Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salmon Fishing

Options
  • 20-08-2011 2:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭

I've never done it before but was thinking about doing a days fishing somewhere around the country preferably in the west coast as I would have somewhere to stay for free. Any suggestions on where would be good to fish in September some time. Was looking at the Eriff fishery which looks quite nice and Ballynahinch castle as well.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

the moy, ballina water.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

river feale in listowel should be good in september heading down myself for a few days, praying for lots of rain

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭jack01986

Cheers guys, is it difficult to get fishing on the Moy? Also I no experience with a spey rod but have a long enough single hander 8 weight do you think that would be any use?

it depends for the ridge pool and cathedral beat is difficult now as its probably too late to book.. places like mount falcon are probably booked out too but theres fly water on the likes of cloongee and emaa waters if thats what your into.. much wider range of baits/spinning.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭effluent

You could also try the Easky river, especially after the next flood. The river hasn't had a good run of salmon that is expected yet so there's bound to be a good run soon. There's a private fishery on the river called Forthlands, I've heard good reports about it.

• Advertisement