are becoming big businesses these days. Grade inflation is a good example.

Well, I for one, would hate to live in a society like that, and I'm glad we don't. As I said before, people do not give enough credit to the arts, and I don't really understand how people cannot be supportive of both the arts and science and industry, as it's all part of creating a fuller society. Let's also bear in mind that not everyone is a scientist or a builder. Some people don't have the aptitude for those things. Pushing kids into careers in science when they have no aptitude in it just because it's 'practical' is just going to result in a higher drop-out rate, less graduates and therefore less professionals, thus making Ireland a much less attractive investment option. Also, science in particular is a very competitive field, and unless you're very good and very dedicated it's difficult to make it.

I'm downplaying the importance of science for a second, but people shouldn't downplay the importance of the arts either. Science for all it's positives, is utterly cold for the most part. The arts provide something science can't.

Who said anything about burning books?

I think most people would rather see their money being spent on researching cancer cures or perhaps sustainable energy or something which will make the world a better place for everyone.

Philosophy, history, english and the like?

Now why would anyone want to indulge €100,000+ a year lecturers and millions of €uros a year funding degrees which are essentially hobbies?

No. Just no.

This post does not even deserve a decent reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

This ought to ruffle a few feathers but what the hell.Anything that requires an arts degree:p

It's the weight of those feathers that matters. There are so many of them that it would take much more than a post on a message board to ruffle anything connected to them. Keep trying. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭boblong

(Maynooth do a BA in Comp. Science before anyone says it's not arts)

Wut. The awarding of a BA is not enough to classify the field as an arts degree. The classification is complicated enough (Feynman said it was simply engineering) whereas some areas (namely theoretical CS) probably qualify as mathematics. From the wiki:
    Bachelor of Arts (BA, B.A., or A.B.), from the Latin artium baccalaureus, is a bachelor's degree awarded for an undergraduate course or program in either the liberal arts, the sciences, or both.

RichieC wrote: »
    Ever read 1984, chuck?

It's at the top of my 'to read' list and I must say I feel quite embarrased saying that I haven't.

I've seen the movie if that counts (probably not).

But what's the relevance anyway?

This post does not even deserve a decent reply.

That^^ is not response.

I know it might stick in your craw that some people see the world a little differently to how you do but, hey, get used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

The people employed to find dark matter.........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Celebrity/ Socialite.

"Hey, you may know me from such nightclubs as blahhdy blahh. And I slept with this footballer and somebody off Hollyoaks."

And anybody whose employment is in anyway linked to hedge funds. ****holes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

RichieC wrote: »
    Ever read 1984, chuck?

[CONTROVERSY] Fahrenheit 451 is mo beta [/CONTROVERSY]

Arts is a very important area of for society at large. It's just the sheer number of people engaging in this field is disproportionate to the relative gains the investment is supposed to bring. I am not against Arts, I have alot of respect for people who can "break the mould" so to speak. Anyone who is skilled in the Arts does not really need a college stamp, now do they? So you have to ask the question: Is Third Level really the best place for aspiring Artists? Why not just copyright and market your work? You can't teach people to become musicians, now can you? Arts is a cornerstone of society. The value of third level Arts is another matter entirely...

Again, going a bit OT here...

Flag watchers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I personally am against people who stumble into teaching. Teaching should require, at least, a four year professional degree maybe even a masters and the first couple of years of teaching should be peer reviewed and if people are not up to scratch GTFO imo.

I can agree with this. The Finnish route is the way to go. There have been huge strides to professionalise teaching in Ireland but the "intellectuals" at the top are hopelessly beholden to what's going on in Britain: it's despairing to see it while places like Finland and South Korea are creating new worlds in educational terms. I "stumbled" into teaching in the sense that I did my PhD before I did my PGDE (formerly the H Dip in Education). By right the PGDE should be a 3-4 year course (at least) instead of the current 1 year course, which we paid €6,550 for in order to be qualified for jobs which don't exist. The universities have a huge financial interest in sustaining the current teacher-training system, and that's often overlooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

boards moderator

*awaits ban*

"Market Research" == "How can we fcuk the competition over?"