Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork v Mayo All Ireland Quarter Final - Discussion

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I'll say no more.
    Post of the day :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Is anyone bringing anything constructive to the discussion? Bit of a stupid question, with all due respect.

this is meant to be a thread about the upcoming cork and mayo match or maybe you missed the thread title, you have turned it into "my leinster dick is bigger than your connacht dick"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

rossie1977 wrote: »
    this is meant to be a thread about the upcoming cork and mayo match or maybe you missed the thread title, you have turned it into "my leinster dick is bigger than your connacht dick"

"This should be reasonably handy for Cork." That was the beginning of my first post in this thread, if you had actually bothered reading it. And it will be handy for Cork. Mainly because Connaught is such a weak province. See how I've linked the two there? Good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,739 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

leonidas83 wrote: »
    Think this match will be the most decisive of the weekend. Have seen both Cork and Mayo in action this year and dont think it will be a tight match at all. Cork look very strong even with the injuries and I expect them the win this match in a similar manner to the Down one recently. Mayo were very lucky to win the connacht final and their performances so far do not inspire much confidence. Cork to win by at least five points.
    I am neutral when it comes to this match also, no bias

I cannot figure that one.

Yes there performances have not set the world alight, like Wexford's for example, but I doubt they were 'very lucky' to win the Connaught final.

Lets take a look at the game.

Mayo were away from home.
    Their free taker had a 88% return (8 out of 9 free's scored)
    They scored more against the wind that with it, always the sign of a good team
    They held the 'home' team to two second half points.

What was lucky about that.

Lucky is Dublin getting a relatively soft free in injury time to win the game v Kildare
    Lucky is Donegal getting a last minute goal to beat Tyrone
    Lucky is Limerick getting the benefit of the doubt against Wexford.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

I cannot figure that one.

Yes there performances have not set the world alight, like Wexford's for example, but I doubt they were 'very lucky' to win the Connaught final.

Lets take a look at the game.

Mayo were away from home.
    Their free taker had a 88% return (8 out of 9 free's scored)
    They scored more against the wind that with it, always the sign of a good team
    They held the 'home' team to two second half points.

What was lucky about that.

Lucky is Dublin getting a relatively soft free in injury time to win the game.
    Luck is Donegal getting a last minute goal to beat Tyrone
    Luck is Limerick getting the benefit of the doubt against Wexford.

I was at the Connacht final and i thought Mayo were quite lucky for a number of reasons.
    - Roscommon's manager getting his tactics completely wrong and persisting with a short passing game instead of kicking long to Kilbride and Shine who would have done alot of damage with their height, etc. to a relative poor Mayo defence
    - Although the weather was bad in the first half of the match, i have rarely seen the likes of it in the second half when Roscommon were playing against it, to say there was gael force winds would be an understatement, thats more of a reasonable explanation for Roscommon only scoring two points than Mayo's defending

I live in Connacht myself so I wish them the best of luck but i think they will be well beaten by Cork on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

I am not ignoring the point.

I am trying to stop you making a fool of yourself because you are using the fact that a Lenister team has not reached an All Ireland final for two years longer than a Connaught one to try and show that Lenister football is better than Connaught football.

That may be true but history has little to do with the here and now.
    If you want to talk about history I can give you the following facts from the last 10 seasons

2001 to 2010
    All Ireland Senior
    Connaught 10% success rate, 33.3% final success rate (1 win in 3)
    Leinster 0% success rate, 0 finals appearances.

All Ireland u-21
    Connaught 30% success rate, 60% final success rate (3 wins in 5)
    Leinster 20% success rate, 40% final success rate (2 wins in 5)

All Ireland Minor
    Connaught 20% success rate, 40% final success rate (2 wins in 5)
    Leinster 10% success rate, 33.3% final success rate (1 win in 3)

National League
    Connaught 10% success rate, 20% final success rate (1 win in 5)
    Leinster - 0% success rate, 0% finals success rate (0 wins in 3)

I am using 2001 as the start point as that is when the structure of the championship changed.

Facts speak for themselves there! Connacht better than leinster the last decade. now back to the topic Cork v Mayo

I was at the Connacht final and i thought Mayo were quite lucky for a number of reasons.
    - Roscommon's manager getting his tactics completely wrong and persisting with a short passing game instead of kicking long to Kilbride and Shine who would have done alot of damage with their height, etc. to a relative poor Mayo defence
    - Although the weather was bad in the first half of the match, i have rarely seen the likes of it in the second half when Roscommon were playing against it, to say there was gael force winds would be an understatement, thats more of a reasonable explanation for Roscommon only scoring two points than Mayo's defending

I live in Connacht myself so I wish them the best of luck but i think they will be well beaten by Cork on the day

One managers lack of a tactical knowledge does not make the opposition lucky

I too was at the game and to be honest only a meteorologist would be able to decipher the difference in weather conditions between the first and second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Seriously?

Do you understand how sport works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Whitehorse

I wonder will it be hard for the Cork lads to get themselves up of this match? They are red hot favourites and rightly so but they still have to turn up and perform. They must have the semi final in their heads especially IF the Kerry lads have just booked their place in the semi on Sunday as Cork run onto the pitch. Will that focus the minds of the players or will it start them thinking too far ahead and give Mayo a slight chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I too was at the game and to be honest only a meteorologist would be able to decipher the difference in weather conditions between the first and second half.

Honestly, no. Mayo edged it but the conditions worsened significantly in the second half. I was near the sideline all day and by the middle of the second half the wind was able to make the flag markers almost parallel to the ground when it blew.

The Galway minors where able to point from frees quite effectively (for the conditions) in the minor final at the graveyard end; Donie Shine, one of the best free-takers in the country and possessing no small amount of raw power, dropped short at least three points in the second half that were fully on target but for the sheer strength of the wind blowing the ball backwards. The difference between the teams was only two points at the end. Make of that what you may.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Nicholas Murphy named at full forward for Cork

Syferus wrote: »
    Honestly, no. Mayo edged it but the conditions worsened significantly in the second half. I was near the sideline all day and by the middle of the second half the wind was able to make the flag markers almost parallel to the ground when it blew.

The Galway minors where able to point from frees quite effectively (for the conditions) in the minor final at the graveyard end; Donie Shine, one of the best free-takers in the country and possessing no small amount of raw power, dropped short at least three points in the second half that were fully on target but for the sheer strength of the wind blowing the ball backwards. The difference between the teams was only two points at the end. Make of that what you may.

Well the thing is the wind was blowing towards the graveyard end all day and as a result I would expect the Galway minors, and everyone else, to be able to point from frees quite effectively.

Face it, ye were outplayed and beaten by a better team on the day and 'luck' had no part to play in it.

Blackjack wrote: »
    Seriously?

Do you understand how sport works?

Seriously? Great contribution to the thread, Mayo fans like you are the reason why Ive backed Cork to the hilt and am looking forward to the walloping there going to give ye on Sunday

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Long ball route? Cafferkey will have his hands full there.

Seriously? Great contribution to the thread, Mayo fans like you are the reason why Ive backed Cork to the hilt and am looking forward to the walloping there going to give ye on Sunday

And what super power do you follow then? Galway? :o

All well coming on here saying you are looking forward to Mayo been beaten, but you weren't as forth coming when your team were knocked out of the Connacht Championship were you? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

How many fans do you reckon Mayo will bring? Reckon there will be a decent support because of the bank holiday and it looks like our last Croker outing until next year at least.. 4000-6000?

We are the suckers for punishment, but it couldn't get any worse than the 21 point defeat by Cork way back :)
    This is a young team so we need to stick with them on this, its a building process so hopefully a good performance is given on Sunday.
    Looking forward to seen can Limerick do anything with Kerry, I don't suspect they will be who knows!

A tenner on Mayo and Limerick double! :D

yop wrote: »
    We are the suckers for punishment, but it couldn't get any worse than the 21 point defeat by Cork way back :)
    This is a young team so we need to stick with them on this, its a building process so hopefully a good performance is given on Sunday.
    Looking forward to seen can Limerick do anything with Kerry, I don't suspect they will be who knows!

That was one of my first visits to Croke Park. Still remember it.. God bless Kevin O'Neill, he even managed to win an All-star that year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

Don't think Cork will have trouble getting up for this match, with Joe Brolly doing us a massive favour running his mouth off.

And what super power do you follow then? Galway? :o

All well coming on here saying you are looking forward to Mayo been beaten, but you weren't as forth coming when your team were knocked out of the Connacht Championship were you? :rolleyes:

I live in Galway but im from Limerick and I support Limerick. Do not support Galway, dont know where you got that impression from. Anyways I'm really looking forward to the match on Sunday and my winnings:).

Don't think Cork will have trouble getting up for this match, with Joe Brolly doing us a massive favour running his mouth off.

Won't make a difference, Brolly runs his mouth all the time. The GAA equivalent to Dunphy.

I can see Mayo sticking with them but at the same time never showing enough to go on and win the game, a bit like the 2005 QF v Kerry.

If they do that then it will do the team no harm.
    I would expect them to be Connaught Champions again next year and go at least a step further in 2012 thanks to their experiences on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

I live in Galway but im from Limerick and I support Limerick. Do not support Galway, dont know where you got that impression from. Anyways I'm really looking forward to the match on Sunday and my winnings:).

Cork are what 2/9? As another Limerick man once said: If you have the 9 you don't need the 2.

Panrich wrote: »
    Cork are what 2/9? As another Limerick man once said: If you have the 9 you don't need the 2.

When there part of an accumulator there not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

When there part of an accumulator there not

The odds don't change whether they are part of an accumulator or not. Whether you put €900 euro on the nose with Paddy Power or have several other bets that mean you have €900 running on to Cork at 2/9 you will still win the same amount for the same risk. If you leave Cork out of your bet you can decide that you want to put all your winnings on to Cork or not at 2/9.

So a Limerick man feels he can laugh at Mayo........right.

Winnings, you do know the odds, even in an accumulator its not worth putting in.

You do realise the chances are that Limerick will get a bigger hockying than Mayo on Sunday, you do realise that Limerick are playing? Then again you might be more Galway than Limerick at this stage and the bitterness is there :P

So a Limerick man feels he can laugh at Mayo........right.

Winnings, you do know the odds, even in an accumulator its not worth putting in.

You do realise the chances are that Limerick will get a bigger hockying than Mayo on Sunday, you do realise that Limerick are playing? Then again you might be more Galway than Limerick at this stage and the bitterness is there :P

No wont be laughing, will just have a nice smarmy smile on my face come Sunday evening.:) We can come on here on Sunday evening and compare scores.Mayo are in for a good beating and I wouldnt usually take pleasure in that, but with guys like your man back there I will be glad of it this time

And with the odds, you should check that out with the bookies yourself, i know what I'm betting on and know what I'm about to win:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

No wont be laughing, will just have a nice smarmy smile on my face come Sunday evening.:) We can come on here on Sunday evening and compare scores.Mayo are in for a good beating and I wouldnt usually take pleasure in that, but with guys like your man back there I will be glad of it this time

And with the odds, you should check that out with the bookies yourself, i know what I'm betting on and know what I'm about to win:)

You know what you are betting on and you know what you are about to win eh? Why not let us in on your bet so we know how much of a genius you are on Sunday evening? My guess is that would ruin your pathetic wind-up plan.
    Also, a Limerick person living in Galway. So why the problem with Mayo. Ask most Mayo people about Limerick's sporting endeavours and we'd be pretty easygoing about them. I suppose when there isnt really that much going on in Limerick apart from scumbag feuds and a bit of rugby then one doesnt really get too excited.
    So Leonidas, i call your bluff. What bet do you have on? Speak now or your words over the weekend will ring even more hollow than now....

100 euro on a 2/1, chances are Donegal will ruin your party. I am sure PP or other bookie could be delighted to see you arriving in.

Hope Kerry do the job anyway if that is the case, as you said, its with lads like yourself that deserve a good beating on Sunday and I think its coming Limericks way again. If your team gets beat you will have a smarmy smile.. bit weird that isn't it, you don't own an alsation by any chance! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Young Ger Cafferkey is going to have his hands full on Sunday with Nicholas Murphy,excellent target man,same mould as Kieran Donaghy.But Cafferkey is a good footballer and Nicholas Murphy is one of the finest midfielders of the current era.As regards the crowd despite the bank holiday I think it will be very small,yeah maybe around 5000 from Mayo,nobody will travel from the Kingdom or the Rebel county,at enough precursors to All Ireland involving Mayo and said opposition in double headers etc to know what to expect.Limerick fans may travel in fairly big numbers.

Jesus ye Mayo lads are touchy, I'm not even trying to wind ye up and look at ye. Look here buddy, ill tell you some home truths, Mayo are an overated, one sport county with delusions of grandeur about how good their team is. Limerick have both Hurling and Fooball teams, a city with troubles in certain parts but give me Limerick city anyday over that hole ye call Castlebar or any of those dives around it. Roscommon should have beaten ye if it were not for the atrocious conditions in the second half. An

seligehgit wrote: »
    Young Ger Cafferkey is going to have his hands full on Sunday with Nicholas Murphy,excellent target man,same mould as Kieran Donaghy.But Cafferkey is a good footballer and Nicholas Murphy is one of the finest midfielders of the current era.As regards the crowd despite the bank holiday I think it will be very small,yeah maybe around 5000 from Mayo,nobody will travel from the Kingdom or the Rebel county,at enough precursors to All Ireland involving Mayo and said opposition in double headers etc to know what to expect.Limerick fans may travel in fairly big numbers.

I know very few going up on Sunday due to economic issues and the beginning of holidays people are off this Sat to the sun. Kerry rarely travel and the Corkonians are in the semi's by default. Limerick will probably bring the largest support even though I can't see that been larger than 4 or 5 thousand.
    Tickets are affordable but even with that they might not even hit 50k people there.

Jesus ye Mayo lads are touchy, I'm not even trying to wind ye up and look at ye. Look here buddy, ill tell you some home truths, Mayo are an overated, one sport county with delusions of grandeur about how good their team is. Limerick have both Hurling and Fooball teams, a city with troubles in certain parts but give me Limerick city anyday over that hole ye call Castlebar or any of those dives around it. Roscommon should have beaten ye if it were not for the atrocious conditions in the second half. An

We are well touchy ya, brutal touchy ;) Your posts are beginning to point in 1 direction only :o

So you would prefer to be from a place where the women die from having "good times" with alsations.... says enough.
    You live in Galway, it mustn't be that great of a place if you wont live down there!

Anyway, the thread has been dragged way off topic already. Time to ignore the postcount grabber ;)

Sunday is going to be a massive challenge for the O'Sheas, up against possibly the best midfield in Ireland, they will either grow up into it now or take a big hiding. Remember these lads parent(s)? are from Kerry, that will be an extra bit of incentive! :)

Its a long time since we were such underdogs, possibly against Galway in Tuam the year after the won the AI. And we all know what happened that day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

seligehgit wrote: »
    Young Ger Cafferkey is going to have his hands full on Sunday with Nicholas Murphy,excellent target man,same mould as Kieran Donaghy.

murphy and donaghy are nothing alike, murphys a midfielder and doesn't offer anything like the threat at full-forward the star does or indeed donie shine did last day out, is he going to be running into positions to get the ball, is he going to overpower his marker, is he going to turn in one movement and score, no, no and no, unless every ball into him is deadly accurate mayo should have no problem negating his threat

no goulding, no sheehan, murphy at full-forward, i might throw a tenner on mayo

rossie1977 wrote: »
    no goulding, no sheehan, murphy at full-forward, i might throw a tenner on mayo

I always loved the Rossie ;) Good luck on Saturday, I have a SNEAKY feeling ye could be causing an upset!

Overrated? I'm seeing a bit of an inferiority complex here! Dont worry, having a consistently mediocre football team and a hurling team that loses to anyone that shows a bit of form is a great thing, congrats. Also, i'd prefer to be in a hole and feel reasonably safe than be looking at every skanger in a baseball cap wondering whether he has a gun.
    Also, the conditions were poor only in the second half of the Connacht Final? :rolleyes: maybe all those kickings you have taken in Munster Finals has caused a malfunction in your head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 robster83

A Roscommon man having a go at Cork....god ye have to love it, are ya still bitter from the hammering we gave yee last year after that lovely Connaught title yee won. You mentioned no Goulding, Sheehan and dont forget Colm O' Neill, if any other county in the country barr Kerry were missing three players of that calabre they would be ready to fall apart and crumble, Murphy might not be anything like Donaghy but shur who is, Donaghy is in a league of his own, he's better than any mid fielder that ever came out of Roscommon thats for sure, but look at it this way, I expect when the ball is thrown in on Sunday for Murphy to be in the midfield, we have options everywhere, why not put Aidan Walsh at wing forward and put Pearse O' Neill in full forward, with three top class players out Counihan still has options everywhere....could you only imagine what would happen if Roscommon were without Donie Shine???? ha ha and Mayo were without Kieran McDonnell....oh I forget shur isnt he retired!!!

I don't think Cork need Joe Brolly to get them motivated for this match.

The prize of meeting, and very possibly beating, Kerry in the semi-final (assuming Kerry beat Limerick) should be motivation enough.

Also, the conditions were poor only in the second half of the Connacht Final? :rolleyes:

Yea, a lot of revisionist history when it comes to that game and it was less than two weeks ago.

robster83 wrote: »
    A Roscommon man having a go at Cork....god ye have to love it, are ya still bitter from the hammering we gave yee last year after that lovely Connaught title yee won. You mentioned no Goulding, Sheehan and dont forget Colm O' Neill, if any other county in the country barr Kerry were missing three players of that calabre they would be ready to fall apart and crumble, Murphy might not be anything like Donaghy but shur who is, Donaghy is in a league of his own, he's better than any mid fielder that ever came out of Roscommon thats for sure, but look at it this way, I expect when the ball is thrown in on Sunday for Murphy to be in the midfield, we have options everywhere, why not put Aidan Walsh at wing forward and put Pearse O' Neill in full forward, with three top class players out Counihan still has options everywhere....could you only imagine what would happen if Roscommon were without Donie Shine???? ha ha and Mayo were without Kieran McDonnell....oh I forget shur isnt he retired!!!

Who is Kieran McDonnell? Anyone know anything about football here?

"robster83" and "leonidas83" - same person ???

In fairness Robseter83 you waited 3 years between posts to post that up?

You slate Roscommons midfielders.... ignorance is bliss... have a look for Dermot Earley... see what he status he is held in GAA circles. 2 All Stars, can't see too much wrong with that.

Again more off topic tripe been posted on here. Schools on holidays by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Nicholas Murphy wont start this match in my opinion it will be Fiachra Lynch that lines out at Full Forward.

"robster83" and "leonidas83" - same person ???

In fairness Robseter83 you waited 3 years between posts to post that up?

You slate Roscommons midfielders.... ignorance is bliss... have a look for Dermot Earley... see what he status he is held in GAA circles. 2 All Stars, can't see too much wrong with that.

Again more off topic tripe been posted on here. Schools on holidays by any chance?

Completely agree. Donaghy isnt a great midfielder. If anyone even remembers back to when he burst onto the scene it was a qualifier game in Longford when he was shunted in fulll forward and his career trajectory completely changed. He is a very good full forward - i love his unselfishness and appreciation of the movement of the likes of the Gooch around him. A midfielder? Ordinary if you ask me, he never made a Kerry underage team and got discovered through a reality show (correct me if i'm wrong).
    So better than the late great Dermot Earley? I dont think so!

Back on topic i'm happy that Ger Cafferkey is in - an All-Ireland Under-21 winning full back. Was never a great fan of Feeney in there as i feel he isnt up to the standard. Thought Horan should have given Doherty one more chance, he has an eye for goal and his directness could have been useful in Croker on Sunday. Enda Varley must be doing well in training but i wouldnt be sure about him against Cork. I hope i am proven wrong, these big days are the day to prove people wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Can't see this match being competitive after the 50 minute mark. Cork should win with a fair bit to spare. The standard of football in Connacht has been poor for a few years - yes, very competitive but at a low standard.

The biggest thing that will catch Cork will be more injuries or a lad or two to get the line - they have already lost 4 players for this match. If they lost anymore before they play the semi-final, then they could be in trouble.

Cork to win by 6+ points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

This is some fail of a thread.

Kojak wrote: »
    Can't see this match being competitive after the 50 minute mark. Cork should win with a fair bit to spare. The standard of football in Connacht has been poor for a few years - yes, very competitive but at a low standard.

The biggest thing that will catch Cork will be more injuries or a lad or two to get the line - they have already lost 4 players for this match. If they lost anymore before they play the semi-final, then they could be in trouble.

Cork to win by 6+ points.

Low at a championship level may, but Mayo are a division 1 team, made it very impressively to the league final in 2009 and blew up, then this year we had a chance of taking a lot the teams we either drew with or narrowly lost to. League isn't championship I know but Sunday will tell a tale.

7 players made their championship debuts this year, so its a disadvantage in that regard.

If your marking how bad a province is on recent AI success them Lenister is as bas then is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Low at a championship level may, but Mayo are a division 1 team, made it very impressively to the league final in 2009 and blew up, then this year we had a chance of taking a lot the teams we either drew with or narrowly lost to. League isn't championship I know but Sunday will tell a tale.

7 players made their championship debuts this year, so its a disadvantage in that regard.

If your marking how bad a province is on recent AI success them Lenister is as bas then is it not?

Yeah, I'd agree that Leinster, in the context of AI wins, is as bad as Connacht - probably worse as galway have won an AI more recently (2001) than Meath (1999). But by that logic, Munster is the strongest province as they have won 6 AI's since the millenium, but you'd hardly say that Limerick and Tipp (for example) would win Sam.

Mayo usually have one great game a year and then flop the next day out. Many times they have won when they have been expected to loose - against Dublin anf Tyrone in the last few years. Maybe this weekend perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Cork are likely to go with three midfielders and Murphy will start. Murphy may have been named because of Cafferkey being named at full back.
    Cafferkey has always struggled when his man goes out to midfield or retreats back out the pitch. When Cafferkey gets the ball unopposed back near his own goal he doesn't really setup much attacking play. No one expects him to be or claims that he is a top class footballer.
    Now the thing is I will be much happier if Murphy lines out in the square. He doesn't have the turn and pass or turn n shoot to offer much of a threat. Cafferkey will have the speed on him too in a major way. Obviously high ball kicked in will be a threat, but it's different than a kickout, just because yer good on kickouts does not mean you can claim high ball kicked into the square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Murphy won't start, Fiachra Lynch will. Cork going three midfielders would just be bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 robster83

It is, a total fail, I don't know why it was set up in the first place. Sorry about my post earlier, hands up it was a typo, meant to say Kieran McDonald and sorry to the Rossies for not mentioning Dermot Early, but come on, I was speaking in the modern context of the game, not going back to players who were playing before I was even born, he probably was the best footballer never to have won an All Ireland. My mistake for not being clear on that one. Dont have a clue who leonidras83 is.

It is a good point about Fiachra Lynch, the guys writing in the Examiner today feel the same. If we can actually get back to talking about this game, nobody has mentioned the Cork backs yet, that is a solid, young, quick Cork full back line, and if you look at the bench, Cork have a second full back line with a nice bit of All Ireland experience in Ray Carey, Graham Canty and Jamie O' Sullivan. Mayo havn't had a top class attacher since McDonald so how in the name of god are they going to break that Cork defence, especially since Mayo havnt even played in Croke Park since their 2009 defeat to Meath. Let just put this thread to bed.

robster83 wrote: »
    It is, a total fail, I don't know why it was set up in the first place. Sorry about my post earlier, hands up it was a typo, meant to say Kieran McDonald and sorry to the Rossies for not mentioning Dermot Early, but come on, I was speaking in the modern context of the game, not going back to players who were playing before I was even born, he probably was the best footballer never to have won an All Ireland. My mistake for not being clear on that one. Dont have a clue who leonidras83 is.

It is a good point about Fiachra Lynch, the guys writing in the Examiner today feel the same. If we can actually get back to talking about this game, nobody has mentioned the Cork backs yet, that is a solid, young, quick Cork full back line, and if you look at the bench, Cork have a second full back line with a nice bit of All Ireland experience in Ray Carey, Graham Canty and Jamie O' Sullivan. Mayo havn't had a top class attacher since McDonald so how in the name of god are they going to break that Cork defence, especially since Mayo havnt even played in Croke Park since their 2009 defeat to Meath. Let just put this thread to bed.

Let's not, the game is not for another 49 hrs and 5 mins

But you are correct about the Mayo forwards, and the Mayo squad in general, they have nothing like the personnel or experience that Cork have.

And that's why Cork will win.