Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do the rdf military police do?

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

there is nowhere near enough funding being put into the RDF compared to insane levels of funding being pumped into insane areas of the Permenant Defence Forces!

The RDF's entire budget is €4.5 million. That covers, food rations, accommodation proviosions, uniforms, ammunition, transport, medical cover, running of the sub-units and RDF and cadre wages. In fact I would say the majority goes on cadre wages.

In contrast, the DF's chaplainacy service gets €1.5 million a year for what, a dozen army priests, 1 for the Air Corps and 1 for the NS?

Where's (a) the logic and (b) the fairness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

constantg wrote: »
    there is nowhere near enough funding being put into the RDF compared to insane levels of funding being pumped into insane areas of the Permenant Defence Forces!

The RDF's entire budget is €4.5 million. That covers, food rations, accommodation proviosions, uniforms, ammunition, transport, medical cover, running of the sub-units and RDF and cadre wages. In fact I would say the majority goes on cadre wages.

In contrast, the DF's chaplainacy service gets €1.5 million a year for what, a dozen army priests, 1 for the Air Corps and 1 for the NS?

Where's (a) the logic and (b) the fairness?

Have you any idea what the chaplaincy service does?

well i've only ever seen the military chaplain on two occasion in any given year. one if for the annual soldiers mass in november, the other is for the st patrick's day blessing and presentation of the shamrocks.

they serve overseas yes, they go to the commemoration ceremonies and say a weekly mass and say military masses for soldiers funerals and I dont really know what else they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

...I dont really know what else they do.

the chaplaincy is a vital part of an Army - and the closer you go to operations the more you see of them.

however, thats not to say than an Army that only spends four times as much on their combat reserve as they do on the chaplaincy needs to take a good hard look at themselves.

there is however a counter-argument - that as a combat reserve the RDF is worthless, and that the Army only spends €4.5m on them because thats the minimum the DoD will let them, and only then for outside, political reasons.

OS119 wrote: »
    the chaplaincy is a vital part of an Army - and the closer you go to operations the more you see of them.

however, thats not to say than an Army that only spends four times as much on their combat reserve as they do on the chaplaincy needs to take a good hard look at themselves.

there is however a counter-argument - that as a combat reserve the RDF is worthless, and that the Army only spends €4.5m on them because thats the minimum the DoD will let them, and only then for outside, political reasons.

There is no lack of heart among the dedicated RDF members. I've been pushing fecking paper for a year now after tearing my ACL on a course with them and ALL i want to do is to get back running, build up the fitness and go on tactics again.

It is disgraceful that there isn't a strategic plan being implemented for the reserves. On the ground, we're suffering. There is a crisis of faith. No one knows what's going to happen. Companies are at half strength or worse because people are moving to different areas, where they could attach but don't bother because its seen as nearly being scrapped anyway. Quite a few of us feel like we're on the Titanic.

Yes the country's on it's knees, but so's this organisation. We serve at the pleasure of the President, but we could do with some reassurance, even just some direction

SLIGHTLY off-topic.........but does anyone know, or better yet has anyone seen the RDF MP berets with the green square behind the cap badge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

Look the fca/rdf was a great concept. But if young people couldn't be arsed to turn up for training. Getting their hours up. Then it means they're not motivated and that's down to poor leadership.. . they (the Defence Forces) could have ran pti and integrated courses years ago..

mate, I'm in 4 years and I'm 21. I live in Cork and my unit HQ is in Limerick. If you're telling me that I'm not arsed to turn up to training you can f**k off (probably get banned for saying that but you deserve it). I put in as many hours a week as is possible. I'm training recruits on wednesdays. I'm a 3*. On top of that I'm instructing them on the comms kit. Tell me now that I don't pull my weight. I don't even get to claim expenses for travel up and down.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭westcoastboy

If you read my post, I used the word IF, if young people .I didn't say young people don't turn up, I said if, of course young people turn up, without you there would be no rdf. Long may you enjoy it.. and I'm not been sarcastic.. I think they're was a slight bit of a misunderstanding.

mate, I'm in 4 years and I'm 21. I live in Cork and my unit HQ is in Limerick. If you're telling me that I'm not arsed to turn up to training you can f**k off (probably get banned for saying that but you deserve it). I put in as many hours a week as is possible. I'm training recruits on wednesdays. I'm a 3*. On top of that I'm instructing them on the comms kit. Tell me now that I don't pull my weight. I don't even get to claim expenses for travel up and down.

same; very difficult to get to training constantly. Live in Limerick, train in Limerick, HQ in Limerick, but moving to Galway. Will move to Galway and attach there, but will still be HQ'd in Limerick. So it'll be difficult, but I'll do it.

I do think that our opinions on what the RDF should do aside, I think it's important that anyone wearing the uniform should support those who are currently wearing the uniform at the lowest levels, the coalface.

Noone in the RDF decides policy on the RDF. Well maybe the Col who is Director of Reserve Training. If people complain about us, then instead of shooting the Privates, NCOs and Junior Officers, why not send a letter to your TD or even to the Dept. of Defence. It would probably achieve more than (and pointing NO fingers here) a rant on here....

constantg,
    3* Pte,
    Unit based in Co. Limerick

If you read my post, I used the word IF, if young people .I didn't say young people don't turn up, I said if, of course young people turn up, without you there would be no rdf. Long may you enjoy it.. and I'm not been sarcastic.. I think they're was a slight bit of a misunderstanding.

well than my apologies to you my good sir, and my hat goes off to you!:D

same; very difficult to get to training constantly. Live in Limerick, train in Limerick, HQ in Limerick, but moving to Galway. Will move to Galway and attach there, but will still be HQ'd in Limerick. So it'll be difficult, but I'll do it.

I do think that our opinions on what the RDF should do aside, I think it's important that anyone wearing the uniform should support those who are currently wearing the uniform at the lowest levels, the coalface.

Noone in the RDF decides policy on the RDF. Well maybe the Col who is Director of Reserve Training. If people complain about us, then instead of shooting the Privates, NCOs and Junior Officers, why not send a letter to your TD or even to the Dept. of Defence. It would probably achieve more than (and pointing NO fingers here) a rant on here....

constantg,
    3* Pte,
    Unit based in Co. Limerick

It'd be funny if we were in the same unit........:pac:

Glad I'm not the only low ranking sandbag on boards to be giving out about being giving out to about things that aren't our fault:mad:

well than my apologies to you my good sir, and my hat goes off to you!:D

It'd be funny if we were in the same unit........:pac:

Glad I'm not the only low ranking sandbag on boards to be giving out about being giving out to about things that aren't our fault:mad:

We're not mate, I'm inf and you're sigs i reckon! :p but i hear ya!

the good aul foot and mouth:D

ah.............typical sigs *checks code book; keyring, bobsled, sunray.......the f*ck is 'foot and mouth'* :p lol

i gets ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Mr. Tezza

If I may add my 2 cents to this debate...

I am in the reserve just over 8 years now and have to say that out of my recruit camp I can count on one hand the amount of people that were recruits on that camp that are still in it today. I'm based with D coy 32nd (Killarney) and when I went to college in Cork I tried to hook up with the Infantry crowd in Collins bks for training, I still went to field days/TOETs/ARPs with my own unit though.

Finished in college and went back to my home unit for training/whatnot. I've seen the majority of people come and go, do a recruit camp, maybe 2* to 3* and thats it, biggest problem, in the units not based in a barracks is getting hold of equipment to do training, its hard to do drills with no weapon and you can teach anything about the weapon when you don't have it to hand, or teach them about the other weapons we supposedly use...

Went back to college and tried to attach to the Logs up in Collins bks to do a driving cse while i'm there but theres so much red tape surrounding attaching to another unit i gave up on it!

Back home now again looking for a job anywhere i can find one which will probably mean moving somewhere and it'll be impossible to come home and train people on training nites. We are our own worst enemy at times, when you go down on a training nite and do nothing people become bored with it and don't turn up, or just turn up to the FTT to get a few quid and mope around doing as little as possible, which isn't on, but then again the reserve is what is is, a reserve force and as such shouldn't hinder your career so if you have to move away from home to get a job so be it...

And thats my 2 cents...

Mr. Tezza wrote: »
    If I may add my 2 cents to this debate...

I am in the reserve just over 8 years now and have to say that out of my recruit camp I can count on one hand the amount of people that were recruits on that camp that are still in it today. I'm based with D coy 32nd (Killarney) and when I went to college in Cork I tried to hook up with the Infantry crowd in Collins bks for training, I still went to field days/TOETs/ARPs with my own unit though.

Finished in college and went back to my home unit for training/whatnot. I've seen the majority of people come and go, do a recruit camp, maybe 2* to 3* and thats it, biggest problem, in the units not based in a barracks is getting hold of equipment to do training, its hard to do drills with no weapon and you can teach anything about the weapon when you don't have it to hand, or teach them about the other weapons we supposedly use...

Went back to college and tried to attach to the Logs up in Collins bks to do a driving cse while i'm there but theres so much red tape surrounding attaching to another unit i gave up on it!

Back home now again looking for a job anywhere i can find one which will probably mean moving somewhere and it'll be impossible to come home and train people on training nites. We are our own worst enemy at times, when you go down on a training nite and do nothing people become bored with it and don't turn up, or just turn up to the FTT to get a few quid and mope around doing as little as possible, which isn't on, but then again the reserve is what is is, a reserve force and as such shouldn't hinder your career so if you have to move away from home to get a job so be it...

And thats my 2 cents...

Similar story all over. Well done for staying training with a unit where your college is though.
    However, be warned, while parading with another unit, you WILL NOT get a driving course, no matter how much it is promised. Logs in cork promise the earth but only to keep their numbers up.

Similar story all over. Well done for staying training with a unit where your college is though.
    However, be warned, while parading with another unit, you WILL NOT get a driving course, no matter how much it is promised. Logs in cork promise the earth but only to keep their numbers up.

Hahaha you must know who i am! cos thats pretty much whatr happened to me! was supposed to go on a driving cse wit them earlier this yeat while I was up in cork but that went to sh*t, don't ask... was supposed to be going on a cse starting soon but my place was taken by someone else... usual sh*t... really starting to annoy me now, seriously tempted to throw in the towel sometimes...

Took me two years to get an occupational first aid and cardiac first responder course with the rdf, through the medics (inf myself).

First night with civil defence i was told it was a REQUIREMENT to do it and I wouldn't be allowed progress in my training unless I had it done!

Our main problems in the RDF are not actually following training syllabuses (if i'd wanted a cup of tea, i'd have made one at home and not gotten suited up in the uniform), not following the DFRs and making up BS CONSTANTLY to avoid doing paperwork, responsibility and effort (ah you need a form for that/i have no record of that/i'd give it to you but we dont have it!) and then basically destroying morale of units through total ****e.

I think units based in certain locations should be allowed specialise in different aspects of training. It already informally happens.

Cork, Kerry, Galway, Mayo, Wicklow rural units should be allowed specialise in Mountain Warfare and Search and Rescue.

Urban units should be allowed specialise in FIBUA and ACP training.

I'm in a HQ Coy and we have never ever run an exercise where we operated as a HQ Coy and supported an OC of a battalion. We are all supposed to be drivers or at least qualified on the FFR i think.

If something happened to put us on the ground, I have no idea what to do....it's beyond silly, its irresponsible and dangerous.

Took me two years to get an occupational first aid and cardiac first responder course with the rdf, through the medics (inf myself).

First night with civil defence i was told it was a REQUIREMENT to do it and I wouldn't be allowed progress in my training unless I had it done!

Our main problems in the RDF are not actually following training syllabuses (if i'd wanted a cup of tea, i'd have made one at home and not gotten suited up in the uniform), not following the DFRs and making up BS CONSTANTLY to avoid doing paperwork, responsibility and effort (ah you need a form for that/i have no record of that/i'd give it to you but we dont have it!) and then basically destroying morale of units through total ****e.

I think units based in certain locations should be allowed specialise in different aspects of training. It already informally happens.

Cork, Kerry, Galway, Mayo, Wicklow rural units should be allowed specialise in Mountain Warfare and Search and Rescue.

Urban units should be allowed specialise in FIBUA and ACP training.

I'm in a HQ Coy and we have never ever run an exercise where we operated as a HQ Coy and supported an OC of a battalion. We are all supposed to be drivers or at least qualified on the FFR i think.

If something happened to put us on the ground, I have no idea what to do....it's beyond silly, its irresponsible and dangerous.

Fair play for getting the cse in 2 years! I've heard of people waiting a lot longer to get similar cses, I've never seen/been offered a medic type cse...

You HQ 32nd? isn't there a logs coy in sarsfield, couldn't ye attach yerselves to them to do a driving cse and then revert back to your infantry unit afterwards?

or am i getting places mixed up?

Fair play for getting the cse in 2 years! I've heard of people waiting a lot longer to get similar cses, I've never seen/been offered a medic type cse...

You HQ 32nd? isn't there a logs coy in sarsfield, couldn't ye attach yerselves to them to do a driving cse and then revert back to your infantry unit afterwards?

or am i getting places mixed up?

There's 1 place in each Coy offered for the FFR & minibus courses. Nothing ever done about it though.

And I never said I was HQ Coy 32nd....

There's 1 place in each Coy offered for the FFR & minibus courses. Nothing ever done about it though.

And I never said I was HQ Coy 32nd....

Sry I thought you said you were, must be another poster I'm thinking of...

Never heard about that, was told that to do a drivers cse you'd have to attach urself to the logs unit before you can go on the cse, and travel to them to do the cse.

Anyway this is all highly off topic... it's be more suited to the RDF thread or make a new one...

True! Anyway has anyone ACTUALLY seen the new RDF MP berets? And/or taken the piss out of them for finally being removed from their highly prized identification as FULL MPs :p

I haven't seen an MP full stop in about 3 years! i hope thats a gud thing!

And long may it continue!!

Here here! I hope so!

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

The differance between PAs and toast?
    You can make soldiers out of toast:D

mcko wrote: »
    The differance between PAs and toast?
    You can make soldiers out of toast:D

Haha ah now I'm sure most of them are sound upstanding members of the defence forces!

Heard that the RDF mp s had to hand back their old red berets and receive the green patched ones.. that was the rule..... Anyway its all because a senior nco fecked up and didn't report an incident. Turns out he was a reservist . So the army after that little episode wants to know whose who.. looked at the RDFRA conference in An Cosantoir.. seems there's no plans for recruitment in 2012.. and numbers are about the 5000 mark . Not looking too good. Still would , have loved to have done that PT supervisor course mentioned in the magazine, seems excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Doctor14

Still would , have loved to have done that PT supervisor course mentioned in the magazine, seems excellent.

It was a PT Leaders Course. And why didn't you. They are talking about cancelling the course due to lack of interest - Only about 66% of places are filled.

Anyway its all because a senior nco fecked up and didn't report an incident. looked at the RDFRA conference in An Cosantoir.. seems there's no plans for recruitment in 2012.. and numbers are about the 5000 mark../QUOTE]

Sounds like the MPs, anymore details on that incident? Even a PM if it's plutonium? Typical f*cking MPs given they're SOOOOOOOOOO condescending and arrogant and self-righteous....

Numbers I reckon are aout the 3k mark unofficially.....

The minister was asked recently by a TD , for numbers in the RDF, who were effective, and he couldn't supply them with a figure, he was also asked about the VFM report, when Is it out and again he was waiting on it,
    I noticed ,also there seems to be feck all people in the RDF NS,

It also showed a table with the number of RDF Officers by Brigade, jaysus there's a lot of them, a lot of people , I presume making out interesting training programmes, motivating the troops and pushing the military authorities, to get their guys on descent courses, I'm
    not been smart there,

I think, the odd time,
    its interesting, looking up defence questions on kildarestreet.ie

It also showed a table with the number of RDF Officers by Brigade, jaysus there's a lot of them, a lot of people , I presume making out interesting training programmes, motivating the troops and pushing the military authorities, to get their guys on descent courses, I'm
    not been smart there,

u sure your not being sarcastic? Our officers are a shower, there is 1 who is a good one and the rest, the co included, are dismal. No training programme. Platoon sgt is carrying the place. I'm a 3* by the way

not been smart there,

u sure your not being sarcastic? Our officers are a shower, there is 1 who is a good one and the rest, the co included, are dismal. No training programme. Platoon sgt is carrying the place. I'm a 3* by the way

I'm a cpl and its the same round here except I'm the one that seems to be doin all the work, sure the sgt rarely turns up even!

I think that a re-org will only work if the structure of the organisation is rationalised. Fitness is important, but 5 thousand fit infantry men with no specialised training is useless. There needs to be more courses, or places on PDF courses offered to RDF pers.

That or you might as well scrap the thing. Being perfectly honest I'm **** sick of paying my own money (of which there is very little) on transport to training, on my equipment, on consumables for camps and events and on having to make excuses to work and loved ones as to why im not there.

Look, the RDF has too many officer's, they were needed , during the Emergency, when not many people could read and write, . ..Look at the TA in the UK, we're as good as anyone else, but the guys in charge, don't inspire much confidence, now do they, they're not fit, live in the past, anything good such as the integration concept, they wouldn't back up. I know this from experience, ... So now, after nearly twenty years of been a member, the good things, I can say about the RDF , was a bit of discipline some may have received, (be it medics, Inf, logs, PAs or sigs), and the crack at the ARPs, and the annual camps for the crack and money, but, I don't know what the Tax payer got in return,

Your logic is confusing. There are as many officers in a company as are needed. There just seem to be more as there are so few privates and recruits. It has nothing to do with the emergency, it has to do with the complement strength for an army company/battalion

Are they, all needed.... Do they swan around the place, are they effective, I suppose it varies from unit to unit

Well they, by their nature, are officious. They lead in the field, under fire. They should direct platoons. now as you get further up the ladder......there seem to be an AWFUL lot of commandants around the place.....

I think we could do with an RDF Col. in charge of each Brigade area and possibly a Brigadier in charge of the RDF (either a PDF one or an RDF one reporting to the Dir Reserve Forces) as this would free up some space at the top of the ladder and make the whole thing appear a bit more professional instead of the boy scouts with support weapons....

They lead in the field, under fire.

When in the name of F**k, has any FCA/RDF "Officer" led in the field under fire, led to be first up to the Bar at closing time..surely,you are extracting the urine.

and as for reserve Cols. no such an animal, there are four LT.Col in the country who are RDF. nothing higher,

When in the name of F**k, has any FCA/RDF "Officer" led in the field under fire, led to be first up to the Bar at closing time..surely,you are extracting the urine.

I meant figuratively under fire. As in one of their primary roles I imagine would be to act as platoon leaders, as their PDF colleagues do in theory. As for the PDF colleagues, you could probably substitute RDF with PDF in your quote....most officers after their captains course don't go on the ground, right?

and as for reserve Cols. no such an animal, there are four LT.Col in the country who are RDF. nothing higher,
    I think we could do with an RDF Col. in charge of each Brigade area and possibly a Brigadier in charge of the RDF

Would have thought that made it clear I was speaking theoretically and suggesting we augment the current structure, ie have Lt. Col's command a Battalion, Col's a Bde.

As an nco in the reserve I kno what u mean when you say that there are too many officers that just mull around doin as little as possible, and are not much use.

But in saying that I kno a number of officers that are a credit to themselves bed to their units, very much proactive members of the reserve, I can accurately say I would not be in the reserve today if it wasn't for them.

And yes I have seen officers "lead from the front" some good, some bad, but I do not make the call so on exercises I follow their orders regardless, for that is the nature of the reserve, yes it is top heavy at the moment, that is to ae expected wit the lull in recruitment and such and cannot be helped, but I leave you with this thought, all those officers hav served their time, majority doing border patrols and guard duties on important installations during the troubles as young nco's themselves, so before you want to cast them aside, think what they hav done in the past, they deserve a little respect.

think what they hav done in the past, they deserve a little respect.

Would it be too far fetched to have an FCA/RDF/NSR/Slua Veterans' Association? Similar to IUNVA? It would give those getting on in years an alternative to obscurity....

I was in Post #1 of the IUNVA in Arbour Hill recently; a very good show, lovely people.

Perhaps with something similar for the RDF there might be some of the older officers and ranks inclined to leave for fresher pastures and still maintain the link. Have a look around the messes next time you're in one. You'll rarely see mention of the sacrifice of time and freedom given by the reserves over the years to the state.

Would it be too far fetched to have an FCA/RDF/NSR/Slua Veterans' Association? Similar to IUNVA? It would give those getting on in years an alternative to obscurity....

I was in Post #1 of the IUNVA in Arbour Hill recently; a very good show, lovely people.

Perhaps with something similar for the RDF there might be some of the older officers and ranks inclined to leave for fresher pastures and still maintain the link. Have a look around the messes next time you're in one. You'll rarely see mention of the sacrifice of time and freedom given by the reserves over the years to the state.

Some of the Pre-reorg units have unit associations. 7Th Bn for example.

You ll find that they got paid for doing the border, and drew an allowance for it.
    Although the weather mightn't always have been favourable.
    As for fca vets, members can join the ONE, when they leave

You ll find that they got paid for doing the border, and drew an allowance for it.
    Although the weather mightn't always have been favourable.
    As for fca vets, members can join the ONE, when they leave

And rightly so I reckon, I wouldn't go into a potentially dangerous area if I wasn't gonna get something for it! Isn't ONE an Organistaion for ex pdf tho, is there anything specifically for ex rdf lads/ladies?

Well , I know of one ex-medic fca , who joined the ONE, very active in it, enjoys it. 11th field Medics coy, as it was then.

One of the BIG problems on this forum and thread is the unprofessionalism of RDF members.....

You PAY professionals, that's why they're called professionals.....so I fail to see a negative issue here :)

Look, RDF PA's.are part-timers,who turn up for training once a week for two hours, but could be, on weekends,... doing a traffic control duty, car parking,
    or they could be off full time for a week with the PDF, most rdf pa's belong to old field mp units, whose job was to sign routes, man harbour areas, and do route recces, we were trained in the Gustav sub-machine gun, BAP and later the Styer, you'll find that good standards in dress ,deportment as well as good marching are a basic grounding of been a good military police man,

Besides that , out in the field , we practised our field craft, like any other soldier, and most mp units, on camp, could spend up to
    two to three days out on the ground,
    I rarely seen anyone getting a bollocking from an PA,
    ...I hope this answers the question, about what RDF MP s do!.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 ECY415

i was discharged from the rdf in 2009 and keen to get back involved after moving to limerick. i realise ill have to do recruit camp, etc, again dont mind atal,im just looking for a unit that could be recruiting this year/next? im keen on the 31st eng as thats what im qualified in.

ECY415 wrote: »
    i was discharged from the rdf in 2009 and keen to get back involved after moving to limerick. i realise ill have to do recruit camp, etc, again dont mind atal,im just looking for a unit that could be recruiting this year/next? im keen on the 31st eng as thats what im qualified in.

What rank were you when you were discharged? I reckon you should giv them a ring of go to they're next training nite and ask if your keen on joining them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 ECY415

3* pte, ill give a ring and see what the recruitment situ is like?