Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bargain Alerts - THE MEGATHREAD!!! - DON!! DON!!! DONNNNN!!!! *READ Mod Note in OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

darconio wrote: »
    I have a CRC code for 5£ off 50£ up for grabs: PM me if interested

I also have one of these for anyone who wants it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

More of a question than advice but this looks like a good deal for a begginer in CX
    Anyone any info on it? http://www.halfords.ie/cycling/bikes/road-bikes/carrera-crixus-limited-edition-cyclocross-bike-2015

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

More of a question than advice but this looks like a good deal for a begginer in CX
    Anyone any info on it? http://www.halfords.ie/cycling/bikes/road-bikes/carrera-crixus-limited-edition-cyclocross-bike-2015

not an expert on cx by any means, but even on a starter bike i'd have looked for mounting points for disc brakes(even if the bike didn't come with them). that may be asking too much though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I'd say it will be absolutely fine for a beginner, if its not too heavy - if more than 12kg, I'd look elsewhere.

STI levers at this price! A real bargain.

(You don't need many gears for cyclocross, 8 at the back will be enough)

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

Alek wrote: »
    I'd say it will be absolutely fine for a beginner, if its not too heavy - if more than 12kg, I'd look elsewhere.

I have no need for one of these but somehow I want this now!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭jamesd

mjsc1970 wrote: »
    I have no need for one of these but somehow I want this now!

I'm the same - no need but would be handy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

I would have absolutely no hesitation in racing that around a cx course. I expect it would be heavy tho. In fact, if it is still that price later in the year I may buy one as a back up cross bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Alek wrote: »

I went and a look at one before Christmas. Would make a grand winter or commuter bike but it is dang'dably heavy. 12.8kg according to d'internet. So a hoor of a yoke round a crosscircuit really.

Also, I wish they'd just price the bikes as they are. Half price my fat ar$e. There isn't a shop in any town on any planet in any solar system where such a bike was ever 700 euro. It is a good option at 300 quid, but don't be telling me I'm saving another 300 into the bargain :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

12.8kg according to d'internet.

Plus pedals, I guess... Ungodly awfully heavy for CX.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭codie

Can we get back to posting bargains

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Zyzz wrote: »
    Can anyone else comment on this before I get any kit?

Mods any chance you could open a thread of it's own for this feckin kit that no one is going to get through the original ad posted. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Belkin posts split into different thread due to the size
    codie wrote: »
    Can we get back to posting bargains
    iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Mods any chance you could open a thread of it's own for this feckin kit that no one is going to get through the original ad posted. :mad:

Please report posts and not post in thread looking for mod attention, we can't read everything. PM me if you have a question

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Is this a good deal?
    €89.00
    RRP €220.00 *
    SAVE €131.00 (59%)

http://www.halfords.ie/cycling/accessories/turbo-trainers/elite-magnetic-cycle-trainer

1331828360422-rnkzrwi6lekx-700-80.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭marty_crane

The above looks like a bargain to me. Add the 10% AXA discount and it has to be a winner.

For those who haven't already go it Debenhams have the "Ultimate TdeF" 10 disc DVD boxset down to €10.80 from €36. 3 or 4 left in Blackrock this afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Is this a good deal?
    €89.00
    RRP €220.00 *
    SAVE €131.00 (59%)

http://www.halfords.ie/cycling/accessories/turbo-trainers/elite-magnetic-cycle-trainer

1331828360422-rnkzrwi6lekx-700-80.jpg

Pay the few quid extra and get the one with the Elastogel roller, it's much quieter and less severe on the tyre. I have mine a few months now and it's used 2 or 3 times a week without fault so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭markusz

Pay the few quid extra and get the one with the Elastogel roller, it's much quieter and less severe on the tyre. I have mine a few months now and it's used 2 or 3 times a week without fault so far.
    the Elastogel one is a great turbo

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭topcat77

Just bought these wheels on Rose.

http://www.rosebikes.com/article/road-wheel-set-28700c-mavic-open-pro--shimano-ultegra-6800/aid:716718

Was going to build the same wheelset myself then spotted this. Can't believe the price

Mavic Open pro rims, Shimano Ultrgra Hubs, DT swis Comp 36 spoke.

€241 including delivery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Kinet1c

Extra €10 off per hundred spent on halfords.ie, taken off at the till.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Ended up getting it. I only had a hundred to spare.

It is a bit noisy when you are going flat out on Giant SR 4 tires. Like a quiet washing machine on spin. I also noticed a small bit of tire dust.

Then I put my old Jupiter hybrid winter commuter on with 700c Continental Cityride hard compound tires.
    Much better.
    I think its down to gearing also . Flat out on the hybrid is nowhere near as fast as flat out on the Defy 1.

Same workout . In fact its a bit more comfy on a hybrid.

Soaked with sweat. Well pleased with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Kinet1c

Kinet1c wrote: »
    Extra €10 off per hundred spent on halfords.ie, taken off at the till.

Was just double checking the Elastogel on Halfords again, it seems it's the pack so you get the sweat protector, front wheel raiser and floor mat included for €130. Sold!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭dakar

Was just double checking the Elastogel on Halfords again, it seems it's the pack so you get the sweat protector, front wheel raiser and floor mat included for €130. Sold!

Picked this pack up yesterday. What have I let myself in for? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

That's a good deal, I paid €116 for mine from CRC but that was just the trainer with no accessories.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

topcat77 wrote: »
    Just bought these wheels on Rose.

Looks good.....Any idea what they weigh? After a set of clinchers myself.

Approx

Rear 1147g

Front 947g

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

Cat like whisper, leaf and vacuum all €25 in Halfords again.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭G2ECE

Cat like whisper, leaf and vacuum all €25 in Halfords again.

Instore only again I take it??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Plastik

Is there any way of knowing what's in stock and where? Local Halfords is open until 9 but ... well, it would mean that I would have to leave the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Plastik wrote: »
    Is there any way of knowing what's in stock and where? Local Halfords is open until 9 but ... well, it would mean that I would have to leave the house.

Phonecall I guess?