Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v2.0

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Bad move by VB to let in Whelan there. O'Cuiv was starting to speak less confidently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

Skid wrote: »
    He was talking about setting up a new Party a while back, if he ever thought Fianna Fail were beyond repair (speaking on a TV3 Documentary).

FF Gold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I am surprised this quote hasn't been mentioned more today.

O'Cuiv has clearly said before that he may start a breakaway FF Party. This is clearly his first move.
    Fianna Fail is down to just 10 percent in the latest opinion polls – as deputy party leader Eamon O Cuiv threatens to lead a breakaway.

The former government Minister, currently embroiled in a bitter row with leader Micheal Martin, makes the threat in a TV programme to be broadcast on Tuesday.

O Cuiv, grandson of FF founder Eamonn De Valera, makes the startling claim that a new party could be formed in the TV3 documentary The Rise and Fall of Fianna Fail.

“I think we served the country well. I believe that market, that view, that idea that Fianna Fail represented has to be in Irish politics,” claims O Cuiv.

“And if it’s not possible to do it under the name Fianna Fail, well, then we’ll have to do it under some other name - but the ideal lives on and that’s the important thing.”

The TV documentary will be aired after a Fianna Fail parliamentary party on Tuesday designed to make a final decision on the party’s approach to the Presidential election.

The FF leader and O Cuiv are at loggerheads over the issue with Martin adamant that the party should have nothing to do with next month’s poll.

Read more: http://www.irishcentral.com/news/De-Valera-grandson-threatens-to-form-breakaway-party-from-Fianna-Fail-130067073.html#ixzz1nokOAz4Z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

This stance is all about his political future. He is deserting the sinking ship of F.F.
    Happyman42 wrote: »
    All seems very 'managed', O'Cuiv walks and he's got a round of pre-arranged Radio - TV appearances to do. Smacks of a hard at work PR consultancy to me.

Agree with the above.. He's speaking tonight as if he is an independent.. And like I said above, he's had nearly FOUR YEARS to make his opinions about the bank guarantee be known, but hasnt said a dicky bird until now..

He's like his Granddad alright, a sneak.. I saw Michael Collins (the movie) :pac:

Agree with the above.. He's speaking tonight as if he is an independent.. And like I said above, he's had nearly FOUR YEARS to make his opinions about the bank guarantee be known, but hasnt said a dicky bird until now..

He's like his Granddad alright, a sneak.. I saw Michael Collins (the movie) :pac:

The way Alan Rickman played him, you could tell the actor wasn't the most sympathetic towards him. :D

Hangon , isn't O'Cuiv the former Minister of Defence that retained the Army Equine School and the costly Irish speaking Battalion in his own constituency when he was asked to bring in cuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭RossieGooner

Whats with the FG bloke looking over his glasses from time to time? Makes him look like a condescending git....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Whats with the FG bloke looking over his glasses from time to time? Makes him look like a condescending git....

Herr flick

14611.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

ocuiv came across rather badly I think

I smell a bluffer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I've got the trademark on 'Continuity FF' Vincent..
    Ya baxtard. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Thats because they all are:rolleyes:.

I think its pure bad manners for Vinny to always sign off while someone is speaking, really ignorant.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

"Are you going to start a new party?.......Real Fianna Fáil?.............Continuity Fianna Fáil?..........." :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭RossieGooner

I must say that i can see some merit in Little Dev saying they were faced with a situation in the middle of the night to guarantee the banks or else the entire banking system would sink. This would not hurt those who stood to apparently lose most financially (as i am sure they had/have plenty stashed away overseas), but it would have put almost every "normal" house in the country into starvation as the few pound in the bank would be gone. As he said, normal depositors, credit unions, etc. the lot would be gone.

I am in no way saying that FF are/were angels, or are FG (or Labour) who promised the earth, moon and stars to get elected but they soon did a double take, using a idiotic "its not our fault, twas the last lads" excuse.

The true culprits in this whole scenario are STILL in their faceless jobs - the senior civil servants who were fully aware of the impending crisis and did nothing at all about it.

Why doesnt Vinnie get a few of these muppets on to answer some hard questions? The economist bloke there at least made the point that these "civil servants" should be hopped up in front of a tribunal to account for themselves, and show for once and for all how their salaries were (and still are) a complete waste of taxpayers money.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

jimmyw wrote: »
    Thats because they all are:rolleyes:.

I think its pure bad manners for Vinny to always sign off while someone is speaking, really ignorant.

Know what you mean, but i think that's just a customary/accepted part of the show in keeping with Vincent's freewheeling style; ie, we'll keep the debate going 'til the last moment and then, 'oh, the credit's are rolling, gotta shut you off and maybe i'll have time to get in a witty remark to finish/or maybe not..Anyway, see ya tomorrow..'.
    I kinda like that aspect of the show and think Vincent does it well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

“And if it’s not possible to do it under the name Fianna Fail, well, then we’ll have to do it under some other name - but the ideal lives on and that’s the important thing.”

That's what I'm terrified of that the ideals do live on ... the ideals of putting party before country, the ideals of lining your own & your cronies pockets & the ideals of power at any cost. :mad:

Ah well at least one tradition is safe .... Item 1 on the agenda ... The Split :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I must say that i can see some merit in Little Dev saying they were faced with a situation in the middle of the night to guarantee the banks or else the entire banking system would sink. This would not hurt those who stood to apparently lose most financially (as i am sure they had/have plenty stashed away overseas), but it would have put almost every "normal" house in the country into starvation as the few pound in the bank would be gone. As he said, normal depositors, credit unions, etc. the lot would be gone.

They didn't have to guarantee everything. They should have stuck to their guarantee of deposits up to €100,000, without the ridiculous situation of guaranteeing unsecured bondholders from a private casino bank.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭GSF

If only the Prime Minister of the country had been in contact with the leaders of the bank in the months before this and talked (over dinner or on a golf course perhaps?). Then the government could have prepared a contingency plan for the worst case, rather than making it up in the middle of the night.

Should be interesting to hear Ian Bailey later.

I felt there was an anti-English, or simple anti-outsider, element to the proceedings of the investigation from early on.

I wasnt gonna watch it, but is Ian Bailey going to be on the show?

It is pre-recorded, probably somewhere beside the Supreme Court.

Yeah he is on, it is being billed as an 'exclusive' appearance.

This is the key part of the Bailey ruling, in my opinion.
    Four of the judges also upheld Mr Bailey's argument that Section 44 of the European Arrest Warrant Act 2003 prohibits surrender because the alleged offence was committed outside French territory and Irish law does not allow prosecution for the same offence when committed outside its territory by a non-Irish citizen.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0301/breaking7.html

The incident took place in Ireland. Any potential trial should be in Ireland under Irish law. France can't just claim blanket jurisdiction over the whole world with no prior agreement for reciprocality.

The Supreme Court decision will give protection for Irish Residents in future cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Thats some set up. Telling us what Bailey said on the news before he says it on the Vincent Brown Show.

I felt there was an anti-English, or simple anti-outsider, element to the proceedings of the investigation from early on.

Does he hold a British or an Irish passport?

He is not an Irish Citizen, presumably he has a British Passport.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

The Gardai messed it all up. Right from the out. They didn't preserve the scene correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I'm looking forward to this interview. Has any garda faced any disciplinary action over this?

woodoo wrote: »
    Thats some set up. Telling us what Bailey said on the news before he says it on the Vincent Brown Show.

Vincent described him as being the victim of a "campaign by the guards" to get him convicted for the crime.. Not exactly objective of him..

I'm looking forward to this interview. Has any garda faced any disciplinary action over this?

Retiring on a full pension I bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

So who did kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier - or does it not matter anymore?

sophie.jpg