Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael D Higgins, a bit to much to the left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭figarofigaro

CommuterIE wrote: »
    How has he got a backbone lol, to plunge this country into a further decade of depression?? I don't think he meant to do that but he contributed to it, and this guys has the gall to speak out for equality and human rights and marxist theory?

Are you mental? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

This thread contains the biggest amount of OVERBLOWN bullsh1t i have ever read in my boards.ie history.

Did someone suggest that Michael D. "will break the country"?
    The
    small human rights dude from Westside, Galway? :confused:

If you read this thread with the idea that the subject is Castro. . . it actually makes sense and seems accurate. :pac:

Bullsh1t merchants the lot of ye.

Throughout history small men have proven to be the greatest dictators that ever existed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Are you mental? :confused:

Apparently so. He thinks that the US won WW2. He's clearly a little out of sorts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Left, right, thread is full of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

OH NO THE LEFTIES DONE GONNA GOOF THE COUNTRY UP!!!!

Stop ****ing watching fox news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Why don't the extreme right wing hacks resurrect Thatcher and elect her as President if it bothers them so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Has he ever worked a job that wasn't in the public sector?

He seems like a nice guy but I don't think he has a view of the bigger picture. He won't get my vote

Voltwad wrote: »
    Why don't the extreme right wing hacks resurrect Thatcher and elect her as President if it bothers them so much

Define an "extreme right wing hack"?

Those who would consider Michael D 'too left wing'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Thatcher was not extreme right, she was a true centre right politician. The problem with the whole political compass here in Ireland is that we have no true centre right party. Fianna Fail have to be the most left wing centre right party in history. I think they describe themselves as centrists now a days :rolleyes: and Fianna Gael have their hands tied with labour so they cant really prove themselves.

BTW i would kill to have Thatcher as Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

By the sound of some of the extremists on this thread, M. D may be in line for a an assassination attempt. Honestly some of the invective coming from people in this thread against him beggars belief. You would swear this guy has been the most polarizing controversial political figure in Irish history the way some are going on. It's pathetic, especially as no one but the small cabal of extremists believe one word that come out of their mouths. All they do is clog up and irritate, like a swarm of biting midges. Pathetically small things that do no good and only irritate.

I wonder how long before a "Is M.D. Toast?" thread gets started about his inability to help an old women cross the road.

Also we are electing a head of state not a spruced up door to door jobs salesman. Where is your fúcking pride?

Thatcher was not extreme right, she was a true centre right politician. The problem with the whole political compass here in Ireland is that we have no true centre right party. Fianna Fail have to be the most left wing centre right party in history. I think they describe themselves as centrists now a days :rolleyes: and Fianna Gael have their hands tied with labour so they cant really prove themselves.

Yeah. She'd know how to tackle Jack O'Connor and those herp derp Unions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

A bit too much too the left?

Considering what the right ie FF and FG have done to the country, its a bit pathetic to get on a high horse about the left.

I believe this parish pumpers are sadists and will vote FF back into government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Considering what the right ie FF and FG have done to the country, its a bit pathetic to get on a high horse about the left.

I believe this parish pumpers are sadists and will vote FF back into government.

For the umpteenth time, bailing out the banks, giving civil servants obscene wages and a money for all welfare system is LEFT WING

FF were socially conservative right wingers for the most part, but in relation to economics they were all over the place - a bit like Nazi Germany. For the most part, it would be wrong to brush all the right wing into one corner. For instance, it would be wrong to see FG or FG as libertarian right wingers, judging by their respective economic policies both now and in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

i agree with everything you said except the last part , if there was a male , anti war equivalent of thatcher id love to have them as taoiseach

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

For the umpteenth time, bailing out the banks, giving civil servants obscene wages and a money for all welfare system is LEFT WING

No it certainly isnt, its idiocy from centre right parties like FF and FG the corrupt capitalists who have us in this black hole.

LEFT WING

Is defaulting and its what is needed right now. You can keep Berties cheesy knob hidden away for another day, suck! suck!

Richard Hillman would kill to have Thatcher as taoiseach.
    Says it all about your morals you evil little man....:rolleyes:

I presume you are a troll, nobody could be that misinformed.

I'd kill Thatcher to prevent her becoming Taoiseach

No it certainly isnt, its idiocy from centre right parties like FF and FG the corrupt capitalists who have us in this black hole.

LEFT WING

Is defaulting and its what is needed right now. You can keep Berties cheesy knob hidden away for another day, suck! suck!

Oh dear dear dear deary me. Someone here thinks Keynesian economics is not left wing. :rolleyes:

Defaulting doesn't necessarily have to be right or left wing.

lol the right wing extremists on here, want to kill to have thatcher as taoiseach.

these sickos are hiding in the shades to strick and bring McDowell as taoiseach and nick griffin as deputy.

richard hillman, you'll get your comuppance for doing maxine peacock....:rolleyes:

lol the right wing extremists on here, want to kill to have thatcher as taoiseach.

these sickos are hiding in the shades to strick and bring McDowell as taoiseach and nick griffin as deputy.

richard hillman, you'll get your comuppance for doing maxine peacock....:rolleyes:

You know that just because someone is economically right wing doesn't mean that they can't be socially progressive, don't you?

You know that just because someone is economically right wing doesn't mean that you can't be socially progressive, don't you?
    lol you know alot and you know **** all

Lovely rebuttal there...
    ... care to back it up with some substance?

Lovely rebuttal there...
    ... care to back it up with some substance?

nah shove it up your arse mcdowell

The PDs were initially meant to be economically right and socially left I think, that kind of fell by the wayside in the end.

That's because they joined FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

One down, next for the chop.

RichieC wrote: »
    One down, next for the chop.

Who down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Richard Hillman would kill to have Thatcher as taoiseach.
    Says it all about your morals you evil little man....:rolleyes:

I presume you are a troll, nobody could be that misinformed.

nah shove it up your arse mcdowell

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

What is it about Irish Presidential elections that bring out all of the lefties?

Wasn't aware that Sean Gallagher, Gay Mitchell, or Dana were lefties!
    It's also the same Michael D who was up in arms about Americas involvement in South America with his outrageously rabid commentary on the whole thing, basically America was propping up dictators to try and prevent leftist and religious nuts toppling them...

Neither was I aware that condemning human rights abuses, or criticising the undermining of democratically elected governments, was unique to the Left. I don't consider myself particularly left wing, but is such actions are the litmus test, then I'd be proud to call myself a Leftie! I mean, how could any decent person, left or right, possibly agree that human rights abuses, and the toppling of democratic regimes are legitimate policies?
    It is concerning that this guy, as geriatric as he is now, but even so this country is dependent on American investment, they'll see him as President of Ireland spouting leftist gibberish. Even though it is mostly a ceremonial role, Americans in general may see him as some kind of leader and put them off with his rethoric.

Oh grow up, and read something about the real world, rather than indulging your own ignorance in order to make a baseless ideological argument. American corporations don't give a hoot about Michael D, as long as their taxes are kept low, and their businesses here profitable. The American government has friendly relations with many nations who have criticised them over the years. Were the Us to turn its back on nations who didn't toe the party line, she'd practically friendless in the world. To suggest that a mature relationship between two democracies should preclude criticism is as absurd as you can get.

What a load of crap

Left = Lets all be friends, pay each other the same and be happy :) (doomed to failure)

Right = Get of your ****ing arse, innovate and promote competition to better our society... yes some will make millions or billions out of it, but so what? They've worked for it!

I think your initial statement accurately describes the rest of your post. A left wing economic position does not at all preclude a market economy, or a capitalist system. The former president of the IMF was a French socialist, and favourite to win his party's presidential nomination. Most of the post-war governments in Europe have been left-wing in comparison to the US parties, and most predicated their economic plans on the market and the capitalist system. Your notions on what constitutes the left and the right are as facile as they are preposterous.
    I supported Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese for the presidency, I am right wing but not foolish enough to vote for extremes like Michael D who will only damage the country even further with his mouth... however a little bit of the left is fine with me, brings some balance as I support other view points... but Michael D, no f***in way

What on earth has Michael D said that has you so opposed to him? Criticised human rights violations in South America? What a monster!
    He is a person who'ld voice his dangerous anti-american rhetoric alright!

Some examples please?

Also, is American policy somehow immune from criticism?
    least from a so far left winger, he is a marxist, and in this democratic Republic, to have him in that office is an offence to me and most of the country

Are you Sarah Palin in disguise? How on earth is Higgins a Marxist? What policies does he advocate that are Marxist? Why is he not a mamber of the ULA, instead of the Labour Party, which is definitely not a Marxist organisation? Do you even know what a Marxist is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Bailing out the banks was a lot to do with maintaining the current 'capitalist' status quo. It wasn't so much about saving countries or citizens as it was about propping up a system which was on the egde of the abyss and the stake holders of that system.
    Oh dear dear dear deary me.

I LOL'd.
    Someone here thinks Keynesian economics is not left wing.

Again, I think it's a perspective thing. Keynesian economics could be viewed as a method of stabilising and perpetuating the 'capitalist' system.

Hijack over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Jesus guys, have we not learned our lesson from the last time? We were warned not to elect Mary McAleese because she wasn't vocal enough in her condemnation of Irish Republicans but did we listen? Noooo, and now just look how this background affected her disasterous terms in office and completely shattered our relationship with Britain. British businesses went running in sheer terror from our shores as soon as she got elected (reminiscent of the American evacuation of Seoul) and our diplomatic ties with our neighbours have never been more strained.

Can we really risk similar happening with the US under Michael D?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Having a grand auld chuckle reading the nonsensical hyberbole from the right-wing posters here.

Einhard.....yet again a voice of reason. Thank God you're here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Having a grand auld chuckle reading the nonsensical hyberbole from the right-wing posters here.

Einhard.....yet again a voice of reason. Thank God you're here.

As far as I am concerned,Higgins should retire to the dusty halls of academia,where this pompous windbag might be amongst his peers,endlessly debating 'very important' issues over and over again and actually doing nothing.

Heard a recent radio interview with him saying he was just back from Colombia if I recollect correctly, who the hell paid for that???

When half of Galway was under water some years ago not a peep out of Higgins, that I heard.

Probably away on some 'fact-finding 'junket to cover the Xmas.

Not Presidential calibre , in my opinion, way too flaky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

In fairness Flutter, the areas flooded were in East Galway, while the bould Michael represented Whest Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Throughout history small men have proven to be the greatest dictators that ever existed.

You know Napoleon wasn't small, right? He was considered average height for his time (5"7). But then the average man complex, where people of average height have a tendency to dictatorship, probably wouldn't be quite as catchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭macgrub

Honestly, do people realise the position these candidates are going for? A few years ago, many laughed when the position of a President and it's powers were brought up. Now, because Michael D. is going for it, some people are afraid we will turn into a Socialist State overnight.
    FDI companies are here simply because of the generous tax system. With that, they can churn more butter. If anyone thinks they will leave because if a left-leaning politician, then naivety is the issue.
    Anyway, at least we know this much about Michael D. Higgins. What do we really know about Sean Gallagher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

As far as I am concerned,Higgins should retire to the dusty halls of academia,where this pompous windbag might be amongst his peers,endlessly debating 'very important' issues over ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Might as well be crapping on about his bowel movements, eh?

Sergeant wrote: »
    In fairness Flutter, the areas flooded were in East Galway, while the bould Michael represented Whest Galway.

You have a point there,however that is politically speaking, geographically speaking the area which suffered apart from Ballinasloe area was the Gort area.

Now seeing as 'the lovable elf' puts his oar into issues many thousands of air miles away from the West Galway, I would have expected a greater interest in the plight of his own county people?.

That's what I am told anyway.

I suppose what was needed there was practical and tangible solutions, not hot air,bombast,and rhetoric which is probably why he took such an apparent low profile.

No air miles or exes down the N18 I suppose:(

You have a point there,however that is politically speaking, geographically speaking the area which suffered apart from Ballinasloe area was the Gort area.

Now seeing as 'the lovable elf' puts his oar into issues many thousands of air miles away from the West Galway, I would have expected a greater interest in the plight of his own county people?.

That's what I am told anyway.

I suppose what was needed there was practical and tangible solutions, not hot air,bombast,and rhetoric which is probably why he took such an apparent low profile.

No air miles or exes down the N18 I suppose:(

Geographically speaking, Laois/Offaly isn't a million miles away either.
    What did Cowen do when they visited it? Nothing. And, it was THEIR fault most of that happened, not Michael D.
    Honestly, what was Michael D. Higgins supposed to do when the people of East Galway were up to the hoop in water? His type of 'rhetoric' and 'hot-air' talking dates back over thirty years ; appealing for greater planning, halting developers slapping up houses on flood plains, drainage basins and wherever they wanted. The only place he (kind of) got his way in this respect was in Connemara (probably because developers didn't see such big demand to slap up houses/anything where they wanted). And yeah, he was laughed at back then like many still do now.
    So, when Michael D. objected to developers and many other rich people doing what they wanted, he stood in the way of progress. When, the damage is done, he does nothing, and he's wrong again.
    But I suppose that's too left still?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Einhard wrote: »
    What is it about Irish Presidential elections that bring out all of the lefties?

Wasn't aware that Sean Gallagher, Gay Mitchell, or Dana were lefties!
    It's also the same Michael D who was up in arms about Americas involvement in South America with his outrageously rabid commentary on the whole thing, basically America was propping up dictators to try and prevent leftist and religious nuts toppling them...

Neither was I aware that condemning human rights abuses, or criticising the undermining of democratically elected governments, was unique to the Left. I don't consider myself particularly left wing, but is such actions are the litmus test, then I'd be proud to call myself a Leftie! I mean, how could any decent person, left or right, possibly agree that human rights abuses, and the toppling of democratic regimes are legitimate policies?
    It is concerning that this guy, as geriatric as he is now, but even so this country is dependent on American investment, they'll see him as President of Ireland spouting leftist gibberish. Even though it is mostly a ceremonial role, Americans in general may see him as some kind of leader and put them off with his rethoric.

Oh grow up, and read something about the real world, rather than indulging your own ignorance in order to make a baseless ideological argument. American corporations don't give a hoot about Michael D, as long as their taxes are kept low, and their businesses here profitable. The American government has friendly relations with many nations who have criticised them over the years. Were the Us to turn its back on nations who didn't toe the party line, she'd practically friendless in the world. To suggest that a mature relationship between two democracies should preclude criticism is as absurd as you can get.

What a load of crap

Left = Lets all be friends, pay each other the same and be happy :) (doomed to failure)

Right = Get of your ****ing arse, innovate and promote competition to better our society... yes some will make millions or billions out of it, but so what? They've worked for it!

I think your initial statement accurately describes the rest of your post. A left wing economic position does not at all preclude a market economy, or a capitalist system. The former president of the IMF was a French socialist, and favourite to win his party's presidential nomination. Most of the post-war governments in Europe have been left-wing in comparison to the US parties, and most predicated their economic plans on the market and the capitalist system. Your notions on what constitutes the left and the right are as facile as they are preposterous.
    I supported Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese for the presidency, I am right wing but not foolish enough to vote for extremes like Michael D who will only damage the country even further with his mouth... however a little bit of the left is fine with me, brings some balance as I support other view points... but Michael D, no f***in way

What on earth has Michael D said that has you so opposed to him? Criticised human rights violations in South America? What a monster!
    He is a person who'ld voice his dangerous anti-american rhetoric alright!

Some examples please?

Also, is American policy somehow immune from criticism?
    least from a so far left winger, he is a marxist, and in this democratic Republic, to have him in that office is an offence to me and most of the country

Are you Sarah Palin in disguise? How on earth is Higgins a Marxist? What policies does he advocate that are Marxist? Why is he not a mamber of the ULA, instead of the Labour Party, which is definitely not a Marxist organisation? Do you even know what a Marxist is?

He is a Marxist. He uses terms like praxis and cash nexus and other boilerplate Marxist terms in his writing.

Here's another test : he was very critical about right wing dictatorships in central America in the 80's. There were dictatorships in Europe at the time. I don't recall these Marxist dictatorships being criticized( he wrote for Hot Press). I do remember attacks on Sweden and Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Am I the only one who would prefer to get away from electing University Professors or Human Rights Campaigners, or law grads that go for Human rights campaigns and lobbying groups into positions of power, a lot of these people pursue such ventures as a means of entering politics, while it looks admirable on paper, it gives them no real world view. How can somebody who has never worked a proper grind it out type of job relate to the majority of the nation. Boo I say, Boo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Why does it have to be a human? How about a donkey?

Donkeys are fierce friendly types and have very middle the road political views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Yahew wrote: »

Here's another test : he was very critical about right wing dictatorships in central America in the 80's. There were dictatorships in Europe at the time. I don't recall these Marxist dictatorships being criticized( he wrote for Hot Press). I do remember attacks on Sweden and Japan.

He also appeared in the Town Hall in Galway a number of years back with the daughter of Che Guevara. The introduction was a fawning piece about the bravery of Che Guevara, his bravery in overthrowing the shackles of global imperialism, his intellectual prowess as a writer and strategist, and the continuing failures of capitalism and how Guevara could still have a vital role to play if he was still alive.

He managed to gloss over the bloodlust, the questionable morality of some of Guevara's later campaigns, and the gross human rights abuses that continue in Cuba to this day.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Am I the only one who would prefer to get away from electing University Professors or Human Rights Campaigners, or law grads that go for Human rights campaigns and lobbying groups into positions of power, a lot of these people pursue such ventures as a means of entering politics, while it looks admirable on paper, it gives them no real world view. How can somebody who has never worked a proper grind it out type of job relate to the majority of the nation. Boo I say, Boo!

Mary Robinson was a barrister before becoming President. Do you think that's not enough of real world grind experience? Instead of having a well-spoken, intelligent and modern President who could confidently communicate with any world leader and earn respect for themselves and Ireland, we should have a President who has their 'wits' about them because they slogged it somewhere.
    I thought that type of view in the western world left with G.W. Bush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭monara

No Michael D will be rightly left behind. Personally, I,d like to see Gay Byrne throw his hat in the ring.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH....

See any-time I look at your posts, all I see is;

BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Look !...all I can say is we need a decent, grounded caring and above all listening person to serve as President.

Not a puffed up strutting windbag like Michael D.

Nothing personal against the man..but he is way passed the sell by date.

The only voice he appears to listen to is his own..particularly when spouting anti American rhetoric.

Your day is gone Mick......put the feet up and smell the Roses !

macgrub wrote: »
    Geographically speaking, Laois/Offaly isn't a million miles away either.
    What did Cowen do when they visited it? Nothing. And, it was THEIR fault most of that happened, not Michael D.
    Honestly, what was Michael D. Higgins supposed to do when the people of East Galway were up to the hoop in water? His type of 'rhetoric' and 'hot-air' talking dates back over thirty years ; appealing for greater planning, halting developers slapping up houses on flood plains, drainage basins and wherever they wanted. The only place he (kind of) got his way in this respect was in Connemara (probably because developers didn't see such big demand to slap up houses/anything where they wanted). And yeah, he was laughed at back then like many still do now.
    So, when Michael D. objected to developers and many other rich people doing what they wanted, he stood in the way of progress. When, the damage is done, he does nothing, and he's wrong again.
    But I suppose that's too left still?

I would have thought he put more energy into anti US diatribe to be honest.

Cannot remember the lad getting too worked up about local issues,bar setting up TG4 which sinecured a few jobs for a good few in Connemara and is watched by erm ..hundreds at John Q taxpayers expense.

They do good progs. sometimes in fairness, no complaints about that.