Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Minor and U-21 hurling 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Dublin should win the Minor and U-21 out. Really need to get Galway and Antrim into both grades underage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Bollox and i will tell you for why.
    The Clare subs went back to the dug out before either team left the pitch after full time. So they obviously knew before they went into the dressing room that extra time was to be played.
    The referee usually leaves the pitch straight away after most matches, but him and the linesmen and umpires congregated in the middle of the pitch. SO they must of known something.
    Both County Boards were informed during the week that ET would be played, and you can be sure that the the secretary (or a county board representative) was on the sideline with the mentors and would of passed on the information to the team management.
    The only people that mattered that didn't know about ET were the players, but why would any manager tell his players before a match that there will be extra time if needed, it just doesn't happen.

Dunno about that. Why would they shake hands if they knew et would be played? Was watching Tony Kelly, who was gutted he hit the post with the last gap free. He went and shook his ooposite numbers hand. Then they went inside. It was at the very least badly communicated. Dunno about the Galway conspiracy theories though.

I've done a lot of deliberating on next weeks game and I've come to the conclusion that Waterford will win (I know, shock horror, Waterford man says Waterford will win, quel suprise etc. :D)

Few musings on the game, open to questioning/polite debate in which nobody eats me :);

1. I think there could be a lot of scores in this game. Waterford have a very good forward unit, but the backs have been dodgy when run at. Few positional switches the last day made a big difference though so hopefully they won't leak a lot of goals. Given the space in Croker it should be high scoring.

2. Dublin may have actually been more disadvantaged by the game coinciding by with the Senior game then they realise. It has given a few Waterford players time to recover from injuries, while also it will mean there has been seven weeks since the last time the Dublin team will have had a competitive game, in comparison with three for Waterford. Seven is a huge layoff.

I know very little about Dublin. Only that they are supposedly a big team physically. Waterford aren't particularly big but have some very nice hurlers. They key will be moving it quickly and giving Dillon and co. low ball to run on to exploit the space as opposed to lobbing the ball up, because Dublin will probably have the advantage there if all is to believed.

I'm looking forward to it now anyway. Was dreading the thought of having to go up and down the motorway next week again earlier but I've calmed down a bit now. Please god we don't have to go down disappointed again next week and that we have something to shout about next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

washman3 wrote: »
    Thanks for that info. Limerick have Downes,Hannon,Mulcahy and keeper Murphy.

Seanie O'Brien was definitely on the senior panel too. I have a feeling Conor Allis was...and Cian Hayes was starting full-back last year.

Limerick people are very confident after the Munster final win...perhaps overly so. But we haven't really had success since the 3 U-21s in a row and that's 9 years ago now. But I think these are a more talented group of players...whether they're a better team is a different question.

But while I think it's very possible we could win the All-Ireland, I think every match will be very very close, as close as the Cork match was. We got slightly lucky that day, it was an even game and I expect the Galway game to be just as tight.

But I think that Downes and Hannon are both better than Andrew O'Shaughnessy at his peak. And Shaughs is the best forward Limerick have had in recent years. But confidence is high here but the players need to get their heads down and work hard.

If the match is on in Ennis, I expect a massive crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Great win by our (galway) minor on Sunday, but boy were we lucky. Clare should have us beaten out the gate long before the goal went in for us. Also, thought the standard of play by both teams, especially in the first half of normal time, was poor enough.

Young Brehoney from TAD was Galway's best player, or to put it more accuratly, the most consistent player for Galway over the entire match.

I thought the issue of playing extra-time or not playing extra-time was farcical tbh. You should know before the throw in if this will arise or not. I thought the GAA had brought in a stipulation for extra-time up to 1/4 finals, but not further?

Even still, Extra time was announced at a time when Galway tails were up and had the momentum and this is the second time this has happened. It happened in 2003 when they played Tipp at under 21. These things should be known in January but it seems the goalposts were moved yet again to suit Galway. Its not enough that they only hurled Antrim in the quarter final all year wheras Clare have had tough games against Tipp and Waterford. Wonder would extra time have been called if Clare had got a last gasp equaliser?
    Oh here we go! :rolleyes: RTE didnt even know there was going to be extra time today ffs, the actual broadcaster. If you can show me where it said there would be ET played prior to today then i will wholeheartedly apologise to all Galway supporters.

As for the u21 final last year, the final was announced in April of 2010 that it was set for Thurles long before Tipp even pucked a ball.
    Clare played us in the Munster u21 final there in late July of 2010 and gave us a good rattle. It certainly didnt put them off and its irrelevant whether they won lost or drew the match at least they had a rattle unlike Galway who were pathetic in Thurles last September.
    The venue was irrelevant. It was a 25 point hammering whether it was in Thurles or on the Moon so dont even bother using that one. If ye had put up any sort of fight or ye're fans had shown ye any sort of support then i might have listened but you didnt. Tipp were drawn to play Galway in Salthill in a do or die game in 2003 yet we went up and won.
    For Galway to point out to anyone about unfair advantage is whats rich. They play one game a year and get to an all Ireland u21 final and avoided stiff competition in the minor quarter final this year.

You post some amount of rubbish.

I think you'll be the first person ever added to my ignore list.

Its not our fault no other counties in Connacht play the game and that the GAA are persisting with that system when it's fairly obvious it doesn't work.

Would you rather we played by the rules and beat Mayo/Roscommon to get the spot we'd be getting either way?

And stop whinging because Tipp never even make the 1/4s of either the minor or the U21 most years.

Ye had one decent team last year that ye had already cherry picked from and I can't wait until ye start to die away at senior again mainly because of supporters like you.

Hope KK give ye a good hockeying in the final so you can come back here to whinge about some other type of conspiracy(a Galway ref would top it all off :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Its not our fault no other counties in Connacht play the game and that the GAA are persisting with that system when it's fairly obvious it doesn't work.

Would you rather we played by the rules and beat Mayo/Roscommon to get the spot we'd be getting either way?

And stop whinging because Tipp never even make the 1/4s of either the minor or the U21 most years.

Ye had one decent team last year that ye had already cherry picked from and I can't wait until ye start to die away at senior again mainly because of supporters like you.

Hope KK give ye a good hockeying in the final so you can come back here to whinge about some other type of conspiracy(a Galway ref would top it all off :pac:)

thanks gilberto saves me a lot of typing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Shambolic
    Still, Tribe manager Mattie Murphy wasn’t too happy with the circumstances.

"Nobody knew about extra-time but sure they don’t need tell us these things," he lashed. "They can reschedule matches as they go along."

Clare’s magnanimous joint-manager Donal Moloney said: "We were in the dark over extra-time — both teams probably deserved another day but we’ve no complaints — Galway deserved their win.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/galways-extra-edge-163515.html#ixzz1UQLNtzZa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭MfMan

Kojak wrote: »
    Great win by our (galway) minor on Sunday, but boy were we lucky. Clare should have us beaten out the gate long before the goal went in for us. Also, thought the standard of play by both teams, especially in the first half of normal time, was poor enough.

Young Brehoney from TAD was Galway's best player, or to put it more accuratly, the most consistent player for Galway over the entire match.

Jay, though he was poor enough in the first half, his partner, Lane outshone him for a good while. No. 7 Mannion impressed me, while the FB line weren't too bad either. Took the half-forward line a long time to get going and even Mahony was hit and miss for a good bit. Like Cork v Down last year, though our physical strength more than individual skill won it for us ultimately (usually the other way around with Galway teams!) and practically all our sub made an impact, even if Carr looks a bit Aisake-like in awkwardness! Castle's Dean Higgins will surely start in the final.

Clare distinctly distinctly unlucky it must be said; had that late free gone over it was game over, while Galway's goal may have come as a result of charging by Carr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Whistlingmilk

Is there anyway to watch or download the Galway v Clare match? Doesn't seem to be on RTE Player or anything, anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

The GAA are shambolic at times. As the managers said no one was informed that there was going to be ET until 2.45 pm yesterday. What a farce, the GAA just making things up as they go along. If teams didnt think there was ET, they could not have prepared for it - totally unfair on both teams. The game should have went to a replay as I thought no ET was to be played from semi-final stage onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Kojak wrote: »
    Great win by our (galway) minor on Sunday, but boy were we lucky. Clare should have us beaten out the gate long before the goal went in for us.

Not sure why they should have to be honest?

Clare were definitely the better side in the first half but the main difference between the sides was shooting accuracy. Galway did hit some very bad wides otherwise it would have been a lot closer at the break. Then Galway were the better side in the second half. Granted it took a late goal to draw the game but overall I think a draw was fair enough at full-time. The one thing that went against Clare was the late free hitting the post because that was the last puck of the game so Galway would have had no way back. By the way what did the ref blow for for that late Clare free out by the sideline. Couldn't see a free myself in there but maybe I missed something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Even still, Extra time was announced at a time when Galway tails were up and had the momentum and this is the second time this has happened. It happened in 2003 when they played Tipp at under 21. These things should be known in January but it seems the goalposts were moved yet again to suit Galway. Its not enough that they only hurled Antrim in the quarter final all year wheras Clare have had tough games against Tipp and Waterford. Wonder would extra time have been called if Clare had got a last gasp equaliser?

Lol made my morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,113 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I think maybe the hype got to this clare team, everyone thought they had the all-ireland won before they took the field, its a lot of pressure for a 17 year olds, that said they should have won anyway, but you knew when that free hit the post it was galways day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Warper wrote: »
    The GAA are shambolic at times. As the managers said no one was informed that there was going to be ET until 2.45 pm yesterday. What a farce, the GAA just making things up as they go along. If teams didnt think there was ET, they could not have prepared for it - totally unfair on both teams. The game should have went to a replay as I thought no ET was to be played from semi-final stage onwards.

To be fair they waited to determine who had the greater psychological edge before making the decision

Is there anyway to watch or download the Galway v Clare match? Doesn't seem to be on RTE Player or anything, anyone know?

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1107371

It's there, just for some reason there are two links and the other is just the Senior.

And its supporters like you makes me smirk when i think of the gutless display your 'heroes' put up against the Decie.

Tbh i couldnt give a flying f*ck if you add me to your ignore list. It'll mean ill get back less childish rants. Have a go at Tipp all you like id prefer our record to yours any day of the week at all levels.

Im posing the question as to why the Galway board wont enter their development squads and under 21s in leinster. i didn't mention Mayo or Roscommon anywhere. Perhaps you should take literacy tests as you are seeing things that are not there. Of course when Galway had to join Munster back in the late 50s/early 60s they had great difficulty so that might explain alot. 3 years in leinster now with this talented squad they have and they dont look in any danger of winning the province any time soon.

Orizio wrote: »
    Dublin should win the Minor and U-21 out. Really need to get Galway and Antrim into both grades underage.

Ah they're from Connacht Orizio leave em alone :rolleyes:

And its supporters like you makes me smirk when i think of the gutless display your 'heroes' put up against the Decie.

Tbh i couldnt give a flying f*ck if you add me to your ignore list. It'll mean ill get back less childish rants. Have a go at Tipp all you like id prefer our record to yours any day of the week at all levels.

Im posing the question as to why the Galway board wont enter their development squads and under 21s in leinster. i didn't mention Mayo or Roscommon anywhere. Perhaps you should take literacy tests as you are seeing things that are not there. Of course when Galway had to join Munster back in the late 50s/early 60s they had great difficulty so that might explain alot. 3 years in leinster now with this talented squad they have and they dont look in any danger of winning the province any time soon.

Childish rants?

Go back and read your original post for a childish rant ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I know Tipperary fans don't exactly have the best reputation but no need to live up to the stereotype online as well. All you've done on this thread is make completely unprovoked digs at Galway and you're accusing other people of being childish when they respond. Mr pot meet Mr kettle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

MfMan wrote: »
    Jay, though he was poor enough in the first half, his partner, Lane outshone him for a good while. No. 7 Mannion impressed me, while the FB line weren't too bad either. Took the half-forward line a long time to get going and even Mahony was hit and miss for a good bit. Like Cork v Down last year, though our physical strength more than individual skill won it for us ultimately (usually the other way around with Galway teams!) and practically all our sub made an impact, even if Carr looks a bit Aisake-like in awkwardness!

Brehoney mau have been poor in the first half, but he was one among many tbh. For how long have we complained that our teams are nice hurlers who cannot hack it when the going gets tough. To be fair to the minors yesterday, they ground out a result - not a trait that Galway is well known for. Get a mix between the big guys who can break the ball or win it themselves (like Carr at 14 or Mullins at 11 - despite his lack of mobility) and the likes of Higgins, Maloney etc. and you have the makings of a very dangerous team.
    By the way what did the ref blow for for that late Clare free out by the sideline. Couldn't see a free myself in there but maybe I missed something?

I believe he blew for the Galway wing back (hansberry, I think) pulling on the ball twice in quick succession.

I know Tipperary fans don't exactly have the best reputation but no need to live up to the stereotype online as well. All you've done on this thread is make completely unprovoked digs at Galway and you're accusing other people of being childish when they respond. Mr pot meet Mr kettle.

Im posing the question about fair play. Just because Galway dont like it...tough.
    it needs to be asked why extra time has been announced now on two occasions and very very coincidental that Galway have got last minute equalising goals on both those occasions.

As for Gilberto accusing anyone of being childish, ive read some of his posts over the past year. Everyone bar his own county were dismissed. The dubs were overrated and now were going to fall away. the 23 years of liam mccarthys absense have taken their toll obviously but nevermind ye still have great underage panels :)

Not sure why they should have to be honest?

Clare were definitely the better side in the first half but the main difference between the sides was shooting accuracy. Galway did hit some very bad wides otherwise it would have been a lot closer at the break. Then Galway were the better side in the second half. Granted it took a late goal to draw the game but overall I think a draw was fair enough at full-time. The one thing that went against Clare was the late free hitting the post because that was the last puck of the game so Galway would have had no way back. By the way what did the ref blow for for that late Clare free out by the sideline. Couldn't see a free myself in there but maybe I missed something?

Missed it myself but I have to say Clare could feel aggrieved about the goal Maloney got at the end. Definite chargin from 21 one, he had the head down and just drove into them.

Missed the first half, but I actually thought from what I saw Galway were the better team, though I do feel Clare were a bit hard done by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

How come we've now got two separate threads for the U21 championship?

IThe dubs were overrated and now were going to fall away. the 23 years of liam mccarthys absense have taken their toll obviously but nevermind ye still have great underage panels :)

The Dubs?... I seem to remember it being about Conal Keaney more so then Dublin.

As a poster from Tipp', probably yourself was making out Keaney was one of the best players in the country.
    As for Dublin in general, they haven't exactly set the world alight getting by an average Limerick team who left the game behind them with all their wides.

Who else did I dismiss?..... ''and the winner of the over exaggeration of the year goes too......''. :rolleyes:

How many players did Clare have yesterday had it been less then 15 then your conspiracy theory may hold some water, it was 15 against 15, the game could have swung either way.

And here you go yet again about Senior.
    Like a good lad take the advice you wrongly gave to me..... ''Perhaps you should take literacy tests as you are seeing things that are not there

This thread is about Minor and U21 so yes we shall talk about that, I understand though when it comes to these age groups there's not much to talk about from your own POV.

dcr22B wrote: »
    How come we've now got two separate threads for the U21 championship?

If you read the OP it's about the minor as well and more so about the fact that the 'big 3' didn't feature in either. And most of the discussion has been about the minor.
    C Callanan; D Joyce, E McEntee, O Canning (capt); F Moore, J Lee, E Lynch; G Farragher, K Hynes; A Callanan, C Donnellan, A Smith;D Hayes, J Canning , N Healy.

For Galway they have, only five that started in 2009 look set to start next week.

No Regan, Collins, Burke, Kerins, Tannion, Kavanagh who have all played a big part this year.

I'm expecting a much different result. Our FB line has been solid and Waterford aren't big goal threats, and we've notched up around 12 goals so far with 5/6 good chances against Cork, I honestly think we'll put at least two or three past them.

The Dubs?... I seem to remember it being about Conal Keaney more so then Dublin.

As a poster from Tipp', probably yourself was making out Keaney was one of the best players in the country.
    As for Dublin in general, they haven't exactly set the world alight getting by an average Limerick team who left the game behind them with all their wides.

Who else did I dismiss?..... ''and the winner of the over exaggeration of the year goes too......''. :rolleyes:

How many players did Clare have yesterday had it been less then 15 then your conspiracy theory may hold some water, it was 15 against 15, the game could have swung either way.

And here you go yet again about Senior.
    Like a good lad take the advice you wrongly gave to me..... ''Perhaps you should take literacy tests as you are seeing things that are not there

This thread is about Minor and U21 so yes we shall talk about that, I understand though when it comes to these age groups there's not much to talk about from your own POV.

See above...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Here we go the typical anti-Dublin tripe from Galway that we've had to encounter ever since June 18th.

I really don't understand how many Galway hurling people that I have encountered in the past seem to have this expectation that they're better than the sum of their parts.

Galway have flattered to deceive on so many occasions over the years and rather than building upon the QF defeat to Tipp last year, they've regressed this year and Brendan Lynskey was right when he said that there's no fight in the squad.

The reason Dublin "haven't set the world alight" (what a load of rubbish) is the fact that we've been ravaged by injuries to so many key players:

- Hiney
    - Brady
    - Boland
    - Keaney
    - Trainor
    - Treacy

If we had all those lads fit, we'd have had an even more stellar season than we have had already this year and I've no doubt we can be a top 4 team for many years to come as long as we don't make the mistakes that Galway have made in the past by not transitioning sufficient underage talent through to senior ranks.

Rant over!

I will say one thing yesterdays game was excellent from both sets of youngsters and credit to Galway they didnt give up. My beef wouldnt be with Matty Murphy or his players but my suspicions will remain as to why this has happened on two occasions. Those who dont hold suspicion fair enough.

Well at least i acknowledge good players outside of my own county which is alot more then you can do. I wont entertain your bullsh*t any longer. I posed the question as to why extra time was suddenly called on two occasions now after Galway grabbing an equalising score and all i have got back is digs at my own county and more nonsense. Im well aware that Tipperary werent up to scratch at both minor and under 21 this year and sure ces't la vie. We have a decent senior team who can challenge for the next few years no matter what happens Sunday.

You having digs at Tipperary 'falling away' is hilarious. I'm sure you'd love Tipperary's 'problems' at the moment. We are Munster champions going into the Senior Hurling semi final and Munster champions going into the Minor football semi final. Alot of both codes to be played yet but its been a great year in GAA circumstances.

As for this thread ill still contribute so fu*k whoever doesnt like it. Last Wednesdays under 21 match was a humdinger no matter who was involved. Just goes to show how competitive provincial hurling is at u21 level but sure i wouldnt expect Galway to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Ye had one decent team last year that ye had already cherry picked from and I can't wait until ye start to die away at senior again mainly because of supporters like you

LOL A man who clearly has unrivaled knowledge of the game of hurling FYI Tipperary have won 18 minor all irelands, 9 u-21 AIs and there is nor never has been any such thing as a QF in u-21 ;)

That team that you so gracefully acknowledge as been ''decent'' beat Galway by 25 pts, did ye run to thurles from Portumna or what??

Is there a non annoying Tipp contributor on this forum?

I only ever see the same 2/3 :confused:

I'm not even going to reply to any of your drivel, selective reading and twisting of facts,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Is there a non annoying Tipp contributor on this forum?

I only ever see the same 2/3 :confused:

I'm not even going to reply to any of your drivel, selective reading and twisting of facts,

LOL code for I was talking rubbish and have been caught out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ontheditch2

Lads, honestly, i enjoy reading this site and find the opinions of many very interesting. So, for the sake of the rest of us, could ye keep the petty squabbling off this thread. I do enjoy some of the banter, but serious overkill at the moment.
    Start a "Why do Galway hate tipp, or vice versa thread" or something to that effect, please and thanks.

So Dubs and Galway are in the final in both grades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ontheditch2

Galway look to have gotten the raw deal in both..

Might as well give myself abuse before anyone else does it. I was wrong, and my knowledge of Gaelic games leaves alot to be desired.
    Galway have done very well in both age groups.