Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus / Notes

• 10-08-2011 11:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 39

So I was working late this evening, so late that when I left work (around 10pm), the local newsagents were closed. Without having change, I faced either a 20 min walk to the city centre or use a 5 euro to try board the bus.

I boarded a bus, and attempted to pay a 2.30 fare with a 5 euro note. The bus driver refused to accept it. I argued that since it was legal tender, he had to accept it, but I don't expect any change. He then told me, quite aggressively, if I didn't leaves the bus he would call his depot. I refused to leave, and the driver carried on (with my fiver in the machine). I thanked the driver, explaining I just wanted to get home. We carried on until we passed Pearse St. Garda station. The driver stopped and two gaurds entered the bus, I explained my logic to them, but after listening they (garda 3*4b, red haired guy about 5'10") foceably removed me from the bus. Once removed, I explained my logic and asked why I was removed. They told me it was because a 5e note cannot be paid. I disagreed saying that was not my understanding of the law, reiterating my understanding (legal tender is good for goods/services within the state) and stating I was not expecting a refund of change. They told "if you have a problem, go to the garda ombudsman" and tried to imply I was drunk.

My question: was I wrong?

Google says the following:
    Euro coins and banknotes became legal tender in most countries of the Eurozone on January 1, 2002. Although one side of the coins is used for different national marks for each country, all coins and all banknotes are legal tender throughout the eurozone. Therefore, it is possible to find Irish euro coins in Greece and Finnish euro coins in Portugal, for instance. Although some eurozone countries do not put 1 cent and 2 cent coins into general circulation (prices in those countries are by general understanding always rounded to whole multiples of 5 cent), 1 cent and 2 cent coins from other eurozone countries remain legal tender in those countries.

European Regulation EC 974/98 limits the number of coins that can be offered for payment to fifty. [10] National laws may also impose restrictions as to maximal amounts that can be settled by coins or notes.

I just wanted to get home.

Shouldn't gaurds be able to protect citizens rights as well as big state bodies, should they have helped me out?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

FFS, you know buses only take coins! why bother trying with a note.

Either get a bus pass of be more prepared next time!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

So you got a free journey into the city centre and then were escorted off the bus. I presume you were then able to get some change and pay the bus fare home on the next bus? You don't say the Gardai were going to charge you, and it's not on quoting the Garda's number on a public forum.

It's for reasons like this that I always have a T90 ticket (and it's cheaper too).

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Eamo01

FFS, you know buses only take coins! why bother trying with a note.

FFS, Did you read my post? :rolleyes
    the local newsagents were closed. Without having change, I faced either a 20 min walk to the city centre or use a 5 euro to try board the bus.

I behaved in a way that I reasonably expected would be acceptable. I know the rules, but also expect people to be reasonable, and to follow the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Shelli2

From http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/Fares--Tickets/Fare-Information/
    "Getting on the bus – How to pay

Tell the driver where you want to go.
    The driver will tell you how much your fare is.
    Whenever possible please try to have the correct coins available for your fare. All Dublin Bus services are exact fare only (except Airlink 747) and drivers cannot accept euro notes or give change.
    Put your coins in the automatic fare machine which you will see in front of the driver.
    The driver will give you the ticket for your journey. Please keep your ticket for inspection.
    If you do not have the correct coins for your fare the driver will give you a change receipt.
    You can use this to collect your change at
    Dublin Bus Head Office,
    59 Upper O’Connell Street,
    Dublin 1."

Everyone knows that buses don't accept notes, they never have, even before the machines when the drivers took the cash.

Edit to add: Having re-read your OP, it seems you also put your note into the fare machine!! That's ridiculous, it will block the machine and cause the driver even more trouble, i'm not surprised he was fed up and unreasonable with you. Did you at least try to explain your situation before shoving it into the machine?

So you got a free journey into the city centre and then were escorted off the bus. I presume you were then able to get some change and pay the bus fare home on the next bus? You don't say the Gardai were going to charge you, and it's not on quoting the Garda's number on a public forum.

Not a problem except the bus I get only comes about every 60mins = major wait

Garda number is public information, posted as I felt poorly treated by them (to see if other have a similar experience)...will edit out of post.

I understand Dublin does not accept notes, but my question is: Is that legal under EC 794/79?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Yes I read it!

Buses take coins, do you not read this when you get onto a bus?

You had 20e and no change yet you know buses don't take notes under any cirumstances yet you still thought you had the right to pay with a note....

You could have gotten a taxi.. simples!

would you try paying cash for something that is advertised as paypal only? I think not.

Misticles: DID Yor really read my post (I only had a measly 5e)...
    You had 20e and no change yet you know buses don't take notes under any cirumstances yet you still thought you had the right to pay with a note....

Shelli2: I did try explain (including local shops closed etc.), but after that didn't work, I thought it was unreasonable not to take real money - so I tried it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Legal tender must be accepted in settled of a debt only - there was no debt - he was under no obligation to accept your money. You were wrong - Fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭Sarah Bear

he didnt have to let you on the bus! you OFFERED to pay him 5 euro he refused to accept it. in order for the contract to be valid there must be offer and accepetance.

Ok - So I guess I'm wrong on this one. I was wrong and I'll admit it. Still wish that first bus driver would have just let me on though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Eamo01 wrote: »
    Ok - So I guess I'm wrong on this one. I was wrong and I'll admit it. Still wish that first bus driver would have just let me on though.
    Not only were you wrong but you wasted several minutes of other passengers time as well as delaying a bus and also cost the state by taking up and wasting the time of at least two guards who no doubt had a lot more important things to do than attend to someone who wanted to argue the different points of Dublin bus bye-laws on the step of a bus! I'm not a bit surprised they thought you were drunk!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

As said above, you didn't have a right to expect the bus journey. Dublin Bus only ofers the service on the premise that they accept coin or prepaid cards only. Technically the bus driver wasn't "refusing legal tender" he was just excercising his right to refuse the use of his service to you.

Disregarding the legalities of it, I've often paid with notes, or when the bus driver wasn't able to give me the change of the note or juggle it somehow with other passengers, I usually get a free bus trip anyway. It's all about attitude and from the sound of the OP, it was sorely lacking here.

I have to admit, I completely disagree with the opinions on here. Boardsies must be extremely by-the-book in real life.

If the bus driver had any common decency at all he would've just let the OP be. If the OP got on with six cans and started blaring music on his phone and calling everyone 'bud' and making a mess of the place, I'd fully expect and hope that two Gardaí would pull him off the bus by the scruff of the neck.

However, the OP clearly describes this as him being genuine and offering to pay more than twice the price of the fare so he can just get home.

Bus driver sounds like a bitter old prick, to me.

Disregarding the legalities of it, I've often paid with notes, or when the bus driver wasn't able to give me the change of the note or juggle it somehow with other passengers

I agree, and so have I. My attitude here does not reflect my attitude to the driver initially, I explained my situation and asked him politely if he might accept the 5e (with no change expected) - only after i was rebuffed did I waste others time, and I admit I was incorrect.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I have to admit, I completely disagree with the opinions on here. Boardsies must be extremely by-the-book in real life.

If the bus driver had any common decency at all he would've just let the OP be. If the OP got on with six cans and started blaring music on his phone and calling everyone 'bud' and making a mess of the place, I'd fully expect and hope that two Gardaí would pull him off the bus by the scruff of the neck.

However, the OP clearly describes this as him being genuine and offering to pay more than twice the price of the fare so he can just get home.

He asked two questions: Was he wrong (was the bus driver obligated to accept his note)
    Should the guards have "helped" him (presume he means made the driver take him?)
    The answer to both is no. The bus driver probably was just a bitter old prick but when I've been in the situation I buttered the cúnt up, and got a free bus ride home, I didn't start spouting (false) legal stuff.

Like I said, it's all about attitude.

So because the op had been working late at the office he should be excused ignorance of the long standing policy of Dublin bus to accept coins only? Where has the op been living for the last couple of decades? Where was the driver supposed to put the note that was offered to him? If found to have handled cash he would be sacked!

The op also states they faced a 20minute walk into the city centre, are they seriously expecting people to believe they would not have passed a spar or centra or other convenience store or public house en route where they could have got change?

foggy_lad wrote: »
    So because the op had been working late at the office he should be excused ignorance of the long standing policy of Dublin bus to accept coins only? Where has the op been living for the last couple of decades? Where was the driver supposed to put the note that was offered to him? If found to have handled cash he would be sacked!

The op also states they faced a 20minute walk into the city centre, are they seriously expecting people to believe they would not have passed a spar or centra or other convenience store or public house en route where they could have got change?

Fair enough.

Let's say you're out for a few drinks, you're fairly drunk and decide to call it a night. You leave the pub and head for the taxi rank that's just around the corner. Before you can reach it, two Gardaí stop you and fine you €500 for being intoxicated ina public place.

You haven't swore at anyone, damaged anyone's property, been insulting or abusive, nor have you made anyone feel intimidated.

Do you feel that the €500 fine is justified, because it's a long-standing policy?

The bus driver should have had a bit of cop on and realised a genuine case when he seen it.

Again, though, that's just my own opinion.

Fair enough.

Let's say you're out for a few drinks, you're fairly drunk and decide to call it a night. You leave the pub and head for the taxi rank that's just around the corner. Before you can reach it, two Gardaí stop you and fine you €500 for being intoxicated ina public place.

You haven't swore at anyone, damaged anyone's property, been insulting or abusive, nor have you made anyone feel intimidated.

Do you feel that the €500 fine is justified, because it's a long-standing policy?

The bus driver should have had a bit of cop on and realised a genuine case when he seen it.

Again, though, that's just my own opinion.
    So the op is a genuine case and the single mother who is loaded down with shopping and is short a euro is not? Why should any driver put their job at risk for any customer who knows the rules and bye-laws but chooses to be an ass and waste passengers and guards time?

As for your example anyone in a situation like you described would have to be really drunk and a danger to themselves or others and at that would be arrested and maybe fined €60-€80. Most people would be pointed in the direction of their taxi.

Another way to view it is if you went to your local pub and found you had left your wallet at home, most people would not be refused a few pints by the staff.

Now imagine that the beer taps and bottle fridges are all coin operated and the staff will just tell you there is nothing they can do as they are not allowed handle cash and can't issue drink without a deposit of coins.

The driver can't let you travel without a ticket either because of the hassle it would cause if an inspector gets on, much like a barman won't let you bring your own beer into a pub to drink.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    So the op is a genuine case and the single mother who is loaded down with shopping and is short a euro is not? Why should any driver put their job at risk for any customer who knows the rules and bye-laws but chooses to be an ass and waste passengers and guards time?

If she's weighed down by shopping then she had the €1 and just never bothered to consider the bus. She's not a genuine case in my opinion.

As for your example anyone in a situation like you described would have to be really drunk and a danger to themselves or others and at that would be arrested and maybe fined €60-€80. Most people would be pointed in the direction of their taxi.

Intoxiation in a public place has a maximum fine of €500 I do believe. You don't need to be a danger to other people. Yes, most sensible Gardaí wouldn't bother you, but if one did fine you the €500, would you really just happily accept it because it's a long-standing policy?

That's the problem that I have with your argument about the OP and the Bus Driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Sorry, how was he risking the driver's job?

Dublin us drivers are not allowed handle cash at all and are not allowed accept notes and (maybe a Dublin bus driver can confirm?) afaik they risk being sacked if found to have accepted a €5 note from a passenger or to have given any passenger cash change for a note.

KKV the difference is that the exact fare and coin only is more than just a policy and is in constant use on all Dublin bus services while the intoxication offence is Mostly not used and possibly harder to prove in practice than the more common selection of public order offences which have similarly high maximum fines but with Irish fines the maximum is rarely if ever issued.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

People and abit of knowledge that they incorrectly assume apply to their situation are dangerous. OP you were in the wrong and being unreasonable. The drivers actions were correct as were the Gardai.

Essentially you ignored a reasonable request to leave the bus and as you hadn't paid the fare you were trespassing (on the bus without permission after the driver asked you to remove yourself) and using the bus without a valid fare.

You can view that legal tender can be used to pay for a debt for use of products and/or services but the driver refused you any use of the product and/or services before any debt was owed by you. Accordingly no legal tender had to be accepted.

Finally I honestly don't blame the Gardai for how they handled it, you were being unreasonable, you had an incorrect interpretation of the law and you were wasting both the Gardai and the bus driver (and other passengers) time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Nevore wrote: »
    Technically the bus driver wasn't "refusing legal tender" he was just excercising his right to refuse the use of his service to you.

"Technically", the bus driver did refuse legal tender - it's just that he was under no obligation to accept it in the first place, so he did nothing wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

OP, you should have actually been fined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭maxer68

I argued that since it was legal tender, he had to accept it.

I disagreed saying that was not my understanding of the law, reiterating my understanding (legal tender is good for goods/services within the state) and stating I was not expecting a refund of change.

Before bulsh1tting someone with your "knowledge of law" you need to understand it fully - otherwise you'll get treated exactly as you were. - From the post, it looks like you tried to take a higher ground and state law, legal tender and "you must". The driver doesn't want, need or deserve such a rant and decided to teach you a lesson.

Next time, be nice. - Manners and respect cost nothing and can get you a lot further in life than the bull you've spouted in the post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Drivers have taken notes from me for fare (with no change,) on more than one occasion. Must just be who you get.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

..........., red haired guy about 5'10........

That's racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

OP would seem like a crazy person to me, If I was the driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Just to clarify a point here, if a tourist and his family (or one who is not totally aufait with all the dub bus regulations ) attempts to board the bus and attempts to pay the fare of lets say €10.50 with a €10 note and a 50c coin, that the driver is obliged to refuse the fare on the basis that they dont accept notes ???