Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raw - 1/8/11 - *Spoilers*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

IanMc666 wrote: »
    Simply because they basically turn gimmick matches themselves into full on PPV's, end of.
    Yeah but still, im not talking HIAC but even a ladder match or a LMS match?

Also, anyone else feel like Cena and Punk dont hate or even dislike each other? Are they building it up as a mutual respect type of match?

There doesn't feel like theres any hatred between them like usually these big PPV matches have. I suppose their both faces, but still, it just feels like its lacking something to me, doesn't have anywhere near the same build and excitement like the MITB match had. I hope we dont get a handshake at the end of the match, id like if Punk wins we at least get a Cena turn or HHH turns heel or something to keep it interesting, not just have Del Rio cash in at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Liam O wrote: »
    well they got what they deserved, how people can still cheer Cena and respect him as a champion is ridiculous, Punk should be all out face by now and I think they were expecting a different crowd to what they got. I don't normally get annoyed by crowds but other than the Zack chant they were very poor.

Yeah it seemed quite a young crowd tonight,pops for morrison cena riley zack I think that was it really.They were very lukewarm to Punk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭AndywK

Tinie wrote: »
    Why is WWE so hell bent on not using gimmick matches anymore? Its so rare nowadays. Would it be so hard to make the match a ladder match or something like the old days? These single matches usually tend to be boring for fans like me, as im not a traditional "wrestling" fan, like spot fest matches more.

You mean like The Elimination Chamber and MITB. Oh there was HITC too and the fact that most PPVs already have gimmick matches on them or a match with a stipulation.

I want to see Cena and Punk WRESTLE, not do backflips. Despite the **** crowd from Raw, the WWE Title means something again and therfore it should be defended in the traditional manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Yeah but still, im not talking HIAC but even a ladder match or a LMS match?

Also, anyone else feel like Cena and Punk dont hate or even dislike each other? Are they building it up as a mutual respect type of match?

There doesn't feel like theres any hatred between them like usually these big PPV matches have. I hope we dont get a handshake at the end of the match, id like if Punk wins we at least get a Cena turn or HHH turns heel or something to keep it interesting, not just have Del Rio cash in at the end.

I can see Cena winning cleanly at Summerslam bringing the feud to a third and final match.

The whole main event at SS angle played out far too slow on the show,I would've preferred a punk cena promo than hhh and john lauranitis talking **** for the best part of 10 minutes.He should've just opened the show with the announcement.

AndywK wrote: »
    You mean like The Elimination Chamber and MITB. Oh there was HITC too and the fact that most PPVs already have gimmick matches on them or a match with a stipulation.

I want to see Cena and Punk WRESTLE, not do backflips. Despite the **** crowd from Raw, the WWE Title means something again and therfore it should be defended in the traditional manner
    The WWE title meant a lot more 10 years ago than it does now with its stupid 1 day reigns and multiple changes every few months, and nearly all the big PPV title matches were defended in some sort of gimmick match back then, be it a LMS match, S.G. Ref or Ladder match, and they were some of the most exciting matches the past decade... so... yeah, just typical PG WWE shíte. If it was Lesnar vs Angle again then id agree with you, but its not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Maybe the crowd was a bit dead cause of the lack of matches was it two & a divas battle royal which barely counts as a match.They were a bit limp from the start but if you didn't have a subscription to the internet or been watching a long time a lot of what was said between Punk/HHH would of went well over their heads. As for Punks tepid response I just don't get that at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭AndywK

I'm talking bout Punks WWE title btw..screw Cena.

Im pretty sure WWE has been PG the last few months and it is the most entertaining it has ever been so please don't call it PG ****e. YOu should check out Chikara if you think PG is so crap.

I think 10 years ago alot of those gimmick matches were new and fresh though no?

Also, Johns promos are as nearly as good as the Warriors! OH FOR WHEN THE WORLDS OF THE WINDS OF THINGS IN THE STARS THAT COLLIDE BY MY SOLAR INTERGALITIC FAN BASE OF ALL THAT IS SACRED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Wow, what a rubbish ending.

After last week I was expecting Cena to come with his title and tell HHH that in order for him to be the champion he needs to beat the champion, and he hasn't beaten CM Punk, the champion. Then have him toss his title down and say that he wants the real belt, not one tarnish with an ill beginning and a result of circumstance. It would have really help put Punk over and continue this job of making the title mean something again.

But no, Cena is the champ blah blah blah. And I usually hate blaming a crowd, but honestly did anyone there keep up with the last few weeks? ****ing hell I wouldn't be suprised if they were wondering were Batista was they seemed that far behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

they killed the whole angle, chances are it's gonna be a win for Cena at Summerslam, and back to crappy PG business as usual.

crowd were aweful too, says something when the biggest pop was for Ryder, who as awesome as he is, is still a jobber.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Good Raw ruined by a crowd who were dead. *Sigh* The crowd for MITB has ruined a lot in recent weeks for me. :/

Anyway, I was thinking about the Punk mixed reaction, and it hit me...what has Punk really done to be a face? In the last two appearances, he obviously got cheered a fair bit, but I think kids have no real reason to cheer him at the moment; his character at the moment is one who beat John Cena and that will put kids firmly against him :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Painful to watch at times and that's mostly down to the crowd. Every time Punk paused and waited for a reaction but didn't get it, I cringed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Good Raw ruined by a crowd who were dead. *Sigh* The crowd for MITB has ruined a lot in recent weeks for me. :/

Anyway, I was thinking about the Punk mixed reaction, and it hit me...what has Punk really done to be a face? In the last two appearances, he obviously got cheered a fair bit, but I think kids have no real reason to cheer him at the moment; his character at the moment is one who beat John Cena and that will put kids firmly against him :/
    I think WWE thought it was a given that the older males in the crowd would cheer CM Punk, but that obviously wasn't the case last night.

Woeful ending last night. Really limp ending. The whole theme battle was a terrible idea.

Also, I no this will sound like I'm just being picky against him, but I HATED when HHH started going on that Punk has no voice outside of WWE; **** that! What about the 300,000 followers he has on Twitter? What about the appearances on TMZ and Comic Con? That line just annoyed me since it seemed to go against exactly what and why people were excited about the angle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

not a chance im buying summerslam anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,243 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Should Rey (rematch) and Del Rio (No. 1 contender plus MITB Raw winner) have also came out during the WWE title debacle?

I expected maybe a title rematch for Rey last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The opening segment was excellent I thought. Punk continues to impress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

Can't really blame the crowd really if the WWE are going to put such little thought and effort into this whole angle. What are they planning on doing, wheeling out Punk from now until SS just to have him and Cena can stand in the ring every week seeing who can lift their belt the highest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Anyway, I was thinking about the Punk mixed reaction, and it hit me...what has Punk really done to be a face?

Belittled vince in the middle of the ring.
    Cena gave him props for a great MITB match.
    Last night he said he came back for the fans. (paraphrased)
    It's not that he has done anything face like in the traditional term, but he is speaking and gesturing like a face.

I fell asleep last night just after the truth/Miz v rey/jomo tag match, seems like I dodged a bullet when I read the report of what happened after it all. I got to the end where it had the ending and I just can't believe that was how it ended.
    Where are they gonna bring the story for the next two weeks I wonder?

CMpunked wrote: »
    Where are they gonna bring the story for the next two weeks I wonder?

I hope not having Trips act like their daddy which is kinda what happened,I hope he brought them out for Cake & Ice Cream afterwards. Its odd that Punk is saying anything & everything thats controversial but the crowd are still a bit mixed about him. I can see Trips costing Punk the match at summerslam and then wwe going down the old i'm going to make your life a living hell route with them two until their practically sure thing match at Mania next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,243 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Beth should take Kharma's gimmick and take out all the divas

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Did they feed in some Cena cheers. One particular pop sounded fake but I wasn't sure.

Why was Mr. VP of talent relations out there (or whatever his title is)? Was it just to get fans on Cena's side? Cena saying he would punch him again or when laurinaitis said cena should be stripped of the title seemed to really get people on Cena's side.

I thought Punk was very good with his promo's again. Opening part of show was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,589 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

enjoyable enough Raw.

CM Punk knocked it out the park, as usual.

it was all let down by the horrendous logic in Cena having a 'legitimate' claim to the belt.

it's probably lending to the bigger picture of the corporate suits getting behind Cena all the time, and ignoring what the real wrestling fans want.

we'll see.

oh, and it was also let down by a generally terrible crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Beth should take Kharma's gimmick and take out all the divas

That could lead wonderfully to a mania match between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

The comment about Del Rio and Rey has got me thinking of a possible way this angle could go.

Next week Rey could mention it in passing to HHH, asking when will receive his shot since Cena got his so quick. When HHH starts saying his ideas to Rey, Del Rio bursts in complaining that his number one contender spot is still pending. HHH gets frustrated as both men argue and asks them both to leave.

Punk comes out and does a promo talking about how HHH thought he could just walk in and fix everything, but he is clearly cracking under pressure. The boys are angry and confussed backstage and HHH isn't thinking things through, just like the past regime. Hunter then comes out looking to change the SS main event to a four way match, but Punk says that's not happening. He and Cena have already sign the contracts for SS and they cannot be changed. He keeps getting under HHH skin pointing out his flaws and how things aren't different. Punk leaves the ring as HHH is fuming.

Come SS Punk is on course to win when HHH comes out to distract Punk. Hunter goes to attack Punk when he is outside the ring but The Kings of Wrestling suddenly jump the rails and lay HHH out. Punk laughs and gets back into the ring and beats Cena.

The next Raw Punk introduces KOW as two men passes over by the WWE who believe in the same form as entertainment as him; wrestling. HHH then gives Del Rio is title match at the next PPV but comes up short. HHH forces Del Rio to cash in his MITB but the damage is already done and Punk wins easy.

This keeps going until HHH feels he is the only one who can teach Punk lesson and boom, their match at Mania is set and the Kings of Wrestlig get a strong debut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

SlickRic wrote: »
    it's probably lending to the bigger picture of the corporate suits getting behind Cena all the time, and ignoring what the real wrestling fans want.

"The Man" v CM Punk and maybe some allies of his who too want change?

Could have potential, especially if they get in some old and new faces to side with Punk but as we all know the WWE will just fúck it up like they do everything else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

That'd be brilliant actually,

At least Cena wont be involved, HOPEFULLY anyway, im hoping him and Rock stick to each other and dont get invloved, UNLESS Cena is a pure heel.

UNLESS Cena is a pure heel.

Not very likely especially with Punk's tepid reactions recently,bad crowds or no bad crowds. People are reading a lot into nothing I think after SummerSlam it'll be more Punk vs HHH. I can't see them going into the Punk vs Shareholders champ Cena storyline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,589 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

i think it was BH who articulated it...that those in the Cena camp have absolutely no reason to side with Punk yet.

and in saying that, i just hope that WWE understands that. i hope there is enough logic left in the back, enough memories of how to book Pro Wrestling, that they don't pull back at all on this Punk push just because his reactions aren't overwhelming across the spectrum...even Stone Cold's initial turn to face was met with mixed reactions for a while.

i have a big worry for Punk though, post-Cena.

unless the company becomes built around the Punk angle, it will struggle in the long run.

we look back at the Attitude Era, and we think the company was built on Stone Cold, The Rock, The Undertaker, Foley, etc...and it was to an extent. but the reason they could remain sustained so successfully is because of the fact they incessantly had a McMahon stable to feed off.

Punk's character, as it is, will IMO struggle to continue to remain popular and build if and when he leaves the Cena feud. he needs HHH to form a Corporation type stable IMO, where the entire focus of the company is on Punk's 'War with Sports Entertainment'. there needs to be a stable that can feed him guys; guys we have a legitimate reason to hate, and that everyone can hate.

a corporate Cena would be fúcking awesome for this ideally. but i don't know if they're ready to sell the kiddie market down the river.

the only alternative, and a road i can see them going down unfortunately, is that Punk becomes someone who just tells the truth to people, whatever that means.

for instance, if he were to feud with the Miz down the line, to just take the píss out of his reality TV history, and how his idea of wrestling was that it was an artform people cherished...not just fell into because they were a big fan.

i think Punk could make it work, but i think it'd be missing out on a potential blockbuster of an angle that could actually rejuvenate the business long-term.

i have faith that Punk can continue to 'dodge bullets', and keep his character pretty much the way he wants it, but it's a tricky one.

i'd absolutely love to see a full-on Punk/HHH feud, with Cena as the head corporate stooge. i really think it's an idea that is in their laps waiting to be used.

as McMahon said about his heel turn as a result of the Montreal Screwjob, you can't change perception, and the perception is that HHH is a bully. he has married his way to the top. and Cena is the top corporate stooge because he smiles for the cameras, does what is asked of him, and tows the company line.

for the love of God WWE, just use this perception to your advantage, just like you did back in the day, and don't just pick the easy options.

this is not about bringing the Attitude Era back, but about bringing a bit of 'reality' into wrestling, suspending our belief again. we have to want to believe it's real, and there's no better way than playing on the perception that fans already will have.

do it WWE.

/mini-rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

The WWE title meant a lot more 10 years ago than it does now with its stupid 1 day reigns and multiple changes every few months, and nearly all the big PPV title matches were defended in some sort of gimmick match back then, be it a LMS match, S.G. Ref or Ladder match, and they were some of the most exciting matches the past decade... so... yeah, just typical PG WWE shíte. If it was Lesnar vs Angle again then id agree with you, but its not.

yeah it was great 10 years ago when there was NO short title reigns :rolleyes: its not like the wwe title didn't change hands 20 times between november 1998 and october 2000........ in that period it must have been my imagination that foley held the title for one day, kane held the title for one day, rock held the title for two days, vince held the title for 6 days

you don't need a gimmick match every ppv, gimmick matches are usually there to cover up weaknesses in talents, punk and cena fought out a superb one-on-one match just a few weeks ago, punks a top class worker and cenas alot better than given credit for, if you want to see gimmick matches and wrestlers hitting each other with chairs, bulbs and other other stuff go watch czw or something, vinces dad built his company on proper in-ring wrestling

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

i think it was BH who articulated it...that those in the Cena camp have absolutely no reason to side with Punk yet.

and in saying that, i just hope that WWE understands that. i hope there is enough logic left in the back, enough memories of how to book Pro Wrestling, that they don't pull back at all on this Punk push just because his reactions aren't overwhelming across the spectrum...even Stone Cold's initial turn to face was met with mixed reactions for a while.

i have a big worry for though Punk, post-Cena.

unless the company becomes built around the Punk angle, it will struggle in the long run.

we look back at the Attitude Era, and we think the company was built on Stone Cold, The Rock, The Undertaker, Foley, etc...and it was to an extent. but the reason they could remain sustained so successfully is because of the fact they incessantly had a McMahon stable to feed off.

Punk's character, as it is, will IMO struggle to continue to remain popular and build if and when he leaves the Cena feud. he needs HHH to form a Corporation type stable IMO, where the entire focus of the company is on Punk's 'War with Sports Entertainment'. there needs to be a stable that can feed him guys; guys we have a legitimate reason to hate, and that everyone can hate.

a corporate Cena would be fúcking awesome for this ideally. but i don't know if they're ready to sell the kiddie market down the river.

the only alternative, and a road i can see them going down unfortunately, is that he becomes someone who just tells the truth to people, whatever that means.

for instance, if he were to feud with the Miz down the line, to just take the píss out of his reality TV history, and how his idea of wrestling was that it was an artform people cherished...not just fell into because they were a big fan.

i think Punk could make it work, but i think it'd be missing out on a potential blockbuster of an angle that could actually rejuvenate the business long-term.

i have faith that Punk can continue to 'dodge bullets', and keep his character pretty much the way he wants it, but it's a tricky one.

i'd absolutely love to see a full-on Punk/HHH feud, with Cena as the head corporate stooge. i really think it's an idea that is in their laps waiting to be used.

as McMahon said about his heel turn as a result of the Montreal Screwjob, you can't change perception, and the perception is that HHH is a bully. he has married his way to the top. and Cena is the top corporate stooge because he smiles for the cameras, does what is asked of him, and tows the company line.

for the love of God WWE, just use this perception to your advantage, just like you did back in the day, and don't just pick the easy options.

this is not about bringing the Attitude Era back, but about bringing a bit of 'reality' into wrestling, suspending our belief again. we have to want to believe it's real, and there's no better way than playing on the perception that fans already will have.

do it WWE.

/mini-rant.

I honestly think the working plan might be something along these lines atm but of course it is changed every single day in some form or another. The thing is it will never, never happen as quickly as any of the fans think it will. and i include even the more rationale fans in that.

the WWE is money making machine and at the head of that machine is John Cena and his merch and they wont turn him nor will they be confident of someone like Punk being able to replace him as the no.1 face for quite some time. Even a crowd reaction like last nights could set plans back a bit.

With Cena imo they have been building to it for a long long time already. Be it his albeit forced joining with Nexus to the more heel like rage he has let out at times like against Batista or Barett when he buried him under all those chairs (iirc someone called him out on these acts at the time... may even have been Punk). The commentators, promo guys and even Cena himself point out and emphasise how he gets a mixed reaction, how many people dislike him intensly. Even Punk / Miz / Rock have been allowed point out how only women and kids seem to support him while men boo him. They have paired him with Rock in miami, a role which would see almost anyone be heel by default.... I could go on.

All this leads me to believe that the WWE dont mind and in some ways are activley encouraging people to turn on Cena. Afterall even pointing out how men dont like Cena will make some of the kids want to turn on him so as to seem older and therefore cool.

Therefore I think the WWE will continue to emphasise how divisive etc Cena is and then when they are confident Punk is on the level to displace him as top face booom! Corporate Cena, or something of that ilk.

and tbh who cares if he has to face Rock at mania, there is a whole lot of time till then and him being a full heel before that would be very helpfull and could even help further their feud as it would allow Rocky do things like scew him in a main event for the title against Punk without looking like a bad guy himself.

and sure look how long they have dragged out Orton vs Christian, they could easily do the same with the most interesting storyline in so long, and then yeah HHH vs Punk at mania would be huge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

as long as Cena is a superface, Punk won't be able to get over with the post-attitude fans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I didn't rate that Punk promo at all lads. And bringing in Johnny Ace was an awful move if they are going further and further away from shoot to kayfabe. It doesn't work at all when you bring up how "he isn't giving chances or pushes to people" when in kayfabeland we're led to believe the "best rise to the top" anyway. The two don't mix at all in this angle. Either stay shoot or kayfabe but don't half arse blur the lines between them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I wouldn't worry about Punk too much. Its really early days he has not done anything to become a face yet. He has won over the most difficult people to please and wwe would be mad not to be happy he could do it so easily.

I believe WWE wouldn't have to do too much to get everyone on his side.

I see Punk going against Miz and Truth as part of his face transition. This will probably lead to Del Rio cashing in mitb.

I could see HHH being on Del Rio's side with no cena involvement at all.

With Cena ready to go against Rock and Rock set to appear at survivor series I don't think there is room for Cena to be involved in whatever WWE have planned for Punk.

If they go down the road of Punk being held down by HHH I would be surprised if Punk didn't win the rumble and go to mania against Del Rio.

WWE already have a huge match for 28 so I can see Punk v HHH being the big feud at 29.

I didn't rate that Punk promo at all lads. And bringing in Johnny Ace was an awful move if they are going further and further away from shoot to kayfabe. It doesn't work at all when you bring up how "he isn't giving chances or pushes to people" when in kayfabeland we're led to believe the "best rise to the top" anyway. The two don't mix at all in this angle. Either stay shoot or kayfabe but don't half arse blur the lines between them.
    He may have been reprimanded for going OTT in the first promo of the night. He seemed a bit more reserved anyway for the remainder of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

All this leads me to believe that the WWE dont mind and in some ways are activley encouraging people to turn on Cena.

Throughout the whole Cena/Punk angle, they have protected Cena and pushed him as the ultimate good guy.

Look at the finish of the last ppv, Cena played the ultimate babyface of wanting to win fairly.

I can see a Punk/Triple H feud but Cena won't be prominent in it. He's not turning heel anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Jmac24128

Thought the crowd didnt help the show at all 2nite.... i thing it should be in Chicago every week!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Throughout the whole Cena/Punk angle, they have protected Cena and pushed him as the ultimate good guy.

Look at the finish of the last ppv, Cena played the ultimate babyface of wanting to win fairly.

I can see a Punk/Triple H feud but Cena won't be prominent in it. He's not turning heel anytime soon.

true but its a bit of a mixed message because he is portrayed one way but they also point out how half the crowd dislike him and allow certain people to say the things that you wouldnt usually say about someone you want everyone to love. Its really really slow but by the time he does turn (i dont expect it any time soon and that was one of my main points) people will have already been given multiple reason to be against him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

If not that, I do hope they are going somewhere with this. Bringing John Laurinaitis out would be odd if there were not some direction they were taking. I don't know really.

It's all gone a bit meh from me again. Punk was excellent as always, but the angle is limp for me at the minute. Why exactly would both have a claim? Either Punk was stripped of the title or he wasn't. Leaving out logic like that is a bit pointless really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

cena is the most hypocrtical charachter ever. what a dud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

well that ending was just weird. :confused: for the love of god your not supposed to be joking around and laughing with your opponent. would have preferred a stare down.

btw, love triple h as boss:D:D:D

btw who on earth did evan bourne piss off?? thought he was going places. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I thought it was a rather poor Raw. Too much yapping and not enough grappling. It felt to me like they dragged out a 2 hour show to explain a PPV main event that most fans knew was going to happen anyway.

Also poor Justin Gabriel losing his theme tune to the old new Nexus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

Probably a long shot, but would be cool if Mick Foley, Jericho and Brock Lesnar all joined Punk celebrating at summerslam and formed a major faction to take down HHH and the Mc<ahons along with Cena to end the "Status Quo" in WWE :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Probably a long shot, but would be cool if Mick Foley, Jericho and Brock Lesnar all joined Punk celebrating at summerslam and formed a major faction to take down HHH and the Mc<ahons along with Cena to end the "Status Quo" in WWE :D

All of those guys were the status quo at one point, so why would they form the stable?

Makes more sense to have those on the verge of the main event - Kingston, Sheamus, Truth, Rhodes, etc. to be part of the stable.

You know who should be brought back? Carlito.

Anyone remember his awesome promo where he destroyed Cena's character, which lead to Sheamus getting a title match <_<

All of those guys were the status quo at one point, so why would they form the stable?

Makes more sense to have those on the verge of the main event - Kingston, Sheamus, Truth, Rhodes, etc. to be part of the stable.

Fair point! He could use his "Voice of the voiceless" to rally the troops in the back that arent being utilised the way they should. If Punk could pull off a feud with Jericho after the whole Cena thing, it could lead nicely to him facing HHH at Mania next year possibly.

But saying that there could possibly be a team Punk vs Team HHH at Survivor Series as well.

Fair point! He could use his "Voice of the voiceless" to rally the troops in the back that arent being utilised the way they should. If Punk could pull off a feud with Jericho after the whole Cena thing, it could lead nicely to him facing HHH at Mania next year possibly.

But saying that there could possibly be a team Punk vs Team HHH at Survivor Series as well.

I'm thinking it is a generational thing - Punk is from the generation of wrestlers that were held back for too long until recently. Foley and Jericho are certainly too old, but maybe they could play a devil's advocate role in the storyline.

Punk has to be leader of the faction IMO.

Well he already is a proven leader with SES and Nexus. But maybe giving him another stable could be overkill????

He pretty much looks like Charles Manson, so I think he is Ok leading any stable, lol! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭johnnycnandy

I really enjoyed Raw this week. The opening segment was terrific. Both guys on form. Skipped the Diva crap. Liked the segment between Truth and Miz. Truth is really growing on me. He's striking a good balance between crazy and funny. Tag match was good. The Dolph/A-Ry segment was better than it had any right to be. I groaned when Riley came out but he actually cut a pretty good promo. End segment was good for what it was. And one of the big pluses of the show for me: Almost no Kofi!