Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Living in France

Options
  • 25-07-2011 12:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

Has anyone moved or living in France (Outside of Paris)?

I'm a software developer, with basic leaving cert. French and am just wondering what my options would be for employment? Are there international companies in bigger towns that work in English?

Also, what are the pros and cons of life in France compared to Ireland?

Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I know you are asking about France, but here in the Czech republic they are desperate for software devs. I know of 3 different companies - NetSuite, Red Hat and Solarwinds, looking for devs in laguages such as C, C++, C#, java and other languages.

In this economic climate, I recommend going where there are jobs, rather than picking an arbitrary place in the world, and looking for jobs there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

One thing I didn't like when I spent time in inland France (Burgundy), was the distance to the ocean. I remember on the hot days I just wished I could head to the sea...but that's a personal thing.

I think France has a lot of good things going for it in terms of lifestyle...

If you compare it to Aus, you have similar climate, but you have snow in the winter if you want it, you have your good food, good wine and so on. You are also able to take the train to different countries rather than having to fly everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

syklops wrote: »