Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mega Winter Tyres thread, all questions here!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Thanks, I can also get Nankang SV1 Winter Plus for €66 each new, they seem to get quite good reviews from what I've read. Hard to know what's best to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I've two different brand of tires Conti's and Bridgestones, the B's have a very soft side wall, would I be better off sticking them on the back or on the front, I've loads of thread left (1 season old) last year I had them on the rear or the car (fwd) and it squirrelled bit, esp at the higher temps.

So anyone got a recommendation what setup to use or do I sell/trade the B's and get the same conti's all round.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

ordered mine from Eiretyres last Thursday - anyone got experience with the lead time to delivery?? getting them delivered to work, and would like to be able to take a lunchbreak at some point during the week! DPD are delivering them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

They are usually very good, usually take 7 days. (im in the sticks)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭bungaro79

thinking about getting a set of winter tyres for the missus as she's a nasty drive to work when the weather is bad. think i've found a place in bandon which will fit tyres for €5 each which is great but i'm wondering is it prudent or possible to just buy rims and just mount them on them and just put them on and off as i like??? haven't a clue where'd i even start to do this if its even a good idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

bungaro79 wrote: »
    thinking about getting a set of winter tyres for the missus as she's a nasty drive to work when the weather is bad. think i've found a place in bandon which will fit tyres for €5 each which is great but i'm wondering is it prudent or possible to just buy rims and just mount them on them and just put them on and off as i like??? haven't a clue where'd i even start to do this if its even a good idea!

5 EURO each:eek:

Feck the rims just go to that place and tell us all the name and address!

woohooo, my winters just arrived - it can snow now!!!

Edit - should also say thanks to Anan, and co for the help in choosing which to buy..............!

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭regedit

cjmcork wrote: »

Edit - should also say thanks to Anan, and co for the help in choosing which to buy..............!

Where and what did you buy? How much was the damage

regedit wrote: »
    Where and what did you buy? How much was the damage

got them from Eiretyres; the Dunlop Wintersport 3d for €454 all in; ordered last Thursday morning, received this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭regedit

got them from Eiretyres; the Dunlop Wintersport 3d for €454 all in; ordered last Thursday morning, received this morning

Nice

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭gooner99

Nice setup. They are meant to be a great tyre. Let us know how they perform. I plan to buy them new next year, once I wear out these part worn dunlops.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭bungaro79

5 EURO each:eek:

Feck the rims just go to that place and tell us all the name and address!

its out in bandon, quik fit i think they're called. got the name from the eiretyres website

c'mere lads - the tyres seem WAY bigger than the regular tyres, even though I've measured them, they look huge!

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭v240gltse

hi all

here's a link clearly showing differences between all tyre types on ice, interesting linky

regards

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭hadepsx

hi im looking for thoughts on uniroyal rainexpert tyres. they r great in wet but would they be any good on icey roads. thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

hadepsx wrote: »
    hi im looking for thoughts on uniroyal rainexpert tyres. they r great in wet but would they be any good on icey roads. thanks
    I'm fairly sure it's a summer tyre, so i'd expect it to be all over the place on ice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭hadepsx

fair enough. so if i fit winters instead, will they give any grip in wet or dry. or are they only suitbable for snow ice.cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

hadepsx wrote: »
    fair enough. so if i fit winters instead, will they give any grip in wet or dry. or are they only suitbable for snow ice.cheers

Read the threads on this!
    Basically Temps under +7 Winters are better, dry, wet, snow, ice, doesnt matter.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Decided on the part worns rather than new cheapos and picked them up today. Four Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 205/55/16, in very good nick with at least 5 to 6mm on each.

One thing I noticed is that two of them are 94H and the other two are 91H, I assume this is ok as long as the two matching load ratings are on the one axle?

They look good anyway, we'll see how they perform come winter!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭GTE

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Read the threads on this!
    Basically Temps under +7 Winters are better, dry, wet, snow, ice, doesnt matter.

That post should be a locked sticky. :D:o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

PauloMN wrote: »
    Decided on the part worns rather than new cheapos and picked them up today. Four Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 205/55/16, in very good nick with at least 5 to 6mm on each.

One thing I noticed is that two of them are 94H and the other two are 91H, I assume this is ok as long as the two matching load ratings are on the one axle?

They look good anyway, we'll see how they perform come winter!
    Where did you get them out of interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

I have a set of nokian entyre. They are all weathers but when weather warm (above 18c)and rainy they don't have as much grip as summer tyres. As we are now due snow next month, I'll report back then

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Where did you get them out of interest?

PM sent.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

PauloMN wrote: »
    PM sent.

me too,price aswell?

heard a horror story today (apparently on the news on the radio) first snow due end of October - hope someone is playing a very late and not funny April fool's

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭GTE

heard a horror story today (apparently on the news on the radio) first snow due end of October - hope someone is playing a very late and not funny April fool's

Looking forward to it! haha.

I have something which I am sure will probably either divide members or turn them all against me but here it goes.

My All Seasons have treated me very well, especially in the snow last year, though the front tread depth is now quite a bit less then the rears I think. The two on the front have been on the car for a couple of months longer (on the back though).

My question is, during the snow am I better off rotating the tyres from back to front or keeping them as is.

My opinion on the matter is to keep the most tread depth on the rear. Though, my basis for that is on "normal road conditions" with no snow. I am also not always going be driving through snow, far from it.

I have this question because I was considering my "get out ability" of the car when going through snow as I have read lower tread depths make a tyre less competent in snow, which makes sense.

At the moment, I am well in the "keep the most tread on the rear" camp but what do ye boardsies think? How did the quality of snow capability diminish over tread wear in your experience?

bbk wrote: »
    Looking forward to it! haha.

I have something which I am sure will probably either divide members or turn them all against me but here it goes.

My All Seasons have treated me very well, especially in the snow last year, though the front tread depth is now quite a bit less then the rears I think. The two on the front have been on the car for a couple of months longer (on the back though).

My question is, during the snow am I better off rotating the tyres from back to front or keeping them as is.

My opinion on the matter is to keep the most tread depth on the rear. Though, my basis for that is on "normal road conditions" with no snow. I am also not always going be driving through snow, far from it.

I have this question because I was considering my "get out ability" of the car when going through snow as I have read lower tread depths make a tyre less competent in snow, which makes sense.

At the moment, I am well in the "keep the most tread on the rear" camp but what do ye boardsies think? How did the quality of snow capability diminish over tread wear in your experience?

I'm no expert, but I think at this stage, I could take Winter Tyres as my specialist subject on Mastermind............but if the car is RWD surely they (the tyres with the more thread) should be on the back and vice versa if it's FWD??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

v240gltse wrote: »
    hi all

here's a link clearly showing differences between all tyre types on ice, interesting linky

regards

While looking at that, this 4x4 on ice caught my eye...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TI0eJkNTfMU&feature=related

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I'm no expert, but I think at this stage, I could take Winter Tyres as my specialist subject on Mastermind............but if the car is RWD surely they should be on the back and vice versa if it's FWD??

They should be on all 4 if you wanted to do it right

ah yeah - OP was asking where the ones with deepest thread should go.......I've got my four!!