Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London and UK riots (started in Tottenham 10:30PM, 6th Aug)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

If anyone has SKY go to Channel 847. It is showing a car driving around Birmingham, they are going around checking that their local Gurdwara is protected. Through the magic of google it tells me that they are Sikhs. Message on the bottom of the screen asking people to go out and protect their local Gurdwara. Seems to correspond to reports that rioters were chased away by Muslims but in this case it is Sikhs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Jaysus I really f*cling loathe 3 stripe branded nike brigade. I've not seen one grebo, do they even exist anymore this idiot zombie contagion knows no bounds

3 stripes is Adidas!

What is this, amateur hour?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Yahew wrote: »
    Did you just add the term "parasites" to my quote?

Why they are? I explained that - molly coddled socialism, and a criminal entrepreneurial culture of their own.

In no sense are the majority here working class. In general the working classes don't riot. The London working classes have to be up from 6Am tomorrow to get to work, to finance the rebuilding of London. The working classes are in bed, if they are in a safe area. Trying to ignore the riots. Some have nowhere to work because their place of work has burned down.

Meanwhile criminal lumpen proletarians will continue to riot.

No it was in their just selectively cropped. Sorry was not trying to troll but I believe that things like this can be prevented and the reasons are not as black and white as you say. Humans are not born thieves/savages and are products of their environment. The environment is not static and is created so can be changed. Just condemning without though is wrong IMO.

At least give this a watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

nuxxx wrote: »
    where the fcuk are the army?
    Something does not smell right, they are not even combining there forces and sending them to at least 1 area to show some sort of rule and control,

its like they are waiting to see if they get to the more affluent areas and then deploy a greater number of law inforcers to protect these fine places,

something does not smell right, the freedom they are getting to do as they please,

reports of only 100 to 200 yobs at a time in the different areas, Im bambaffeled.
    ascanbe wrote: »
    Perhaps the authorites have been ordered to step back.
    Maybe the conspiracy theorists are right and the engineered crash is underway.
    Just look what's happening on the stock markets of the world. :D:confused::eek:
    I know the police are doing their best to stay cool and keep things from escalating, but standing by and allowing scummers to freely loot shops doesn't exactly send out the best of messages either.

^ Food for thought indeed and all very relevant

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Taking jobs off local builders :(
    They're busy enough any way - look at them all on the TV running around with scaffolding poles just raring to get going on the rebuild.

----unless they're not real builders and they're using them poles for something else:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Latchy wrote: »
    It's like as if an army of locusts has invaded a city and steamrolled their way ,devouring everything in it's way .

Or, a Tsunami consisting of hoods and tracksuits.

I'd say some of creamed their undercrackers upon finding themselves inside a JJB store full of free runners/ tracksuits/ jerseys etc. .

• Registered Users Posts: 51,941 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

the bolt wrote: »
    what when they shot yer man duggan,yeah yer right,sorry

Jesus will you ever get a life or a life sentence and spare us this bull.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Where's Doctor Who when you need him? :confused:
    He'd be useless.
    I heard someone say he was a bit of a space cadet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

One important question that has yet to be answered, how the f uck are they gonna film Eastenders?!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I don't understand what their motives are. From watching it many of the people involved seem to be black british with the few whites and asians among them. The blacks are the third largest enthic group in London but maybe in those areas there is a lot of social problems, racial discrimination and of unemployment that have cause anger and rebellion in them. It started of as a protest but something happened others joined and more fuel was added to the fire that's when it became violent.

I really wish people would stop bringing up the ethnic group issue :(

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

Inquitus wrote: »
    00.01 Police have called in air support from Sussex and Surrey. Shops are burning in Clapham and Notting Hill. Cars have been torched in Fulham Broadway. The Ledbury Michelin-star restaurant in Notting Hill was raided and the diners mugged. There are reports on Twitter of people carrying machetes in Notting Hill and Balham.

If anything they seem to be growing in confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Irony, BBC reporter in Clapham standing outside a shop called Blacks...sign in window, Sensational Summer Clearout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Balloon Of a fish in C.

Scary to think where englands money goes ,when they can't look after their own country. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

merengueca wrote: »
    They're busy enough any way - look at them all on the TV running around with scaffolding poles just raring to get going on the rebuild.

----unless they're not real builders and they're using them poles for something else:eek:

Well I hope they don't start sending money back to Ireland :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Stinicker wrote: »
    But its jobs and help and increased welfare these poor guys need! Shooting them would be racist!

ahhh well, we wouldn't want to be seen as racist. Carry on so.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

More breaking news:

00.09 Wimbledon Guardian reports looters in Colliers Wood had to be rescued by firecrews after becoming trapped under the grill of a sportswear shop. In Chalk Farm, North London, the Guardian's Paul Lewis reports motorists are being attacked with bricks, with shouts of "Who's next, man?" There are youths in balaclavas carrying scaffolding poles. One shouted: "Let's go rob Hampstead."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Looting: The redistribution of wealth.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Stinicker wrote: »
    But its jobs and help and increased welfare these poor guys need! Shooting them would be racist!

Give it a f*cking rest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 tippboi

Residents in London should get something from there houses like a batton or whatever, stand out in the street in force and make sure that the looters, thugs scumbags don't destroy buildings. they should line themselfs along the streets and beat the living **** out of any one thats causing trouble..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

pfft

I was there when the original marsh farm riots were on the go.

All this "looking at it on the internet" is nice but detached. You can't beat the old days when you had to be there and it was all fields etc etc

Though you can't deny the fact that it has given better media play back.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Residents ordered to evacuate homes in Clapham junction

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Yahew wrote: »
    The people who join the army are not these people.

Horse-poo. The people who suffer in recessions are the people who actually work and lose their jobs ( and possibly their houses). Like Middle Income Ireland , not the perennial unemployed. The "under-privileged" losers are living in a world city, all around them are people who actually left their homes in Poland, HUngary, Somalia, Turkey and increasingly Ireland to build businesses and work. These are the businesses the massively over-coddled parasites are now burning down.

There seems to be 4 types of folks here tonite:

1. Happy that something bad is happening in England...which is always welcome news to them!

2. Folks that are using the situation to promote their bigoted ideas that immigrants and in this case black people are the cause for their failures in life...

3. People concerned about the world around them and wish no one any harm and pray this ends well

4. In the minority...well in AH...folks that are geniunely concerned about the well being of (lots) of their loved ones living in England..

My bet is more than a few of the posters on this thread fall in the first two categories...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

tippboi wrote: »
    Residents in London should get something from there houses like a batton or whatever, stand out in the street in force and make sure that the looters, thugs scumbags don't destroy buildings. they should line themselfs along the streets and beat the living **** out of any one thats causing trouble..

And then possibly get themselves stabbed for their troubles! I'd be getting out of there as soon as possible if it was me!

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

tippboi wrote: »

You first....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Hearing all these 'reasons' for the riots in England which are all bull****. The only reason people are rioting is that these people are scumbags

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Why HASNT the army being deployed to control these thugs? Wtf like? Its a field day for these kids wrecking everything in sight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

where de fcuk is robocop?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I hope the Arabs are looking at this, then they can point to the unrest as a dictatorship in power and send in their armies to remove it while killing 100,000s of civilians in the process. :cool: