Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget 2012

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

All i can say is.....€592 to tax a 1.8 is retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,796 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Vrt rebate might lead to properly worked out OMSP. If they are giving back money, they wont want to use an inflated figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

All i can say is.....€592 to tax a 1.8 is retarded.

Nearly the price for health insurance, and I see an article on the Indo claiming people on band A are hit the hardest. Not only are our politicians stupid, looks the whole country is.

yeah and with petrol going up it looks like im gonna have to go take a loan out and go down the route of a new renault diesel. :o

FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKK THHAAAAATTTTTTTTT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

care to pm me a trade price on that

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Gatster

Have you not? Theres been plenty about over the last 12 months, I never stop looking.
    Certainly not that I'd bother with, or that were '04. This looks about the best I've seen for the year/price and allowing for a haggle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

yeah and with petrol going up it looks like im gonna have to go take a loan out and go down the route of a new renault diesel. :o

i really hope this is a joke

Gatster wrote: »
    Certainly not that I'd bother with, or that were '04. This looks about the best I've seen for the year/price and allowing for a haggle...

Anyone know what sort of " SCRAPPAGE DEALS AVAILABLE" these folks operate? A grand off the screen price for whatever yoke you throw at them or something presumably...

Does anyone know if the ended the thing where you can get gardai to sign if the car was off the road? That was exploited a bit according to some politicians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

As I said earlier in the thread I'm up to just under €1,400 road tax on my 335 now.

Personally I don't think it's that bad - I was expecting a raise of about €150.

I tax my car for 12 months of the year and will continue to do so. If you bought a 3 litre car in the expectation that it was going to be cheap to run then that's your own fault.

Lets be honest the increase in tax isn't even a weeks petrol in any of the big engine cars.

I bought my car know that petrol was on the rise and that the motor tax would presumably rise too. IMO I think there's very little to complain about in this budget.

The motor tax still isn't as expensive as my insurance. Hmm... insurance now that's a another debate altogether.

Shane732 wrote: »
    Lets be honest the increase in tax isn't even a weeks petrol in any of the big engine cars.
    Well it will be a weekend car for me so €117 will probably last a month...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

I really hoped they would leave the CC rates alone and jack up the artificially-low CO2 rates instead. Maybe even backdate the CO2 rates to a sensible date to provide better equity to citizens (that's an extreme concept in political circles, I know) and hike them a bit to ensure net overall increase in intake, because, the TDI luxo-repmobile drivers are quite frankly getting away with it.

However, for what must clearly be my clear over-indulgence by driving an '03 2l diesel, I must be punished by being taxed exactly twice what somebody who could afford a similarily-CO2 emitting post-'08 car (€660 vs. €330). Or in actual reality, I'm to be both taxed more for frankly not being able to afford a newer car, and, prevented from getting any decent trade-in value for mine as an incentive to try. :mad:

........ you'd get decent money privately for an 03 2.0 diesel if its any way decent tbh, trading in a near 9 year old car is not the way to go.

a diesel....and there was me thinking your username led to something exciting :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

a diesel....and there was me thinking your username led to something exciting :(
    One can always dream :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Does anyone know if the ended the thing where you can get gardai to sign if the car was off the road? That was exploited a bit according to some politicians

A bit?! I know people who regularly taxed their car 3 months in the year, only when caught, and signed each time by a Garda mate.
    When I lived in Ireland I always paid mine in full for the whole year.

Uk system is better. Massive fines for untaxed cars. Automatic ANPR surveillance. Cars must be declared off the road before the act, and refunds given for unused periods. If said cars are found on the road; again massive fines/court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

For new cars, registered on or after 1 July 2008, the motor tax is based on CO2 emissions – even the lowest three of these have increased:

Band A (up to 120g CO2 per km): increases from €104 annually to €160
    Band B (more than 120g to 140g CO2 per km): increases from €156 to €225
    Band C (more than 140g to 155g CO2 per km): increases from €302 to €330

For cars registered before 1 July 2008:

Not over 1,000 cc: increase from €172 to €185
    1,001 to 1,100 cc: increase from €259 to €278
    1,101 to 1,200 cc: increase from €286 to €307
    1,201 to 1,300 cc: increase from €310 to €333
    1,301 to 1,400 cc: increase from €333 to €358
    1,401 to 1,500 cc: increase from €357 to €384
    1,501 to 1,600 cc: increase from €445 to €478
    1,601 to 1,700 cc: increase from €471 to €506
    1,701 to 1,800 cc: increase from €551 to €592
    1,801 to 1,900 cc: increase from €582 to €626
    1,901 to 2,000 cc: increase from €614 to €660
    2,001 to 2,100 cc: increase from €784 to €843
    2,101 to 2,200 cc: increase from €823 to €885
    2,201 to 2,300 cc: increase from €860 to €925
    2,301 to 2,400 cc: increase from €895 to €962
    2,401 to 2,500 cc: increase from €935 to €1,005

Scandalous. :(

KittyKat wrote: »
    For new cars, registered on or after 1 July 2008, the motor tax is based on CO2 emissions – even the lowest three of these have increased:................

Of course they did, it was to get more money in,

Band A (up to 120g CO2 per km): increases from €104 annually to €160
    Band B (more than 120g to 140g CO2 per km): increases from €156 to €225
    Band C (more than 140g to 155g CO2 per km): increases from €302 to €330

Those rates are still very reasonable, lots of 520ds and similar €40,000+ motors in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,205 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I drive a Band A car and thought that I was getting it really cheap at €104.

For me, to now have to pay €160, isn't such a terrible thing.

To call it scandalous is just joining in the great Irish whine thats going on at the minute. For me words like scandalous would be better reserved for chatting about the bank guarantee, Seanie Fitzpatrick, Fingers Fingleton, TD pensions etc, not a minor hit on road tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

NIMAN wrote: »

To call it scandalous is just joining in the great Irish whine thats going on at the minute. For me words like scandalous would be better reserved for chatting about the bank guarantee, Seanie Fitzpatrick, Fingers Fingleton, TD pensions etc, not a minor hit on road tax.
    Ah c'mere, don't you know people who could afford a band A/B new car in the last 2.5 years are on the breadline? :p They'll have to cancel the Sky or Chorus soon. Terdible, terdible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

I was referring to the older cars, for people that have to pay over €1000 for a 2.5ltr engine is just horrible.

I have a 2.5l older car that's worth f all, I was paying €935 so the increase doesn't bother me hugely to be honest :) Much better than a rise in income tax imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Am I right in saying cars with 3000-15000cc engines remain the same?

fluffer wrote: »
    Am I right in saying cars with 3000-15000cc engines remain the same?

no

I agree, the rates on 2 litres is up is incredible. How much does it cost to tax cars in other countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WestWing

UK rates:

uk-car-tax-bands2.jpg

WestWing wrote: »
    UK rates:

uk-car-tax-bands2.jpg

so £455 ~ €580 for tax on a big v8/10/12 luxobarge , now see thats common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

liammur wrote: »
    I agree, the rates on 2 litres is up is incredible. How much does it cost to tax cars in other countries?
    Bulgaria, €34 flat rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

Poland, 0

It's in petrol prices.

voojeq wrote: »
    Poland, 0

It's in petrol prices.

how much is a litre of petrol there ?

http://www.drive-alive.co.uk/fuel_prices_europe.html

€1.22 in Poland according to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Shane732 wrote: »
    As I said earlier in the thread I'm up to just under €1,400 road tax on my 335 now.

Personally I don't think it's that bad - I was expecting a raise of about €150.

I tax my car for 12 months of the year and will continue to do so. If you bought a 3 litre car in the expectation that it was going to be cheap to run then that's your own fault.

I bought my car know that petrol was on the rise and that the motor tax would presumably rise too. IMO I think there's very little to complain about in this budget.

The motor tax still isn't as expensive as my insurance. Hmm... insurance now that's a another debate altogether.

If you think paying that much is ok to tax a car then no wonder ireland is in the state it is.

NIMAN wrote: »

Luck for you then, that you can afford a post 2008 car.

Many of us can't

WestWing wrote: »
    UK rates:

uk-car-tax-bands2.jpg

It's even better for older cars too, a much fairer system than rip off ireland

Cars registered before 1 March 2001 (based on engine size)

Private/light goods (TC11)
    Engine size (cc) 12 months rate 6 months rate
    Not over 1549cc £130.00 £71.50
    Over 1549cc £215.00 £118.25

mcwhirter wrote: »
    If you think paying that much is ok to tax a car then no wonder ireland is in the state it is.

The chap is driving a top of the range 3 series, how much do you think a 335i should be to tax?

RoverJames wrote: »
    The chap is driving a top of the range 3 series, how much do you think a 335i should be to tax?

Similar to uk system is a start, so all cars pre 2001 are much lower. There are great cars out there being scrapped since they are becoming too expensive to tax, doesn't make any sense.

mcwhirter wrote: »
    Similar to uk system is a start, so all cars pre 2001 are much lower. There are great cars out there being scrapped since they are becoming too expensive to tax, doesn't make any sense.

Shane was on about his own car, an 07 335i, not a pre 2001 car. What do you think motor tax on an 07 335i should be?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Shane was on about his own car, an 07 335i, not a pre 2001 car. What do you think motor tax on an 07 335i should be?

As I said a system similar to UK so about 400-500 euros. When his car gets a few more years on it, it will become so expensive to tax it will be uneconomic for a buyer.
    Since the Co2 system, this is the downside.

I would like to buy an older car with a large engine but not when having to pay over a 1000 euros a year to tax. If I could pay £200-300 as in Uk it could be an option.

In my opinion the pre 2008 tax system is detrimental to the 2nd hand car industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

http://www.drive-alive.co.uk/fuel_prices_europe.html

€1.22 in Poland according to that.

Jesus. Jesus ****ing Christ. No wonder they're always driving massive older BMWs and Audis. I wouldn't be too quick to swap over to the Irish system if I had a car on Polish plates anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Haha, thats mental. They're selling a €70,000 car and advertising its main selling point as €156 tax. The new owner will probably loose €15-€20k in the first year in depreciation.

This country has gone insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

ottostreet wrote: »
    Jesus. Jesus ****ing Christ. No wonder they're always driving massive older BMWs and Audis. I wouldn't be too quick to swap over to the Irish system if I had a car on Polish plates anyway.

there's no equality in europe, all countries across can drive v8, pollute the air how much they all want, pay almost nothing for having this and here i am, trying to find 1.6 max to save myself some coins in the future, FCUK that i say :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭cork sham

voojeq wrote: »
    Poland, 0

It's in petrol prices.

The Polish have the right idea! the more you drive or the more fuel your car consumes, the more motor tax you pay!

Adding an additional few cents to every litre of fuel makes much more sense as you cannot avoid not paying it then, and also relieving many "hardworking" tax office employees hence releasing more money back in to the exchequer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

German rates have always been based on emissions. What I think is great though is that fuel efficient diesels get taxed more :)

For example, a 2L Petrol with 150 CO/2 emissions costs €150 a year, whereas a 2L Diesel with 150 CO/2 emissions costs €250 a year.

Also, they already know what the tax rates will be from 2014... now that is planning ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,010 ✭✭✭patrickc

the OH just got her renewal for January in with the new rates on it. didn't take long for that to come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Haha, thats mental. They're selling a €70,000 car and advertising its main selling point as €156 tax. The new owner will probably loose €15-€20k in the first year in depreciation.

This country has gone insane.

Ireland

New Price:€67,000
    Tax:€225

Germany

New Price:€51,000
    Tax:€323

You use less fuel means you pay more tax. Makes sense no? Wow we have such idiots in charge..

patrickc wrote: »
    the OH just got her renewal for January in with the new rates on it. didn't take long for that to come out.
    It would have been already programmed in a good while ago.