Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax forms - W-8BEN

• 16-08-2011 7:31pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

I'm a J1 student in the US at the moment. The bank have sent me a W-8BEN form to be filled out to certify my Non Resident Alien status. But I don't think I'm to fill it out. My visa sponsor wasn't really sure either, they just said yeah fill it out.

Pulled this from a site:
    Form W-8BEN is used to:
    Establish that you are not a U.S. person
    Claim that you are the beneficial owner of the income for which Form W-8BEN is being submitted
    Claim a reduced, or zero, withholding as a resident of a foreign country with which the United States has an income tax treaty.
    In addition it can be used to claim exception from domestic information reporting and backup withholding for income that is not subject to foreign-person withholding. Income included in this definition:
    Broker proceeds
    Original issue discount (OID) of less than 183 days
    Interest on bank deposits
    Interest, dividends, rents, and royalties from a foreign source
    Gambling gains by a nonresident alien individual. Restricted to the games of blackjack, baccarat, craps, roulette, and big-6 wheel

And from Wikipedia:
    he form is not used for U.S. wages and salaries earned by non-resident aliens (in which case Form W-4 is used),

I have already filled out my W4.

Going to ask the bank now, but any input here would be great. I find they have a tendency to over complicate things!!

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa