Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Osteochondritis dissecans

• 16-08-2011 1:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭

Hi,

Has anyone on here every had a dog with Osteochondritis dissecans (OCD)? Our poor irish setter is 22 weeks & we had her back in vet again today.
    She is currently waiting to get x-ray to see what the issue is, have been looking up internet & Osteochondritis dissecans comes up alot. Was just looking for real life information.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I've no experience of OCD but I do have experience of looking up symptoms online and stressing out lol!!! Hold off until you get the xrays done and try not to worry. It's a lot easier said than done I know. My guy got tons of xrays done and i had him diagnosed with all sorts while we waited for results and second opinions. He has a hock deformity btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭kmmh58

I suppose its a case of animal self diagnosis :)

She's had her Xrays & we have an appointment this evening @ 5.45pm to get the results. I feel sick with worry, poor little snooki, hope its not too serious.

I will let you all know once I get the results.

So having been to the Vet today, it turns out she has a fracture in both her shoulders. They said this was quite unusual never really came across it.

They are sending the xray's off to the ortho surgeon for a 2nd opinion.
    Does anyone have any experience with this?

They've told us to keep her caged for 2 weeks. Well this is a red setter keeping her caged is going to be hard hard work. :D