Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Major changes to welfare and training ahead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭amacca

cut out free fees.
    cut dole in half.
    reduce pensions to 2000 levels
    reduce civil service wages back to 2000 levels and higher end caps introduced.
    disability reduced to 2000 levels
    anyone unemployed for more than a year either cut off dole or given reduced amount.

Its harsh but we have been mollycoddled for the last decade and people need to get off their high horses and ideas of entitlement

yup...that sounds about right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

i wish that could be done with the last shower of bstards-

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/tds-and-senators-hand-us-bill-of-euro14m-for-their-golden-handshake-2811878.html
    TDs and senators who lost their seats or who retired at the last election are to share a pot of €14m in golden handshake retirement and pension pay-offs, the Sunday Independent can reveal.
    The true extent of the extravagant system of "easing out" money and gold-plated pensions for our elected politicians is detailed here, with no fewer than 40 TDs receiving settlements of over €200,000.

Such figures have led to calls from outside the political system for some of the money to be given back given the country's economic crisis.
    According to official figures released to this newspaper by the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission, some of those politicians who were most politically responsible for Ireland's woes are the greatest financial beneficiaries from their own retirement -- all paid for by the taxpayer.

Despite being at the cabinet table during Ireland's property binge and its spectacular crash, and during the worst financial crisis in our history, former Taoisigh Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen and ministers like Noel Dempsey, Dermot Ahern, Mary Harney, Mary Coughlan and Pat Carey are, by retiring, benefiting massively in their post-political lives.

Amid all the current controversy over bonuses and excessive salary payouts to semi-state bosses like Declan Collier of the Dublin Airport Authority and John Corrigan of the NTMA, it seems our former politicians were no slouches in ensuring a comfortable exit from the political stage.
    According to the figures, former Enterprise Minister Batt O'Keeffe is the top pension beneficiary, receiving a total TD's pay-off of €266,228, including a tax-free pension lump sum of €180,828.

However, his ministerial pension and those of his former colleagues are not included in this list, somewhat underestimating the full level of benefits our former leaders are receiving.
    Former Taoisigh Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen and former ministers Mary Harney, Noel Dempsey, Dermot Ahern and Michael Woods -- all of whom sat at Cabinet for 10 years or more and therefore are eligible for the maximum level of benefits -- will receive additional pension payments of between €40,000 and €100,000 a year on top of what is listed here.

Even those who did not have the 10 years at Cabinet are also in receipt of significant additional pension top-ups as a result of their ministerial days.
    On losing their seat or on retiring, members are paid a termination or severance payment; the amount is based on length of service. Once that concludes, they receive a tax-free pension lump sum and then an annual pension for the rest of their lives.

Mr Woods, who served previous administrations as Minister for Education, Minister for Health and Minister for Social Welfare, is to receive total termination payments of €29,116. Once those payments finish, he will receive a tax-free pension lump sum of €180,765, as determined by civil service protocols and will receive an annual TD's pension of €56,264 for the rest of his life.

So within the first two years of stepping down, Mr Woods' golden handshake, including his ministerial pension of about €35,000, will top €300,000.
    Bertie Ahern, who stood down as Taoiseach in 2008 but who remained on as a TD, is to receive total termination payments of €26,656, a pension lump sum of €159,873 and an annual TD's pension of €49,934, bringing his TD pay-off to €236,464. However, as a former Taoiseach, he also receives an annual ministerial pension of just under €100,000, bringing his total settlement to €335,000.

His successor Brian Cowen, who resigned as FF leader earlier this year and who did not stand again in the recent election, is receiving a total pay-off for his days as a TD of €236,464. He too will also receive a substantial ministerial pension every year.
    Former Justice Minister Dermot Ahern is to receive a total TD's package worth €243,231 while Noel Dempsey will get €236,464.
    Former Health Minister Mary Harney, who controversially kept her cabinet seat despite losing her party, is set to get a package worth €235,231, including her lump sum of €158,730 and an annual TD's pension of €49,934.

Former Defence Minister Tony Killeen is getting €245,191 while former FF deputy leader and long-time minister Mary Hanafin is getting €239,487.
    Former Environment Minister Dick Roche is to receive a golden handshake of €254,310 including a tax-free lump sum of €172,438. Former minister Pat Carey, who famously stuffed a number of State boards in his final days in office, is receiving a package of €192,431.

But even lesser-known names have done extremely well. Former junior minister Michael Ahern, a former TD for Cork East who most recently chaired the Dail's finance committee, is getting termination payments of €29,069, a tax-free pension lump sum of €178, 675 and an annual pension of €55,638. So, within the first 24 months of stepping down, his golden handshake for being a TD will total €263,383.

Brendan Kenneally, former FF TD for Waterford and junior minister, is to receive a golden handshake package of €252,739; Paul Connaughton, former TD for Galway East will get €251,351 and Michael Finneran, former TD for Roscommon South Leitrim, will get €250,948.
    But it's not just the Fianna Failers who have done well. Fine Gael veterans Jim O'Keeffe and Bernard Allen were among the top 10 recipients, taking home packages of €258,276 and €256,917 respectively.

Labour's presidential candidate Michael D Higgins is in line for a departure package worth just under €250,000 including a pension lump sum of €167,832 and an annual TD's pension worth €52,349.
    Under recent rule changes, former members elected after April 2004 will not receive a pension or pension lump sum until they reach the age of 65.
    So, those who exited the Dail but who will not receive their pension because they are not old enough include: Joe Behan; Aine Brady; Margaret Conlon; Sean Connick; Christy O'Sullivan; Mary White; Tom McEllistrim; Barry Andrews; Chris Andrews; Cyprian Brady; Ciaran Cuffe; Maire Hoctor; Conor Lenihan; Peter Power; Eamon Ryan; Niall Blaney; Olwyn Enright and Beverley Flynn. However, all of these are receiving termination payments of up to €17,000.
    According to a spokesman for the Oireachtas Commission, termination payments operate in the same manner as redundancy payments to provide a financial cushion should an Oireachtas member lose their seat. Like redundancy payments, termination payments reflect the number of years' continuous service.

"Oireachtas members make a contribution of six per cent of salary toward their pension and the amounts paid are based on standard civil service rates. Salaries are also subject to the pension levy," he said.
    Speaking yesterday, Friends First chief economist Jim Power said these excessive payments will only strengthen the sense of disillusionment around the country, which he said is "imploding before our eyes". He said if these people had any moral fibre they should return some portion of their packages, as a gesture of solidarity.

"Many of those who are receiving the biggest severance packages were the ones largely responsible for the mess the country is in. This crap is still going on when the country is imploding, and everything should be done to get at least some portion of the money back," he said.

Lux23 wrote: »
    Every single thing you have suggested so far is nothing I haven't done before, there is very little I could do to transfer my CV over to one suitable for a retail/cleaning/barwork etc. If it was possible I would have done it by now.

I have sympathy for those posters arguing against the type of people that post the "go out there and get a job..there are plenty of them"

however the above just makes me laugh

you couldnt transfer your CV over to one suitable for a retail/cleaning/barwork

wtf does that even mean

you think your degree/qualification doesnt give you the required level of expertise to use a mop, collect glasses, learn how to pull a pint etc

perhaps with the retail (especially if it was a retail buyer position that requires experience etc, what lines are in fashion etc) but for what most would called non-skilled labour you think you wouldnt be suitable/couldnt do it.....pull the other one:)

I had a degree, a masters on leaving college and I didn't feel that my " CV wouldnt transfer over" to working in these areas

worked in dunnes stores collecting coat hangers for a while etc......now I know my qualifications never had a module on coat hanger collecting.......but I felt up to it

also worked in a petrol station.....there was no petrol specific/ forecourt training in my qualifications for that either

eircom as an administrative assistant - nothing specific in my qualifications for that either

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

oh and we need to move on from FF bashing, we cant blame them for EVERYTHING. Move on and take responsibility instead of blaming 'that last shower'

I know you are correct...but its hard to let it go.

especially when no real retribution has been had.

I likes my revenge me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

cut out free fees.
    cut dole in half.
    reduce civil service wages back to 2000 levels and higher end caps introduced.
    disability reduced to 2000 levels
    anyone unemployed for more than a year either cut off dole or given reduced amount.

Its harsh but we have been mollycoddled for the last decade and people need to get off their high horses and ideas of entitlement
    And some very able bodied people need to get off their fat arses and go look for some work rather than just sign on every week and have no motivation in life. I know the guts of about 10 people from my local area who are on the dole for the past 2-3 years, all collecting just under €200 a week, but live at home with the parents but are able to afford to eat out often, to do up their skanger mobiles, go drinking every weekend and lounge about doing f-all all week.

A lot of them also get work on the side, and here im busting my ass for 8 hours 6 nights a week, and am only earning about €450 a week. Makes me sick. They get nearly half of that for doing nothing.

Obviously some people need welfare as they have a disability etc, im not denying that, there is a reason for welfare obviously, but their needs to be a more thorough examination of some people on the dole, as it gets abused and taken for granted by far too many people. Far too many scroungers on it in reality who are well able to work.

If there is a shake up, some people who have been on the dole for the past few years will get some shock. The excuse of there is no work is BS I think. I found a summer job, after finishing college for the year, within 2 weeks of looking for one, and told people who are on the dole that there looking for more people, most of them said "nah **** that"... talk about lazy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Question: What was the summer job and how did you go about getting it?

head for the UK

alot of people simply dont want to Ireland is their home this pro emigration stuff is annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

So let me get this straight: there are many people moaning (or trolling...I can never tell what category to put You in) on this thread about people not looking for jobs, not re-training or gaining more skills. All of this, and wondering about the dole cuts that a very large percentage of the country depend on right now. So maybe You can place me in one of Your own categories for Your own amusement?

30 years old, just finished first year in college (4 year Honours degree) to re-train myself in a category of work which would allow me to open my own business once I finish...yet if the BTEA gets hammered, it's doubtful I could afford to go to college. If that happens, I would no doubt have to drop out, which means the first time free fees are gone (over 6,000 euro a year for my course, reg fees push that to 8,000), meaning I could no longer even afford to go back for a minimum of 5 years.

What do I do if that happens, look for jobs that are not there? Hide in my room? Troll the fcuk out of You on boards? Answer that one for me, without being pedantic or trying to lord it over me:rolleyes:

I LIKE YOU

Skunkle wrote: »
    Get a job (theres loads of em apparently) or get the fuk out of the country is what I've been told. Basically do the impossible or piss off somewhere else so the allmighty tax payer doesnt have to look at your "lazy" arse.

And if you dont do it soon the TAXPAYER is gonna come back and shoot your ASS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

alot of people simply dont want to Ireland is their home this pro emigration stuff is annoying

thats the thing

they dont WANT to

things can't be that bad if WANT is still superceding NEED when it comes to getting a job

welfare should be enough to keep you fed and watered but without the ability to afford ANY luxuries if you havent got savings to dip into. it's not there to keep people in sky tv and decent clothes til they get a job, its there to stop them dying for lack of the essentials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Some12

I know of three people who have turned down jobs where I work because they make more on the dole than they would by accepting the jobs they were offered.

One family is bringing home about 3,000 per month on benefits (married man with 2 kids & home carers allowance) where the job offered, above minimum wage, about 1,600 per month before tax.

As he said - What's the point of taking a job to lose money?.

He makes MUCH more than me doing nothing. Really makes me wonder why I struggle when there's a lot of free money out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

amacca wrote: »
    I have sympathy for those posters arguing against the type of people that post the "go out there and get a job..there are plenty of them"

however the above just makes me laugh

you couldnt transfer your CV over to one suitable for a retail/cleaning/barwork

wtf does that even mean

you think your degree/qualification doesnt give you the required level of expertise to use a mop, collect glasses, learn how to pull a pint etc

perhaps with the retail (especially if it was a retail buyer position that requires experience etc, what lines are in fashion etc) but for what most would called non-skilled labour you think you wouldnt be suitable/couldnt do it.....pull the other one:)

I had a degree, a masters on leaving college and I didn't feel that my " CV wouldnt transfer over" to working in these areas

worked in dunnes stores collecting coat hangers for a while etc......now I know my qualifications never had a module on coat hanger collecting.......but I felt up to it

also worked in a petrol station.....there was no petrol specific/ forecourt training in my qualifications for that either

eircom as an administrative assistant - nothing specific in my qualifications for that either

Was that recently as since the recession began because if I was out of work say five years ago I could have easily done the same, there was plenty of inbetween work then. I have no retail experience at all.

I tell you what how about I send you my CV and you can make into one for a service job? And don't mention admin jobs I applied for a few of those too but most are fecking internships now, just check out irishjobs.ie

The excuse of there is no work is BS I think. I found a summer job, after finishing college for the year, within 2 weeks of looking for one, and told people who are on the dole that there looking for more people, most of them said "nah **** that"... talk about lazy.

I call bull**** on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Just because it doesn't apply to you doesn't mean it doesn't happen. I know a good few people who have found jobs recently, there isn't work for everyone true but it's not hopeless, blind perseverance is your friend. When I used to go job hunting I used just print out as many cvs as I could and hand them into every business I came across regardless of what they did or if they were looking for staff. Yeah and there are plenty people who wouldn't go to work if they were offered a job I know some that have turned work down.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

This year was ok for jobs in fairness. Things are getting better. If you are not getting jobs in this climate, something is wrong with your applications/you yourself.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

yeah if your not picky there is plenty of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

yeah if your not picky there is plenty of work.
    Not in donegal theres not.. have a search on the job section on adverts.ie for donegal & see! ... ill save you the hassle.. 0 results!

I love that the country i have loved all my life has turned out some of the most spiteful people i have ever seen.

A couple of months back it was the pivate sector v the public sector, now its time to skin all the people on the dole.

But the best one now is that if you are a genuine welfare head not a skanger in nike`s with a honda civic and a soverign, well then you can fuk off and get a job in a different country as we the taxpayer have had enough of you.

Enough to make me sick to be honest.

Im not dead against some cuts in the socail welfare but i dont think it should be the people who are struggling to make ends meet the adults who have to decide that they should have no dinner cause they have to make sure the kids have something to eat instead.

it should be the people who are earning more than 50k a year the do not deserve any child benefit at all, if you cant support a family on 50k you dont deserve to have a job that pays 50k.

I also believe that NOBODY in the public sector should earn more than the leader of the country that is just a joke, should earn at least a 1/4 less than the leader.

Save a few quid that way and then the needy people who REALLY need it will not be chastised and told to get the fuk out of the country, now that they are not really worth anything to us superior taxpayers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Oh they'll do anything to avoid properly sorting out the the Public Service. Which remains bloated with many non-essential wasters and managers. Yet it's critical Frontline services that takes the hit, whenever Public Services are targeted.

Was that recently as since the recession began because if I was out of work say five years ago I could have easily done the same, there was plenty of inbetween work then. I have no retail experience at all.

truthfully...no it hasn't been recently...I'm prepared to concede there may be very few positions out there at the moment or fierce competition for what is available...simply because I'm in the fortunate postion of not having to know mauch about the jobs market for a number of years.
    I tell you what how about I send you my CV and you can make into one for a service job? And don't mention admin jobs I applied for a few of those too but most are fecking internships now, just check out irishjobs.ie

hmmm....this is more what I was objecting to......to be a cleaner/bar staff etc, its my belief your CV will not have to transform itself into some magical document crammed with relevant work experience and qualifications in the area.

simply demonstrating you are hard working, responsible, reliable, good timekeeper etc should suffice

presumably your CV already does this?...I would think that would give you as good a chance as the next person maybe more than most....

of course if it comes across loud and clear you dont want to be there and consider it beneath you (aka: your qualifications dont suit) then you probably stand no chance

But the best one now is that if you are a genuine welfare head not a skanger in nike`s with a honda civic and a soverign, well then you can fuk off and get a job in a different country as we the taxpayer have had enough of you.

if it makes you feel any better its the "skanger in nike`s with a honda civic and a sovereign ring" I'd rather have fuk off

its just that I think the "skanger in nike`s with a honda civic and a sovereign ring"+ other chancers seem to outnumber the "genuine welfare heads"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I love that the country i have loved all my life has turned out some of the most spiteful people i have ever seen.

A couple of months back it was the pivate sector v the public sector, now its time to skin all the people on the dole.

Enough to make me sick to be honest.

Im not dead against some cuts in the socail welfare but i dont think it should be the people who are struggling to make ends meet the adults who have to decide that they should have no dinner cause they have to make sure the kids have something to eat instead.

it should be the people who are earning more than 50k a year the do not deserve any child benefit at all, if you cant support a family on 50k you dont deserve to have a job that pays 50k.

I also believe that NOBODY in the public sector should earn more than the leader of the country that is just a joke, should earn at least a 1/4 less than the leader.

Save a few quid that way and then the needy people who REALLY need it will not be chastised and told to get the fuk out of the country, now that they are not really worth anything to us superior taxpayers

You're right - some people are absolute dickheads when this subject crops up (again and again)

It's not the dumber than dumb ones that spout the usual 'cut the 'dole' in half' shyte that annoy me the most, they are easily swatted away and their posts left to stand as a monument to their own gimpyness - but the ones subtly implying there is something wrong with you if you can't get a job because 'this year it has improved' or somesuch bull****.

its just that I think the "skanger in nike`s with a honda civic and a sovereign ring"+ other chancers seem to outnumber the "genuine welfare heads"

Well, I think you're wrong. Is it just a feeling you have or do you have cold hard facts?

if it makes you feel any better its the "skanger in nike`s with a honda civic and a sovereign ring" I'd rather have fuk off

But you see those people have been on the dole since long before the crash they were the people who didnt bother get a job when there was full employment, but what was done about them then.....Nothing.

Ever ask yourself why nothing was done and they were just left to carry on scrounging when the could have got a job.

gambiaman wrote: »
    Well, I think you're wrong. Is it just a feeling you have or do you have cold hard facts?

Do you have cold hard facts to the contrary?

quite hard to get cold hard facts when the system is not policed properly by those administering it and hasnt been for quite some time now....if a guy can have seven identities and defraud the state of 250k odd then you have to imagine that this may be just the tip of the iceberg

not to mention the over generous provision and incentivizing the churning out of more children with no thought for making the parents properly responsible for them

short of this you can only make inferences from headline numbers

pretty clear from those numbers there are quite a number of discrepancies in the system

Ever ask yourself why nothing was done and they were just left to carry on scrounging when the could have got a job.

yes!.....and I came up with the following answer.

It was vote buying...pure and simple...increase the dole, get more votes etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,526 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

There has to be a way to test and see who genuinely needs the dole and whos a lazy sod.

My GF's mam is on disability and id hate to see her benfit cut.

And by the way 300k lost there job in the crash, so therefore it could not possibly be that thre is more skanger and other chancers on the dole the numbers just dont add up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i would say i know about ten people who never worked a day in their lives, they got free houses, medical cards, education for their children, would not work for people if they were going on the book, their children are now doing same, it is just so stupid to be born with perfect health, well able to knock back booze, and arse around all day at the taxpayers expense, i do hope kenny come after these long term cheats first, they pretend to be sick showing old bottles of tablets to socail welfare inspector when he calls, pity he does not look at dates and names on these bottles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

they probably don't outnumber them but they probably receive the lions share of the money.

yes!.....and I came up with the following answer.

It was vote buying...pure and simple...increase the dole, get more votes etc

So because of one political parties greed and corrupt thinking to buy votes off the skangers back then, YOU feel that all the genuine people should suffer now.

Do you have cold hard facts to the contrary?

quite hard to get cold hard facts when the system is not policed properly by those administering it and hasnt been for quite some time now....if a guy can have seven identities and defraud the state of 250k odd then you have to imagine that this may be just the tip of the iceberg

not to mention the over generous provision and incentivizing the churning out of more children with no thought for making the parents properly responsible for them

short of this you can only make inferences from headline numbers

pretty clear from those numbers there are quite a number of discrepancies in the system

I know not think that in the past three years appox 300k have joined the dole (JSB/JSA) queue - that's people that worked (some like me for 27 years and longer) and contributed. I'm saying that it's inconceivable that a majority of these people are spongers and useless and layabouts. These are majorly people that have worked and want to work.
    I'm saying they deserve every help this state can provide to get them back to paying work and that includes financially.

You want the SW bill reduced - look at child benefit (available to the working, Bono and the unemployed), the OAP + their numerous ancillary benefits which until two weeks ago hadn't been touched, look at illness and disability and OPA for fraud. Then look at the jobless and root out the ~28000 permanently feckless.

It's beyond thick to lump all jobless into one big pot and call for this and that.

And by the way 300k lost there job in the crash, so therefore it could not possibly be that thre is more skanger and other chancers on the dole the numbers just dont add up

ah point conceded to an extent I suppose...there are a hell of a lot of fcukin chancers/scam artists and people with completely unrealistic expectations of what social welfare should provide for though...these should be weeded out first

7.2 million pps numbers in a state with a population of 4.5 million odd???? hmmm

mackg wrote: »
    they probably don't outnumber them but they probably receive the lions share of the money.

Well yes, so what's all this about cutting supports to people who have worked and want to work?

mackg wrote: »
    Just because it doesn't apply to you doesn't mean it doesn't happen. I know a good few people who have found jobs recently, there isn't work for everyone true but it's not hopeless, blind perseverance is your friend. When I used to go job hunting I used just print out as many cvs as I could and hand them into every business I came across regardless of what they did or if they were looking for staff. Yeah and there are plenty people who wouldn't go to work if they were offered a job I know some that have turned work down.

of course if it comes across loud and clear you dont want to be there and consider it beneath you (aka: your qualifications dont suit) then you probably stand no chance

I am working but not getting paid for it so please don't lump me in with people who are lazy or think certain work is beneath them, actually at this very moment I am actually paying to work!! I will be 30 next year and I spent years trying to get work in my field and I am not giving up on that now, hopefully I will get something eventually. I have over three years in Communications now and I am damn good at it, I will stick with working with the charity and I hope something comes up. Career wise there is no point me doing anything else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Then look at the jobless and root out the ~28000 permanently feckless.

Triple or quadruple that number and you're closer to the figure.

Stats!

So because of one political parties greed and corrupt thinking to buy votes off the skangers back then, YOU feel that all the genuine people should suffer now.

no...you just asked me why I thought they were left on it/got increases etc....I answered...my answer does not mean I think genuine people should suffer now...why would my answer mean that?

I just think its probably paid at too high a rate...but I think the rate could be left alone if all the other myriad "entitlements" were scaled back for everyone with a proper attempt to root out the fraudsters/scammers/way of life social welfare claimants

if a guy can have seven identities and defraud the state of 250k odd then you have to imagine that this may be just the tip of the iceberg

Tell me whats the difference between this fella(scumbag he is) and micheal fingleton.

I will tell you what the difference is 12 and a half years

Stats!

Ta for the link.

I read somewhere else that those unemployed figures include illness/disability etc but reading the notes on that it just says 'various other statutory entitlements'
    I'll see if I can find the link I was reading a few weeks ago.

I know not think that in the past three years appox 300k have joined the dole (JSB/JSA) queue - that's people that worked (some like me for 27 years and longer) and contributed. I'm saying that it's inconceivable that a majority of these people are spongers and useless and layabouts. These are majorly people that have worked and want to work.
    I'm saying they deserve every help this state can provide to get them back to paying work and that includes financially.

agreed..haven't argued against this.
    You want the SW bill reduced - look at child benefit (available to the working, Bono and the unemployed), the OAP + their numerous ancillary benefits which until two weeks ago hadn't been touched, look at illness and disability and OPA for fraud. Then look at the jobless and root out the ~28000 permanently feckless.

agreed..pretty much what I have been saying...and not just in this thread...although I think it is fair to say that those OAPs have contributed a lot and while they are not the poor wards of the state they are portrayed they do deserve to be recognized for their contribution ...and many had to survive much tougher times than we have to ...dealt with v. high tax rates too etc
    It's beyond thick to lump all jobless into one big pot and call for this and that.

Never done that...you must be confusing me with some other poster....there are others more deserving of this accusation in this thread alone

its disingenuous to single me out for that accusation methinks

Stats!

So that means there are 300,000 people who aren't? So that just proves the point that the vast majority want to work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

As far as i know that figure only includes the employable.

There was just always 70-110 thousand folks who just plain didn't want to work, bless 'em.

It's not the dumber than dumb ones that spout the usual 'cut the 'dole' in half' shyte that annoy me the most,

its not shyte its being realistic, maybe i do have a job, maybe i have never been on the dole and thats clouds my judgement, but i can tell you one certainty, if i lost my job tomorrow i would find another line of work well before a dole cheque came in. came close recently, bite my lip and took god awful job for a while, maybe a few more here should consider that

agreed..haven't argued against this.

agreed..pretty much what I have been saying...and not just in this thread...although I think it is fair to say that those OAPs have contributed a lot and while they are not the poor wards of the state they are portrayed they do deserve to be recognized for their contribution ...and many had to survive much tougher times than we have to ...dealt with v. high tax rates too etc

Never done that...you must be confusing me with some other poster....there are others more deserving of this accusation in this thread alone

its disingenuous to single me out for that accusation methinks

Well amacca, you agreed completely with this post!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Not in donegal theres not.. have a search on the job section on adverts.ie for donegal & see! ... ill save you the hassle.. 0 results!

Move. And also, who uses adverts.ie as a job searching website lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭CWone

I think that most people on SW are genuine and want to go back to work. Maybe the politicos should have a look at themselves - how long are they heading off for their hols for this time - and then at Christmas its the same plenty of long paid hols. Even when they are not on hols the House is empty probably cos some of them are off double-jobbing after signing in for their expenses and free parking. They are the real culprits!!

Tell me whats the difference between this fella(scumbag he is) and micheal fingleton.

I will tell you what the difference is 12 and a half years

thats disgusting too.......believe me I'm no fan of fingers Fingleton et al.....imo hes worse and has caused far more destruction than that scam artist and it just shows how corrupt things are he isn't in jail (for much longer than 12 years)

but its not the topic at hand really...ive discussed it at length in other threads..about inbs, aib, ptsb etc etc

its not shyte its being realistic, maybe i do have a job, maybe i have never been on the dole and thats clouds my judgement, but i can tell you one certainty, if i lost my job tomorrow i would find another line of work well before a dole cheque came in. came close recently, bite my lip and took god awful job for a while, maybe a few more here should consider that

Ok as long as you don't mind handing over more of your salary in taxes too which is also being realistic.

Andy!! wrote: »
    Move. And also, who uses adverts.ie as a job searching website lol.

Who insults people like that, what a degenerate arsehole you are.