Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

does gaa hooliganism exist in ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭lawhec

concur4u? wrote: »
    about 2/3 years ago he deffo made the daily rags down here for apparently smashing pub windows or some such incident
    Link?

Maybe you're thinking of the incident a few years ago in a Tipperary hotel involving the Tyrone team? I remember the Guards being called to the scene but I don't remember anyone being arrested. Mickey Harte doesn't tend to tolerate his players getting into the public eye for the wrong reason. You only have to look at Gerard Cavlan for evidence of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

There is a fine line between supposed hooliganism at GAA matches compared to soccer, markedly the fact that emotions are running a whole lot higher. In football matches there are supporters taking it upon themselves to cause harm and be a nuisance.
    Within the GAA are denizens of passionate individuals who do not see their team all that often and so any violence can be warranted, while not necessarily accepted. The Louth match showed how fans can be irked by the incompetence of the officials, not due to a manifesto of anarchy. So no, there is no hooliganism in the GAA.

pconn062 wrote: »
    No but people say there is little or no hooliganism in the GAA so it was a big shock to see it.
    To be honest, if I seen a similar incident on a major televised soccer game I'd be quite shocked myself. What happened involving Martin Sludden last year was, at least involving intercounty Gaelic football, quite rare and one incident in isolation shouldn't be used when looking at the bigger picture.

There is a fine line between supposed hooliganism at GAA matches compared to soccer, markedly the fact that emotions are running a whole lot higher. In football matches there are supporters taking it upon themselves to cause harm and be a nuisance.
    Within the GAA are denizens of passionate individuals who do not see their team all that often and so any violence can be warranted, while not necessarily accepted. The Louth match showed how fans can be irked by the incompetence of the officials, not due to a manifesto of anarchy. So no, there is no hooliganism in the GAA.
    The GAA used that incident as an excuse to put up a perspex barrier in front of Hill 16 to prevent supporters getting on the pitch, when AFAIK anyone who got near the referee didn't come from there.

Personally I reckon the GAA made a mistake. They should have just put a perspex barrier up around Louth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭concur4u?

lawhec wrote: »
    Link?

Maybe you're thinking of the incident a few years ago in a Tipperary hotel involving the Tyrone team? I remember the Guards being called to the scene but I don't remember anyone being arrested. Mickey Harte doesn't tend to tolerate his players getting into the public eye for the wrong reason. You only have to look at Gerard Cavlan for evidence of that.

em no link im a bit of a internet novice/was a technopobh for a long time
    if i recall rightly tho it involved ruc/psni he was gracing the bench that season

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians take more Garda resources when they meet than the 80,000 people at an All-Ireland final. Have been to more GAA matches than I remember and never had much trouble, however Tyrone fans were the greatest shower of scum I never knocked across in my life, shameful behaviour. Mayo and Armagh were amongst the nicest bunch.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians take more Garda resources when they meet than the 80,000 people at an All-Ireland final. Have been to more GAA matches than I remember and never had much trouble, however Tyrone fans were the greatest shower of scum I never knocked across in my life, shameful behaviour. Mayo and Armagh were amongst the nicest bunch.

Not all of them mind you just the few I was unfortunate to be stuck near back in the day. Every county has its fair share of idiots to be fair, and most of the time due to their minority we avoid them, however go to enough matches and you will eventually knock across them. My own county Kerry is not immune either I may add.

concur4u? wrote: »
    em no link im a bit of a internet novice/was a technopobh for a long time
    if i recall rightly tho it involved ruc/psni he was gracing the bench that season
    I did a search for something you describe, I've found a report from RTÉ. Says he was arrested and questioned, then released on bail. A further report says that he was eventually found guilty of disorderly behaviour, but the other charges were dropped. I have to say that this one flew by me and I missed it. However he certainly doesn't get arrested "every weekend".

Interestingly, Mulligan now runs his own pub in Cookstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭concur4u?

Not all of them mind you just the few I was unfortunate to be stuck near back in the day. Every county has its fair share of idiots to be fair, and most of the time due to their minority we avoid them, however go to enough matches and you will eventually knock across them. My own county Kerry is not immune either I may add.

was it paudie o shea and the people of kerry are like "animals" i liked that 1 alright

The GAA used that incident as an excuse to put up a perspex barrier in front of Hill 16 to prevent supporters getting on the pitch, when AFAIK anyone who got near the referee didn't come from there.

Personally I reckon the GAA made a mistake. They should have just put a perspex barrier up around Louth.

Or Martin Sludden

A few years ago I worked as a crowd control steward which included covering big GAA games in Ulster, especially in Clones but also in Casement Park. My memories of it were that all counties have bad apples, but in Ulster the four to notice were supporters from Donegal, Armagh, Tyrone and Down. The rest didn't normally cause problems. An element of Armagh supporters were the worst especially in trying to keep isles in stands clear and for sheer pig ignorance of some of them who seem to know just two words, one of them being "off". Some Tyrone supporters weren't much better, it had the double-edged sword that many of them recognised me, which makes the job awkward but on the plus side they were better to co operate in case news of their behaviour was fed back to their clubs! Some Donegal and Down supporters also behaved like ignorant gobshítes to put it mildly, but they were less numerous. When Armagh and Tyrone were playing it other, we knew it wasn't going to be an easy day.

Or Martin Sludden
    The Sludden incident to me opened up an ugly side of the GAA, namely the socially acceptable abuse of referees who are abused unless they give every decision to their team. Very often they cannot win. I thought in last year's Leinster Final Sludden had a good enough game as referee until that decision in the final few seconds.

In the same way that a mistake can ruin a goalkeeper, he will always be remembered for one of the worst decisions in GAA history, especially due to the massive underdog status of Louth. Its inescapable but it was an awful decision, simple as so the Wee County were right in their anger, despite not going about disputing it in the right way. This was an isolated event alien to the bullying of referees within the professional 11 a side game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

In other words Kerry lost again to Tyrone and Tyrone supporters didn't say how much of an honour it was to beat Kerry.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

It's just swept under the carpet for the most part because the GAA is a sacred cow in Irish society.

:rolleyes: ==> Conspiracy Theories forum here

smk89 wrote: »
    One player that springs to mind is Eoin Mulligan, he's been arrested several times, criminal damage to a pub, assault, not a weekend he isn't on the crime page of the Tyrone observer.
    Though it probably isn't GAA that causes it, he's probably just a cúnt.

Those stories about Mulligan are exaggerated, but his skill isn't. He was responsible for one of the most memorable goals of the past decade, back in 2005:

Not bad going for a humble carpenter/joiner from Tyrone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Dionysus wrote: »
    Those stories about Mulligan are exaggerated, but his skill isn't. He was responsible for one of the most memorable goals of the past decade, back in 2005
    Is that what passes as skill in GAH? Two feints and kicking it from your hands past a stationary keeper from six yards? No wonder they beat seven shades of ****e out of each other and the officials, it must be from sheer boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

pconn062 wrote: »
    What about the riot that nearly broke out after the Louth/Meath match last year where a load of Louth "supporters" thought they would show their displeasure at the refs decision by trying to beat the **** out of him on live TV. You don't find that happening often in big TV aired soccer games.

well that's one I remember - last time I checked the Louth fans as bad as they were didn't arrive at the game with bags of flares ready to throw on the field

not condoning what the Louth fans did - but when you compare it to the ****e that goes on in soccer on a regular basis...

just look at the police presence that's needed to police any big derby match in soccer to make sure opposing fans are kept apart...

compare that to what the gardai have to do when there's a big derby match in the GAA where basically the biggest job of the day is to get the traffic moving again after the match...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians take more Garda resources when they meet than the 80,000 people at an All-Ireland final.

No they don't.

Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians take more Garda resources when they meet than the 80,000 people at an All-Ireland final.

No they don't.

Yes they do the gardai explicitly said it on that TV3 programme about soccer hooliganism a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yes they do the gardai explicitly said it on that TV3 programme about soccer hooliganism a few years ago

Any evidence to back up this claim? I saw the same tabloid joke of a show, full on grainy eastern European YouTube clips and I don't remember any such statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

The Louth - Meath game last year, in a nightclub in Navan Joe sheridan was attacked by a louth fan and a massive ruckus ensued, So i would suppose that would be considered hooliganism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

No they don't.

Wrong, with the hoops part anyway. Shams have a known scum element of supporters and are the most disliked team in the league probably for that reason.

Wrong, with the hoops part anyway.
    There are not more Gardai at Rovers Bohs than there are at the all Ireland final. Thats absurd.

The supporters of the underage sides of two GAA clubs in Tallaght used to have organised rucks before, during or after their matches back in the late 80s/early 90s. Not sure if it still goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

I've never seen a bust up at a Gaa match. We calls them shemozzles in our parts and there no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

the worst fans I have come across in any sport would be Bohs fans..

I have been to derby games in Iran and even Pakistan in my old job, but fook me they are sick ***** some of those Bohs fans.

As going back to original question I dont think there is hooliganism element in GAA at all. Have seen a few fans scuffle in stands but nothing major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Only when Cork come to Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Only when Cork come to Dublin...

:pac::pac::pac:

the worst fans I have come across in any sport would be Bohs fans.
    lol, youve obviously not much experience of sport then.

Whens the last time Bohs fans were involved in trouble? The crowd Rovers are playing in the Europa League killed a French scarfer by throwing him off a ten foot drop onto concrete just last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

CiaranC wrote: »

The supporters of the underage sides of two GAA clubs in Tallaght used to have organised rucks before, during or after their matches back in the late 80s/early 90s. Not sure if it still goes on.

St Annes and Thomas Davis? Don't think it's as bad at it was but there's still some real hatred between the two. There was a massive mill up at an underage game a couple of years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Wouldnt say there is hooliganism between fans too much in the gaa although I remember hearing about one time when Kilkenny people threw stones at Waterford fans buses in south Kilkenny.

However there has been plenty of fights between players, between players and the referee and between players and opposition backroom staff.

Also Shams fans are worse then Bohs fans

Anytime I've seen a bit of agro at a GAA match - about 3 times in a lifetime of going to matches - somebody has stepped in with that classic "Ah come on now lads, we're all Irish here". hehe. :D

Peacemaking, Irish style. :)

One of the most obvious reasons why, despite the massive attendances, there's a minuscule degree of trouble at GAA matches is because there's always somebody close by who knows you, your family and where you're from so if you decide to start trouble word will get back (Dublin supporters probably being excepted from this). That personal, familial and community reputation is a huge social pressure to not cause trouble. In the vast majority of cases there'll also be people in a group who will step in and calm things down if one of their number gets riled up by alcohol and misdirected emotional outbursts. For the genuine GAA fans there's also a large amount of pride attached to behaviour while wearing their county jersey.

Some historian (anybody know his/her name?) years back wrote about how the creation of the GAA was crucial in pacifing Ireland as it directed rivalries in every village, town and area in Ireland away from faction fighting and violence and into sport: fights between areas and families were channelled into hurling or football matches between one parish or townland against another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Not really, the Guardian in the UK wrote this pie3ce last Spetember

Do you have a link to that article Slasher?
    GAA not likely...maybe some stuff just happening during local club games is all I've really heard about (for the parish and all that), but outside the area I live in last night there were Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers "supporters" kickin the shit out of each other, organised as far as I can tell, many many arrests which made me happy :)

I live in Phibsboro, and there was a real intimidating garda presence on Friday night. I've never seen anything like it.There was sniffer dogs,and ten more times garda then I've ever seen at Croker. Made me pleased to be a GAA fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

panda100 wrote: »
    yep
    Dionysus wrote: »

Some historian (anybody know his/her name?) years back wrote about how the creation of the GAA was crucial in pacifing Ireland as it directed rivalries in every village, town and area in Ireland away from faction fighting and violence and into sport: fights between areas and families were channelled into hurling or football matches between one parish or townland against another.

Doesn't sound unlike this article in yesterdays Irish Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I live in Phibsboro, and there was a real intimidating garda presence on Friday night. I've never seen anything like it.There was sniffer dogs,and ten more times garda then I've ever seen at Croker. Made me pleased to be a GAA fan.

Ya can only love the auld hyperbole!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Sniffer dogs? How shocking. You're also wrong in saying there was more than 10 times more Gardaí than any match in Croker. Sensationalist rubbish.

The only place in Phibsboro that there does be a large Garda presence is Doyle's Corner, purely because of the fact that there's a natural bottleneck there for supporters of different clubs leaving different parts of the ground. It's as much for traffic control as for preventing any trouble.

I work in a pub near Croke Park and there's regularly fights after games. Louth and Dublin "fans" being the biggest culprits. After a Dublin game a few weeks back there was a large amount of furniture broken and two members of staff were assaulted. GAA fans are no angels. There's troublesome elements within all groups of sports fans.