Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EVO Discussion

• 25-07-2011 10:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭

If there isn't a thread that is! Looks like pool details are coming out (catching up on Twitter)...
    Pool 7 for sf and pool 54 for marvel? Who is with me?

Floe responded "me"...I assume SF.

If you know a player's first and last name, check their pool here.
    SRK has a thread with the allocations of top players here.

Also, a fantasy bracket has been created for SF and Marvel - this assumes that there are no upsets for top 32, but brackets will be updated with results of pools.

http://evo2k.com/2011/bracket-ssf4ae-v0.jpg

http://evo2k.com/2011/bracket-mvc3-v0.jpg

Finally, best of luck Stevo and all the lads heading over!

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Sairus

For quick reference for Street Fighter 4: (all times are UTC + 1)

Name
    : Pool : Time : Notable opponents

Orim : Pool 2 : 4pm :
    Silver Steez : Pool 23 : 6pm : Gootecks
    Stev0 : Pool 46 : 8pm : Lamerboi, Starnab, PR Balrog, Gackt
    ChopperByrne : Pool 68 : 10pm : MarlinPie, Coungster

...have fun there Stev0! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

If you want to edit your post, I have MarlinPie and Coungster in my AE Pool.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Speed Boat

Stevo has Gackt too a really good player from Singapore.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Coungster in my AE Pool.

He's going to think you're following him around...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Well he beat me in a Vanilla Honda mirror and then he beat me in a Super Paper, Rock, Scissors match.

This time, it's mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Sairus wrote: »
    For quick reference for Street Fighter 4: (all times are GMT)

Name
    : Pool : Time : Notable opponents

Orim : Pool 2 : 4pm :
    Silver Steez : Pool 23 : 6pm : Gootecks
    Stev0 : Pool 46 : 8pm : Lamerboi, Starnab, PR Balrog
    ChopperByrne : Pool 68 : 10pm

...have fun there Stev0! :D

You know we're not on gmt/utc+0 right?
    we're ist/utc+1

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Sairus

Irish Standard Time? Jaysus we have everything these days.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Well he beat me in a Vanilla Honda mirror and then he beat me in a Super Paper, Rock, Scissors match.

This time, it's mine.

Yeah you know his gimmicks now!

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Doyler01

Steez has Xian in his pool too. Good Luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

Lads, it's ok. stEVO has this under control

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭the 1st hardter

Come on Stevo, Knock marlinpie out of this for us. . . . . . .our if ya lose just knock him out cold

Why the marlin hate?

Speed Boat wrote: »
    Why the marlin hate?

Would you rather I hate on Stevo???

No.

Marlin is in Choppers group. Thus I thought it odd you singled him out for a beating by steve0.

Woops my bad. Now I look like a fool

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Neeknak

Poor Stev0.

PR Rog, Lamerboi, Starnab, DS, Gackt

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Monkeyto

Stevo's got this.

Good luck to all the dudes going over!

Most importantly, have fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

Some people might be interested in the link below. They are streaming EVO on PS3.

Details:
    http://blog.us.playstation.com/2011/07/25/watch-the-2011-evo-world-finals-live-in-playstation-home/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Another spreadsheet attempting to track pools...Starting to take shape: https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AmLGJ-d2g9CJdE9fNnVhNlVYaE1DODFEN0JfYUhEVWc&hl=en_US#gid=6

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Geckolimus

Good luck to all the irish players! Will root for you guys over the stream!

This is cool for the twitter users amongst us.

http://evo2ktwitter.blogspot.com/

How many per pool anyway??? And how many will be going through per pool???

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭aeonfusion

Quite looking forward to watching this this weekend :) hope the stream isn't bejiggered from all the people watching, wanna see gootecks, gackt and lamerboi get schooled, paddy style (yes i mean drunk as hell)

Seriously though, good luck to everyone competing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Hopefully some of the Irish lads get shown on screen! Would be great to see :)

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

16 man pools to start. Top 2 out of each pool.

Mr Naps is in my pool. Over player I know from the 3 I've seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

Needless to say I too wish good luck to all the Irish lads competing at Evo this weekend, wreck the gaff and cause some upsets!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Evo guys:

You willing to answer some questions before you go. AKA, an interview for sf.ie?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

Evo guys:

You willing to answer some questions before you go. AKA, an interview for sf.ie?

Great idea. C'mon lads - this would be epic. You could tie in the vlog you better be creating for the trip.

Stevo - stay away from the whiskey pre-game. That is a post tournament drink for you :p

Best of luck to Dan, The chop, and Stevo. Represent us well.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Doyler01

Yeah lads, get some sort of vlog going. Get sneaky shots of top players for youtube preview.

Best of luck and stay safe. Middle & upper class strip joints only.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Evo is double-elimination ALL the way, with pools losses counted.
    Holy crap that is tough.