Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork v Mayo All Ireland Quarter Final - Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I saw nothing in the Connaught final to suggest that Roscommon where the better team than Mayo.

and yet roscommon led that final for 60 minutes and mayo didn't go in front till the 65th minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

I can't see Mayo winning this one. Cork's midfield and forward line are stronger than ours and even if Mayo were to go a few points up with 10 or 15 minutes left Cork have the experience and the stamina to pull it back. This match will be a huge step up from the Connacht championship and Mayo have just not had the calibre of opponents Cork have had so far.

The last time Cork beat us out the gate it took us a year to recover, lets hope Horan's good work will not be undone come the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JFlah

final 4 of Cork/Kerry , Dublin/Donegal(Kildare) can,t decide

Cork v,s Donegal(Kildare) final Cork to retain title ?? IMHO

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

bm1993 wrote: »
    Cork will destroy Mayo. Mayo are lucky that Sheehan O'Neill and possibly Goulding are out otherwise I shudder to think what would happen. Mayo's backs with the exception of Higgins are poor and will be ruthlessly exposed in Croker. The midfield is average at best and while the half forward line is good Doherty and Freeman aren't up to championship standard. O'Connor is a serious talent but only 19. Cork are far superior in every area and Mayo's only hope is if Cork hit 30 wides. A 10 pt or less defeat would be a good result for Mayo.

Wow, post of the day :D
    On what basis aren't Doherty or Freeman up to Championship standard... is this on the 3 games in total that they have played. So you can tell us that a player, after 3 games, is or isn't up to Championship standard :p

Right......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

rossie1977 wrote: »
    and yet roscommon led that final for 60 minutes and mayo didn't go in front till the 65th minute
    WHO WON THE BLOODY FINAL???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Ha ha and if Mayo had played with the wind in the first half Roscommon would have led for 0 minutes

Cork will destroy Mayo. Mayo are lucky that Sheehan O'Neill and possibly Goulding are out otherwise I shudder to think what would happen. Mayo's backs with the exception of Higgins are poor and will be ruthlessly exposed in Croker. The midfield is average at best and while the half forward line is good Doherty and Freeman aren't up to championship standard. O'Connor is a serious talent but only 19. Cork are far superior in every area and Mayo's only hope is if Cork hit 30 wides. A 10 pt or less defeat would be a good result for Mayo.

You see if you knew what you were talking about you wouldnt have posted that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

As much as I'd like to see Mayo do well here and sneak a win...I just can't see it happening.

I know the weather has played a big factor in their games so far, so maybe I'm reading it all wrong but I don't think they've shown anything to suggest they can beat Cork.

Cork's win over Down was hugely impressive, Down are good but Cork blew them away completely. If they play like that again, they'll beat Mayo....of course Mayo are being written off completely so if they are actually any good, and the weather did hinder them that much, they could hit them with a shock.

But I don't see it. Cork by 7+

Ha ha and if Mayo had played with the wind in the first half Roscommon would have led for 0 minutes
    Is it any wonder that Roscommon football has been in the gutter for the last 20 years or there abouts if thats the level of football know how down there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,739 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

yop wrote: »
    On what basis aren't Doherty or Freeman up to Championship standard... is this on the 3 games in total that they have played. So you can tell us that a player, after 3 games, is or isn't up to Championship standard :p

Right......

well to be fair Doherty have invisible v Ross and not much better v Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

All the talk so far reminds me of 2004 when conventional wisdom suggested that Mayo were wasting their time coming to Dublin against reigning all Ireland champions. Then, as now, Mayo come in as provincial champions against back door competition.
    On the day I expect an overconfident Cork team (and their supporters - the ones who are away on holidays for the semi and come along for the walk over) to meet 15 fairly hungry young Mayo men out to make a name for themselves. I dont expect Cork being allowed to dominate midfield and I think the O'Shea brothers will take to Croke Park rather well.
    In good weather I expect our forwards to produce the goods. Elsewhere I cant see Dillon, Mortimer or Feeney (or McGarrity if he plays) allowing Cork to boss them around. And Doherty is better than the Roscommon game suggests. If O'Connor can continue his free taking then Cork better not give away too many silly frees!
    No walkover lads and I personally cant wait for this game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Is it any wonder that Roscommon football has been in the gutter for the last 20 years or there abouts if thats the level of football know how down there?

Hiya, troll!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

well to be fair Doherty have invisible v Ross and not much better v Galway.

I agree, he has had a poor Championship but he was one of our best player in the league.
    You can't rule a player out based on 3 championship games is my point. I think the poster though in fairness was only posting without too much knowledge, so we can excuse him or her for this ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,739 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

All the talk so far reminds me of 2004 when conventional wisdom suggested that Mayo were wasting their time coming to Dublin against reigning all Ireland champions. Then, as now, Mayo come in as provincial champions against back door competition.
    On the day I expect an overconfident Cork team (and their supporters - the ones who are away on holidays for the semi and come along for the walk over) to meet 15 fairly hungry young Mayo men out to make a name for themselves. I dont expect Cork being allowed to dominate midfield and I think the O'Shea brothers will take to Croke Park rather well.
    In good weather I expect our forwards to produce the goods. Elsewhere I cant see Dillon, Mortimer or Feeney (or McGarrity if he plays) allowing Cork to boss them around. And Doherty is better than the Roscommon game suggests. If O'Connor can continue his free taking then Cork better not give away too many silly frees!

I would love to agree with you but I think you are overlooking the fact that Cork will be really up for this game.

The prize at the other end is a crack at Kerry (no offence Limerick), and it's a Kerry team that Cork can certainly beat, and put the Croke Park hodo (sp) to rest.

Now if Limerick beat Kerry in the first game then anything can happen

Syferus wrote: »
    Hiya, troll!

No troll here my friend. If you want to experience trolling check out the posts with the Roscommon slant that are top heavy with every statistic you can think of about a game except the final score.
    Thats what I am giving out about. Ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Cork have the best capabilities of beating Kerry in Croke Park this year - despite their recent record there against Kerry. Again, only time will tell.

That's going to be a big test of Cork's mental strength though. The psychological side of it will be vital. Yes Cork are capable of beating Kerry no doubt about that, but the memory of previous bad Croke Park days against Kerry remains, and it's sure to play on their minds no matter what the backroom team say to them. Cork will be under big pressure to get that monkey off their back this time.

This match will be a huge step up from the Connacht championship

For sure it will, and Mayo will need to improve 100% if they're to even live with Cork, especially if Cork play like they did against Down.

The standard is Connaught is very poor at the moment so the fact that Mayo are coming in as Provincial champions doesn't really mean much. Cork are in a different class to Galway and Roscommon.

I really hope Mayo can at least make a competitive game of it, but I honestly cannot give them much chance of winning unless Cork seriously underperform.

So a Mayo win isn't completely beyond the realms of possibility but for it to happen Mayo will need to play to their very best and hope to catch Cork on an off-day. If Cork bring their best form there can really only be one result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭bm1993

Right......

Doherty has been woeful so far, cleaned out in those 3 games. In fairness Freeman is a good player and played well against Galway but those lads won't strike fear into Cork like Cooper Brogan Clarke Lyng Murphy Coulter etc would
    Just because Doherty had a good league doesn't make him a good player. Kevin MacManamon had an outstanding league but he can't get in the Dublin team. League and championship are completely different in terms of pace and intensity and some players get left behind. If Doherty can't perform in a very weak Connacht Championship he has little chance performing against Cork in Croker

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Why do you expect the Cork team to be overconfient? have they been that way for any match so far this year?
    Also what semi are you on about? Am I missing something? Are you talking abouy the qualifier v Down? The Munster Semi?

I hope those 15 hungry Mayo men come away from Croke Park well fed;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

Why do you expect the Cork team to be overconfient? have they been that way for any match so far this year?
    Also what semi are you on about? Am I missing something? Are you talking abouy the qualifier v Down? The Munster Semi?

I hope those 15 hungry Mayo men come away from Croke Park well fed;)

It's fairly simple. He is referring to the semi against Kerry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Panrich wrote: »
    It's fairly simple. He is referring to the semi against Kerry.

Ah, now I get it. He thinks the Cork fans that are away for the All Ireland semi will pay good money to travel to Dublin to see a walk-over - :rolleyes:

With all due respect to Waterford I think alot of Cork fans did not travel for that game because of the possibility of a one sided enough game. I don't think that is true for the qf. They will go there expecting Mayo to perform to their ability, make a good game of it but hope Cork still win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Well i hope cork win it, love seeing them play kerry in croker, shows up their real qualities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭bm1993

Goulding out

There is a bit of depth to the Cork panel but they are dropping like flies at the moment - chink of light for Mayo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Goulding out

holding him in reserve for kerry , take no chances with him. In fact i think Cork could play a reserve side and still beat London, i mean Mayo:D

BERBA wrote: »
    holding him in reserve for kerry , take no chances with him. In fact i think Cork could play a reserve side and still beat London, i mean Mayo:D
    Good stuff, thats just the sort of buildup that we want .... I'm just wondering what the limits are to Cork arrogance - limitless by the looks of things

when you've won the last 3 trophies on offer your entitled to be arrogant;)

sorry I thought the Munster title went to Kerry? My mistake;)

All irelands are what Cork are interested in.

Kerry won in Munster last year as well , how did they fare in the all ireland final last september? remind me who won that again?

you are the one crowing about winning the last 3 trophies and you have been caught out with a bad case of amnesia regarding this years Munster title.
    Dont be a smart ar$e and just accept that you got owned on that one - there's a good chap;)

Remind us who threw all the toys out of the pram and went on strike a few years ago...:p

One AI won in 20 years and you are spouting this!! Thank God you aren't from Kerry, ask them about winning AI titles :cool:

Anyway, enough of feeding, Goulding out will be a loss for sure.

Are Cork expecting a big crowd on Sunday? Prices aren't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I'm really sick and tired about all this bitching about Mayo getting their arses kicked on sunday. The championship is always full of suprises and maybe we'll see one at the weekend. Regardless of the end result,lets just get to croker and enjoy the game. If the supporters show up and make some noise it might give them the boost they so sorely need. Personally,I think Mayo have an Everest of a job but I'll be roaring my head off for the lads in green and red for the full 70! UP MAYO:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I don't think that Mayo will win but the thing that annoys me is the general public and media seem to always write Mayo off.

Mayo haven't got all that bad of a record in Croke Park...a hell of a lot better than the majority of teams in the last 15 years.

We beat Galway...it's because it's a bad Galway performance!

We beat Roscommon...it's because of the weather!

I'll put it this way, and this is of no disrespect to Galway, but if Galway had won Connacht this year in the exact same fashion as Mayo the general conscious would be that Galway would at the very least give Cork a close game .
    This despite the fact that Mayo have an awful lot better league and Championship record than Galway in the last decade!

**Rant Over**

Maybe he meant the last 3 NATIONAL trophies were won by Cork...2010 lge, 2010 Sam, 2011 lge.

Either way, I don't think these trophies will settle the outcome of any match;)

Are Cork expecting a big crowd on Sunday? Prices aren't too bad.

cork will have a poor following next sunday they will be well outnumbered by mayo fans , cork fans will travel in big numbers for semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

cork will have a poor following next sunday they will be well outnumbered by mayo fans , cork fans will travel in big numbers for semi final.

Yeah. I know from Roscommon's quarter-final with Cork only the die-hards made the trip up so Mayo will be the ones with the numbers to make themselves feel at home on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Newsflash for Roscommon fans - it's the final score that determines who wins the game, not how long you lead a game for.
    If you have Gale force winds with you for the first 35 minutes, then you should really have a better margin than 5 points going into the second half. Teams that are better than their opposition usually do. Teams that aren't, dont'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

And will ye be shouting for Limerick or Mayo at that game?.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

To be honest lv4rwcog5yfmh0 you're the one coming across as arrogant. I'd respect Mayo to the extent that I'd expect them to put up a performance. But Cork haven't been beaten by anyone in the Championship bar Kerry in 7 years and are the reigning champions. Ye last won an All-Ireland 50 years ago and almost lost to London already this year. It's perfectly reasonable for Cork to be confident and to be honest you're really showing yourself up with some of the sh1te you're coming out with.

If ye win more power to ye, I wouldn't begrudge ye it but the fact is that Cork are overwhelming favourites and fully expect to win. That's no bad sign in a team, all good teams expect to win a game. The majority of people in Ireland fully expect Cork to come through this too, if you disagree take some of the 5/1 on offer with Paddy Power for Mayo to win. That's a gigantic price for a team in a 3 horse race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

In the league Aidan O'Shea tookover midfield versus Alan O'Connor. He has his big brother with him now as well. The two of them won't be outfetched by Aidan Walsh. So I think Alan O'Connor will have a battle on his hands. Cork produced some powerful team play against Down which would cut a lot of teams apart. Mayo have a decent chance if Aidan O'Shea takes to the game well and upfront Freeman/Doherty come into some form. You will see McGarrity sprung from the bench which will be a good boost and he should be a bit sharper. Goulding big loss for Cork. Key man at the moment for Cork is Paddy Kelly, he was very effective with his running and passing against Down. Maybe T.Mort will be assigned to him for close attention. If Paddy Kelly plays well he brings other players into every move.

gpf101 wrote: »
    To be honest Fencer you're the one coming across as arrogant. I'd respect Mayo to the extent that I'd expect them to put up a performance. But Cork haven't been beaten by anyone in the Championship bar Kerry in 7 years and are the reigning champions. Ye last won an All-Ireland 50 years ago and lost to London already this year. It's perfectly reasonable for Cork to be confident and to be honest you're really showing yourself up with some of the sh1te you're coming out with.

If ye win more power to ye, I wouldn't begrudge ye it but the fact is that Cork are overwhelming favourites and fully expect to win. That's no bad sign in a team, all good teams expect to win a game. The majority of people in Ireland fully expect Cork to come through this too, if you disagree take some of the 11/1 on offer with Paddy Power for Mayo to win. That's a gigantic price for a team in a 3 horse race.
    If you want to debate a point and accuse me of arrogance then please dont do so from a position of ignorance. Mayo are unbeaten in this years championship unlike Cork - where did you dig up this sh1te about Mayo losing to London?

Oh and I just checked paddypower - 11/1 is for a draw. Mayo are 5/1 - more ill-informed horse-sh1te from you - well done for being the most misinformed poster on the thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 findra

Mayo are a good side. I even said that last year after their June debacle. But as a Cork fan I'm feeling a lot better after last Saturday night. It was the first performance in two years (Tyrone 09) where I felt that Cork played to their potential. Hopefully we'll play to our potential again and hopefully it will be comfortable as I'm sick of watching Cork games from behind the couch!

My apologies, I edited my post to correct my errors.

gpf101 wrote: »
    My apologies, I edited my post to correct my errors.
    Fair enough, I always think that its the sign of a real man to admit a mistake and man up - I respect you a lot more for it though I disagree with your post!

It was a piss poor post, I'll excuse myself from this thread now. We can analyse all that goes on at the weekend on Monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 quizalot

yeah, let's talk about it monday- if one team fan base isn't too bruised to show up and chat...

quizalot wrote: »
    yeah, let's talk about it monday- if one team fan base isn't too bruised to show up and chat...

We will be sound, mad under dogs. We will have the liathroidi to show up for sure, can't say same for some of the Cork "fans" on here ;)

Link?;)

Why the " " around fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Sure if the media is to be believed, aren't all of you in the US, Canada or Australia looking for work ? ;)

Cork are major favourites but, as a Mayo man, i feel that it isnt beyond the realms of possibility that Mayo could win this match. I believe Cork do have weaknesses and, as a previous poster pointed out, Aidan O'Shea was excellent against the Cork midfield in the league. I know it is the league but it happened.
    Mayo's full back line is weak and if the Rossies had any brains they would have been far more direct in the first half. Cork do not lack brains despite what Joe Brolly says. I do see some merit in his comments though in that it is possible to push this Cork attack into cul-de-sacs. In the All-Ireland Final last year Down led at halftime for the main reason that they forced Corks midfield and half back line to carry at them. We saw lots of aimless kicking as Cork struggled with Down's retreating defence.
    James Horan won the county title as manager of unfancied Ballintubber. He did that by being tactically astute and came up with a defensive system. Whether he would try that way with Mayo on Sunday is another question. All i'm saying is dont write us off. Just think of Tyrone 2004. Believe :D

Link?;)

Why the " " around fans?

Cause some of "them" aren't really fans, only on here talking waffle :)

Sure if the media is to be believed, aren't all of you in the US, Canada or Australia looking for work ? ;)
    They actually are, local club has lost 13 of the squad to emigration, personally its not a statement which deserves a ;)