Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three Gardai found guilty in assault case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bosco boy wrote: »
    I think it's time there was a lower age limit for those who can post on boards

from someone who calls himself "Bosco Boy"..thats good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

LOL @ people saying I hope he was prosecuted for pissing in the street.

Everywhere was closed and he had obviously been drinking. The drink has to go somewhere. If you ever go on long journeys during the night what are you meant to do? Piss in a bottle in a car and stink your car out with piss? I'd rather not.

If there's no viable option I think in the dead of night you should be able to take a piss up a side street rather than pissing yourself. As for the suggestion that he should have went before he left the club - that's realistic isn't it? Club is closing and a few hundred people go to use the jacks at the same time. Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Doing it on the street is not an option , - Its against the law .

look what happens when law and order breaks down.- ( London tonight )

The Gardai have to implement the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

jive wrote: »
    LOL @ people saying I hope he was prosecuted for pissing in the street.

Everywhere was closed and he had obviously been drinking. The drink has to go somewhere. If you ever go on long journeys during the night what are you meant to do? Piss in a bottle in a car and stink your car out with piss? I'd rather not.

If there's no viable option I think in the dead of night you should be able to take a piss up a side street rather than pissing yourself. As for the suggestion that he should have went before he left the club - that's realistic isn't it? Club is closing and a few hundred people go to use the jacks at the same time. Right.

As you say a side street but not the middle on the street in front of people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

mattjack wrote: »
    I think it's time there was a lower age limit for those who can post on boards

from someone who calls himself "Bosco Boy"..thats good...

Christ, you got me with that one, you must be in secondary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

As you say a side street but not the middle on the street in front of people.

New Street is up the road from all the clubs and all but one pub. It would be very quiet that time of night. In fact given that he was pissing there suggests that he actually walked up there to piss out of sight and AFAIK it's poorly lighted. He could have been walking up that way anyway, all I'm saying is it is pretty much a side street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

jive wrote: »
    New Street is up the road from all the clubs and all but one pub. It would be very quiet that time of night. In fact given that he was pissing there suggests that he actually walked up there to piss out of sight and AFAIK it's poorly lighted. He could have been walking up that way anyway, all I'm saying is it is pretty much a side street.

Ok then but someone saw him. I often went to open my business in the mornings and found that someone has pissed in the doorway the night before. The stench of it is not nice and heating warm soapy water to clean it was time consuming. Have to say i hate this kind of thing but people have to find somewhere quiet to do their business when short-taken.
    The Garda action was way over the top though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Can you legally have a shít on the street?,this myth seems to be going around for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

Jesus who can ya trust now? even the Gardaí in charge of protecting us are behaving like thugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Can you legally have a shít on the street?,this myth seems to be going around for years.

There is a specific law to urinating in the street, but nothing specific for taking a dump. You could however be charged under the public order act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Christ, you got me with that one, you must be in secondary

take a look at some of the other posts around the thread....and remember its After Hours...lighten up a little..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Doing it on the street is not an option , - Its against the law .

Usually it's against a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

One of them resigned-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-resigns-from-force-after-street-assault-guilty-verdict-2844146.html
    A GARDA found guilty of assaulting a man who resisted arrest has resigned from the force.
    Garda Daniel Hickey was found guilty last week of assault causing harm against Anthony Holness, a man who urinated in public in Waterford city last year.
    He and two other colleagues are facing prison terms, ranging between two years to life, for their role in the assault on Mr Holness who complained about the incident to the Garda Siochana Ombudsman Commission (GSOC).
    That led to the first convictions against serving members of the gardai for an assault in the course of their duties.
    Legal experts say that the resignation, in which ex-Garda Hickey has forfeited his future salary and pension entitlements, could be taken into consideration by the trial judge at Hickey's sentence hearing later this year.
    The resignation and other factors, including the potential difficulties for serving and former gardai facing custodial sentences, may lead to Hickey's sentence being reduced.
    Some reduction in sentencing, up to and including the suspension of a sentence -- meaning no jail time at all -- has been granted by the courts in the past to serving and former gardai and prison officers because of suggestions that they are likely to suffer more in prison and have to be isolated from the general prison population.
    Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan will shortly receive a report from GSOC before deciding whether a range of disciplinary sanctions, including expulsion or suspension from the force, should be taken against Sergeant Martha McEnery and Garda John Burke -- who were also convicted following a lengthy jury trial at Waterford Circuit Criminal Court.
    All three, who are currently remanded on bail, will be sentenced on November 7.
    Another garda, Sergeant Alan Kissane, was acquitted of assault causing harm and is expected to return to his duties.
    The three convictions are the first secured by GSOC following a jury trial since it came into being in 2007, and comes as the courts are experiencing an increase in prosecutions involving alleged garda misconduct.
    Last May, Dean Foley, a garda stationed at Bantry in Cork, escaped a six-month jail term after his legal team argued that "it is a much more difficult thing" for a garda or prison officer to serve a sentence.
    Foley, who resigned from the force, was sentenced to an 18-month jail term -- with 12 months originally suspended -- after knocking his victim unconscious.
    The following day the trial judge agreed to suspend the entire sentence after hearing defence submissions that gardai and prison officers suffer more in prison.
    The convictions follow the acquittal last month of four Dublin-based gardai who stood trial for the alleged assault of a teenager in his home.
    It also comes as the GSOC, which refused to release the Waterford CCTV footage to the Irish Independent, launched a preliminary investigation into the conduct of two senior gardai who ran an informant and self-confessed murder suspect off the books for years before a Dublin drug dealer was murdered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

You could however be charged under the public order act.

...or littering :p