Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freeman Megamerge

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

I think that this may be in no small part because of their confusion between the Uniform Commercial Code and University College Cork.

It's a bit like when an angry, illiterate mob turned on a paediatrician:

Morons.

Reminds me, very sadly, of this:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭mackerski

Robbo wrote: »
    Things are getting weirder in Ballyphehane. The local newspaper's been threatened, UCC is a pirate organisation under the aegis of Pfizer (Cap'n Viagra, I presume) and the Gardai have been rightly kicking down doors.

"It's another case of people taking the law into their own hands and that's what councillors are for."

This story just keeps giving.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Moment of truth coming for Ben™ tomorrow - contempt motion is returnable before Ryan J. Apparently Eugene McDermott, the stud farm owner, came in earlier today to purge his contempt, left with a flea in his ear and costs against him.

Charlie Allen's still on the lam, afaik, which leaves Ben™ in a very lonely place, the initial contempt order having been against all three.

Does he come in cap in hand and say how sorry he is and that he'll never breach another court order? Will be difficult for him to finally acknowledge the fact that he doesn't actually have any magic law spells, but it's that or jail.

Or does he double down on the woo and try to have his Robert Emmett moment? Start throwing Notices of Intent/Claims of Right around all over the place and demanding payment in gold, before being hauled off?

Either way, no doubt his loyal followers will spin it as a massive victory and/or martyrdom for him, but it should definitely be one to watch.

Don't think he's actually appeared in court except as a MacKenzie friend, will be interesting to see how he approaches it when it's his own neck on the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

benway wrote: »
    Don't think he's actually appeared in court except as a MacKenzie friend, will be interesting to see how he approaches it when it's his own neck on the line.

My guess is that he'll be a nice quiet boy while he's sitting in front of a Judge.

Possibly, possibly not. He's always struck me as an exceptionally arrogant and bullheaded man.

I certainly know where I'm going to be tomorrow morning.

Stephen-Colbert-Popcorn.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Possibly, possibly not. He's always struck me as an exceptionally arrogant and bullheaded man.

I certainly know where I'm going to be tomorrow morning.

Stephen-Colbert-Popcorn.gif

wow its in 3D too :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Here's the Indo report of Eugene McDermott's return to sanity.

If he'd have just gone to New Beginnings in the first place instead of after all this horse****, he would have saved himself some amount of costs awarded against him.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭Doge

It's a bit like when an angry, illiterate mob turned on a paediatrician:

Self-styled vigilantes attacked the home of a hospital paediatrician after apparently confusing her professional title with the word "paedophile"

3390182310_f86c82cb95.jpg

43201973.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Moment of truth coming for Ben™ tomorrow - contempt motion is returnable before Ryan J. Apparently Eugene McDermott, the stud farm owner, came in earlier today to purge his contempt, left with a flea in his ear and costs against him.

Charlie Allen's still on the lam, afaik, which leaves Ben™ in a very lonely place, the initial contempt order having been against all three.

Does he come in cap in hand and say how sorry he is and that he'll never breach another court order? Will be difficult for him to finally acknowledge the fact that he doesn't actually have any magic law spells, but it's that or jail.

Or does he double down on the woo and try to have his Robert Emmett moment? Start throwing Notices of Intent/Claims of Right around all over the place and demanding payment in gold, before being hauled off?

Either way, no doubt his loyal followers will spin it as a massive victory and/or martyrdom for him, but it should definitely be one to watch.

According to the courts website Ben has filled 2 affidavits yesterday, as I'm in Dublin today may take a wander in for a listen.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

infosys wrote: »
    According to the courts website Ben has filled 2 affidavits yesterday, as I'm in Dublin today may take a wander in for a listen.
    Whilst the usual convention in the filings is for the deponents name to be listed in capitals on a High Court Search; either through some wonderous typo, divilment in the Central Office or Ben's own witchcraft, his latest filings name in in lower case only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Fun and games in Scotland

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/video-cool-cops-witty-banter-2815416

I did have a giggle at the 'My parents are both confirmed liars, they told me about Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny' line.

Whilst the usual convention in the filings is for the deponents name to be listed in capitals on a High Court Search; either through some wonderous typo, divilment in the Central Office or Ben's own witchcraft, his latest filings name in in lower case only.

I dream of a day where Freemen are forced to sit in courts dressed out as pirate ships... "Yar ye be Ben of the clan Gilroy be ye"

Their heads would explode... and so would the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,124 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

infosys wrote: »

I'd love to read your report back, should you make it in :)

Adjourned to oral hearing in January. Gilroy claiming he was invited in and thought he was there lawfully and Ryan J wants oral evidence of that.

Videos and internet radio interviews gonna form part of the cross exam too it seems.

Bit of an anticlimax, really. No sign of woo from Ben™, he actually had that English junior in tow who used to advise John Gill, seemingly assisted him in drafting his second affidavit.

Was quite funny to hear him say that he had absolute respect for the court and would never knowingly breach an order. Sure thing, Ben™.

Seemed to me that he'd come in looking to defend it on the basis that he'd acted innocently and on the basis that he was invited by Charlie Allen on the basis of the Rodolphus hokum, with no knowledge he was in breach.

When he heard that the receivers had exhibited videos from the day, one made by the receiver, one produced by his supporters painting him as a key mover and shaker and worst of all an interview he gave to an internet radio station allegedly taking credit for the whole thing, he tried to move the goalposts by saying he was never served - think the summons server was in court if needed and will be there the next day.

Must've been at least 50 supporters there, maybe more, at one stage the receviers' senior mentioned mob rule, to much "waaaahey" from the assembled throng. Was all good-humoured enough, but I could see it getting nasty if things went against him.

Overheard one of their number going on about this being the JFK anniversary, and how Ben™ was going to be like JFK, Charles Stewart Parnell, Pádraig Pearse and Daniel O'Connell rolled in to one.

Tbh, I almost felt a little bit sorry for him there - looked a bit rattled to me, especially doesn't seem to be relishing the prospect of being cross-examined. It's like he's created a monster with his woo and rabble-rousing: he can't simply back down and apologise here for fear of losing face, but at the same time he's clearly very scared of going to jail. Should've thought of that when he was encouraging others to put themselves in contempt and risk jail, though.

Hard to see how he can avoid it if he's putting himself in the middle of things on that radio interview, as was suggested. Can't wait for the sequel ...

Bit of an anticlimax, really. No sign of woo from Ben™, he actually had that English junior in tow who used to advise John Gill, seemingly assisted him in drafting his second affidavit.
    Funny you should mention him because he's back at similar internet antics to before.

What's the return date? We should organise it as a Boards Beers, with post match analysis in Hughes' afterwards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

What's the return date?

Tuesday 21st January I think. Not sure how long it's listed for, but seems that there's at least a full day in it by the way it's shaping up.

It's yesterday's man John Gill I feel the most sorry for in all of this, used to be a time that he was undisputed king of the cranks.

Some man to refer to himself in the third person, all the same. Also like that the url for "John Gill Blog 2013" is http://johngill2012.com/. Still got it, Johnny boy.

Funny you should mention him because he's back at similar internet antics to before.

What's the return date? We should organise it as a Boards Beers, with post match analysis in Hughes' afterwards...

Ah man - that would be fun...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,124 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Tuesday 21st January I think. Not sure how long it's listed for, but seems that there's at least a full day in it by the way it's shaping up.

The Legal Eagle will just about be reopened from it's Christmas Holiday by then :pac:

The Indo report of Ben's latest appearance.

TL;DR "An older boy made me do it".

"Activist Gilmore"

Moderator: Image snipped, copyright. Any complaints go to Seán Sherlock.

It's grand, they still haven't corrected it on the Indo - could really do with hiring a sub or two over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭BlutendeRabe

"Activist Gilmore"

Tsk. Freeman is the correct honorific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭jd

International treaty??

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-given-last-opportunity-to-hold-on-to-family-home-1.1607096
    ..In a separate case, GE Capital Woodchester sought a new order for possession for a property it originally repossessed in 2012. Counsel for the lender told the court that the borrower, a man in his 30s from Mullingar, Co Westmeath, had broken back into the property.
    When the lender wrote to notify him of yesterday’s court action, the borrower sent back the letter with a note on it stating he did not recognise the sender and “did not have an international treaty” with it.
    Mr Justice McGovern noted the “very strange message” and granted the new order..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭rameire

jd wrote: »

I have seen that message on letters before.
    Crazy woo woo

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Charlie made the fatal error of not wearing his magical yellow waistcoat

the Gardai got wind of his vulnerable state and swooped

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭littlemac1980

One thing I love about the Examiner doorstepping Charlie (sans Magic Waistcoat) was that it was nice to see a Freeman getting a camera shoved in their face when trying to go about their business.

Meanwhile, another member of the Trust has failed to show up or be represented by them.