Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Train porn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭tabbey

Seamai wrote: »
    Is that the line that runs along most of the Belgian coast?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Oddly enough I ended up reading all about that line last week after I looked up Ostend on Wikipedia because it was a clue in a crossword I was doing. The answer had nothing to do with trams though :)

Find shade in tough Ostend area? (5)
    Ghost

Scrap the cap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

A poor quality photograph but nonetheless interesting view of Broadstone - currently available on eBay.

Broadstone%2BMPD.jpg

Electrifying and modernising the 1960s BR rail network.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Seanmk1

One night, when I was on duty in carriage 13...a very drunk and unshaven man in a soiled railway uniform stumbled into my tiny service compartment. He said, stuttering, that he was a ‘mashinist’ (an engine driver).

“Enjoying your holidays?” I asked him politely, thinking he was one of the passengers in my carriage.

“Which h-holidays, you fool?!” he shouted. “I am the d-driver of this very train! Let’s have a drink!”

He then showed me his train driver’s ID and a pocket logbook, which left me in no doubt that he was telling the truth.

The train kept chugging ahead through the dark at a high speed.

Before I started to panic, the driver explained that he had left the engine on automatic operation, as there were no scheduled stops for the next 200km. He also tried to calm me down by saying that his young assistant was still in the driver’s cabin, “in case of em-mergency”, although the latter was apparently so drunk that he couldn’t even stand (or sit) upright and was sleeping on the floor after they had celebrated his wife’s birthday together.

https://eandt.theiet.org/content/articles/2020/04/after-all-the-soviet-version-of-a-driverless-vodka-train/

A nice item of railwayana (?) on eBay today. Would have bought it back in the day but at £500 it's priced at more than five times its value. Probably on a signpost until quite recently as I recall there was still one pointing to Macmine Junction about 40 years after closure. :D

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-salvage-Irish-sign-KILFREE-RAILWAY-STATION-CO-SLIGO/284017213803?hash=item4220bec16b:g:0bAAAOSwq9BfQZze

Kilfree%2BStation.png

YOUGHAL.jpg

Youghal - early 1970s - from an IRRS Journal. It never ceases to amaze me how local residents failed to see that if nothing else a reopened rail link would have increased property values in the town - I doubt that a massive influx of cyclists will have a similar effect. :rolleyes:

In need of a slight bit of maintenance!

I reckon that most of the WRC is in far better condition than this line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

In need of a slight bit of maintenance!

I reckon that most of the WRC is in far better condition than this line.

By and large you'd be right on the money. The US has lots of these private branches that are considered on paper to be sidings but they can be a few miles long and not far from how BNM lines are laid here. Consequently the ganger teams rarely visit them.

Incidentally, the engines in that video are a GM version of a turbocharged 121/141 class engine but with extra cylinders in the prime mover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Tom Ryan put up a good few videos three weeks ago and they are all amazing time capsules of a era long since gone but this video in particular is brilliant as it’s shows what was knocking around inchicore works in 1979.

Interesting scrap of early CIE ephemera which sold on eBay tonight. Never heard of this before must have been just a solitary carriage sent over on trial. Sorry for the enormous image - the only way that I can improve the text.

Silver%2BPricess%2BCIE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,592 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Pressed Steel were not a huge builder of carriages - I think they were mainly a DMU vendor, and 1948 is very early for them in that game at all. They were the BMC/Leyland associated car panel stamping company.

Good luck picking through Google results to find anything as there's a very similarly named US firm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

L1011 wrote: »
    Good luck picking through Google results to find anything as there's a very similarly named US firm!

Rising to that challenge:D

There was a BR class 121 DMU made by Pressed Steel apparently built at Linwood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

cml387 wrote: »

that's right.
    they were a single car unit rather then a DMU but i believe could work in multiple with themselves or some other classes but i will have to recheck that.
    a couple of examples were in main line traffic up until a few years ago.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Interesting scrap of early CIE ephemera which sold on eBay tonight. Never heard of this before must have been just a solitary carriage sent over on trial. Sorry for the enormous image - the only way that I can improve the text.

Silver%2BPricess%2BCIE.jpg

Never heard of it either.
    No mention of it in Coakham's "Irish broad gauge carriages".
    If it did arrive in Ireland, it should have been reported in journals of the time, but we'll have to wait until libraries open post covid to check them.

The unidirectional seating in the open saloon is interesting, perhaps it could rotate like in North America, Norway and some of Australia.

cml387 wrote: »

Linwood eventually ended up just stamping Rootes (Hillman, Humber, Singer etc) body panels. There's a brand you don't hear very often anymore!

L1011 wrote: »
    Linwood eventually ended up just stamping Rootes (Hillman, Humber, Singer etc) body panels. There's a brand you don't hear very often anymore!

Was the Hillman Imp the last Rootes model built in Linwood?.
    By the 1970s it would be Chrysler and ultimately Peugeot Citroen.

tabbey wrote: »
    Was the Hillman Imp the last Rootes model built in Linwood?.
    By the 1970s it would be Chrysler and ultimately Peugeot Citroen.

Avenger I think. Chrysler UK and the final PSA production was still of Rootes designs though. Peugeot 309 built in Ryton was the last identifiably Rootes design base car

Thought I would try out a video stabilisation application, note the captions wobbling instead of the cab view.
    I have stabilised the video to provide a better viewing experience. Original video uploaded by Gerry Conmy https://youtu.be/pdvvx4dVk4c Cab Ride Wicklow to Connolly. Loco 015 ( No Audio) 13/5/1990. The audio track was damaged many years ago.

Another stabilised video, Galway to Dublin

This video is Heuston to Athlone

Athlone to Manulla Junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Rulmeq

This video is Heuston to Athlone
    Seeing Hazelhatch as it used to be is unreal (actually that entire 4 track section, with all the farm crossings as well)

Rulmeq wrote: »
    Seeing Hazelhatch as it used to be is unreal (actually that entire 4 track section, with all the farm crossings as well)

Some years ago there was a German who lived out that way who's driveway to the public road involved crossing the line at an accommodation crossing. His rather elegant Merc got stuck on the track one evening and was swiftly written off by an oncoming passenger train. He was extremely lucky to get out alive, let's just say that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

documentary about the last trains of albania.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Now that was something worth watching! CIE must have studied the operation of Albanian railways and applied it here. :D

Two things I noticed in that video-
    one there appear to be no working signals anywhere on the lines, only shells that used to carry the lights and the other is that an aerial view of one of the abandoned section of track appeared to be in better condition than the live sections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

The former DDR stock gets everywhere.

Two things I noticed in that video-
    an aerial view of one of the abandoned section of track appeared to be in better condition than the live sections.

Yes it looks like it was freshly ballasted.
    The station at durres seems very modern. Perhaps the authority spends money on the public face of the railway, rather than track and rolling stock.
    It was strange how the conductress guard laid out a sheet and newspaper on the seat before sitting down, even though she cleans the coaches herself. Retiring after 38/39 years, we wish her well.
    And the driver also maintains the locomotive. He seems very attached to his loco and job, even though he is disgusted by the lack of investment and the consequent low speed, 25mph, same as most of the Nenagh line.

The former DDR stock gets everywhere.

A lot of the stock built in the former communist bloc, was well built. Look at how the West Germans happily used class 232 /234 (Ludmilla) diesel locomotives for more than 20 years after reunification.

tabbey wrote: »
    A lot of the stock built in the former communist bloc, was well built. Look at how the West Germans happily used class 232 /234 (Ludmilla) diesel locomotives for more than 20 years after reunification.
    The only reason the Albanian trains look so dilapidated is simply down to lack of investment in maintenance, if the money was there, they could be looking as good as new.
    The East Germans still believed in "built to last" as they considered all resources as valuable. A lot of East German stuff remained in use for far longer than the West German counterpart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

According to Wikipedia, all the locomotives in Albania are Czechoslovakian not DDR but same diff I suppose.

Scrap the cap!

According to Wikipedia, all the locomotives in Albania are Czechoslovakian not DDR but same diff I suppose.

Skoda diesel locomotives from the former Czechoslovakia were used across eastern Europe. Albania may have acquired them secondhand from other countries.

Rusty rails and some bushwhacking with the second half of this trip!

Scenic ride thorugh west scotland by steam in the 1980s

Legendary railway enthusiast explains how he single handedly saved Ireland's narrow gauge railway heritage.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/collections/news/21425584-railway-museum-in-cahir/?fbclid=IwAR3c6YVOXynWcFcmW1Oe3DngkLNkpv57MTjwGuJ3jUVzstcD0fFkua9N1Ik

And now for something more worthwhile - an early Christmas present to myself.

Cork%2BDeparture%252C%2BDavid%2BBriggs.jpg

"Cork Departure" by Northern Irish artist, David Briggs.

The painting shows Great Southern Railway locomotive No.800 Maedb (Maeve) lifting the heavy 4.00pm mails for Dublin from Glanmire Road station (now Kent) in Cork in late August 1939 when the locomotive was only a few weeks into service. Prior to its introduction the mail trains - some of the heaviest trains in the country at the time, often of 450 tons - required two, and sometimes three, locomotives to get up the gradient out of Cork which is in places 1:60.

Like the loco, the painting is a big beast (20" x 30") and finding somewhere to hang it will prove a challenge but I had to go for it as David only works to commission these days and thus his work rarely comes up for sale. More about the artist here: https://www.facebook.com/briggstransportart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That’s an unreal painting. God I know the station has to modernise and stuff is rationalised in stations but in my biased opinion Kent station is one of the jewels in the Irish railway crown and they’ve kept the character as much as they can. Sure the gradient was made that steep to make sure ye non cork people(sure we can’t all be so fortunate) we’re sure ye wanted to leave.

August 1939 ? My grandfather was six years old and living in the houses that back on to the station with my great grand parents. I know this is rambling but three generations of my family on both sides worked in the railways or buses in this country for nearly 70 years all told. Also, my maternal grandparents wouldn't have even meet if not for Youghal railway station. I love Kent station and have some very happy memories from my great grandparents upstairs window and the ladder that leaned against the big station wall.

This is a more primitive effort altogether that sold at Ross's Belfast auction on the 2nd December - £140.00 - and unsigned at that.

I suppose it was a case of location, location, location..it's Castlewellan Station on the BCDR.

CASTLWELLAN%2BSTATION.jpg

it's Castlewellan Station on the BCDR.

Interesting.
    Castlewellan was where the BCDR met the GNR. The latter company operated the trains but the former owned the line eastwards to Newcastle.
    Before reading the text, the GNR structures, the curve and subway sign led me to think it was Skerries.
    It is sad to think of the BCDR line closing as early as 1950.

This is a more primitive effort altogether that sold at Ross's Belfast auction on the 2nd December - £140.00 - and unsigned at that.

I suppose it was a case of location, location, location..it's Castlewellan Station on the BCDR.

CASTLWELLAN%2BSTATION.jpg

Had you asked me to guess where, I’d have actually said that this was Skerries station. My bad :)

£140 isn’t a bad price for that piece, IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Nibs05

Some pictures recording the A class engine transplants.

https://youtu.be/NyK0qsmnT7c

A couple of BR transport films with a dream of the future, before Beeching came along and ruined it!
    Shame about the annoying organ music - more suited for a horror film.

More annoying background music - military marching type

I tried to google streetview some of the places mentioned, most have been completely destroyed.
    Except the Bletchley bypass it was shown under construction, it is being rebuilt right now, so it lasted almost 60 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Nibs05

Off topic but wasn’t the blue Pullman rumoured of being purchased by cie at the time ?

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭metrovick001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Rulmeq

Great video. The movement on that rail around 4mins: https://youtu.be/WY5Or7wH0wE?t=233

Don't know what channel this was originally shown on but it's one of the most interesting railway videos that I've watched in a long time - includes a look at the near derelict West Clare operation, Jim Deegan's rarely seen private railway, Bord na Mona (Lullymore) as well as various mainlines.