Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

stupidly innocent things you did as a kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    I have a very similar story actually. Coming back from England, my brother got a toy gun (blatently obvious its a toy, something like this but even more toy-ish: http://canadianredneck.com/wp-content/uploads/store/products/images/69800050804376.jpg) but security thought it might be real so held us there for ages before finally deciding it was in fact a toy like anyone who looked at it could have seen. :rolleyes:

Just goes to show how much the quality of toys has changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Miss Brightside

When I was about 4 my cousin and I used to love playing in my neighbour's shed. One day I found a tin of black paint in there and decided it would be a nice idea to paint their house for them. My auntie found me a while later covered in black paint and with half the wall painted black as well!

Used to pick up used cigarette butts and pretend to smoke them as well.. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

cofy wrote: »
    Just goes to show how much the quality of toys has changed.
    I reckon this would have been close to 20 years ago! It was literally a chunk of plastic moulded to look like a (crappy) gun. It even had sound effects when you pressed the trigger and a big obvious speaker on the butt of it. But, they still spent several hours checking it out :confused:

Today, fair enough. Unlikely but their would still be a chance of something being dodgy with it but not back then surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Don't remember doing this at all but, apparently I was quite the nudist when I was 3/4. I used to take off my t-shirt/jumper and pull my pants, and jocks down and do laps around the street I lived on...

Thank **** I've grown out of that. It's just my pants and jocks that are ripped off these days. Wouldn't want to catch a cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,226 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Putting items in the VHS. Little plastic army men, my Mam's make-up, bread.

That's probably a common one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

J. Marston wrote: »
    Putting items in the VHS. Little plastic army men, my Mam's make-up, bread.

That's probably a common one.

I used to babysit for this little girl and she loved to watch movies and stuff. One day, I came over and her parents said she had broken the VCR - she had stuck a big chocolate chip cookie in it because she wanted to see Cookie Monster :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

I used to think D'Olier st. was pronounced Dollyer Street. And Harcourt st. was Hardcore st.

Jesus, I was dense.

I still called it that till my early twenties until somone pointed it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

I was 7 when my little sister was born. When she was about a week old I was holding her while sitting on the couch. Mum said she was going out to the garden to hang out the washing and to mind the baby for a few minutes. I was all proud that i was no a "big girl" and was minding the baby. Anyway phone rings and I get up with the baby to answer it. Reached the phone,accidently dropped the baby face first onto the tiled floor:eek:! Scary thing was she didnt even cry, just had a stunned face. Put her back in the pram and said nothing. Still haven't told my mother 22 years later!

Also the time we were coming to Ireland on holidays from the uk in the 80's. Dad pulls up to the customs checkpoint and opens the window. I said loudly " Dad what are they looking for..bombs or something?" Que a full car search! Dad never let me live that one down.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I used to think D'Olier st. was pronounced Dollyer Street. And Harcourt st. was Hardcore st.

Jesus, I was dense.

At the age of 19 I saw the name on a map and didn't have a clue how to say it. Had to spell it to a taxi driver.
    The best I could come up with was Dee-Oiler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭KatiexKOUTURE--

When I was about 5, I thought it was magical that when I rubbed a stone on the car that the paint scratched away. Sat for about a half an hour at this and ran into Mam saying I had cleaned her car for her when actually I had taken half the paint off the side of it :P

And when I was 3 I sat eating the little sachets that come in new shoes to keep them fresh. That was a fun trip to A and E :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

My kids at the moment think its fun in the morning when they wake, to stuff all the door locks with bits of paper.
    Great fun trying to lock the place up when we have to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

I drew a boat on my baby brother's arm with a razor blade. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,679 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I ran straight across the road in front of a car when I was 5.
    Fortunately it was a mark 4 escort so the driver wasn't going very fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭col.in.Cr

When i was 4 i took chewing gum that i had found stuck to the road and peeled it off and started chewing it. My parents freaked out when they saw me.

didnt we all?

Karona wrote: »
    On the subject of raw food, as a kid I would eat white pudding raw, used to love it and the funny thing is my mam would give it to me raw. I think she was trying to kill me. :eek:

Was left in the house with my granda who liked the odd glass of Guinness, but he didnt like the head of it, so he let me have it. My mam came home to a very drunk 4 year old, who then puked all over the place. My granda used to think it was hilarious to let me smoke or to curse, you'd see him behind his newspaper rattling with the laughter while i was getting given out to.

its cooked already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

I often eat raw pudding, Actually I eat frozen chips too....... (Just 1 or 2 though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Shifted my third cousin cause I thought id never see her again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

At christmas my mam used to buy the round tins of roses to give as presents I used to pull the selloptape off and take all the Strawberry ,Orange and caramel barrells ones and sellotape it back up so wouldn't know. Then she would give them away as presents.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

I used to throw the clock radio from my parents room down the stairs. No idea why but every time they'd buy a new one it'd last 2-3 days before I got my hands on it. They stopped buying them after a while

I used to the clock radio from my parents room down the stairs. No idea why but every time they'd buy a new one it'd last 2-3 days before I got my hands on it. They stopped buying them after a while

what did you do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

When I was about 5, I thought it was magical that when I rubbed a stone on the car that the paint scratched away. Sat for about a half an hour at this and ran into Mam saying I had cleaned her car for her when actually I had taken half the paint off the side of it :P

You're so lucky! If you'd been my kid, you'd not have lived to 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

cursai wrote: »
    Shifted my third cousin cause I thought id never see her again.

Did you see here again?
    Is she hot? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

oh sweet J -- have just read the whole thread and have stiches in my side from laughing so much ! :D
    my clangers were
    getting my foot stuck in my neighbour's cattle grid -- took ages and a lot of washing up liquid to get it out again :(
    and i was climbing the counters one evening at home and slipped - don't know how but i managed to land with my foot stuck / wedged into a small saucepan that was on the floor (thinking about it i suppose i must have knocked it off the counter on the way down?) .... anyway when my family finally stopped laughing at me they realised i was actually well and truely stuck ... ended up spraining my ankle on that one !
    i also cut my hand quite badly on a brand new spring thingy (for "tying the gap" on the cows) but was due to go to my cousins that evening for a sleepover so told noone and just wrapped it in a roll of toilet paper -- still have the scars from that today - runs the whole way from my thumb to my wrist :eek:
    continuing the theme for this generation, i left my two kids alone in the kitchen for a few mins one morning (in my defense i was looking for their hats) and came back to get a strong smell of capol ... my daughter had given herself and her little brother "3" spoons each - only stopped cos there was no more left in the bottle ! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭PFL

When I was seven I used to have a tuft of hair that always stuck up. I decided to take my dads razor to it, just to trim it back a little.

Ended up with a bald patch at the back of my head, panicked about been given out too so got some super glue and glued the hair back on and three of my fingers to my head.

My parents couldn't stop laughing while holding the wooden spoon, took weeks to grow back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

I remember finding a nearly empty bottle of dettol and adding a drop of water to it and downing it...grand for bout an hour....mam found out, cue head in toilet bowl chugging salty water :P ah the joys of being 7

• Registered Users Posts: 11 smeghead01

this thread literally has me in stitches!

myself and the younger sister did the same with the eggs, took ones from the press and wrapped them up, kept them in a hole in the footpath to see if theyd hatch!

i also butchered loads of my teddies with the scissors as i wanted to use the furr to make my own fluffy pencil-cases! didnt quite work out :pac: (i think i thought the hair would grow back?!)

also..the day before my confirmation i decided i wanted to "lose weight" for the big day..i dont know how many sit ups i did or what way i did them but i managed to badly sprain my neck, my head was stuck sideways for the next few days and my teacher couldnt stop laughing as i "wouldnt be able to look at the bishop straight" :rolleyes:

my two sisters and i also used to go to the shop and buy a heap of sweets, then bring them back to the neighbourhood, open up a "shop" and sell the stuff t all the other kids for less that wed bought them! not sure where our logic was on that one!!

i started nickin stuff from the local shop then too..(sweets, pokemon cards, important stuff!) and showed my younger sister how to do it too so that she could do it for me..you can imagine our mums horrified face when she found a HUGE stash of sweets hidden in both our pillows! i never felt so guilty in all my life when she found out what we'd been doing, stopped after that!

ahh to be young again:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

eurokev wrote: »
    When I was 7 I visited crag caves, and reached over a railing when nobody was looking and touched a staligmite. A lot of clay came off onto my hand. Later in my teens I found out this would have taken decades to form just this amount and Iv been feeling guilty about it ever since:(

As victor would say..."I don't believe it"

• Registered Users Posts: 7 NovabooM

Must have been around 6 or 7, when I thought it would be a great idea to take the mothers make up bag out on the road and give dodgy clown makeovers to the kids next door.

The mother looks out the window at us looking like kiss rejects, spots the good make up, loses the plot, so I do what all 6/7 year olds do in these situations I did a runner and decided to climb a good bit up an electricity pylon thing.

By the time my mother managed to coax me down it was fecking dark out and she was too tired to burst me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

When I was about 5, I seen my mam smoking cigarettes. When she left the room I took one from the box and sparked up. One puff and I was crying and choking. Not fun at all. Then I heard her coming back so I threw the cigarette away, not paying attention to where I was throwing it). She quizzed me on why I was crying and I replied "I'm not crying, ssshhh". Que the curtains bursting into flames and the fire department being called out. She never did forgive me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

MrsD007 wrote: »
    In the weeks running up to Christmas my mam used to store bottles of whiskey, brandy, chocolates and boxes of sweets at the bottom of her wardrobe.

My brother and I found a large box of Lemon's sweets (the ones with the picture of Santa on the box) and we opened the box from underneath. Every night we would steal a few sweets from the box but the box looked perfectly intact. When we had eaten more than half the contents of the box we decided we needed to do something to make up for the lost weight, so we gathered pea gravel from the garden and started wrapping up the stones and putting them into the box.

My mother gave away that box of sweets stones as a present, I often wondered who received it :pac: :pac: :pac:

I did that when I was younger with a tin of Victoria biscuits. They are yum! Except I stuffed with newspaper and put the cello tape around the lid perfectly... That went out for a present too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

When I was about six or seven I remember I opened the fridge and seen what I thought was orange juice in a cup, took a big mouth full of it turned out to be the egg yolks my mother left in a cup after separating from the whites for the meringues! :p Bleugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,444 ✭✭✭Riddle101

When I was a kid(about 8/9) during the days when I absolutely hated school, I used to constantly fake sick days in order to get out of going to school. The only thing is, I used to fake them EVERYDAY so my mam never really believed me that I said I was sick. Not until I started intentionally making myself sick. I eventually grew out of this though.

However there was another time when I managed to get 3 days off school. On the first day I only went halfway to the school but turned back, when i got home I told my mother that the pipes burst and the classroom was flooded so they gave us the day off. On the second day, I did the same thing, but when I got home I told them that they were still fixing the pipes. Finally on the third day I did it once more but this time I told them they were still trying to get rid of the water because the classroom was still flooded. My parents grew suspicious and practically interrogated me until I eventually confessed and told them there was no flood at all. I was grounded for 2 months and was not allowed to watch The Simpsons until my dad said it was ok. Which was 4 months after. Although I used to record the Simpsons episodes and watch them when my dad wasn't around so I found away to get around that:D. To this day I still think I pulled off a good con, my only downfall was that I got too cocky and thought I could get away with it for so long. Funny thing is though, I never did anything like that again so I guess I did actually learn my lesson I could've ditched school a lot when I was older but never did.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I was staying on my cousin's farm once when we were about 7. One day we decided to poo outside-as you do:)... we hoisted our skirts up and sqatted down for a relaxing crap and a chat. (It was only about 100yrds from the house ffs-lazy bstards). Anyway, we realised afterwards there was nothing about to wipe our arses with-not a dock leaf in sight. We pulled our knickers up to above our knees and walked like penguins into the house, through the sittingroom and kitchen past all the field workers having their dinner...and into the bathroom to finish what we'd started:o.

I remember me and her used to roll our dresses up to our armpits and pretend they were bikinis and pose like models on the side of the road:D..fcukin' hell the shame! I'd say she'd just die if I reminded her of that, she's gone all posh now.

Another time me and the same cousin were in my Granny's house. We were eating Wispa bars and wondered if the little statue of the Virgin Mary would like to share. We smeared some on her face and left the room...we waited awhile and went back in and convinced ourselves she'd licked some off.

I dropped a slice of bread once and washed it. I also paired my finger with a pencil sharpener:o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

At my cousins communion years ago his sister decided to give me an idea, at the time I seemed to think it was a fantastic one, so I washed my hair....in my ice cream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

eurokev wrote: »
    When I was 7 I visited crag caves, and reached over a railing when nobody was looking and touched a staligmite. A lot of clay came off onto my hand. Later in my teens I found out this would have taken decades to form just this amount and Iv been feeling guilty about it ever since:(

About 10 I wondered what I looked like with my eyes shut, so I walked up to the bathroom mirror and closed them.
    Also wondered what it was like to cycle with my eyes shut. Woke up on the pavement.
    About 12 I had a new chemistry set. I was trying to light a magnesium strip, holding it in metal pliers in a candle flame. No joy. Electric fire beside me! Bang!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

My mother occassionally reminds me of what a nightmare I was when my brother was born. Apparently I used to smear him and the house in Sudocream when she went to the loo. I also put all the cash from her purse down the outside drain one day.

I can remember one day, sitting on the seat on top of the Silvercross pram, in deepest winter, looking in at him wrapped up asleep and thinking that should be me in there. I hated him for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Sudocrem has come up a lot lately between this thread the the foaming the house thread. Have to make sure never to get sudocrem when I have kids :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

El Weirdo wrote: »
    It was Portugal.

At least get it right.

Am.... how do you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

I must have been a boring child because all my stories are about my brother

At the dentists when he was about 6 the nurse asked him what he does with toothpaste. "I eat it, it's yummy" was his reply

Not long after, he tried to follow me across the road and ran into the side of a moving car, dented the whole thing the fat b*stard. I was bringing him in home to my Mam and he asks me "What happened my nose?"

My favourite story about him though, was when we were on our first trip abroad to London, he was only 4. Sitting on a bus across the way from a black lad, he points and shouts very loudly "Dad, look at the man with the chocolate nose!". the whole bus enjoyed that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Used to go for a walk to the sugerloaf every sunday after mass. We would spend saturday night making suger sandwiches to leave for the sugerloaf monster. We were delighted every week to arrive to the top and see that he had eaten our sandwiches from last week.

When my mum would buy me shoes I didnt likr, I would go out plsying and find somewhere to bury them. She always tried to force me to tell her where they buried but I never did

Also whenever I was given out to, which was often, I would delcare that I was running away. Id go to my room pull everything out of the drawers pack a plastic bag and then walk around my estate for 10mins or so before I got bored.

I used to catch Crows & Magpies in a overturned shopping basket with some bread and string.
    It kinda felt like i was Steve Irwin, before he was on the TV.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

i used to eat snails, the small ones and i once drank dirty brown water from puddles in the garden, slipped and fell against a sharp stone. got 2 stitches in my forehead for my efforts. i was around 5 years old.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Miss Brightside

When I was younger my mum used to let us have one sweet after dinner and that was it. Being the greedy little ****e that I was, after I had already eaten my Milky Bar I decided I wanted another one so I craftily hid the wrapper somewhere I didn't think anyone would ever find it: up my nose.
    It was only a little while later when it started getting a bit hard to breathe that I told my parents. They couldn't get it out and called the local nurse, but it was so wedged up there that she couldn't get it out either! At this point it had been in for hours and was starting to get infected, so the nurse said we'd have to go to hospital to get it removed. I live in Donegal and the nearest hospital with an Ear Nose & Throat department was in Sligo, so cue a three hour drive to Sligo Hospital to get the wrapper out of my nose!

I stuck to just the one Milky Bar after that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

I handcuffed my cats together :(

• Registered Users Posts: 27 msjess

i used too stick toilet paper up my nose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I was a really messy child and my bedroom was always a state. My parents used to check how clean it was weekly, or I wouldn't get pocket money.

Our house had an extension so directly below my bedroom window was the flat roof of the kitchen. Every Friday, I would open my bedroom window, and throw everything that was on my floor onto the flat roof. Dirty clothes, clean clothes, toys, school books, everything.

Then I would close the curtains for the inspection, claiming the sun was too bright. Got away with it for about 6 months until the parents noticed half my clothes were missing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭event

HowAreWe wrote: »

how small were the handcuffs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

HowAreWe wrote: »
    thats,,, genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ann22 wrote: »
    I was staying on my cousin's farm once when we were about 7. One day we decided to poo outside-as you do:)... we hoisted our skirts up and sqatted down for a relaxing crap and a chat. (It was only about 100yrds from the house ffs-lazy bstards). Anyway, we realised afterwards there was nothing about to wipe our arses with-not a dock leaf in sight. We pulled our knickers up to above our knees and walked like penguins into the house, through the sittingroom and kitchen past all the field workers having their dinner...and into the bathroom to finish what we'd started:o.

dafuq?