Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Injured A/R/T Boardsies Support Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

What was Physio's advice?? Seems like a long time to be out with IT

The usual; rest, ice, foam roll. My left glute and hip were a bit weak which seemed to be causing the problems, so strengthening for them & core - bridges, planks, squats, lunges etc.

I had started to feel better & improve towards the end of Dec, but maybe I went back too quickly - did a 12km on new years day and I was in agony by the end of it. Since then I've only managed to run a max of 30 mins, and it generally starts hurting about 20 mins in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Mumontherun

captain P wrote: »
    The usual; rest, ice, foam roll. My left glute and hip were a bit weak which seemed to be causing the problems, so strengthening for them & core - bridges, planks, squats, lunges etc.

I had started to feel better & improve towards the end of Dec, but maybe I went back too quickly - did a 12km on new years day and I was in agony by the end of it. Since then I've only managed to run a max of 30 mins, and it generally starts hurting about 20 mins in.

sounds like you are doing everything you can to help it, build the running up slowly again, 12km was prob too much too soon, are you running on roads or grass / track ? Uneven slope at the edge of the road may not be helping. Hope you're back running soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

"Too much too soon" is the enemy with ITBS. I had to build up incredibly slowly when I was recovering from it last year, it took me about two and a half months after the initial injury to be back to running 8-10km at a time again, and for a lot of the recovery time I was only able to run for 10-15 minutes at a time. It's such a frustrating injury.

Thanks folks, gonna try a 10-15 minute run tonight, then another over the weekend and hopefully gradually build it back up. It's SO frustrating :mad:!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭ger664

The key to recovery after a long layoff is to build up very slowly. You are probably better off taking the same approach as someone who has never ran before it their lives

Some points to note:
    • Dont start back running until you can walk briskly and pain free for One hour
    • For the first 15 runs start with 1 minute walk 1 minute run, increase the run by 1 minute with each run until you can do 15 minutes non stop
    • Gradually build your mileage up to whatever it was but not anything greater the 10% increase in each weeks mileage and the same applies for Long Runs
    • Take a step back weeks every 2-4 weeks depending on prone to picking up injuries you are
    • There should be no speed/tempo/intervals/whatever workouts in this phase and then gradually introduce these back into your running when you get back to your previous weekly mileage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

ger664 wrote: »
    The key to recovery after a long layoff is to build up very slowly. You are probably better off taking the same approach as someone who has never ran before it their lives

Some points to note:
    • Dont start back running until you can walk briskly and pain free for One hour
    • For the first 15 runs start with 1 minute walk 1 minute run, increase the run by 1 minute with each run until you can do 15 minutes non stop
    • Gradually build your mileage up to whatever it was but not anything greater the 10% increase in each weeks mileage and the same applies for Long Runs
    • Take a step back weeks every 2-4 weeks depending on prone to picking up injuries you are
    • There should be no speed/tempo/intervals/whatever workouts in this phase and then gradually introduce these back into your running when you get back to your previous weekly mileage

Ger do you think with such a conservative restart its ok to do this basic workout EVERY day if there is no reaction or would you insist on every second day.?

Yes these would be daily workouts, I was assuming like myself that most would be doing 6-7 days a week. If you where only running 3-4 days with XT/Rest days in between it is a great opportunity to introduce a higher frequency of running providing there is no adverse reaction to the original or any other injury.

By adverse reaction - you mean a bit of muscle stiffness/soreness?
    I haven't had any muscle aches at all after any of my 5 runs over two weeks with a 3:2 ratio walk run and wondered if i was being TOO cautious?

A bit of muscle stiffness/soreness is okay if it goes away after a good warm-up or is not nagging you when you walk.

I think you current approach is bang on so especially after 7 months on the bench.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

ahhh....felt a twing in my shin again last night during a 6 mile run. hope this isnt a return to shin splints. I have been injury free for 18 months and this is a worry.
    Have to do 2 long runs this weekend in training for Connemara...im afraid to run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

I'm not sure if this is the correct place for this as I'm not "injured" in the traditional sense, and it might warrant a thread of it's own.
    Following an illness 2 weeks ago, (cough / cold / bug thing) coming on the back of some high-mileage weeks I foolishly decided to race the Mallow 10mile last Monday. After 6.5miles at a nice race pace, I started to get pins and needles up my neck and my hearing / vision started to fade / blur.
    I quickly pulled up and check my heart rate, which was racing.
    I wasn't too concerned to be honest as I thought it was down to the exertion of the day.
    I walked until my heart rate dropped back down and did a light jog to finish the race chatting to other runners on the way. A few buddies who saw me after the race all commented on how poorly I looked. I felt fine just a bit disappointed.
    I decided to rest for a few days.
    Anyway, I still wasn't feeling great so decided to visit my doctor on Thursday evening, yeah I know, I could have gone sooner.
    I told him what happen he gave me a good going over, rest HR fine, blood-pressure fine.
    He thought it was possible down to a virus I may have had, given my family history (and my own past) he did an ECG.
    The results were okay but he has referred me to a Cardiac Specialist to get a more thorough check-up.
    Now for the serious part....
    NO EXERTION! I can go for walks with the kids and dogs but no running....
    I'm climbing the walls here, I can't even go for a swim or a light cycle.
    So fellow A/R/T ists, what do you do when injured / layed up?
    A general question, I have some books to read, spend time with family, but how do you stave off the frustration of not being able to run?

This is probably the worst thing for us in been not able to run, sorry i cant give you any pointers other then try and build up some brownie points with herself for when you get back to doing those 2-3 hour runs on weekends.

Did your GP do a full set of blood work ? If not go back and requested it from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

most people cross train when they can to maintain some sort of fitness...however you cant do that so, all you can do to quote yourself is walk the dog, and kids etc....nothing else you can do.

anyway running isn't everything, if you can't run, you can't run....dont worry about it, you could be worse off.

best thing you can do if look after your heart and don't to anything to put yourself in danger

hope your back on the road soon but life is bigger than running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

Me again, lots of free time :D Yeah, GP did full bloodwork results next week.
    Yep, life is way bigger than running, sort of why I started in the first place the way I was going I would be in a lot worse condition now.
    On the plus side I got to see the lovely views from the wind farm atop boggeragh this morning with the two kids and the two dogs, can't wait to run up there nice route plotted in the midst of all the turbines.
    Mr. Wiggle will suffer on the climbs.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

b.harte wrote: »
    Me again, lots of free time :D Yeah, GP did full bloodwork results next week.
    Yep, life is way bigger than running, sort of why I started in the first place the way I was going I would be in a lot worse condition now.
    On the plus side I got to see the lovely views from the wind farm atop boggeragh this morning with the two kids and the two dogs, can't wait to run up there nice route plotted in the midst of all the turbines.
    Mr. Wiggle will suffer on the climbs.....:D

You should ask the doc about these delusions you keep having too..seriously!
    Get well soon buddy, tired of these Lsr's on my own..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I'm back n the couch again. major complaint is the blimmin coccyx AGAIN!, minor complaints include a pair of fecked up lungs and general lack of fitness. I just can't seem to get fit again after the baby. I don't know if it's the lack of sleep, the nursing, the whole pregnancy/chlildbirth/geriatric mother thing or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Not sure whether or not I'm going to end up back here again soon!!!

I had an injury last year (stress fracture to metatarsil) which happened just a couple of weeks before the Dublin Marathon.

Anyway, it was a while coming... and thinking back, I used to have some pain in my foot following long runs - which I now know was from the stress fracture slowly getting worse over time.

Well, I started running again in the new year, and everything was going well. I'm entered in the Belfast Marathon next month. But after Sunday's long run I have some slight pain in the same place as before... It's nowhere near as bad - but enough to make me wonder!

Should I keep on training and go for the marathon, or should I stop, rest, and keep my runs short for a much longer period?!?!?

What to do, what to do.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Not sure whether or not I'm going to end up back here again soon!!!

I had an injury last year (stress fracture to metatarsil) which happened just a couple of weeks before the Dublin Marathon.

Anyway, it was a while coming... and thinking back, I used to have some pain in my foot following long runs - which I now know was from the stress fracture slowly getting worse over time.

Well, I started running again in the new year, and everything was going well. I'm entered in the Belfast Marathon next month. But after Sunday's long run I have some slight pain in the same place as before... It's nowhere near as bad - but enough to make me wonder!

Should I keep on training and go for the marathon, or should I stop, rest, and keep my runs short for a much longer period?!?!?

What to do, what to do.....

There are two types - a stress fracture and a stress reaction. A proper stress fracture cant be run on without serious pain. A stress reaction is a stress fracture waiting to happen.

Im on my 2nd stress fracture/reaction since christmas (different metatarsals, same foot).Id take a week off and then see. You wont lose much fitness. If its still bothering you after that and its the same place as before maybe a podiatrist/chiropodist could help (bone scan etc). Ive read that its unusual to get it in the same place again as it tends to heal stronger than before.

In the meantime I would talk to someone who knows their stuff shoes-wise, you may be wearing the wrong type if you over pronate or supinate. Ive found base2race in ballymount excellent for this (gait analysis etc). Its a good idea to bring your old shoes with you. While its not good to change shoes just before a marathon, you might be able to 'get away with it' with your old shoes and then change afterwards - if they are a problem.

Disclaimer: I dont work for b2r :)

2012 has not gone well so far:
    started with ITBS...
    Just as that recovered I then had to go for wrist surgery which meant more time out, just as I started getting back running.....
    I got an ear infection which lasted about 3 weeks, and just as I was recovering from that....
    I fell off my bicycle and broke me shoulder in 3 parts, had to have surgery - got a plate put in, and looking at a long recovery period. Dublin marathon and the race series probably won't happen for me this year!

I get very frustrated when I can't run or cycle!!

Capt P. Tough luck. But I wouldnt not run because of shoulder surgery. after 6 weeks when mobilizing , I would continue to run. the range of movement required isnt that much...basically elbow to hip and wrist to hip. its not huge and shouldnt be any problem.

I hurt my shoulder last august and in spite of doing lots o exercises etc , it didnt get better until I started back running. the extra circulation and movement helped more than anything.
    good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

2012 has not gone well so far:
    started with ITBS...
    Just as that recovered I then had to go for wrist surgery which meant more time out, just as I started getting back running.....
    I got an ear infection which lasted about 3 weeks, and just as I was recovering from that....
    I fell off my bicycle and broke me shoulder in 3 parts, had to have surgery - got a plate put in, and looking at a long recovery period. Dublin marathon and the race series probably won't happen for me this year!

I get very frustrated when I can't run or cycle!!

Jaysus!!! Not had a good run of luck at all!

Best of luck with the recovery.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭jimbo21

iam going into week 12 out of running just before ballycotton things started to go wrong for me still went and done ballycotton under 1hr, its turned out now that i have a tear in my hip and need a op. to sort it out i am booked in for the 29 june so i cant wait to get it done iam still sore after 12 weeks:(:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

jimbo21 -its probably better that you know you cant run for 'x' more weeks as it might be more frustrating thinking that you will be back next week or the week after and then having to re-set that date every other week....

sounds like your an able runner, wouldnt worry even if you were out till sept/oct-ish you would prob still do ballyb under the hour again next year

its a lebral tear that has to be fixed with all the rest i been having you think it would be grand but its not can run at all ,has anybody have this done and come back to what they were at ?:mad: was thinking of doing the waterford marathon but have to for get that idea may be next year

jimbo21 wrote: »
    its a lebral tear that has to be fixed with all the rest i been having you think it would be grand but its not can run at all ,has anybody have this done and come back to what they were at ?:mad: was thinking of doing the waterford marathon but have to for get that idea may be next year

Friend of mine from the RW Paris thread had a labral tear repair a year or two ago. Did lots of rehab after and has made a full recovery. Took a while but is as good as new. Tough injury , Commiserations

just what i wanted to read i feel better alredy:D ye i no its going to take a while to get back but its good to no people have come back asgood as before thanks:)

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭SimonClarke

God damn son of a ***** body!

Inside of my left knee has failed me.. Had ligament trouble during my growth spurt as a teen and suspect similar now 18 years later.

So annoyed because I was taking it easy.. Been trying so hard to stay disciplined and not do too much too soon but I guess knees couldn't handle running with extra body weight!

At least there is no swelling and while I can feel everything is not as it should be down there, I'm not in much pain so I'm hoping it's just a strain rather than a tear!

Just such a bi*ch knowing I'm going to have to rest for a few weeks after only 5 weeks into my workout plan and 11lbs lighter than when I started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Nanazolie

Hiya fellow cripples! :D Just wanted to send some positive thoughts to help you all on the road to recovery.

9 months after a stress fracture and plantar fascitis on both feet, and I've run the Women mini marathon on Monday with little pains. Massaged feet a lot with Voltarol cream, streached and streached, used ice packs. And no pain the next morning. Well, no more than the daily stiffness I feel when putting my feet down first thing in the morning.
    Not ready for anything more strenuous than that yet, though, but it proves one thing: be patient, start again slowly and build it up, and you will be on the road again.

Good luck!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Technique

Is there life after an achilles injury?

I've read some stuff online that basically says that an achilles injury never goes away. :(

I've been doing eccentric calf lifts 3 times a day for the past few weeks, and using the cross-trainer and exercise bike instead of going for a run. It doesn't help that I'm not the most patient person.

I'd be interested to hear peoples' opinions on running again after this injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Technique wrote: »
    Is there life after an achilles injury?

I've read some stuff online that basically says that an achilles injury never goes away. :(

I've been doing eccentric calf lifts 3 times a day for the past few weeks, and using the cross-trainer and exercise bike instead of going for a run. It doesn't help that I'm not the most patient person.

I'd be interested to hear peoples' opinions on running again after this injury.
    Can take up to 12 weeks for the eccentric work to show benefit, read the alfredson study for a good guide and consider keeping up the ecercises if you get back (most don't)