Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick v Cork: Munster u-21 Hurling Final

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Best game I've seen for a while in any sport.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

was that not his first score? thought he has been fairly poor tonight although he didnt get much ball.

what a point by Hannon although Brosnan was brutal a minute ago when he should have scored

I meant another brilliant score in the context of the game as a whole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Amazing game. Congrats to Limerick for pulling off a famous win. 2 sides really gave it all, fantastic nights entertainment.

Must be slightly sick on the poor Limerick guy off here who missed the match cause he was up all night :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Amazing game from both teams.

Aidan Walsh equalizer was Ciarán Careyesque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Hannon could be one of our greatest forwards over the next few years. One of the best players I've seen in a Limerick shirt. His last point to win it was super.

Well done to all involved. That was a match that most Limerick teams would have lost. Best game I've seen this year.

Sickened I missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

What a great night for hurling. What a great game of hurling! Full credit to both teams! A special night for Limerick but Cork played a massive game and can be considered unlucky not to have won that game.

My heart could not take much more. Luimneach abú!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well done Limerick hope ye go on and win it now...

Cant fault the Cork lads gave it their all just finished shy of any other night they would have won.

That is why Hurling is what it is you dont get that in any football match.

Fantastic stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

Well done Limerick, listening online in Vancouver and I have no nails left!
    What a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

One of the all time great games...congrats to Limerick, to win it without Downes in the game at all was a massive achievement.

Aidan Walsh is an animal of a man, that's the first time I've seen him hurl and to score 8 points from play and ship a mountain of punishment under puckouts after playing on Sunday...as Michael O'Domhnaill just said, he's a credit to his jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Heartbroken after all of that. Congrats Limerick good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

who are the selector/where are they from - they were just mentioned there and I missed the names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 That Usual Fellow

Cork really didn't deserve to lose but full congrats to limerick, never gave up, Hannon and Downes have a great career to look forward to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

who are the selector/where are they from - they were just mentioned there and I missed the names

Pat Davern- Ballybrown
    John Kiely- Galbally

Don't know the other one.

Nights like this is why we love the game so much. Fantastic stuff altogether. Cork played a thriller with Tipp at this level in the semi last year and now are out this year due to the narrowest of losses despite a humdinger performance which is rough on them. Both teams will challenge for all ireland's in the future im sure. the Limerick goalkeeper was immense with the saves he made. Aidan Walsh gave an individual masterclass of the Henry Shefflin school. Mulcahy was immense and cork had one or 2 other forwards who were class but Hannon for me was the real matchwinner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Unbelievable stuff, Unbelievable stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Sorry for being (a little) off topic. This game is yet another example of how Galway are the architects of their own misfortune by not entering minor and u-21 (heck every grade) into Leinster. The lessons that both Cork and Limerick will take from this game and any other Munster games will stand to them for years to come. Galway meanwhile breeze into the AI semi finals at minor and senior level and because they win a disproportiately high amount of AI's everyone thinks the future is rosy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I'm so full of emotion right now.. One of the best matches I've ever went to! So proud of all the lads. Dowling was immense and particularly in the first half, he caught nearly every single high ball hit his way. I can't believe it.. :D:D CMON LIMERICK! Yesss.. And Walsh was great for cork, just a powerhouse.. What a great match.. :D Galway next, aye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Just reading the posts and people from counties like Tipp, Clare and Dublin giving a applause to both sides.. Also glad us Cork fans are wishing Limerick all the best..

Its just nice to see for a change no bitterness in posts and just everyone admiring a great game..

Maybe its just me but hurling fans just seem to be able to appreciate a good game, no bitterness, none of this come back win won such and such all irelands and everyone able to get along and wish teams the best..

Its nice to see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Have to agree with all this was a cracking game of hurling. Games like this prove that hurling is still the greatest game aound.

lets hope walsh plays senior hurluing next year hes a better hurler than a footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

Gutted. But it was an absolutely fantastic game of hurling. Well done to every player on the pitch. Congratulations Limerick. Great for hurling. Well done also to TG4 for showing it.

Cork really need to score more goals (at all levels - except SHC v Laois :) ). Big big games are invariably won by scoring 3 or 4 goals and if you don't reach that, then you're going to struggle.

Just reading the posts and people from counties like Tipp, Clare and Dublin giving a applause to both sides.. Also glad us Cork fans are wishing Limerick all the best..

Its just nice to see for a change no bitterness in posts and just everyone admiring a great game..

Maybe its just me but hurling fans just seem to be able to appreciate a good game, no bitterness, none of this come back win won such and such all irelands and everyone able to get along and wish teams the best..

Its nice to see...

I agree, it's great to see this. The game itself was played in a brilliant spirit, both teams gave it everything and it resulted in a wonderful game.

Both sides have some fantastic young hurlers and have a lot of hope for the future.

I am absolutely over the moon with the result. It's great for Limerick hurling and even better when you see your own teammates and former teammates winning after all the effort they put in. Cork were extremely unlucky because they were maybe the better team for a good proportion of the game.

But 3 of Limerick's starting forwards on the senior team were on the under 21 (probably the 3 best ones). Another (Seanie Tobin) was overrage by a month. And Shane Dowling was arguably the best forward for Limerick today and he's also only 18. We haven't had such a good group of young players coming through in a while.

And the best thing of all is that even when the game looked to be slipping away you had confidence in this team getting the scores to at least level it, when we'd be used to doubting our teams. A great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I'm so happy! That's all I can say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 charade

congratulation limerick, cracking game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

To call that a thriller doesnt do it justice! The scoreline says it all, unreal game. Well played TG4 too, excellent coverage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭big toenails

Dowling is some hurler. Well done Limerick. I know the Cork heads will be down for a while but ye have an unreal team there. Only a tap of a ball between them.Great result I'm absolutely thrilled for those lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Cork's half forward line was awesome for most of tonight's game. Brosnan, Lehane and especially Walsh were all well capable of fielding ball and scoring good points. Aidan Walsh in particular is a monster of a player. Whoever is the next senior boss must make him committing full time to the hurlers a priority. Their midfield was excellent too, that Roche is a great little player. Egan at centre back managed to subdue Declan Hannon for long spells. Mind you i dont think no 11 is Hannon's favourite position. Was it O Farrell who got their goal? It was fantastically taken, he was practically on his knees when he caught it, beautiful finish.

The key to Limerick's victory was twofold. Firstly, we got 4 goals. Secondly, at any stage that Cork went 2-3 points up, they were unable to add a goal and kill off Limerick. It wasn't for the want of trying, Aaron Murphy made 2 outstanding saves, the second a diving effort to stop a rasper shot. Couple of other goal chances for Cork were snuffed out by good work from Begley and Dempsey in our full back line. Dempsey was brilliant all night, he didn't give much to O Farrell all night. Another Na Piarsaigh guy - how many great players have they got on the conveyor belt? - Downes, O'Brien (brilliant introduced at half back tonight, composure personified) and Dowling (man of the match, the guy is a supremely talented hurler). Special mention also to Declan Hannon and Conor Allis. The former got some beautiful scores and the crucial fourth goal, and the latter showed himself to be a class act, particularly in the second half. Set up two goals and scored a couple of tasty points. Downes was quiet but that's down to Cork's full back doing a great job on him. Mind you, he did score the last point, which ensured Cork would need a goal to win.

Tonight just shows that u-21 rarely lets you down if you're looking for entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Absolutely outstanding game. the best i've seen in any code for many a year. both teams are a credit to the game and to sport in general. fantastic scores,incredibe atlethicism,hard hits,was there even a yellow card? dont think so.
    thought Conor Allis was immense for Limerick,never tired from first minute to final whistle of extra time.
    to everyone involved on both panels and backroom teams,THANKS for a memorable night.
    Shame there had to be a loser.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 405 ✭✭Econoline Van

Best game of anything I've seen in years. Just unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Shark7

Shows the fruition of a lot of work being done in Ard Scoil Ris. I seen Dempsey Hannon Downes Dowling Carmody hurling Harty Cup 2 years ago. Think Hannon and Dowling played this year aswell. Future for hurling in general is good. Great to see no Tipp or Kilkenny team in semis at minor or u 21.

Ah FFS.... when the TG4 video ended after normal time I assumed it went to a reply(just has two parts).

Was wondering why everyone was saying well done to Limerick for a few posts.

Enjoyed the normal time, but seems I missed more good action in ET.... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I thought that the Clarinbridge vs De La Sal semi-final from Feburary was the best game of the year, but this one beats it hands down imo.

Great intenstity/commitment shown by both sets of players during the game. I thought that Cork looked the physically fiiter team than Limerick (that must have been a concern to Limerick as they had narrowed the field by a few yards prior to throw-in). Its credit to Limerick that they won without their 2 stand out men playing that well (i.e. Downes and Hannon) and if they keep the heads should be considered joint favourites with the dubs to take the title. Begley at full-back was immense and its no surprise that Cork's only goal came when he was off the field getting cleaned up for a blood injury. Also the sub that Limerick brought on (think his name was O'brien, a big guy who played in the 1/2 back line) was excellent and its a wonder he wasn't started.

Is Aidan Walsh U-21 next year? If he isn't I think that the Senior hulring management should try everything to get him to play for them (as well as for the footballers - Cadogan is doing it at the moment). Walsh was almost single-handidly beating Limerick on his own and I thought that it took Limerick management long enough to take action to curtail his influence on the game.

Must also say that the referee played a blinder tonight - afaik he didn't give out one single yellow card and allowed a lot of hard and fair physical hurling. We are too quick to criticize refs when the fúck up, but tonight the ref helped the game by letting it flow.

Finally, as a Galway man I think that we will have it all on against Limerick as the level of commitment they showed tonight, plus their ability in the air (number 12 was fielding nearly everything that came his way) will cause us problems. Also the fact that it will be our first game will count against us. I'd have made the same remarks if it was Cork who won tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

Shark7 wrote: »
    Shows the fruition of a lot of work being done in Ard Scoil Ris. I seen Dempsey Hannon Downes Dowling Carmody hurling Harty Cup 2 years ago. Think Hannon and Dowling played this year aswell. Future for hurling in general is good. Great to see no Tipp or Kilkenny team in semis at minor or u 21.

Dempsey, Downling, Downes, O'Brien - these lads are playing with and against each other since they were 5yrs old starting in Na Piarsaigh, all moved to primary school together where they won every competition in school age in both hurling and football and then on to Ard Scoil and won Rice Cup, Dean Ryan and Harty Cups. Dowling won the Feile skills competition few yrs ago as well. For these lads, credit also has to go to a combined total of Na Pairsaigh, teachers in Caherdavin and Ard Scoil. Add that to the 6yrs of playing together in Ard Scoil with alot of the rest of the U21 team, and the future has to be bright for yrs to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

Best game of hurling I've seen in a while. Some big men showed what they are made of last night, and I think the future is bright for both teams. Some of the young Cork lads from the senior team seemed to have a new lease of life in them - and Aidan Walsh.. what a revelation ( to me at least ). Will he transition to the senior hurling team? I hope so anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Naomh

As a Cork man gutted but well done to Limerick, fantastic game of hurling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

For Cork, its been an awful year for us. Dumped out of the Senior Hurling by Galway. Dumped out of the Football by Mayo. So why am I absolutely thrilled by last nights game - because its gives me hope and belief that the future of Cork hurling may come back sooner than most expect.

Well done Limerick though. Fantastic performance.

I suspect there could be some great games between us in the years ahead in Pairc Ui Chaoimh and the Gaelic Grounds in Hurling and in Football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Well done to both teams for a thriller. What a game of hurling. End to end stuff at full throttle for 80 minutes.

Also credit to the ref for letting the big hits fly and not being whistle happy. He certainly contributed to the spectacle that it was.

From a Cork point of view, Aidan Walsh must be the most talented gaa player in the county at this moment in time. His contribution last night was outstanding and his ability as a footballer has been proven. Denis Walsh will certainly be making an approach there.

Best of luck to Limerick in the rest of the championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Missed it last night. Trying to watch it back on TG4. Anyone know how I can improve the quality of the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

When was the last time there was 10 pages on an U-21 match! That just shows how good it was, a cracking match. Let's hope the Cork footballers playing last night will stick to the hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Missed it last night. Trying to watch it back on TG4. Anyone know how I can improve the quality of the video?

Tallowmanirish is your man:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jajdgEFb2P8&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

lukin wrote: »

Didn't even look on the 'tube. Thanks

Any Limerick fans are anyone who likes passionate commentaries, listen to the last 10 minutes of extra time on 95fm.

http://www.live95fm.ie/boxtube/default.aspx?type=podcast

It's epic stuff, really intense. Great emotion and passion.