Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Lottery Half Marathon 17/9/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

3 stars (average)
    on paper the course is 10m downhill

but the start line is right beside the finish line, and there isn't a 10m drop between the two :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

3 stars (average)
    Ha ha true very true. 1.33 half marathon followed by 2 five minute miles to get away from the disgruntled masses.

A little bird told me you are aiming for 1.30 and to seek you out!

Said bird ( non chick i might add ) made reference to you too ! I will be hard spotted, im about 5 ft !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

4 stars (good)
    RayCun wrote: »
    but the start line is right beside the finish line, and there isn't a 10m drop between the two :)
    ha yeah i was wondering that myself and checked..... the start and the finish is 400m
    the guy that ran it here
    http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/49409292
    but i cant figure out why the big difference in elevation between his start and finish elevation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

4 stars (good)
    TheRoadRunner: Krusty_clown time -1 second
    Krusty_clown 1.29.54
    Seres 1.29.59
    Tang1 : 1.39.30

gerard65 : 1:36
    huskerdu : 1.56
    outforarun : 1:39:30
    antomagoo : 1:45:00
    Itsalltrue : 1:32:00
    Buck 1:59:59
    JJJJNR 2:30 - 2:45
    Younganne 2.02:00
    Lex Luther 1.23.00
    Belcarra 1:39:29
    woddle 1:43:sth
    Tec Diver 1:48 (which would be a 2min PB)
    Dernipper 1:37 (1:41 current PB)
    shels4ever startline
    vagga startline [not run in a few weeks, starting will be miracle, time to find religion]
    kennyb3 sub 1.32
    D Chief 1:50
    ofthelord 1:39:xx
    7mile 1.22.59
    Shane O' Malley 1:50 Typo.
    WHIP IT! 1:59.59
    paulb79 sub 1:35 fingers crossed
    madon 2.24.59
    rovers_runner 1:59:59
    Elvis Jones 2:15 ( Running at DCM pace in race conditions )
    Liamo123 1.39.30 ( Pacer )
    run44 2:02
    jester1980 1.50
    Dr Quirky 1:21:59
    pconn062 1:39:59
    Nolanbry Sub 2hrs for PB
    metamorphosis - sub 1:25
    Corny - 1:42ish
    JoeDel - 1:50 (1st HM)
    Smoochie06 1:59:27. (1 sec faster than Dundalk half )
    EdMoses - sub 1:45
    earlyevening - 1:23
    Tinydave - 1:39:59
    28064212 - 1:59:59
    Jprender - 1:49:59
    Pilot1087 - 2:15:10
    Psuedonym(aka Tunguska) - 1:14:30
    ronanmac - 1:30:16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Ye all have a nice run on Saturday and good luck to all.

I'll be roaring abuse and encouragement (depends on how i think you're going) at some point along the way.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'll be out on my bike, will try to hit a couple of different parts of the route. Best of luck to all. Hopefully the weather doesn't deteriorate again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

3 stars (average)
    Krusty_clown 1.29.54
    Seres 1.29.59

Lex Luther 1.23.00
    shels4ever startline
    vagga startline [not run in a few weeks, starting will be miracle, time to find religion]
    kennyb3 sub 1.32
    7mile 1.22.59
    madon 2.24.59
    jester1980 1.50
    Nolanbry Sub 2hrs for PB
    James Howlett - 1:40

I'm not going to beat my 1:29:53 from last year (any excuse to bring that up :D ) so I'm going to do the practical thing and get pace training for the big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 ButchMG

Krusty_clown 1.29.54
    Seres 1.29.59

Lex Luther 1.23.00
    shels4ever startline
    kennyb3 sub 1.32
    7mile 1.22.59
    madon 2.24.59
    jester1980 1.50
    Nolanbry Sub 2hrs for PB
    ButchMG - 1:34:00

Did this is 1:29:39 last year, but training ain't going well and there's serious wind forecast. Right, that's my excuses in! Hopefully Mrs ButchMG and the childer will bother their ar$es and come out and support me for a change - might get a lift from that!

Don't be fooled thinking this course is easier than last year just because you don't have to carry on up the Khyber. I ran it last Saturday and I can tell you, honestly the hills are deceptive....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ButchMG wrote: »
    Don't be fooled thinking this course is easier than last year just because you don't have to carry on up the Khyber. I ran it last Saturday and I can tell you, honestly the hills are deceptive....
    Based on the current forecast, you should have 8m/s winds (with is pretty moderate) from WSW, which means the wind will be behind you for the two hills. Having run both courses, I think this year's course is easier. windy spots to look out for should be Chesterfield Avenue and North Road, and both are immediately followed by sections with the wind behind you.

Might as well approach the race with some positivity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭dernipper

And on that note I would like to add that I think it's going to be great day regardless of weather, people in wrong waves or PB's, a morning running in the park? What more could you ask for, now only if we could give those Aussies a good auld beating !!

ButchMG wrote: »
    Based on the current forecast, you should have 8m/s winds (with is pretty moderate) from WSW, which means the wind will be behind you for the two hills. Having run both courses, I think this year's course is easier. windy spots to look out for should be Chesterfield Avenue and North Road, and both are immediately followed by sections with the wind behind you.

Might as well approach the race with some positivity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭trowel

dernipper wrote: »
    And on that note I would like to add that I think it's going to be great day regardless of weather, people in wrong waves or PB's, a morning running in the park? What more could you ask for, now only if we could give those Aussies a good auld beating !!

I was hoping to avoid getting updates during the run and catch the game later while resting aching muscles in the bath.
    Anyone know if it's being shown later in full on TV (I can't record at the minute)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

4 stars (good)
    Is there an agreed pre-race meeting place? With 8500 people taking part [half of whom meeting people in papal cross car park!], it may be slightly trickier than normal to spot the blue boards tops :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭fungirl1

3 stars (average)
    Trowel - TG4 showed last weeks match later in the day..so maybe they will so the same again tomorrow. Best of luck to everyone - woudl agree with the comments that this course is a bit easleir than last year (when I thought the Kyber would kill me!!) but it is more open too I think so that comment is a bit weather dependant...

Anyhow - good luck to all esp those in wave 3...(where I will be!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

3 stars (average)
    Is there an agreed pre-race meeting place? With 8500 people taking part [half of whom meeting people in papal cross car park!], it may be slightly trickier than normal to spot the blue boards tops :pac:

keep an eye out for the pacers. We can give them some pre-race practice in "being followed around"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Out of tomorrow, too busy with work so i'll have to do my LSR on Sunday now.

Good luck to all !

Next race is the 3/4 in Athlone:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

Good luck tomorrow, everyone!! I might be there handing out goodie bags and/ or shouting support! :) Most importantly, have a great day and enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

3 stars (average)
    This one just kinda crept up on me! Think I'll give 1:35 a bash.... with plan B being to aim for 1:40 if I don't feel able!

Best of luck to everyone else running tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Really looking forward to this rain or shine.. Good luck to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Tiptopdel

3 stars (average)
    Out of tomorrow, too busy with work so i'll have to do my LSR on Sunday now.

Good luck to all !

Next race is the 3/4 in Athlone:)

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

Best of Luck to everyone tomorrow.

I've been waiting a year to take my revenge on this race.

Really looking forward to it.

I think the pacers are meeting up at the finish area. That's where I plan on heading. Not racing is great sometimes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭trowel

fungirl1 wrote: »
    Trowel - TG4 showed last weeks match later in the day..so maybe they will so the same again tomorrow. Best of luck to everyone - woudl agree with the comments that this course is a bit easleir than last year (when I thought the Kyber would kill me!!) but it is more open too I think so that comment is a bit weather dependant...

Anyhow - good luck to all esp those in wave 3...(where I will be!!)

GAme is repeated on TG4 at 11.30 as you say. It's a bit too early for me (i'm hoping to be in wave three as well).
    Setanta Sports 1 are showing it at 4pm which would be perfect. Now to try and find a way to watch it online without UPC membership...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

3 stars (average)
    RayCun wrote: »
    The pacers for the half marathon will be lining up as follows -

Sub 90 pacers - a few rows from the front of wave 1

Sub 100 (1.40) pacers - at the very start of wave 2

Sub 110 (1.50) pacers - halfway back in wave 2

Sub 120 (2 hour) pacers - at the very start of wave 3

anyone remember the waves in the 5 mile and the 10 mile,did anyone rea;;y adhere to them?
    I hope i am wrong but it could be a mess.
    I will be there anyhu!
    I love messy rainy windy running on paths up in da big schmoke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Good luck to all tomorrow. Give it a lash;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Best of luck to ye all tomorrow. Hope the weather is favourable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Best of luck tomorrow folks
    Hope we all go well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 spanx

4 stars (good)
    Krusty_clown 1.29.54
    Seres 1.29.59

Lex Luther 1.23.00
    shels4ever startline
    kennyb3 sub 1.32
    7mile 1.22.59
    madon 2.24.59
    jester1980 1.50
    Nolanbry Sub 2hrs for PB
    ButchMG - 1:34:00
    Spanx - 1:36

Maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

4 stars (good)
    Up having breakfast, very nervous indeed for some reason [he says, looking at knee!] - this is the 5th half I have done since April, so I know I can do it, just can my body carry me on this occasion is the question :eek:

Good luck everyone - we want good runs from everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Best of luck to everyone today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

3 stars (average)
    Up having breakfast, very nervous indeed for some reason [he says, looking at knee!] - this is the 5th half I have done since April, so I know I can do it, just can my body carry me on this occasion is the question :eek:

Good luck everyone - we want good runs from everyone :)

Good morning. Me too.

5 half since April - very impressive.

This is my second since May. I have done very few long runs, so nervous about meeting my target of 1.56 ( 1 minute faster than May)

See you in 2 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

4 stars (good)
    Best of luck to everybody, had a siht sleep last night, nerves, my 1st HM, Still hope to be around the 1:50 mark....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Best of luck to everone today. Should be fun, sun is just coming out now over the park at the min :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Good luck all, depressed I missed the entry cut off for this would love to be out there this morning.

Give it your all, leave nothing behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

4 stars (good)
    My first Half too. Did a long run Thursday to make up for the laziness of the previous fortnight and regretting it now - will hopefully warm out of this bit of stiffness :o

Actually, I'm sure I will and I'll be fine! Best of Luck everyone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Good call to anyone who skipped this race for the rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Good compensation for those who didn't have a choice through injury as well;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

1:22, 43 for me. Happy with that. 17s faster than hoped for.

Plus I got to listen to the match while I was running!

How did anyone else go?

1:22, 43 for me. Happy with that. 17s faster than hoped for.

Plus I got to listen to the match while I was running!

How did anyone else go?

Gave you a shout at the finish line. Got ignored, bloody headphone wearing runners. :mad: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭hawkwing

4 stars (good)
    1'40"21 --will take that as i didn't expect much through injury recently and could hardly walk last Saturday.Only 40 secs off last years PB in the end which is kind of annoying in one sense but gives hope for a DCM PB if the next 6 weeks go to plan.Good stuff using Chesterfield Avenue again despite the "roadworks ongoing for the last 2 months:confused::confused::confused:". Bring on the big one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭D Chief

4 stars (good)
    Stopped my watch at 1:48:56. Almost exactly 9 minutes faster than last year. Delighted with that. I was kind-of aiming for 1:50 but in my head that was an aggressive target and I'd have been happy to run 1:52 or thereabouts. My plan was to be with the 1:50 pacers for 10k and hang on as best I could after that. I found myself ahead of them at 10k and was able to stay ahead, possibly by a diminishing margin.

And I don't care about rugby. I do massively care about the Dubs tomorrow though. Good run this morning could be the start of a massive weekend.

Ath Cliath abu. Is feidir linn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

4 stars (good)

Very much up to the runner in question isn't it? I'd say there's very few coming out of the Park regretting they ran today. Mostly runners rather than rugby fans I bet. I wouldn't miss a training run never mind a race to sit in and watch TV. Sky+ is great.

Well done to everyone taking part today. Tough aul going out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

1:40:22...stayed with the pacers until an injury from last week started giving me jib just after the half way mark. The pacers started to pull away from the Ashtown gate and then seemed to stay about 30 secs away up until the finish.
    Happy enough with my time though as it's a pb by over 4 mins on a time that was decent enough for me. Pity about not going sub 1:40 though as I was cruising it so much as far as Chesterfield Avenue roundabout...:rolleyes:
    Fair play to the two pacers by the way - Did a great job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭hawkwing

4 stars (good)
    Dunno about that myself, i spent too many years watching other overpaid people playing sport while doing nothing myself,i would never put watching tv before taking part in a race again especially in a group match that at the end of the day wasn't do or die anyway, also nobody mentioned the result at the race.Well done to the lads anyway but they don't come before taking part in something for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

4 stars (good)
    1:52.17 for my first Half-Mar... Delighted! :)

Had a practice run this week which left me in no doubt that I could get well under the sub-two-hour target I had set for myself here so I revised that to 1:56... really happy with my time and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would like to thank the organisers, sponsors, volunteers, pacers etc - can't imagine how much of a pain in the backside organising something like this is and to be fair - it costs 20 quid to enter and I'm sitting here with a 'goody bag' that must have the best part of 20 quid's worth of stuff in it. Can't ask for much more than that... I dunno, a lapdance maybe!

EDIT: As for the egg-chasing, even if I was sitting at home I wouldn't have watched anyway - not my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

4 stars (good)
    happygoose wrote: »
    Very much up to the runner in question isn't it? I'd say there's very few coming out of the Park regretting they ran today. Mostly runners rather than rugby fans I bet. I wouldn't miss a training run never mind a race to sit in and watch TV. Sky+ is great.

Well done to everyone taking part today. Tough aul going out there.

+1. If that match was taking place outside my window I'd pull the blinds.

1:22:50 here. Delighted with that. Small PB over the National half but a tougher day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Bad race time wise for me, done something 2 my hip around mile 8. Had been comfortably stayin wit 1.40 pacers up 2 that stage. Ended up walkin/running last 5 miles. Came in just under 2 hours. Great 2 see so many people running this. Again runners in wrong waves, but don't think that issue will ever sort itself out. Some people just don't listen. Apart from that small issue, could not fault the race. And Ireland won the rugby thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

4 stars (good)
    Results are up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

1:39:09 for me, a cool 9 and a half minutes off my PB so I'm quite chuffed with that, especially considering how ****e I felt most of the way round.

Want to say a huge thanks to the pacers! After about 5 miles I was running well outside my comfort zone, heart rate was way higher than I'd normally let it go, but because there was someone to follow (and shouts of encouragement at every mile!) I somehow managed to keep it together.

COME ON THE 1:40 PACERS! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 paullanders

Finished todays race and had a good time of 01.45. However, seems to be a chip time problem again. They say I finished in a time of 01.47 but I know I went under finish line in 01.56.
    The chip time seems right but the finish time is out. Why is that?

Last time out in the Frank Duffy 10 mile there were numberous errors whcih were never sorted. How can we trust the chip timing.
    A real pity 'cause its a great series of races. Dosent give much confidence for the DCM next month. Check this out:

This note sent to office@dublinmarathon.ie on 31st August 2011.

Frank Duffy 10 Mile 2011

some more chip times to be fixed:

5099 Aileen Carrie Louth F45 121 02:20:12 02:20:12
    1254 David John Mc Kenna Co. Roscommon M50 37 01:19:52 01:19:52
    2416 Maura Cleary Co. Tipperary FS 274 01:28:40 01:28:40
    1263 Sebastian Nowak Dublin MS 543 01:19:55 01:19:55
    2420 Aaron Downes Dublin MS 935 01:28:42 01:28:42
    2434 Barry Dennehy Co. Dublin M35 440 01:28:48 01:28:48
    1241 Darren Coogan Co. Dublin MS 533 01:19:47 01:19:47
    2526 Andrew Lawlor Dublin MS 972 01:29:28 01:29:28
    3712 Rita Faulkner Louth F40 149 01:39:17 01:39:17
    1245 Maurice Carney Dublin M35 238 01:19:48 01:19:48

also how come the following are out of sync in the placings:

1166 Alan Jones Dublin MS 499 01:18:35 01:19:08
    1167 Michael O' Meara Dublin MS 500 01:17:40 01:19:08

Alan Jones came in after Michael... yet he is listed before Michael

1162 David Cleary Dublin M35 222 01:18:06 01:19:06
    1164 Ian O' Rordan Dublin MS 497 01:17:53 01:19:06

David crossed the line after Ian???

1605 Seamus Carr Dublin M35 302 01:22:45 01:22:51
    1606 Nicola Hickey-crowe Dublin FS 149 01:19:26 01:22:51

The above are only a small sample of the results we have checked on your website http://dublinmarathon.ie/results.php results page.

There seems to be a very serious problem with your chip devise system.

Can you confirm that it will be sorted before the next race in the series?

Someone has been paid good money to supply this chip service and that service seems to fall short.

Perhaps we are reading the results incorrectly.....

If they are right shouldn't you tell your loyal runners that the chip cant be guaranteed?

Do the National Lottery and Irish Independent, Spar and so on, know there is a problem?

Thank you

Paul

ps

some examples from the 5 mile in July:

508 James Crawford Dublin M40 53 00:35:31 00:35:31
    509 Daragh Collier Co. Kildare M40 54 00:35:32 00:35:32
    516 Colm Campbell Co. Dublin MS 240 00:35:36 00:35:36

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭formerrunner25

Absolutly delighted..great course..finished in 1.30.03..so just missed out on sub 90..but was aiming for 1.40 so was quite a shock..the only negative from this race is the wave start..there must have been 400 people in the 1st wave that should have been in the 3rd wave