Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leeds United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭event

no one knows if its true though, only coming from Facebook comments.
    Could be a massive hoax

hunt is done

http://ow.ly/i/2vWFm

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Rumours in the UK press today of Palace about to offer £3m for Byram and Blackpool bidding £1m for McCormack. Hopefully they're just rumours.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

Zaph wrote: »
    Rumours in the UK press today of Palace about to offer £3m for Byram and Blackpool bidding £1m for McCormack. Hopefully they're just rumours.

These links I think are definitely true, I'm confident the lads will want to stay. Hopefully they'll be rejected anyway.

event wrote: »

Gets the number 10 shirt.

@PhilHayYEP25s
    McDermott asked about possibility of £3m bid from Palace for Sam Byram. "For which boot?"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭punk77

JokerD wrote: »
    @PhilHayYEP25s
    McDermott asked about possibility of £3m bid from Palace for Sam Byram. "For which boot?"

Ya gotta love the guy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Byram has got to be worth at least 10 million to Leeds...young good English players are a rare commodity

• Registered Users Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭championc

Last of the old guard gone .... Glyn Williams now on gardening leave. So that's a complete erasure of the Bates brigade. That's real intent by GFH imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

championc wrote: »
    Last of the old guard gone .... Glyn Williams now on gardening leave. So that's a complete erasure of the Bates brigade. That's real intent by GFH imo.

Interesting article on the story here.

http://thecitytalking.com/sport/gwyn-williams-leeds

"Kevin Blackwell, Gary McAllister, Simon Grayson and Neil Warnock all
    paid for managerial failure with their jobs; Dennis Wise got out while
    the getting was good. Through it all, one man remained secure in his
    work at Thorp Arch, despite holding the job title that arguably should
    have laid the blame for the last seven years of underachievement
    squarely at his door.

Gwyn Williams is finally gone now, according to Phil Hay at the YEP, who
    knows how to underplay good news for the greatest impact. Throwing it
    out on Twitter this morning as if an afterthought, Phil said, ?Also, we
    understand that technical director Gwyn Williams is leaving. Currently
    on gardening leave, negotiating severance deal.?

There is probably some hard science out there about the speed with which
    even the most intricate structures collapse once they?re abandoned, and
    the Fall of the House of Bates can now be added to the research. It has
    taken less than a week after Ken stepped down for Williams to be
    removed, confirming that he was only ever a cog in the Bates machine,
    not the Leeds United one. Remove Bates, and you remove the reason for
    Williams to be here.

Gwyn Williams was the man who discovered John Terry, and was described
    as having ?the biggest contacts book in Britain? when he arrived at
    Leeds in the summer of 2006. It?s believed that those contacts meant it
    was Williams who got the call when Luciano Becchio was looking for a
    trial, so we can give him that, but beyond Luci it?s hard to say who or
    what Williams ever brought to the club. Agreed while Wise was manager,
    and eventually completed after McAllister took over, it seems the
    purchse of Enoch Showumni can be identified as the Technical Director?s
    work; after that, you have to guess at who was to blame for Sorsa, da
    Costa, Sa and the rest. One thing was for sure though, if a signing
    didn?t work out, it was never Williams?s job on the line.

Neil Warnock might have come closest to identifying Williams?s actual
    job, as Ken Bates?s eyes and ears at Thorp Arch. ?He's obviously
    influential,? said Warnock, ?but I never did work out what his role
    was.? The Academy seemed to be within his remit, but players like Lees,
    Byram and Poleon who have come through in recent years seem to have been
    due to the hands on work of Neil Redfearn and lately Richard Naylor,
    while Brian McDermott?s instant alterations to the operations suggest
    they had not been working under the most effective of bosses. Redfearn
    in particular had reason to object to being thrown in at the deep end as
    caretaker manager two more times than I think he cared for; Williams,
    whose job title made his seem like the natural choice as caretaker, did
    once actually take charge of one match, once, a defeat at Southend, but
    never graced the bench again. His time seemed to be spent, according to
    Warnock, reporting back to Basecamp Bates in Monaco and, if local
    rumours were to be believed, pulling strings in the press to undermine
    Simon Grayson.

This week of big changes - new chairman, new managing director, new
    million pound midfielder, new striker - has created a new sense of
    optimism on the eve of the first pre-season friendly at Farsley on
    Saturday, and fans are wagging their tails like spoiled puppies, not
    knowing who to give their grateful licks to first. David Haigh?s new
    Twitter profile picture is obviously meant to convey the message of a
    hands on, fax-reading all-action decision maker, but I?d be happier if
    he was pictured simply doing what I suspect he has been doing: listening
    to Brian McDermott. The boardroom changes were agreed months ago when
    GFHC took over, but what we?ve seen this week - and what we haven?t seen
    for years - are football changes, and those have to be down to having a
    manager in place who has ideas, and who cares, and who will make himself
    heard; and who has a board who seem willing to give him what he needs,
    while removing what he doesn?t need.

I don?t know what Gwyn Williams made in salary as Technical Director
    over the last seven years, but I suspect its more than we could have
    paid some actual technically good footballers over that time. If
    anything bodes well for this season, it?s that the focus for resources
    like Gwyn's wage is moving squarely to McDermott, and the team he can
    put on the pitch."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Wouldnt it be fantastic if GFH were only reluctant to put decent money into the club until bates and anyone associated with him were well and truely gone. After all, didnt he do an "i thought it was for me" job on the few grand they invested in good faith at the start? if so, you couldnt blame them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,493 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

https://mobile.twitter.com/IanBermo/status/353038642270318594/photo/1

Cheers Bermo for this one! I'd be very excited if they got him.

Hijpo wrote: »
    Wouldnt it be fantastic if GFH were only reluctant to put decent money into the club until bates and anyone associated with him were well and truely gone. After all, didnt he do an "i thought it was for me" job on the few grand they invested in good faith at the start? if so, you couldnt blame them.

dont get my hopes up

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

first pre season friendly today. against Farsley.

Brown is still in the team
    (first half team): Kenny, Peltier, Killock, Pearce, Pugh, Brown, Green, Tonge, McCormack, Smith, Poleon.

SarahBM wrote: »
    Brown is still in the team

Thanks to NW we'll be paying his wages for another year :mad: Hopefully,this is the last time we'll see him in a starting line-up.

2nd half team : Cairns, L.Turner, Lees, Warnock, Drury, Norris, Thompson, Lenighan, White, Varney, Hunt.

1-0 Poleon.

2-0 Smithy

3-0 Header no.2 from Smithy

murphy not in either team?

event wrote: »
    murphy not in either team?

Sub. Might get a run out in 2nd half.

4-0 Hunty

5-0 White.

Murphy on for debut.

Adam Pope ‏@APOPEY 23s
    #lufc Brian McDermott says he is hopeful of having a key new signing for trip to Slovenia.

A lot of rumours doing the rounds. Adam Le Fondre just gone from 9/1 to 5/4 on skybet. Gary Mackay-Steven from Dundee is another one. Ross to Blackpool is also floating around.

Phil Hay @PhilHayYEP
    Interviewed McCormack afterwards. He says he's told both his agent and McDermott that he's no interest in a transfer this summer. #lufc

punk77 wrote: »
    Phil Hay @PhilHayYEP
    Interviewed McCormack afterwards. He says he's told both his agent and McDermott that he's no interest in a transfer this summer. #lufc

But you have to balance the books !! Smith has really given BMD something to think about with his brace today as I reckon he has him planned as a sub and cup starter. Dream start for the lad. Certainly appeared to have created a fair few chances

Phil Hay @PhilHayYEP

really hope he stays, probably my favourite player at the minute

BMcD's post match interview:

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

championc wrote: »
    But you have to balance the books !! Smith has really given BMD something to think about with his brace today as I reckon he has him planned as a sub and cup starter. Dream start for the lad. Certainly appeared to have created a fair few chances

the crowd we were playing were very poor though, i listened to a bit of it on the radio and they didnt seem to even get near our box. I would not be praising smith too much yet, i reckon billy barn door paynter would have impressed yesterday considering the standard they were up against

I reckon Ross is gone though. He can be very on and off. Becchio was better and Ross never fully convinced me me was limited by becchio. Time to cash in.

Also, more convinved as he issues statements essentially saying he does not want to leave but is being pushed out.

Much prefer to lose him than byram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,021 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I really like Matt Smith. I think there's a lot of development to come from him, and he looks to have a great attitude. Also have a lot of respect for someone who stuck with education despite having the option to move into football earlier.

(I haven't seen him play for Leeds yet, but saw a good bit of him last season.)

Attitude is half the battle .... take Morison !!! However, poor Barndoor, but seems to have fitted back nicely into League One

In the first game of the pre-season tour this evening, we beat the Slovenian XI 3-1 with goals in the 1st half from Smith & Hunt and from Poleon in the 2nd half.
    As it was against Farsley, we had different line-ups for each half.
    LUFC Official @LUFC
    In response to chants of "It's your round Brian" Brian Mac responds by handing some of the #lufc support some Euros #lufcslovenia

Brian certainly knows how to win the fans over. A touch of class :)

......and here's the picture to prove it

qy5v.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Brian has blown our transfer budget just to give some fans a pint :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

1-0 vs Domzale after 27mins. Poleon scores (again).

79min 1-1

89min 2-1 to Domzale.

F-T 2-1.
    Jeez that commentary was hard to listen to. Roll on BBC commentary.

http://www.leedsunited.com/news/20130712/bbc-leeds-return-with-a-three-year-deal_2247585_3235965

The end is probably nigh for YR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

F-T 2-1.
    Jeez that commentary was hard to listen to. Roll on BBC commentary.

http://www.leedsunited.com/news/20130712/bbc-leeds-return-with-a-three-year-deal_2247585_3235965

The end is probably nigh for YR.

Would'nt be too hard for Beeb to do a lot better than YR. But then Bates is not around to strangle anyone any more;).

Good interview with BMc in today's YEP:

http://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/sport/leeds-united/latest-whites-news/leeds-united-i-ll-always-do-what-s-best-for-this-club-mac-1-5858395

I don't know how the future will pan out for us but I'm looking forward to the journey with BMcD at the helm. A real gem. He puts the meaning back into MOT.

In other news, Neil Sullivan has been appointed as Academy Goalkeeping Coach.

http://www.leedsunited.com/news/20130716/sullivan-returns-to-elland-road_2247585_3239352

****The final game of the Slovenian tour vs Ferencvaros kicks off at 5pm this evening****

Team line-up vs Ferencvaros:

(1st 60min) Kenny, Thompson, Peltier, Pearce, Drury, Tonge, Austin, Murphy, McCormack, Varney, Smith.

(Last 30min) Kenny, Thompson, Lees, Pugh, Warnock, Green, Norris, Brown, White, Poleon, Varney.

proxy.jpg?t=FQQVBBgtaHR0cDovL3N0YXRpYy5vdy5seS9waG90b3Mvb3JpZ2luYWwvMkNGVVcuanBnFAIWABIA&s=3PVHdTSlb4DwOPv4ZdHEq4B_qIS6vppTmOc78ZxXtHM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

I got tickets for the opening game against Brighton. Haven't been to Elland Road since a 2-2 draw with Norwich a few seasons ago.

52mins, 1-0 to Ferencvaros

Another game to show David Haigh how much money he needs to raise !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

Anyone got their new membership cards yet?

Went for the gold on the day they came out, probably should have gone for the bronze which is great value at 20 quid but on the very slim chance we can sneak 6th place I thought it best to go for the gold. The cards don't usually arrive early but with the season beginning earlier this year I thought it would have arrived by now, incidentally ticket's for Brighton and the stadium tour that I booked on the day they became available arrived in less than 48 hours.

O yeah well done on your Predictions win Punk, I meant to say it to you before now but I haven't been on here much. Let's try and keep a Leeds stranglehold on it by one of us winning it next year too.

Cheers Tim. Maybe some other Leeds fans will join in and we can make it a complete Whitewash ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Tickets booked for the Nurembuerg friendly :)

Was in Leeds for my brother's stag anyway, nice timing