Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Here's what I saw today - Part II (Please read the rules before posting)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Keep posting pics I love them :)

P.S when's Heatwave???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I ended up going tothat on a spur of the moment, there was a twincam there with a v8 lexus engine lobbed into it, my god the sound was unreal, yer man had some skills too!

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭JamieIsGod

Like Marcin I too went to AE86Fest today, I'll only post a few of my shots though:
    20196031329_f1f0d5fcf1_b.jpg
    20194618740_0d6721434a_b.jpg
    20356425906_f982f9d324_b.jpg
    20194690138_bb28881e2e_b.jpg
    20194690278_624953ea75_b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Amazing photos, Marcinek.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Those Donegal lads love Twin cams !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Je suis tres mal

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Its bloody huge but like driving a plastic and chrome couch id say

Yes having seen it up close, and speaking to the owner, it's one of the few good cars to come out of the US in the 90's.
    In an era of FWD and downsized former great cars, the big caddy stayed as a RWD body on frame sedan.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Up in NI for the festival of flight and came across this, wouldn't be a lover of mx5's but i thought this was very cool :)

357974.jpg

While we're on the subject of MX5's, this was in Mondello on Friday:
    20206018358_9f6833e4fd_b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Marcinek_55

Thanks everyone for comments to my photos. I'm glad you like them.
    Autosport wrote: »
    P.S when's Heatwave???

29th of August.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

In London at the weekend with 4 hours to spare... spent around Hyde Park and Kensington... Those suburbs seem to be awash with money if the cars are anything to go by. Here is a small selection of the beautiful and downright odd...

Click images for bigger pics

<<First 6 here were Parked Outside the Dorchester hotel.... some of these are on QATAR plates>>
    WP_20150811_1.jpg

WP_20150811_3.jpg

WP_20150811_4.jpg

WP_20150811_5.jpg

WP_20150811_6.jpg

WP_20150811_7.jpg

WP_20150811_8.jpg

WP_20150811_15.jpg

WP_20150811_16.jpg

WP_20150811_17.jpg

WP_20150811_19.jpg

WP_20150811_20.jpg

WP_20150811_21.jpg

WP_20150811_22.jpg

WP_20150811_23.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

And a few more...

WP_20150811_24.jpg

WP_20150811_25.jpg

<<This is real purple velvet!!!!>>
    WP_20150811_27.jpg

WP_20150811_28.jpg

WP_20150811_29.jpg

<<These are actual rhinestones>>
    WP_20150811_31.jpg

WP_20150811_35.jpg

<<There's a maclaren something or other there...>>
    WP_20150811_36.jpg

WP_20150811_38.jpg

It occurred to me that owning a Aston Martin in London seems to be no longer exclusive... there are THAT many roaming the streets. Also "seen" but travelling too quick... 3 Nissan GTR's, 2 Ferrari 458 spiders, a maserati of some ilk with the most unbelievable after market exhaust system I've ever heard. And a world of Aston Martins...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

not as good as my felt spec edition.

* could be same idiot who owns it, looks like its parked in the same place. That guy needs a lobotomy

For the Quatar ones its clearly a case of whatever the rich Dubai boys have....hey we also have oil resources and can ship expensive cars to London via air freight in Summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Today I saw a 530D taxed as a 3L - will wonders never cease!

Saw this in Howth last night:
    20294257850_abc8f0ec88_b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

^ Feckin love that chipper!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Today I saw a 530D taxed as a 3L - will wonders never cease!
    Maybe because it is a 3L...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

smash wrote: »

Think his point was that it's rare to see a 3L BMW that's not taxed as something smaller.

What country are you posting from, this is Ireland... only a fool would tax their 530d as anything but a 520d :pac:

First example from donedeal :
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/530d-msport/9438630?offset=3

2.0 on de book.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Think his point was that it's rare to see a 3L BMW that's not taxed as something smaller.

Quite. Obviously some sort of mental defective. After all, I tax my own 3l as a 3l... hey, wait a minute!! :pac:

No it's not. It is however common to see 520's badged as M5's
    What country are you posting from, this is Ireland... only a fool would tax their 530d as anything but a 520d :pac:

2.0 on de book.

The ad doesn't say 2.0 on the book. Anyone that submits a form to the revenue for a change of engine size and then doesn't change it, is a fcuking idiot. All they're doing is voiding their insurance and they'll be caught at NCT time anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

2.0 on de book.

That's not what the ad linked says.
    €1494 to tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

No it's not. It is however common to see 520's badged as M5's

The ad doesn't say 2.0 on the book. Anyone that submits a form to the revenue for a change of engine size and then doesn't change it, is a fcuking idiot. All they're doing is voiding their insurance and they'll be caught at NCT time anyway.
    Do they though, if the licence and reg stacks up (as in matches with their records) the NCT don't care - I can't see how a 3.0l Co2 emissions test could be done for a 2.0l - :confused: Or, a 3.0l would pass a 2.0l test. Surely the 3.0l spits out more Co2 and therefore has higher limits in the test....
    I think you might be in trouble alright.

they'll be caught at NCT time anyway.
    Nope. You'd think so, but no. We're gone way off on a tangent lads, back to the photos of actual nice cars and abominations ruined by Saudis.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

cadaliac wrote: »
    ...I can't see how a 3.0l Co2 emissions test could be done for a 2.0l - :confused: Or, a 3.0l would pass a 2.0l test. Surely the 3.0l spits out more Co2 and therefore has higher limits in the test...

The measured unit at the tailpipe is parts-per-million for HC and CO, and "Lambda" for oxygen, the latter being a stoichiometric ratio of fuel-to-air. This proportionality means that the same target values are perfectly valid regardless of engine displacement. In short, it's exactly the same test for a 1l and a 4.2l of around the same year, and correctly so.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

2008 gt3 in Donnybrook

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭zizou_

DB9 in need of a wash! You can just about make out the dodgy coloured wooden dash.

7f0cce94-cbc8-49ab-9079-92ee18d83fc2_zpsrrvd9nmr.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

No it's not.

It really is. You've never seen ads stating that cars with larger engines are 1.8/2.0 on the logbook? It's been discussed at length. Do a search.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-seize-18-bmws-for-tax-fraud-31058511.html

It really is. You've never seen ads stating that cars with larger engines are 1.8/2.0 on the logbook? It's been discussed at length. Do a search.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-seize-18-bmws-for-tax-fraud-31058511.html
    Of course I've seen it but it's not hugely common. It was more common in the days of "Glanza Turbo: 1.2 starlet on logbook"

Anyway, it's for a different thread.

*cough Here's what I saw today - Part II

not 1.2 on da log book.