Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My solution to single mothers & social housing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

There will always be people who rip off the system ergo the system needs to be policed better.

No matter what it is not fair that there are people out there lying about having partners, incomes, property etc whilst claiming benefits but it is not fair that there are right wing bigots slagging off lone parents who are struggling on minimum money, often with minimum support and feeling shame over not being able to provide for their children themselves. It took me at least 3 years of being a single parent before I could even forgive myself for being in this situation. It was a pretty dark time for me and tbh if I had read a thread like this then think it would have pushed me over the edge into doing something pretty stupid.

I can't find work, I cannot make it economically viable with paying for commute, child care etc.. (I don't have a car, and no chance of getting one with cost of petrol, tax etc..) For anyone who is actually living in the 'poverty trap' it is not something we are proud of, or flaunting. I spend ALL my money on subsistence living and paying for activities for my son. I volunteer endlessly in the community and tell myself this goes in some way to pay my debt to society. I am enormously grateful that I am not on the streets with my son and thank every single one of you who works so hard to pay your taxes and support me.

However, I refuse to live my life in shame. Why should I be ashamed of myself because some arsehole has no empathy for people living on hard times? When I was working I was glad to think that some of my taxes were going to help the less fortunate. I will always go out of my way to help anyone I can, and will bring my son up to do the same. We have a moral obligation to help those less fortunate - be it financially or emotionally.

So, if you have a problem with lone parents getting your money - and yes, some of them are cheating the system - then stop blaming us and start demanding a better way of doing it. And hope nothing ever happens to you, or one of yours, because karma sucks ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

spirityboy wrote: »
    well said, also are both kids from the same father or different fathers? if its teh same father then fair enough you were in a long term relationship, if its different fathers, no sympathy you should have learned teh first time it happened. if you stick your hand in a fire and get burned most sensible people dont do it a second time.

Oh, fuck that. Even if it was two fathers, did she hold them down, stuff them with Viagra and ride them against their wills? So it's none of the fathers' fault in that situation? And after the first baby, she should have worn a chastity belt and refused to be inseminated again? Don't go making assumptions about people -- you have no idea what might have happened in a situation like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭needadvi

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    The housing lists are backed up & a lot of pressure is being put on councils.
    I've had this solution for sometime now, it's a bit incendiary but this might be the time to roll it out.

Single mothers who don't want to live with their parents & declare the father absent can share a house with another single mother in the same situation.

Fix your own problems before you go trying to fix other peoples problems!

Don't think Sky news is going to air your thoughts anyway. "one more forgotten hero
    And a world that doesn't care"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Its a well known fact that Genghis Khan, Hitler and Stalin were single mothers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Nodin wrote: »
    Its a well known fact that Genghis Khan, Hitler and Stalin were single mothers.

:D Nodin, I thought they were men :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ireland has a long history of dealing with this

Lawyers call the children illegimate and they get zero inheritance and wills contested
    School kids taunt "bastard".
    Neighbours say "out of wedlock"
    And your family sends the girl away for bringing shame on the family reputation

OP, you are correct to wonder about taxpayers money and welfare fraud

But there are far too many moral judgements on this thread

The thread started about financial issues and now it's high horses judging others. :(

Live your life as best you can and don't get consumed over what others decide to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Monty. wrote: »
    It's financial suicide for any young couple to ever get married now, they would loose out on a nice cheap state provided and maintained house, and hundreds of thousands of state benefits over the years.

The amount of married couples milking the system is shocking in my experience. Married couples planning children on SW, wtf?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭aido 1976

My sister in law, (If thats what you would call her) is a single mother ??? with 3 kids by 3 different fathers, and is milking the state as far as I am concerned.
    She lives off the social welfare, claiming anything that moves. Lives in a lovely 3 bed house (Not alone I might add) with 2 of her kids (1 is in care) Paid for by socail. Drives a 2005 car and has all of the latest gadgets, Plus is allowed to work 20 hours a week without being touched.

Oh Yea, she also gets the childrens allowence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

aido 1976 wrote: »
    My sister in law, (If thats what you would call her) is a single mother ??? with 3 kids by 3 different fathers, and is milking the state as far as I am concerned.
    She lives off the social welfare, claiming anything that moves. Lives in a lovely 3 bed house with 2 of her kids (1 is in care) Paid for by socail. Drives a 2005 car and has all of the latest gadgets, Plus is allowed to work 20 hours a week without being touched.

im sorry but your not suppose to highlight stories like that

anyways back to the hardluck stories..

im sorry but your not suppose to highlight stories like that

anyways back to the hardluck stories..

What do you mean, report her. My life would not be worth living if I did..........and got found out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

What do you mean, report her. My life would not be worth living if I did..........and got found out.
    no,i meant anytime we have threads like this,we usually get you should not question the system type as nobody would take advantage of it type replies :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

She lives off the social welfare, claiming anything that moves. Lives in a lovely 3 bed house (Not alone I might add) with 2 of her kids (1 is in care) Paid for by socail. Drives a 2005 car and has all of the latest gadgets, Plus is allowed to work 20 hours a week without being touched.

Your brother puts up with that?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Your brother puts up with that?

No..... Missus Aido dosent agree with that...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

I totally agree that the system needs to be policed better. I am a single mother. And spent 5 years in a council house, working full time the entire time, paying more in my council rent than I had when sharing the rent of a private house previously (which I was renting with another girl who was a single mother) In the five years I lived there, I lived by myself, no boyfriend or 'cock lodger' as was the lovely phrase coined earlier in this thread. I paid the rent myself, all the bills, the childcare etc. Also because I was working I wasn't entitled to any handout for furniture, carpets, tiles, etc etc Everything that went into the house I bought myself.

The rent collector knew that a girl down the street was living with her boyfriend. FFS she didn't move in until they had remodelled the kitchen and put in an electric shower. And he collected her minimum rent every week ignoring the fact that her boyfriend was living there pulling in hundreds a week. Because he knew the family!!! :rolleyes:

Now i own my own house, still work fulltime. The single mothers who are denegrated in this thread are the one who you will notice, the ones who do nothing and have everything. You wont notice the ones with their heads down, holding down a full time job, running from work to the childminders, home to make a dinner and do homework and staying home at the weekends to save for trainers or school books. They won't get on your radar but they do exist and there are as many of us as there are of the ones taking the p*ss out of the system!

And for the lovely person who pointed out that single mothers should take responsibility for the fathers they choose for their offspring - you can hardly be asked to take repsonsibility for an asshole who won't take responsibility for himself or his child or the ones he goes on to have. Especially when he isn't the person you thought he was and turns out to be an absolute nightmare. Dont judge when you know nothing about a persons situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Phase out childrens allowance altogether, so the lower classes can't afford to breed like rats.
    Can't get much lower than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Ah now, peeps, this is getting tedious.. Another single mother slagging thread. That thread number ... at least ten in the last 6 months. Yawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

If we hand out payments for single mums who get abortions I bet there'd be a huge uptake. Just provide a reciept from the clinic at your nearest welfare office and bingo cash in hand.......................I disgust myself but this is what this thread has done to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

cursai wrote: »
    If we hand out payments for single mums who get abortions I bet there'd be a huge uptake. Just provide a reciept from the clinic at your nearest welfare office and bingo cash in hand.......................I disgust myself but this is what this thread has done to me.
    Because of the vast numbers of single mothers posting on this thread of their scamming, selfishness and the fact that they dont want their children? I could see why that would make you feel this way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I know that there is at least one place in Ireland that has a scheme just like is mentioned in the op.
    The single mothers live together in pairs or small groups in this block of flats.
    I think it's a great idea for those who want to partake, as they can help each other out, and be company for each other.

Regarding the ridiculous crap about those who no longer want to live with mammy - have you any idea of the amount of parents who kick their kids out?
    I was one of them.

Also, the lower class assumption.
    I was from a 'good' background, but still found myself pregnant at 17 with nowhere to live.
    My boyfriend did stick by me, so I wasn't a single mother, but could easily have been.

I know there is the usual messing on this thread that is on every thread in ah, but there are also a huge amount of posts here that I actually think are serious, and that saddens me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Some of the comments written in this thread are seriously disturbing. It is highly likely that you daughters or grand daughters will find themselves as single mothers. You, yes you could be a grandparent of an illegitimate child! :eek:

Will you keep the same belief that your offspring is nothing but a leech on society? Stealing your hard earned tax? I think not. I think you will feel disgusted too that your daughter, or grand daughter is being called what you are calling single mothers on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

You can do it anonymously, and if it matters as much to you as you claim it does, you would do it. Or are you the usual Irish moaner who just wants to have something he can whinge about to get it off his chest?

If you know someone is committing a crime and refuse to do anything about it when you have the ability to do so, you lose all right to complain about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

bit of a disgusting thread, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    bit of a disgusting thread, no?

People posting on the internet find it very easy to let all the nasty right-wing **** they are thinking, that they have buried in normal day-to-day interaction with other people.

Do you think half the 'single mothers are scum, destroying the state!' crowd would say ANY of this to a single mother they met? Would they hell.

For the same reason people get more aggressive when driving - they're not face-to-face with anyone so they suddenly feel free to shout and scream and let it all out. Sign of a small minded bigot usually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Ricardo G wrote: »
    With all the ghost estates around the country it would be much more acceptable to put families and single mothers IN NEED of a house into these imo

So you want to turn private housing estates into Council ones??? Great plan. Remember - there are people LIVING in some of these ghost estates.

EGAR wrote: »
    Ah now, peeps, this is getting tedious.. Another single mother slagging thread. That thread number ... at least ten in the last 6 months. Yawn.

This is part of why we have an €18bn yearly deficit.

Plus:

Free bus passes for people who own cars who briefly had a serious illness. It's never taken from them. Thus massive subvention to Bus Eireann/Dublin Bus.

'Disability payment' to people who are perfectly able - and are allowed work 20 hours per week - while keeping their allowance - even though they are 'disabled'. WTF??

Probably the highest dole payments in the EU.

Shipping children's allowance payments to people who live abroad.

And so it goes on.

What a wonderful country.

And all the brainboxes together can see this - but haven't the balls to do anything about this.

It is only a matter of time..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Phase out childrens allowance altogether, so the lower classes can't afford to breed like rats.

No way bro!

This is the only way some of us hard working couples with mortgages can pay the bills!

Life in Ireland is fooked up.:mad:

Myself & Mrs Class do everything right, work hard, pay our bills, raise our kids right etc.

Guess what?

We haven't a bean to spend, much less a Euro.

Target Social Welfare for the 'Entitled Ones'.

I'm certain that if you cut back on some of the numerous non-essential costs in your life you could live without the state handout that is children's allowance. Alternatively, work smarter and you won't need the state handout....

Ah, what do you know: supporting Myers' ideas on cutting social welfare for others but expecting your own social welfare to continue is, to say the least, a tad hypocritical. So much for Ireland's true "capitalists".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Third from the bottom in the EU actually, at least for single welfare recipients. For a married couple with two children, we're slightly above average. And our average pay was never that great either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Oh my good God, this thread is despicable. OP's idea actually isn't bad, it would free up space in Local Authority Housing and I am sure there would be willing participants. However the idea that single mothers have caused the recession is simply preposterous, the US which has very little state benefits also has a deficit, so do many other countries. But yet Ireland alone can blame it's economic difficulties on single mothers, if it wasn't for them we would be fine.

Personally I am shocked at some of the actual hate that some posters have voiced, and I am sure that not one of them has ever claimed any sort of social welfare payment or availed of a medical card or social housing, well bully for ye, however I would look into that medical card if I were you because your going to need a hell of a lot of therapy to deal with those Nazi tendencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Stink on the inside

haha sure while your at it why not mess with the water supply to the council estates and sterilise the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Stink on the inside

This is part of why we have an €18bn yearly deficit.

Plus:

Free bus passes for people who own cars who briefly had a serious illness. It's never taken from them. Thus massive subvention to Bus Eireann/Dublin Bus.

'Disability payment' to people who are perfectly able - and are allowed work 20 hours per week - while keeping their allowance - even though they are 'disabled'. WTF??

Shipping children's allowance payments to people who live abroad.

And so it goes on.

What a wonderful country.

And all the brainboxes together can see this - but haven't the balls to do anything about this.

It is only a matter of time..........[/QUOTE]

I hope so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I think the measure of the state's success in dealing with the issues of single mothers will be less in how things go today, but in ensuring the next generation don't follow the same pattern. That means decent education and above everything else, equal opportunities for all, regardless of their background.

So you want to turn private housing estates into Council ones??? Great plan. Remember - there are people LIVING in some of these ghost estates.

I'm going to assume by this that you're talking about the inherent problems of the present model of council estates rather than saying that lone parents and the like aren't people..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I know that there is at least one place in Ireland that has a scheme just like is mentioned in the op.
    The single mothers live together in pairs or small groups in this block of flats.
    I think it's a great idea for those who want to partake, as they can help each other out, and be company for each other.

Regarding the ridiculous crap about those who no longer want to live with mammy - have you any idea of the amount of parents who kick their kids out?
    I was one of them.

Also, the lower class assumption.
    I was from a 'good' background, but still found myself pregnant at 17 with nowhere to live.
    My boyfriend did stick by me, so I wasn't a single mother, but could easily have been.

I know there is the usual messing on this thread that is on every thread in ah, but there are also a huge amount of posts here that I actually think are serious, and that saddens me.

you pay taxes all your working life but you never get or take anything from the coffers, would you feel that your future family should benefit from your diligence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

you pay taxes all your working life but you never get or take anything from the coffers, would you feel that your future family should benefit from your diligence

What? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭xxtattyberxx

I think alot of people are forgetting the fact that its not just loan / single parents that occupy council houses. In the estate I live in there are 5 maybe 6 O.A.Ps and 2-3 houses for disability? should they all be thrown into a kennel and told to stay to together to?
    Im a single parent to a child with disabilities and still manage to hold down to 2 jobs, raise a child and manage a house. Yes Im doing well for myself, can provide some what luxuries but I work hard for what I get.
    Im not arguing that there are some single parents out there that are taking the mick, but if you feel so passionalty about it go and report them.
    There isnt much differnce between loan parent and the dole, 18 euro I think? So loan parents raise a child on an extra 18 euros a week.
    Person on dole gets 180.00 (rough figure)
    Single parent in council house pays 50-70 rent
    Dole head gets rent allowance and pays 13 euro
    Single parent does mid night feeds, kisses the ouchys, pt meetings, cleans up sick, cooks, teaches, plays taxi driver etc
    Dole person sits and scratches.

Yes us single parents are a cunning bunch, planning on taking down the Irish economy from the inside.

Pinky and the brain wasn't wasted on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

you pay taxes all your working life but you never get or take anything from the coffers

Who is this person? Does he/she fly across Ireland or does he/she use the road network which was financed by the accumulation of taxes? Does he/she depend on a water supply/electricity supply etc where the cost is borne entirely by him/her? - or, does he/she depend on the accumulation of taxes in state organisations in order for clean water and electricity to be affordable to him/her?

When all the self-declared rightwingers are willing to finance everything in their own life - e.g. have their own privately funded medical centre and specialists at their disposal all the time - and not depend on public taxes to access these services cheapily, then they will be ethically consistent when they give out about not getting anything from their taxes. All the so-called rightwingers believe in socialist ideas like pooling finances to achieve a shared aim, be it affordable roads, schools, water, electricity or healthcare.

They just don't think about this issue deeply or honestly enough. The Sultan of Brunai, where there is no personal income tax, is possibly the only person in the world who is truly capitalist in the sense of personally financing his own healthcare, education and transport infrastructure for his personal disposal. The rest of the so-called "capitalists" in the world depend on socialism to make their "private" heatlhcare, education etc affordable to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

realies wrote: »
    :D Nodin, I thought they were men :D:p

Thats what the PC Liberal Media want you to think. The fact is that Adolf was a Nigerian single mother who originally moved to Germany in order to invade Poland with all the free Prams and Panzers they were handing out.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Oh my good God, this thread is despicable. OP's idea actually isn't bad, it would free up space in Local Authority Housing and I am sure there would be willing participants. However the idea that single mothers have caused the recession is simply preposterous, the US which has very little state benefits also has a deficit, so do many other countries. But yet Ireland alone can blame it's economic difficulties on single mothers, if it wasn't for them we would be fine.

Personally I am shocked at some of the actual hate that some posters have voiced, and I am sure that not one of them has ever claimed any sort of social welfare payment or availed of a medical card or social housing, well bully for ye, however I would look into that medical card if I were you because your going to need a hell of a lot of therapy to deal with those Nazi tendencies.

Ah yeah. Nazi tendencies. When we want something done about abuse of a social welfare 'system'.:rolleyes:

A country with a net income of €32bn is paying out @23bn in social welfare (total cost of the system as of Jan 2010). So we're left with €9bn on which to run the country.

The 'single mother':rolleyes: aspect is but one problem, as already pointed out. We have a system in place that rewards laziness and punishes innovation and productiveness.

FF are obliterated. FG/Lab are terrified of rocking the voter's boat, so will do nothing.If they do they will be obliterated. And what's left for this country then? A loose collection of looney lefties who would re-instate the payments and push us over the brink. God help us all.

And then some other lunatics propose 'debt forgiveness'.

There really is no hope for us.:(

People posting on the internet find it very easy to let all the nasty right-wing **** they are thinking, that they have buried in normal day-to-day interaction with other people.

Do you think half the 'single mothers are scum, destroying the state!' crowd would say ANY of this to a single mother they met? Would they hell.

For the same reason people get more aggressive when driving - they're not face-to-face with anyone so they suddenly feel free to shout and scream and let it all out. Sign of a small minded bigot usually.

I would have no problem saying it to one - and have done so. The Social Welfare system (and therefore the State) is being flogged to death by vested interest groups, of which single mothers are a section.

A person making a mistake and having a child. Benefit there? Maybe. But then going on to have more and expecting the rest of us to pay? Fcuk off. No way.

Get a grip people. We are a country of four and a half million souls. We simply cannot go on borrowing a half-billion euro every fortnight......in order to pay these people and others like them?

I think alot of people are forgetting the fact that its not just loan / single parents that occupy council houses. In the estate I live in there are 5 maybe 6 O.A.Ps and 2-3 houses for disability? should they all be thrown into a kennel and told to stay to together to?
    Im a single parent to a child with disabilities and still manage to hold down to 2 jobs, raise a child and manage a house. Yes Im doing well for myself, can provide some what luxuries but I work hard for what I get.
    Im not arguing that there are some single parents out there that are taking the mick, but if you feel so passionalty about it go and report them.
    There isnt much differnce between loan parent and the dole, 18 euro I think? So loan parents raise a child on an extra 18 euros a week.
    Person on dole gets 180.00 (rough figure)
    Single parent in council house pays 50-70 rent
    Dole head gets rent allowance and pays 13 euro
    Single parent does mid night feeds, kisses the ouchys, pt meetings, cleans up sick, cooks, teaches, plays taxi driver etc
    Dole person sits and scratches.

Yes us single parents are a cunning bunch, planning on taking down the Irish economy from the inside.

Pinky and the brain wasn't wasted on us.

And this makes this right?:confused: Most of these allowances should be halved or not paid in the first instance. For example - rent allowance. There should be a set allowance paid and landlords told 'this is it - take it or leave it'.

Was it your choice to be a single parent?

We choose a married life, where we have worked, supported our family and raised them. With no allowances bar children's allowance. We bought our own home and paid for it.

We pay (dearly) for private health insurance, with no help from the State. So forgive me if I don't shed the fluffy liberal tears for you that others do on these fora.

zanador wrote: »
    I'm going to assume by this that you're talking about the inherent problems of the present model of council estates rather than saying that lone parents and the like aren't people..

OK. There are PEOPLE living in this estate. It is not empty. These are PEOPLE who have paid a premium (in the form of a mortgage) top own their own home. Should some other PEOPLE then be given one for free? I don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

We pay (dearly) for private health insurance, with no help from the State. So forgive me if I don't shed the fluffy liberal tears for you that others do on these fora.
    Private health premiums are tax deductable at the standard rate.

OK. There are PEOPLE living in this estate. It is not empty. These are PEOPLE who have paid a premium (in the form of a mortgage) top own their own home. Should some other PEOPLE then be given one for free? I don't think so.
    There should be no social housing at all by this standard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

dvpower wrote: »
    There should be no social housing at all by this standard.

That might not be a bad idea. Give people rent-allowance instead.

You should only own a house if you can pay for it yourself. People shouldn't be getting something for free that's worth hundreds of thousands that other people are paying for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

You should only own a house if you can pay for it yourself. People shouldn't be getting something for free that's worth hundreds of thousands that other people are paying for.

We can't increase the amount on rent allowance...

It's well known that it creates an artificiality high ceiling for private renters...

And this makes this right?:confused: Most of these allowances should be halved or not paid in the first instance. For example - rent allowance. There should be a set allowance paid and landlords told 'this is it - take it or leave it'.

Was it your choice to be a single parent?

We choose a married life, where we have worked, supported our family and raised them. With no allowances bar children's allowance. We bought our own home and paid for it.

I choose a single childless life and I pay for other peoples children allowance.

Swings and roundabouts.. etc etc.

Sorry, was being a smart-arse. I agree, it's totally not fair, but ghettoising absolutely does not work and just perpetuates the problem.

But rent allowance IS giving something for free what other people are paying for.:confused:

Was someone suggesting that we hand over the deeds of these properties???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

zanador wrote: »

Houses are not free you pay rent in accordance to your imcome and they way you got on about housing estates you'd swear the place was populated by One parents family units, plenty of MARRIED couples live in local estates who cannot afford mortages!

dvpower wrote: »
    But rent allowance IS giving something for free what other people are paying for.:confused:

Was someone suggesting that we hand over the deeds of these properties???

It also acts as a cash cow to a certain few. At least with council houses the council can re use them again and again and recoup some of the losses on the build if the rent is coming from dwellers working in the private sector etc.