Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭rosknight

Its akin to Roscommon Senior Football team choosing to play in division 2 as opposed to division 1 and winning same. This CBS team had the best ever chance of winning a Hogan Cup. I would seriously doubt if any other school in the country had three quarters of their team made up of Co. U17 players. Are'nt we always telling youngsters "to reach for the stars" yet here we had a team that were full of talent and choose the easy option much to the annoyance of a few of their co-players.

Yes they won a B,
    Yes the local media went into a frenzy but these lads had a serious chance of getting into the history books and winning a Hogan Cup. The sad part is that a small minority of these players knew this and will always be left wondering about what could have been. Who talks of B champions in 10 years time.

Isnt there something wrong with the structure of this competition when a school gets an option to go into A or B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

rosknight wrote: »
    Its akin to Roscommon Senior Football team choosing to play in division 2 as opposed to division 1 and winning same. This CBS team had the best ever chance of winning a Hogan Cup. I would seriously doubt if any other school in the country had three quarters of their team made up of Co. U17 players. Are'nt we always telling youngsters "to reach for the stars" yet here we had a team that were full of talent and choose the easy option much to the annoyance of a few of their co-players.

Yes they won a B,
    Yes the local media went into a frenzy but these lads had a serious chance of getting into the history books and winning a Hogan Cup. The sad part is that a small minority of these players knew this and will always be left wondering about what could have been. Who talks of B champions in 10 years time.

Isnt there something wrong with the structure of this competition when a school gets an option to go into A or B?

i agree, its a right pity they didnt have the ambition to go for the a, they might not have won it or even connacht but who knows

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

I highly doubt CBS would have won the Hogan cup this year. As the best in Connacht Claremorris and Munster were well beaten by the two finalists. CBS played A last year and didn't reach the Connacht final that was probably a deciding factor on picking B level this year. BTW B level is strong also that Kerry team last Saturday in the B final and Downpatrick that CBS beat in the semi final would be very competitive if they were in the Hogan cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

a fella was telling me today that there playing a bit of rugby in the cbs now too, maybe they went for the b because fellas had to do rugby and games on top of the gaelic, fair play to them anyway,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Playing rugby in there for about 12 years now.I doubt it had anything to do with playing B football.
    They got to the A All Ireland final in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭megadodge

I understand where some are coming from in believing the CBS should have played 'A', but from the evidence I saw last Saturday having watched both finals in the flesh, the CBS would not have beaten either 'A' finalists - especially not playing the way they played in the final.

They are capable of playing much better than they did, but in the hard light of day if they just scraped past a team as ordinary as the Kerry outfit (they really weren't hectic) I don't see how they would have won an 'A' final.

There was a gap in standards in both games. It's not being harsh. The CBS backs were excellent and would be right up there with 'A' defenses, but their kickout strategy for both sides kickouts was very, very poor. Their freetaking was substandard and the forwards played as a bunch of individuals rather than supporting each other. They won that match with a superb 10-15 minute burst, but were very lethargic after that. I would question their fitness to be honest. If not that, then their attitude when 6 points up with 15 minutes to play was questionable at best. They don't strike me as a side good enough to have won the 'A'.

The 2011 side that won the All-Ireland 'B' were also highly regarded and there were lots of question marks about them not being in the 'A'. Yet they had to go to extra time against Westport, barely scraped past Carrick-on-Shannon and I think had to go to extra time again in the final. Any side who should be contenders in 'A' don't have that many close matches in 'B'.

On the other hand, the 2015 side who went so close to wiinning the Hogan Cup weren't as highly rated as either 'B' winning sides, so what do I know....

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭cuculainn

megadodge wrote: »
    I understand where some are coming from in believing the CBS should have played 'A', but from the evidence I saw last Saturday having watched both finals in the flesh, the CBS would not have beaten either 'A' finalists - especially not playing the way they played in the final.

They are capable of playing much better than they did, but in the hard light of day if they just scraped past a team as ordinary as the Kerry outfit (they really weren't hectic) I don't see how they would have won an 'A' final.

There was a gap in standards in both games. It's not being harsh. The CBS backs were excellent and would be right up there with 'A' defenses, but their kickout strategy for both sides kickouts was very, very poor. Their freetaking was substandard and the forwards played as a bunch of individuals rather than supporting each other. They won that match with a superb 10-15 minute burst, but were very lethargic after that. I would question their fitness to be honest. If not that, then their attitude when 6 points up with 15 minutes to play was questionable at best. They don't strike me as a side good enough to have won the 'A'.

The 2011 side that won the All-Ireland 'B' were also highly regarded and there were lots of question marks about them not being in the 'A'. Yet they had to go to extra time against Westport, barely scraped past Carrick-on-Shannon and I think had to go to extra time again in the final. Any side who should be contenders in 'A' don't have that many close matches in 'B'.

On the other hand, the 2015 side who went so close to wiinning the Hogan Cup weren't as highly rated as either 'B' winning sides, so what do I know....

Possibly if you enter the A or B your level of performance subconsciously rises or falls suit the standard. It's an unanswerable question tho.

Would being in the A have brought out better performances out of a team with potential or would they just not have been good enough......,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It was a goid win for C.B.S. They are not A standard but still a good team who didnt lose their heads in the last 15 minutes. Their poor free taking gave the Kerry lads hope. In tight games it can be demoralising to see free taking chances wasted especially when the opposition are pinging theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

a fella was telling me today that there playing a bit of rugby in the cbs now too, maybe they went for the b because fellas had to do rugby and games on top of the gaelic, fair play to them anyway,
    Rugby little to do with it as rugby been played there for years and having reffed guys up there playing rugby they mix between each quite a bit and that they play rugby isnt reason they were in the B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I think this might be our full championship squad for coming season. It's program from our challenge game vs Kildare the other night. A number of those listed to start didn't play any part though like Murtagh

D4SvzUbXoAEhcJV?format=jpg&name=900x900

That forward line doesn't exactly inspire confidence especially given Murtagh has barely played since last summer. He hasn't even taken part in recent challenges. Have to ask what Darcy has done to start?

Only four players who started last year's Connacht final are named to start....

D6H4RlcXkAAeRGZ?format=png

Murtagh had the problem with his eye since last summer and only really back since March.No harm playing him on Sunday ,have to get him back into the mix .
    D'arcy was involved in all league games iirc,Leitrim at home is as good a time as any to see is he champions standard.
    4 starters from last years Connacht final team and another 5 on the bench.Another 4 lads who started arent involved with the team this year ,Devanney and E Smith injured.Not a major surprise to see only 4 start.

3 Dalys and Mullolly weren't involved last year but I'd argue they are as good or better in some cases to what was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭franglan

Would be interested to see the bench alright! Good luck to Hubert D'Arcy, the likes of himself and Henry Walsh have been around the panel for the last couple of years. You'd be buzzing going into your first championship start for the Rossies!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭blowitupref

yabadabado wrote: »
    Murtagh had the problem with his eye since last summer and only really back since March.No harm playing him on Sunday ,have to get him back into the mix .
    D'arcy was involved in all league games iirc,Leitrim at home is as good a time as any to see is he champions standard.
    4 starters from last years Connacht final team and another 5 on the bench.Another 4 lads who started arent involved with the team this year ,Devanney and E Smith injured.Not a major surprise to see only 4 start.

3 Dalys and Mullolly weren't involved last year but I'd argue they are as good or better in some cases to what was.

Who would have guessed that only 4 of that Connacht final team would start the next Connacht championship game though?. Big turnover something you don't see with the other top 10 ranked teams in one year.

If everyone was fully fit for Sunday there is a good chance there would be 10 or 11 of the CF team starting. There isn't a massive turn over ,I think only 4 arent involved this year .
    Beat Leitrim and I'd expect around that number to start in semi final.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭blowitupref

yabadabado wrote: »
    If everyone was fully fit for Sunday there is a good chance there would be 10 or 11 of the CF team starting. There isn't a massive turn over ,I think only 4 arent involved this year .
    Beat Leitrim and I'd expect around that number to start in semi final.
    Its a turnover in regards to the last Connacht championship starting team. Other than Enda Smith,Conor Devaney who is injured?

What you are basically saying here is Roscommon are going into this quarter final against a Leitrim team on a high with a weakened team?

Its a turnover in regards to the last Connacht championship starting team. Other than Enda Smith,Conor Devaney who is injured?

What you are basically saying here is Roscommon are going into this quarter final against a Leitrim team on a high with a weakened team?

They are the two that are out and another 4 more not ready/risked.

Leitrim may be on a high but lets not go over board here they got to a Div. 4 final,Ros have been perfoming at a higher level for the past number of years and the side named has plenty of experience,its not some 15 just thrown together.We may have got relegated but were very competitive in most games.

The side Ros have named is probably the stronest available at the moment with a several players to come back in.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭White lighting

As far as i know Fintan Cregg hurt his hand. All reports i heard were that he was a cert to start if fully fit. Flying it since he came back playing the football of his life.
    Hope Hussey has a good game and proves me wrong but i feel he is not quite county standard yet and may lack a bit of pace as the ground gets faster

I think Cregg is expected to be on the bench on Sunday,may not be 100% but getting a run out would be good .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

As far as i know Fintan Cregg hurt his hand. All reports i heard were that he was a cert to start if fully fit. Flying it since he came back playing the football of his life.
    Hope Hussey has a good game and proves me wrong but i feel he is not quite county standard yet and may lack a bit of pace as the ground gets faster

What injuries do Enda Smith and Conor Devaney have?

Smith hurt his thumb not sure about Devaney but he hasn't played since league either club or warm-up games.

Hussey was fine during the league but again can't read much into that. When McInerney, McManus, Brian Stack are back on panel/fit again then Hussey will obviously struggle to start but right now I wouldn't have issue with him.

I would be far more worried about Murtagh (fitness), Harney (indiscipline), Kilroy (completely out of form in league) and Darcy who hasn't shown me anything either at minor, under 21 or his appearances off the bench at senior level. Midfield I think we will struggle too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I'm sorry, but Kilroy doesn't have the physicality needed for county football. maybe if he was a free scoring corner forward, but he's not.
    the same with Murray in defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I'm sorry, but Kilroy doesn't have the physicality needed for county football. maybe if he was a free scoring corner forward, but he's not.
    the same with Murray in defence.

Murray lacks height but can be physical and sometimes too eager to tackle that more often of not becomes mistimed. What is Kilroy's role in the team under new management? McStay had him playing the sweeper.

Not sure what Darcy or Kilroy add to the team.
    Sorry to be harsh but I don't believe either are good enough for county football.
    Kilroy has had loads of chances but has proved not to be up to it, so I honestly cannot understand what successive managers see. It just confuses the hell out of me.

Darcy never really showed me much at underage and the little I've seen of him at senior hasn't changed my mind.

Glad to see Killoran start, as I think he deserves it, but not sure if he and Tadhg is the answer to our ongoing midfield problems.

The backs look quite an impressive unit on paper. Hopefully they live up to the billing.

Surprised to see anyone questioning the selection of Murtagh. He's a proven commodity at the top level. The moment he's ready he should always start. He had an eye problem. That doesn't prevent him from keeping fit. He looked sharp on his only appearance in the league and obviously is doing it in training, so what's the problem?

megadodge wrote: »
    Not sure what Darcy or Kilroy add to the team.
    Sorry to be harsh but I don't believe either are good enough for county football.
    Kilroy has had loads of chances but has proved not to be up to it, so I honestly cannot understand what successive managers see. It just confuses the hell out of me.

Darcy never really showed me much at underage and the little I've seen of him at senior hasn't changed my mind.

Glad to see Killoran start, as I think he deserves it, but not sure if he and Tadhg is the answer to our ongoing midfield problems.

The backs look quite an impressive unit on paper. Hopefully they live up to the billing.

Surprised to see anyone questioning the selection of Murtagh. He's a proven commodity at the top level. The moment he's ready he should always start. He had an eye problem. That doesn't prevent him from keeping fit. He looked sharp on his only appearance in the league and obviously is doing it in training, so what's the problem?
    He wasn't allowed train by the eye specialist
    No running, weights, cycling, nothing

Don't stand a chance v Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Don't stand a chance v Mayo

That's the spirit!

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭White lighting

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Smith hurt his thumb not sure about Devaney but he hasn't played since league either club or warm-up games.

Hussey was fine during the league but again can't read much into that. When McInerney, McManus, Brian Stack are back on panel/fit again then Hussey will obviously struggle to start but right now I wouldn't have issue with him.

I would be far more worried about Murtagh (fitness), Harney (indiscipline), Kilroy (completely out of form in league) and Darcy who hasn't shown me anything either at minor, under 21 or his appearances off the bench at senior level. Midfield I think we will struggle too.

Hussey done well despite my slight worrys. Can make that position his own i feel if he stays going like that. Has more pace than i taught. One worry he needs be more confident in front of goal thats two goal chances he butchered now after coming up the field. One bad one in league and had great chance and left ball behind him other day.

Taught some of your worrys done well. Taught we won midfield with Tadhg and Killoran very good. Kilroy and Darcy also had good games too. Harney and Killoran our two best i taught

Hard to make anything out of that match, as unfortunately Leitrim were quite poor. I expected more off them this year, but they were no better than the last three years.

In fairness almost all the Roscommon players, including subs, played well and showed good strength, speed and patience. But Mayo are a completely different kettle of fish. I don't expect Roscommon to win, but it is vitally important to both this team and the county as a whole to put in a performance. By that, I mean playing as well as you can FOR THE ENTIRE 70 MINUTES! If that's not good enough, so be it, but at least you go down fighting to the bitter end. Something like the league match earlier in the year. Just keep f*cking going! It's so depressing to look at fine players losing all belief with a substantial part of the match still to go, as has been the case on far too many occasions in McHale park.

Great win for the minors last night.

Beat Galway by two points having been down eight points at half-time.

Obviously they kept going!