Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gateways Glendalough cancelled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭GoldenTickets

While there's every chance that I'm miles outside of the loop and this is a well known "festival", I have to say I've never heard of it. So I can't say I'm too surprised it's been cancelled.

It says in that link that the festival was "invite only" last year, hardly a good way to draw a crowd. Must try harder lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 WicklowNews

The invite only was a way of keeping it small in order to avoid the problems with council event bylaws or whatever. It was really chilled and cool. Bit harsh, I think the lads tried their best but not to be. It's not all about trying to make it huge.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

I was invited to go last year but couldnt. But my friends really enjoyed it very relaxed and everyone had a great time

It all sounds a bit amateurish to be honest, or to put it less harshly, a bit naive. Invite-only would suggest to me that the people organising the event just invited their friends. It's very hard to charge your friends for something and the approach of asking people for a voluntary donation will never bring in as much money as having a set ticket price.

A lot of events calling themselves festivals have gone south over the past few years because they were badly thought out or organised by people who don't have a proper grasp of business. These festivals are nice ideas, but it's no surprise at all that they don't succeed.

Any idea what the capacity for this event was?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

It all sounds a bit amateurish to be honest, or to put it less harshly, a bit naive. Invite-only would suggest to me that the people organising the event just invited their friends.

I think that was the whole point? Keep it small, keep it a friends of friends kinda set-up. I know a few of the lads that were running it, and the whole ethos was never to make a profit. It was to have a good time and hopefully cover costs.

While I am disappointed that it was cancelled, I was at the pre-party weekend 6 weeks ago, which felt exactly like a small festival anyway, so I don't feel I missed out!

Hopefully next year it'll be back.......

I think that was the whole point? Keep it small, keep it a friends of friends kinda set-up.

Absolutely nothing wrong with that. Just don't call it a festival then. That sounds like a private party to me.

Not really, it just keeps the scummers out.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

While there's every chance that I'm miles outside of the loop and this is a well known "festival", I have to say I've never heard of it. So I can't say I'm too surprised it's been cancelled.

It says in that link that the festival was "invite only" last year, hardly a good way to draw a crowd. Must try harder lads.

It's only been on for 1 year so hardly surprising that it's not well known.
    The 'invite only' thing is a bit of a misnomer, anyone could be invited through facebook, and anyone could purchase tickets through the website. They were basically using the same platform as many new festivals, word of mouth. It was intended to be a small festival and those who run it are by no mean amateurs! Unfortunate that this happened, I was realy lookin forward to it. The launch was amazing, one of the highlights of the summer for me.
    Hope everything gets back on track for next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

It all sounds a bit amateurish to be honest, or to put it less harshly, a bit naive. Invite-only would suggest to me that the people organising the event just invited their friends. It's very hard to charge your friends for something and the approach of asking people for a voluntary donation will never bring in as much money as having a set ticket price.

you seem a bit ignorant of the culture of small gigs/festivals. plenty are "invite only", in that they don't advertise and word of mouth/internet spreads information about it. a lot of these are dance music events as it keeps scumbags out of the loop.
    most are done through facebook these days, last one i was at had over 1000 attending according to facebook, and though all probably didn't go, some people probably brought along friends, so it was certainly very busy at the event itself.
    as for the donation part, i don't know about this particular one, but other ones i know about you HAVE to pay the money in advance, and then you get a "formal invitation" to it. this is to do with events licencing and often alcohol licencing, as many of the events are BYOB, and have no alcohol on sale.

Not really, it just keeps the scummers out.......

It's not hard to keep scummers out of a festival that nobody knows about in fairness. The invite thing is nonsense and put in place simply to make the event seem exclusive (which it is not).

Hmmm, a surprising amount of people showed up for a festival that supposedly 'nobody knows about' I wonder how that happened! :)

you seem a bit ignorant of the culture of small gigs/festivals...

as for the donation part, i don't know about this particular one, but other ones i know about you HAVE to pay the money in advance, and then you get a "formal invitation" to it. this is to do with events licencing and often alcohol licencing, as many of the events are BYOB, and have no alcohol on sale.

I never claimed to know much about it, in fact I admitted in my first post that I could be completely out of the loop with regard to this type of event. Then again, I wouldn't call these things festivals.

What you say about invitations seems ridiculous to me. If you pay to attend an event then you're entitled to attend. What you're getting there is a ticket, not an invitation. So the whole "invitation" aspect is a joke.

as many of the events are BYOB, and have no alcohol on sale.

How is this not amateur?

dearg lady wrote: »
    Hmmm, a surprising amount of people showed up for a festival that supposedly 'nobody knows about' I wonder how that happened! :)

Not judging by the photos on their facebook page. A bunch of hippies showed up and that's about it.

gosh you really are eager for a row aren't you. I wasn't aware hippies no longer equals people!

Anyway, I think their marketing or lack thereof has been just right, yes it seems to be keeping the right people out of the loop :D

fair play to the lads for putting on an amazing festival and I look forward to the next adventure :)

So, because you didn't hear about something, your dismissing it as 'a bunch of hippies'. Is likkle GoldenTickets sour cos he didn't get an invite to the party? Like people above have said, these kind of small festivals are more and more popular nowadays, you just have to be in the know to hear about them. If they are advertised on every ad-break on Today/2fm and sponsored by Heineken etc., then they will become just like Oxegen/Electric Picnic, which is the opposite of what the people (or 'hippies' as you call us) who attend these events want!

I suppose it would blow your mind, GoldenTickets, to discover that the free party 'rave' scene is kicking in Ireland at the moment as well? I've been to parties in warehouse's, country mansions and beaches this summer already. No charge, just throw a few quid donation to the organisers. These are very well attended, 100 or more people at each one. "**** the Recession, We'll Still Session" If that makes me a hippy, then fine - I'm a hippy.

Anti-commercialism is alive and well in Ireland, you just have to know where to look........

Is likkle GoldenTickets sour cos he didn't get an invite to the party?

I've been found out.

gosh you really are eager for a row aren't you. I wasn't aware hippies no longer equals people!

Anyway, I think their marketing or lack thereof has been just right, yes it seems to be keeping the right people out of the loop :D

fair play to the lads for putting on an amazing festival and I look forward to the next adventure :)

So, it's not ok to label people hippies, but it is ok to label people the wrong kind of people?

My point was you called hippies NOT people. I doubt very much any individual cares if you call them a hippie or not.

I never labelled anyone 'the wrong kind of people'. You have a very negative attitude towards a festival you know nothing about, yet this is the first time you heard about it. The word of mouth method gets to people who are postive and enthusiastic about this type of festival, therefore the right kind of people for the festival.

Anti-commercialism is alive and well in Ireland, you just have to know where to look........

Spare me. Something being unsuccessful doesn't make it anti-commercial. It's simply a failure.

If you saw a bunch of what you consider to be scummers in a field or at the beach with a bunch of cans and a stereo you'd be disgusted, but because you do the same thing in a mansion or warehouse it's a crusade against commercialism? I don't think so, Rainbowdrop (just saying your name there to add weight to the statement I've just made).

Spare me. Something being unsuccessful doesn't make it anti-commercial. It's simply a failure.

If you saw a bunch of what you consider to be scummers in a field or at the beach with a bunch of cans and a stereo you'd be disgusted, but because you do the same thing in a mansion or warehouse it's a crusade against commercialism? I don't think so, Rainbowdrop (just saying your name there to add weight to the statement I've just made).

Well actually, I wouldn't, but I guess that's one of many differences between us.
    Happily we don't all like the same things in life, otherwise it would be very boring indeed!!
    I'll continue to enjoy small indepenent festivals and you'll continue to enjoy all the things that make you happy.

I wouldn't call it a failure, I have every confidence it will be back again next year, better than before, after this minor hiccup :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I never claimed to know much about it, in fact I admitted in my first post that I could be completely out of the loop with regard to this type of event. Then again, I wouldn't call these things festivals.

What you say about invitations seems ridiculous to me. If you pay to attend an event then you're entitled to attend. What you're getting there is a ticket, not an invitation. So the whole "invitation" aspect is a joke.

how aren't they festivals? some are multi-stage, multi-night events. seems pretty festival-y to me.
    no, you're not getting a ticket. which part of this don't you understand, if you start selling "tickets", then you're hosting a public event which requires all sorts of insurance and legal clearances. the way many promoters do these things, it avoids those needs, keeps costs down, for both them and attendees, and saves a lot of hassle.
    How is this not amateur?
    how is it amateur? :confused:
    promoters keep costs down, don't have all sorts of legal issues (assuming that the Gardai allow the event in the first place, which they didn't before, hence not selling alcohol), and the people who attend get to bring their own drink and have a cheap night out.

there are a number of club nights in Dublin city centre which are BYOB, which have security, soundsystems, etc., and there's certainly nothing amateur about them.

Well actually, I wouldn't, but I guess that's one of many differences between us.

Well, it's not a difference between us seeing as I wouldn't either.

As for everything else you said in your last post; sounds reasonable to me.

no, you're not getting a ticket. which part of this don't you understand

It's not a matter of me not understanding, what's happened here is I haven't accepted your definition of an "invitation" and you've failed to pick up on that point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Gazmantoo

Don't quite understand this one...after searching for info online I finally found that it was 'invitation only'. Was talking to a very nice girl Grace at Knockanstockan though who sort of 'invited' us...no mention of a donation, but I wouldn't have minded that and was looking forward to this being my last fest before I head off traveling to europe...
    Never mind, perhaps next year......
    p.s. check out my website! http://www.garrigphotography.com