Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dreambox DM 800

• 11-08-2011 4:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

Does anyone have a DM 800? Looking to purchase one this week.

Is it worth chancing a clone? best place to get it?

cheers for any advice
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Newtown90

Most clones are grand!..

800hd is a nice reciever! The hd is good, you just need a dvi to hdmi cable!

Flash a good image and set it up properly and you'll never go wrong!

www.satboxes.com is the best in Ireland in my opinion!

You don't have to worry about it being ceased or getting caught for custom charges when you order from them!

Usually next day delivery too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 samuelj

I wonder what the quality is like on Dreambox DM500S, its about €100 cheaper

I have a dm500s myself..

Its a grand enigma1 reciever tbh!

I've had it since January now and am looking at upgrading to a dm500hd clone myself..

Its a grand reciever if you want sd and want to learn how to use a dreambox its a great starter!

cheers yeah i might for this as a starter, what do you reckon?

http://www.satboxes.com/shop/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=17

I want to set this up for my dad and a few of the lads as well so I can get the 800 again

You won't regret it mate!

The guy at satboxes is dead on too, any trouble and he'll sort it!

500s is a great box to learn the ropes!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭ubuntulinux

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Satboxes.com are sound lads

• Registered Users Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

i'll 2nd satboxes.com never had any problems with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Those knock-off dreamboxes he sells are terrible.. and when they break you have to go chasing a man in a van.

Better to pay a bit more and actually have somewhere to go back to.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,259 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Does anyone think asking €230 is too much for a legit 800 box straight from DM? Paid €450 /w P&P iirc in September 2009! I might be selling mine in 2 weeks but I'm a bit unsure what price I should ask for!

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭garrycann78

shblob wrote: »
    Those knock-off dreamboxes he sells are terrible.. and when they break you have to go chasing a man in a van.

Better to pay a bit more and actually have somewhere to go back to.

will disagree with you on that. no issues and a gent to deal with.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Hi where is satboxes.com posted from, are you going to be hit for import duty on it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

bennyc wrote: »
    Hi where is satboxes.com posted from, are you going to be hit for import duty on it ?

Sorry see it now :o

Welcome to
    Satboxes.com

All items ship from Ireland so no additional customs taxes to pay anywhere in EU, one year warranty and full after sales support..

I just got two boxes from satboxes.com and there were no additional charges, very easy to deal with and I had them the next day

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

I read somewhere there is an issue with the clone and some HD Channels.

Barr wrote: »
    I read somewhere there is an issue with the clone and some HD Channels.

There was a lot of trouble with the first batch of clones on hd, think it was a tuner prob..

All sorted now though!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

Glenviewjf wrote: »
    There was a lot of trouble with the first batch of clones on hd, think it was a tuner prob..

All sorted now though!

Was there a fix found for the older DM800hd's ?

Barr wrote: »
    Was there a fix found for the older DM800hd's ?
    Think it was a case of changing the L3 tuner to an M-Rev Tuner..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭givecredit

Think it was a case of changing the L3 tuner to an M-Rev Tuner..

Yes, This tuner fixes the hd glitching problem:

http://www.satboxes.com/shop/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭banjacksed

Will a upc braodband connection work ok with these boxes

banjacksed wrote: »
    Will a upc braodband connection work ok with these boxes

Be perfect..

Im using only a 1mb line for mine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭banjacksed

Be perfect..

Im using only a 1mb line for mine...

Fair enough, what do ye think obout this Qsat people would that work? just tring to keep the overheads down as possible but will need it to work.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

banjacksed wrote: »
    Fair enough, what do ye think obout this Qsat people would that work? just tring to keep the overheads down as possible but will need it to work.
    Work for what?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Are this crowd ok? Don't see where they are based doesn't say on their website, what about after sales support?

satboxes.com?

They're perfect!

Great guy... Based in Louth..

Pretty good support available off them too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Sound lad, bought a few things off him.

Probably doesnt say where he's based because hes like most cowboys selling out of their sheds in Ireland.

Seems a bit harsh. Ive brought many items off this guy and never had no problem. Next day delivery on everything ive purchased, and touch wood no faulty equipment.

snaps wrote: »
    Seems a bit harsh. Ive brought many items off this guy and never had no problem. Next day delivery on everything ive purchased, and touch wood no faulty equipment.
    thats the thing though... if you did have a fault..? where would you go chasing after this guy? I just did a CRO search and satboxes isn't registered at all.. Clearly not paying tax either..

Well he or she has always emailed me back if i had a query about something? Do you have to be VAT registered etc if your only turning over a certain amount?

I did actually have a problem with an early DM500 (remote control), They sent a new one out straight away as far as i can remember (It was in the early days of them trading)