Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Son Of General Retro Discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Well, you know where we are! Pop a list up on adverts and let the cash roll in!
    That said, given to rather thin launch line up wouldn't you be better off hanging onto your stuff and get a PSVita when there's more to love about the machine?

Went into a few shops earlier asking about trade ins, seems they'll give a whole €40 for my PSP, not worth the hassle of trading it in at all.

Don't know what to do now cos I want a Vita really badly:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Have you got a PSP Go you'd be willing to sell?
    I'm after one of those....

No PSP Go I'm afraid, wouldnt mind one though!.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Why do people want those things? It's a psp only worse :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

EnterNow wrote: »

Why do people want those things? It's a psp only worse :confused:

Ignore the stupid little analog thing and its actually great! Slightly sharper screen and 16gb built in makes it perfect for emulation and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I've no doubt it's an amazing bit of hardware. But it just doesn't have any titles to entice me with yet.

What Sony seems to think is cool is pretty much the exact opposite of what I like.

DinoRex wrote: »
    I've no doubt it's an amazing bit of hardware. But it just doesn't have any titles to entice me with yet.

What Sony seems to think is cool is pretty much the exact opposite of what I like.

What do they think they are doing creating a new piece of globally marketed hardware without tipping over to Artane and have a word about product design!
    So, anyhow, how did the meetings over the WiiU and Xbox Loop go? If we see a paycheck game involving dinosaurs in hats we'll recognise your handiwork!

Ignore the stupid little analog thing and its actually great! Slightly sharper screen and 16gb built in makes it perfect for emulation and the likes.

I know I should know this but I take it its possible to mod it then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I know I should know this but I take it its possible to mod it then?

Absolutely, you can even mod it without flashing it so there's zero risk of bricking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,894 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I love the way my web host puts my account(and domains) as suspended while I'm moving to new servers, cheers for that Letshost :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,036 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The greatest videogame endings according to Guinness Book of Records and a poll of 13,000 morons:

50. Resident Evil 4
    49. Star Wars: Knights of the old Republic
    48. Ratchet & Clank: a Crack in Time
    47. Crysis 2
    46. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
    45. Call of Duty: World at War
    44. Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II
    43. Half-Life 2: Episode Tow
    42. Super Metroid
    41. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
    40. New Super Mario Bros. Wii
    39. inFamous
    38. Fallout 3
    37. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
    36. Gears of War 2
    35. Bioshock
    34. Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty
    33. Sonic Adventures 2
    32. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
    31. Kingdom Hearts II
    30. Mass Effect
    29. Super Mario Galaxy
    28. Sonic the Hedgehog
    27. Metal Gear Solid
    26. Assassin's Creed II
    25. Assassin's Creed
    24. Shadow of the Colossus
    23. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
    22. Kingdom Hearts
    21. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
    20. Super Mario Galaxy 2
    19. Mass Effect 2
    18. Grand Theft Auto IV
    17. Portal 2
    16. Assassins Creed: Brotherhood
    15. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time
    14. Halo: Combat Evolved
    13. Halo 3
    12. Pokemon Black and White
    11. Super Mario Bros
    10. Heavy Rain
    9. Final Fantasy VII
    8. Metal Gear Solid 4
    7. Portal
    6. Red Dead Redemption
    5. God of War
    4. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
    3. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
    2. Halo: Reach
    1. Call of Duty: Black Ops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

tumblr_lvhd5qHZKO1r2z2gmo1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The greatest videogame endings according to Guinness Book of Records and a poll of 13,000 morons:

50. Resident Evil 4
    47. Crysis 2
    42. Super Metroid
    39. inFamous
    38. Fallout 3
    36. Gears of War 2
    35. Bioshock
    33. Sonic Adventures 2
    31. Kingdom Hearts II
    30. Mass Effect
    29. Super Mario Galaxy
    28. Sonic the Hedgehog
    27. Metal Gear Solid
    26. Assassin's Creed II
    25. Assassin's Creed
    22. Kingdom Hearts
    20. Super Mario Galaxy 2
    19. Mass Effect 2
    18. Grand Theft Auto IV
    17. Portal 2
    13. Halo 3
    11. Super Mario Bros
    10. Heavy Rain
    9. Final Fantasy VII
    8. Metal Gear Solid 4
    7. Portal
    6. Red Dead Redemption
    5. God of War

That poll consisted of some really stupid 12 year olds! Back ops has a terrible ending even by call of duty standards, I've lost all hope for this generation

Game endings got a lot more attention with the introduction of FMV I'd say, some of the PS1 endings for example, and intros, blew me away when I first saw them

And not a single Lucas Arts game in sight! How brilliant was Monkey Island 2's ending?

I think great game endings could be a good topic for a future podcast.

Wasnt Sonic 1s ending just him running through Green Hill Zone with loads of animals and jumping at the screen?

there's two endings, it's slightly different if you get all the Emeralds

Sera wrote: »
    there's two endings, it's slightly different if you get all the Emeralds

Yeah. He stops and they go up in to the air spinning in a circle :/

I feel that Heavy Rain should be placed at different points on the chart for each of it's endings!

Yeah. He stops and they go up in to the air spinning in a circle :/
    yeah I said slight :rolleyes: and Robotnik is all angry when it says 'End'
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSQNOxs2vE1yN7B7v27iYPnxH__09K7gCfLKePaeQOAVXfCIfeM

Playing Sonic & clearing it is reward enough, we don't need no fancy ass endings :D

Ah dragonball z games. The most confusing fighting games ive ever played.
    Press square = simple punch
    Press square again = Screen goes narrow and you fly through a mountain O_o

Playing Sonic & clearing it is reward enough, we don't need no fancy ass endings :D
    I never got the fancy ending, I just saw on GCCX :pac:
    Ah dragonball z games. The most confusing fighting games ive ever played.
    Press square = simple punch
    Press square again = Screen goes narrow and you fly through a mountain O_o
    they're great fun though, I'd a really bad version of DBZ Super Butouden 2 and if I went a cm too far away from who I was fighting, I nearly got epilepsy

The PS2 Dragonball game were great fun.

Preferred them when it was just one on one though. Didn't like when they started to try and make it so you could fly about the gaff as well.

The PS2 Dragonball game were great fun.

Preferred them when it was just one on one though. Didn't like when they started to try and make it so you could fly about the gaff as well.

Theyre the once I played. They were fun but absolutely mental :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,036 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think great game endings could be a good topic for a future podcast.

Spoilercast?

Another little pad for iOS.
    I'd never use it on the iPhone but maybe on the iPad.

http://gizmodo.com/5884622/i-just-fell-in-love-with-icades-new-retro-nes+style-gamepad

ee2543d4df1315be7770cc4541ccaab9.jpg

50. Resident Evil 4
    47. Crysis 2
    42. Super Metroid
    39. inFamous
    38. Fallout 3
    36. Gears of War 2
    35. Bioshock
    33. Sonic Adventures 2
    31. Kingdom Hearts II
    30. Mass Effect
    29. Super Mario Galaxy
    28. Sonic the Hedgehog
    27. Metal Gear Solid
    26. Assassin's Creed II
    25. Assassin's Creed
    22. Kingdom Hearts
    20. Super Mario Galaxy 2
    19. Mass Effect 2
    18. Grand Theft Auto IV
    17. Portal 2
    13. Halo 3
    11. Super Mario Bros
    10. Heavy Rain
    9. Final Fantasy VII
    8. Metal Gear Solid 4
    7. Portal
    6. Red Dead Redemption
    5. God of War

Tossers!!

What a shít list. How in gods name is there so much call of doody on it, the bloody game is the most generic FPS on the planet.

Metal Gear Solid 4.. feck off...

Lots of Mario games, they all end the same for christs sake!!

Who made this list so I can go around and punch their mother in the womb..........yes the womb!!

Blood pressure rising, must destroy lists......

And the ending probably was the weakest thing about Bioshock... especially if you harvested a little sister.

agreed

But yet the ending was still good imo, Never once harvested a little sister myself.

I cant even remember the ending of 2, think i blanked out that entire game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,105 ✭✭✭Doge

Steve SI wrote: »

http://gizmodo.com/5884622/i-just-fell-in-love-with-icades-new-retro-nes+style-gamepad

BITTY!

Character9.jpg

ThinkGeek wrote:
    Coming Later this Year
    Get your retro gaming mitts on this classic-style gaming controller. Click the big green EMAIL ME button below and we'll drop you an e-mail you the moment we get these handheld arcade beauties in stock.

But I want Bitty now! :(

agreed

But yet the ending was still good imo, Never once harvested a little sister myself.

Same here
    I cant even remember the ending of 2, think i blanked out that entire game!

Same here

While I found Bioshock 2 to be horribly dull I did like the end level where
    you control a Little Sister and see Rapture the way they see it. Thought that was a very neat touch and it was a nice flip on the end level of the first one where you control a Big Daddy/

[brokenrecord]It was no system shock 2 :P[/brokenrecord]

broken_record.jpg

Actually System Shock 2's ending is the weakest part of the game and feels really out of place. Ken Levine said they had to rush it which explains the silly ending dialogue and even sillier epilogue when the rest of the game was deep sci-fi and horror.

I actually really liked the Bioshock ending if you didn't kill the little sisters, it was quite moving. The final boss was the only let down.

Steve SI wrote: »

Don't like the square button arrangement. If they are going for 4 buttons at least use the classic cross configuration. Or go all out with 6 face buttons so the capcom fighters are playable.

Yeah, its kind of strange they didn't go with the more usable cross layout.
    I guess they're really going for the blocky 8 bit look with it.

While I found Bioshock 2 to be horribly dull I did like the end level where
    you control a Little Sister and see Rapture the way they see it. Thought that was a very neat touch and it was a nice flip on the end level of the first one where you control a Big Daddy/

Yeah that was cool but I just hated the whole Big sister thing at the end really

I don't think I ever actually watched a gameplay of Golden Axe for Arcade until I now.

I may even not have been aware that an arcade version existed!

I discovered it in the wiki entry for "William S. Session"s who's name appeared on the "WINNERS DON'T DO DRUGS" screen that appears in most of the older Arcade cabs.

I love the intro showing the characters backgrounds though, and also their friend Alex getting decapitated at the beginning!

That's a nice touch that is lacking from the Mega Drive conversion.

Edit: Just noticed now theres more unarmed victims and lots of PCM samples going on throughout the game! Nice!
    The background art, and the Sepia dead bodies that remain on screen are awesome also.

Tyris Flare anyone?

15117-19670-5.jpg

fap-gosling.jpg

Note to Self*
    Must find real life Blaze cosplay model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,387 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Best thing about it is the ending!

Watch from 7:04 on

o1s1n wrote: »
    Best thing about it is the ending!

Watch from 7:04 on

NOOOOOOOOOOO!!

I'll have to clear the arcade version on mame first me thinks! :D

I was also oblivious to the fact that Golden Axe Beast Rider was released a few years back, and didn't get the best of reviews....

Must also add the 2nd and 3rd game onto my to play list.

It was the Sega Master System version I played as a kid.

I actually kind of prefer the graphics on that version in some ways, as they looked more realistic or something,
    and the combat was a bit simpler.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,832 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I actually really liked the Bioshock ending if you didn't kill the little sisters, it was quite moving. The final boss was the only let down.

I think the problem with Bioshock's ending is that
    the twist makes this huge commentary on the nature of videogame interaction, and the way we've been forced to follow the instructions of a digitised voice without questioning it
    The game then sends us on a mindless romp down a corridor for two or three hours.

Bioshock 2 was a better 'game' but lacked the freshness that impressed in the first. I'm really excited about Bioshock: Infinite, though. It really looks like it takes the ideas (both narrative and gameplay) and places them in an entirely novel and exciting new setting. There's so much scope there, and I can only hope this is the game where Levine and co. really follow through on the hints of true greatness that were frequently knocking around in Bioshock.

I believe that kid chameleon ends in a similar manner but the game is so **** I never want to find out.

I can only hope this is the game where
    Levine and co. really follow through on the hints of true greatness that were frequently knocking around in Bioshock.

[brokenrecord]They already did, it was called System Shock 2[/brokenrecord]

Seriously if you haven't played it you owe it to yourself to play it!

waveform wrote: »
    Note to Self*
    Must find real life Blaze cosplay model.

Meh, close enough....

SoR+Shop.png

fap-now-right.jpg

Anyone who thought I meant Blaze the Cat must have been a bit worried...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,832 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I started once but couldn't get it running properly on my computer at the time. I'll give it ago some other time, although I did like what I played, even if [trolling]some aspects of the gameplay were slightly dated[/trolling]

I think they also hit greatness with Deus Ex. But I think what they were trying to pull off with Bioshock was ridiculously admirable, even if they ultimately fell a little short of the mark. I just think if they push it that little bit further - mostly in terms of themes, atmosphere and narrative - it could be a masterpiece.

[brokenrecord]They already did, it was called System Shock 2[/brokenrecord]

Seriously if you haven't played it you owe it to yourself to play it!

System Shock 2 > Deus Ex

in my experinece.

It kept me playing til the end, where as Deus Ex got boring after a while (particularly running around the sewers).

I played both of the games a good few years after they came out for the first time.

I just wanted some a deep RPG system like System Shock 2 and it would have gone from great to a classic. (Bioshock that is, Deus has that is spades)

SS2 might be a bit dated but it's not something that affects the overall experience. The horrendously dated 3D engine that can only do scripting when the developers use the power of pure optimism is really all that holds it back. That and the low poly engine. The AI is a bit basic as well but it's more RPG than Call of Duty clone. Oh, and some rotten pre- Metroid Prime jumping sections in a late section of the game that don't work.