Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭markc1184

Blatter wrote: »
    When was the last time we hit 8 goals at Old Trafford?

Was it against West Ham a few years back? Think Scholes got a hat trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

markc1184 wrote: »
    Was it against West Ham a few years back? Think Scholes got a hat trick.

I remember we beat West Ham 6-0 a few years back, don't remember us hitting 8 against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

dahat wrote: »
    City score 5 at Spurs.Nasri n Dzecko have a field day and we go and get 8 to rob all the headlines n top the table!!!

YAHOOO..........

Anything you can do we can do better, we can do anything better than you!

I remember we beat West Ham 6-0 a few years back, don't remember us hitting 8 against them.

Yeah your right, game I'm thinking of finished 7-1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

dahat wrote: »
    City score 5 at Spurs.Nasri n Dzecko have a field day and we go and get 8 to rob all the headlines n top the table!!!

YAHOOO..........

In fairness it's been a great day for Manchester football, two North London clubs with legitimate top 4 aspirations humbled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Hedman

When was the last time we hit 8 goals at Old Trafford?

karma_ wrote: »
    In fairness it's been a great day for Manchester football, two North London clubs with legitimate top 4 aspirations humbled.

United were better. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

deisedevil wrote: »
    United were better. :D

130997984973-1075479-well_that_s_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

What time did the Man Utd-Arsenal match kick off?

Every 10 minutes :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Des wrote: »
    This season you mean?

yes

G.K. wrote: »
    Getting up to 180 wouldn't be unfeasible imo.

If he stays fit he wouldn't be far off it.

He generally gets some sort of injury though doesn't he? Or has a barren spell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Some stuff from United today, Arsenal were a shambles. Evra was caught out a few times at left back i felt but apart from that everyone played well.
    Pity now we have a 2 week break.
    Gonna be an epic season me thinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Ok I inexplicably missed today's match! :eek::(

Would someone care to give me a summation of how the match went?

and yes I know the score was 8-2! :P

karma_ wrote: »
    130997984973-1075479-well_that_s_.jpg

Stop trying to claw back some glory and never mind my opinion, United had the better result and United are top. :D

23rd of October can't come quick enough, could be a cracker of a derby!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

I'd 8-2 be an arsenal fan right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

TheTownie wrote: »

We scored.

They missed a penalty

We scored.

We scored.

They scored.

We scored.

We scored.

We scored.

They scored.

We scored a penalty

We scored.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

TheTownie wrote: »

Arsenal's back four were barely sunday league standard. United's front four were in lethal form. Some lazy and maybe inexperienced play by United's defense but otherwise a top performance.

Rooney on Twitter...
    Originally posted by Wayne Rooney

@piersmorgan hello mate. How r u

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Anyone else think Merson's rant was as good as the game itself? I thought it was anyway!

The difference in the teams? We have a much, much stronger squad.
    As Neville said, a lot of their players are their second choice and many of those players wouldn't be good enough to be our third choice players. Van Persie would walk into our team but that's about as good as it gets for them.

I loved seeing the desire in De Gea's face after saving the penalty. Once he irons out a few things, he'll be brilliant. His double save was unreal too.

Rooney for set piece taker too please.

Rooney on Twitter...

Morgans response
    I'm suicidal, Shrek. Thanks for asking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Rooney on Twitter...

Go wan the Roo

Now hopefully Owen will join in now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Ferdinand:
    @piersmorgan I would 8 2 lose 8-2 in a game...to be fair AFC had a depleted team today...but you still got to go out and beat them,+ we did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Simply gr-eight from utd today :pac:

Headshot wrote: »
    Go wan the Roo

Now hopefully Owen will join in now

Owen tweeted something similar to Rooney around half time.

I have a feeling Morgans twitter account will go into meltdown the next few days !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

How long does it Fantasy Football to update the scores :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Anders Lindegaard 8-2 says everything.......not arrogant - just better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Any news on Danny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Helluva win for ye guys today.... What a way to rain on what was our day:D

I said it at the time when there was doubters and I'm going to say it again now.

Ashley Young - What a signing.

£17/18M? A fúcking snip.

RasTa wrote: »
    Any news on Danny?

I don't expect to hear anything until tomorrow, the only plus is the international break but still expect him to miss a three weeks. He managed to hobble to off the pitch himself and down the tunnel, usually you see others getting on a stretcher so maybe its not as bad who knows.

Helluva win for ye guys today.... What a way to rain on what was our day:D

We couldn't have ye getting carried away now could we?! :D
    Vanbis wrote: »
    I don't expect to hear anything until tomorrow, the only plus is the international break but still expect him to miss a three weeks. He managed to hobble to off the pitch himself and down the tunnel, usually you see others getting on a stretcher so maybe its not as bad who knows.

Hopefully it'll be like Rio. We were saying 5 or 6 weeks and it turns out to be 2, although Danny had a look of pain on him.

I heard via twitter that Welbeck is out for 4/5 weeks. Would sound about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

RasTa wrote: »
    Any news on Danny?

4-5 weeks.

And on Danny Welbeck, he added: "It is a hamstring injury and that will mean four-five weeks out."

Link:- http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/mobile/football/9574858.stm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭BenK

Bobby Charlton is on Football's Greatest on Sky Sports 3 now for anyone who's interested...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Ah well for once I am glad of an international break. Thoughts on Clev today? He looks so damn comfy on the ball, maybe 2nd to Rooney.

Valencia, Fletcher and Vidic be close to full fitness when this break is over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭blueshed

do you think many of the younger lads will go out on loan.Diouf and Kiko etc plus where would be a good club for them.

imo Swansea might be good choice.good young manager,play open football and in dire need of strikers.i know it will be tough going but they should get plenty of game time.

blueshed wrote: »
    do you think many of the younger lads will go out on loan.Diouf and Kiko etc plus where would be a good club for them.

imo Swansea might be good choice.good young manager,play open football and in dire need of strikers.i know it will be tough going but they should get plenty of game time.

I think Kiko to Everton would be a good move for him. Supposedly Moyes was at a reserve match the other day to have a look at him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

I think Kiko to Everton would be a good move for him. Supposedly Moyes was at a reserve match the other day to have a look at him.

I don't think it would be a good move. I don't think moyes knows how to get the best out of strikers. He prefers 451 but i've never seen kiko play well up front on his own.

Not sure myself about Everton but i would be very surprised if he doesn't go out on loan to a Premier League club this week.

Provided he was to get games, playing in a not so good attacking team can't be any worse than playing in the reserves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Anybody know anywhere I can get high quality match pictures (not gettyimages)? Any sites I used to use are gone now.

Smalling Jones Cleverley all called up to England squad .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I have to say I was skeptical about Ashley Young but he's been incredible. Maybe at Utd he has the platform to perform that he might not have had at Villa.

Smalling Jones Cleverley all called up to England squad .

Safe to say Welbeck would have been too.

mars bar wrote: »
    Safe to say Welbeck would have been too.

Yeah I'd say he would have been there instead of Defoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Last time we scored 8 in the league was against Notts Forest in 1999.

After all 12 years of playing far worse teams it's hard to believe it's Arsenal who were next.

Have to say Arsenal fans were a credit today.

On the United performance it was just ruthless. Rooney was immense.

Anything City can do, United just go little better:D

Last time we scored 8 in the league was against Notts Forest in 1999.

After all 12 years of playing far worse teams it's hard to believe it's Arsenal who were next.

Have to say Arsenal fans were a credit today.

On the United performance it was just ruthless. Rooney was immense.

Anything City can do, United just go little better:D
    ole scored 4 that day in a few mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

ole scored 4 that day in a few mins

think it was 4 goals in final 15 minutes or so..he came on as sub too if I remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Days like today make me proud to be a united fan!! amazing performance!!