Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Floyd Mayweather v Victor Ortiz - Sept 17, MGM Grand Las Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

cowzerp wrote: »
    Judging by both these I take it you like the 24/7 show

God forbid somebody could put forward an opinion that the great PBF could be beaten depending on certain factors. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

strobe wrote: »
    Sky aren't carrying this. Does anyone know how I can watch it? Is it likely that there will be streams up on here for it? Can you pay to watch it on some american tv channels website or anything? Cheers.

If you have Sky digital, you can watch it on primetime. You have to call up to register with them first for a few quid and then you can order as you would a sky PPV. You can also pay to watch it on the Primetime website or you could take your chances on somebody posting a link on here closer to fight time. Someone usually obliges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Denners.ie wrote: »
    God forbid somebody could put forward an opinion that the great PBF could be beaten depending on certain factors. :eek:

Opinion straight from 24/7 program!!

Stick with that buddy, actually go the bookies they will see you coming and give you great odds.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

This isn't showing on Sky Sports at all?? Only PPV?

I have no doubt that Mayweather will come out on top (points) but it should be a great fight, really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    This isn't showing on Sky Sports at all?? Only PPV?

I have no doubt that Mayweather will come out on top (points) but it should be a great fight, really looking forward to it.

Primetime only. I hope it's a good fight, but fear it will be horribly one sided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭the deftone

Will there be some streams of the HBO coverage floating about here tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

I think this is a much more promising fight than Floyd against Marquez or Mosley. Floyd is obviously favourite - he's the bes in the business - but this a good, solid fight. Ortiz at least has the tools to cause some problems.

Opinion straight from 24/7 program!!

Stick with that buddy, actually go the bookies they will see you coming and give you great odds.

I don't recall anybody on 24/7 suggesting that if the lay-off has affected him it will be an interesting fight.

Take the ballsack out of your mouth buddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Oh look ...... Joe Cortez is tonight's ref !
    Floyd's favourite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

What time do i have to set my alarm for lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Oh look ...... Joe Cortez is tonight's ref !
    Floyd's favourite

really?

he's a grade A C*NT!!!!!

Come on Victor, seize your chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

really?

he's a grade A C*NT!!!!!

Come on Victor, seize your chance!

agreed. hate that cortez ****:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Cortez is a fcuking A1 ref.

He, unlike Hatton and his crew, know the rules of boxing.

Dusty87 wrote: »
    What time do i have to set my alarm for lads?

2.00am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Denners.ie wrote: »
    Take the ballsack out of your mouth buddy!

You prefer it in your mouth?!

Fair-weather supporter.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

efb wrote: »
    2.00am

cheers, was planning on crawling into bed at that stage lol for a few hours kip. In the ring around half 3/4 i take it?

NO in the ring at 2

grand thanks efb, even better again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Alvarez and Moralez are fighting, should be a decent build up

colly10 wrote: »
    Alvarez and Moralez are fighting, should be a decent build up

a stay up job so. I havn even looked at the undercard as i thought it on at 4ish. Thanks colly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I really doubt they will be in the ring at 2. I am on liveonlinefooty, and they have the the Show, before the fights, commencing at 2 AM.

Plus it is in Las Vegas, which is 8 hours behind us. 99% of the time the fight is on 3.30-4.30AM here. 4AM here is 8PM in Las Vegas.

You prefer it in your mouth?!

Fair-weather supporter.

Nom nom nom.

"Fair weather supporter" for expressing a different opinion? Maybe the gingervitus is going to your head.

CorkMan wrote: »
    I really doubt they will be in the ring at 2. I am on liveonlinefooty, and they have the the Show, before the fights, commencing at 2 AM.

Plus it is in Las Vegas, which is 8 hours behind us. 99% of the time the fight is on 3.30-4.30AM here. 4AM here is 8PM in Las Vegas.

was thinking that. Usually vegas fights is in around 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

was thinking that. Usually vegas fights is in around 4

Mayweather Ortiz will probably start around 4.30, if your missing the undercard you would want to be switched on by 4 to be safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

right

i just put my money where my mouth is, and put a fiver on Ortiz to win.

if thats not mockering, i dont know what is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭iii Stevo iii

24 7 was good, it seemed they put more effort into making people believe Mayweather-Mosley, Paquiao-Mosley were actual contests than they have this one, probably because they didnt have to.

Really hope Ortiz puts up a good fight keeps ontop of floyd. Dont see it going anyother way than points mayweather unless Ortiz really pressures him.

TBH Mosley did fight Floyd after winning over Margarito, he does have a claim to enter the ring with Floyd. Obviously the fight itself was Mosley being outclassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Ortiz does have a change, granted its quite remote, but a chance nonetheless.

Mayweather though has the bigger chance, and I think he will have it no bother, maybe a scare along the way, he has had them before and recovers well and sorts himself out quite well.

Mayweather by points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

NO in the ring at 2

No chance, 4.30AM at the absolute earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Looking forward to how Floyd deals with a big strong, powerful , young hungry, fighter, I can't see him having it all his own way, but look for Cortez to help him any way he can , I bet the ring is gigantic aswell .
    It's a good under card too so should make for an entertaining nights viewing !

Obama from boxingscene has all the 24/7 Episode up as well as Overtime (where Jim Lampley talks to people close to both fighters and gives analysis) as well as "Mayweather-Ortiz In and Out".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Cortez is a fcuking A1 ref.

He, unlike Hatton and his crew, know the rules of boxing.

If he knew the rules of boxing, he would have disqualified Mayweather for incessant holding in the first 4/5 rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Hello to all my nocturnal companions. Who's staying up? Good few hours in it yet.

I read this post earlier:
    This will be a good fight. Despite me being put off by Adamek's performance against McBride Adamek is still one of the best contenders out there. He is not some 3-4 stone overweight bum going into the ring for his payday and leaving with a loss.

I think Klitschko will win, but an upset could happen if Adamek ups his game.

and thought it looks pretty funny now and went through CorkMan's history for some gentle relief and to pass the time. Hope you don't mind CorkMan, we all get it wrong from time to time and if you got through my posts I'm sure I have a few shockers as well. Enjoy sirs.
    g'wan Tua!!!

Tua will eventually knock both Klitschkos on thier backsides!!!

Wlad vs Chambers
    I reckon Chambers could take it. He is a lot more mobile than the last 5 yanks who got beaten over there.
    At the weigh in Haye was 15st 0.5lb and Harrison 18st 1.5lb.

This could make a difference IMO, especially if Harrison can lean on Haye, plus hold and tire Haye in the fight.

Khan vs Maidana
    Maidana KO 1-3

I can see that chin being a target earlier on.
    Odlanier Solis will beat Ray Austin and take the title from Vitali next year Read.My.Words! 2004 Olympic gold medalist, 3 times amateur world champion winner, including beat David Haye in the amateurs. He beat 3 times gold Olympic medalist Felix Savón in cuba.

Solis isn't your average buffoon who Vitali Klitschko knocks out, this will be no Shannon Briggs! Solis won't take the jab all night and go in the late round, I think Solis will take the title. It won't go the distance IMO.

Haye vs Wlad
    Haye by KO, RD 7 or 8.
    I think Haye will KO Wladimir. Not a spectacular KO in which Wlad is on the canvas for half a minute, but a bit like Wlad's previous knockouts. Wlad able to get up but stopped.

I do believe Haye proved himself a good bit in the HW division already, he beat Valuev. There are rumours the Klitschko's were dodging Valuev. John Ruiz wasn't an easy opponent too. I think Haye will take away Wlad's jab and get very aggressive with him.
    I disagree. I think Haye will make it far from a boring fight, I think he will go straight at Wladimir because Wladimir wouldn't know what to do. He would be so used to using the jab from range, etc.

I think if Wlad get's knocked down once or twice and gets up, his default gameplan would be very shook up.
    Trust me, Wladimir has never fought a heavyweight in shape as Haye in a long time, this will be a different class to his previous opponents. Haye cleaned up the cruiserweight division, and moved up to heavyweight successfully. As has been proven before, when Wladimir gets hits solid on the chin it is "Good Night". Plus Haye will be faster than Wladimir has ever facen before.
    I say if Tyson Fury would be in shape for Wladimir he would be better than 90% of his opponents. Plus he has a very good reach so it would present a different realm of opponent if anything.

Well there are some legit points in there, at the time of posting. Haye did beat Valuev and he looked a good prospect going into the fight. Who would argue Haye didn't look like he had a legit chance? With Harrison I thought he would throw a punch.

Tua is past it unfortunately, IMO a 1999-00 Tua would have beaten Wladimir, but that was back then. Regards Solis, if he didn't strain his ligaments he would have been very good.

Regards Tyson Fury, I do not remembering saying good things about him. I must have had some cider and Mary Jane in my system at the time. I did not see Tyson Fury fight until he fought Derek Chisora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Well there are some legit points in there, at the time of posting. Haye did beat Valuev and he looked a good prospect going into the fight. Who would argue Haye didn't look like he had a legit chance? With Harrison I thought he would throw a punch.

Tua is past it unfortunately, IMO a 1999-00 Tua would have beaten Wladimir, but that was back then. Regards Solis, if he didn't strain his ligaments he would have been very good.

Regards Tyson Fury, I do not remembering saying good things about him. I must have had some cider and Mary Jane in my system at the time. I did not see Tyson Fury fight until he fought Derek Chisora.

Plenty in fairness.

Tonight is going to be a fantastic fight.

If theres one prediction I will make it will be that we will leave this thread tonight saying Mayweather is a true great of the sport. This fight will be exciting. Mayweather at this age is a more exciting fighter.

A great job has been done again by HBO making a solid pressure fighter like Ortiz, seem like a genuine threat.

I fully expect an explosive opening 2-3 rounds, but I also fully expect Ortiz to lose heart when Floyd susses him out and he'll do so quite quickly. Ortiz will never have the ability to change tactics on the fly in the ring to adjust to the opponent. And theres nothing more gut wrenching for a fighter than to know you are in the ring with someone who has an answer for everything you do. And probably have an answer for the things you cannot do.

Come 5.30am we will all be delighted we witnessed an absolute modern day legend thrill us in a way we never gave him credit for. By trading, and fighting.

And i'm not a fan of the man at all, but he is a hell of a fighter.

Hopefully the fool on liveonlinefooty will put on the boxing soon. I have selected the right channel but al jazerra sport is stuck on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

Hopefully the fool on liveonlinefooty will put on the boxing soon. I have selected the right channel but al jazerra sport is stuck on.

If he doesn't, the stream as firstrowsports.tv is working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

This fight is pretty tasty

Have to laugh at the HBO coverage, talking about Chris Arreola. "he is changing his eating techniques in order to entice Wladimir Klitschko".

vargas in trouble

This fight is pretty tasty

They have really given Vargas a tough opponent here!

Hopefully the streams won't get WAY slowed down by the lazy feckers only logging on for the main event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Hopefully the streams won't get WAY slowed down by the lazy feckers only logging on for the main event.

Already seems to be happening to the vipbox stream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

hehe
    i hope not :D

vargas takes back the fight in the 9th

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Already seems to be happening to the vipbox stream.

Yup. :(