Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life outside BR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

eoferrall wrote: »
    But not soon enough to have bent come into the squad having never played with anyone on the squad and we've no idea how he'll go? Felix should be in, we know what he can do. if in training he's of form, fine don't start him. but our ONLY fit specialist FB is not even in the squad. and he is a good player.

POM can not cover 7. he is not a 7, he's a poor 8 too. can cover them at a push but would not like to see him get significant game time in either positions if I had a choice. he lacks control at the back of the scrum for 8 imo. also lacks the power to gain a few yards. look at heaslip (think was last match? i get confused) scrum going back he picks and goes to rescue the ball wrapped up by backrow but still gets ahead of the leinster pack for them to drive over, ball retained and lines then cleared. excellent simple play. POM can not do that imo.

This is a tricky subject as I have said, whose to say he is not going to live here for a considerable time to come? he's come here dedicated himself to Leinster. Leinster have developed him to the player he is now. When he first arrived he was no where near the player he is now. Why shouldn't Ireland benefit from developing a player? is he any more irish than say Rob saunders? from scotland, moved as a kid to N.Ireland and qualified due to living here. no irish ancestry I believe? chris saverimutto... then the numerous players who qualified via granny rule. you think Boss grew up in NZ dreaming of the Irish jersey and not the AB one?

Maybe he feels far more affinity to irish rugby since they have given him far more and SA has not?

I have no problem with him playing if commiting to longterm future here. I would if he is like flutey or hape etc few matches and then buggers off to try something else
    O Mahony can cover the positions. isnt going to be world class in all 3 but he is not a poor 7 or 8. He has played all the way up at number 8 knows the role and Boss is slightly different as he played a season or two up here before his first appearance for ireland.
    www.rugbyworldcup.com/home/news/newsid=2048347
    seanand wrote: »
    i didnt put in the full bench because i was sure who was out or not and im not not but i think rog is out so it looks like paddy jackson is third choice ill adress struass below aswell

well his cousin is out i think and they couldnt play together as there both hookers aswell. i dont know why your getting so pissed off about if hes good enough why not as a nation we prob have player less "foreigners" than other countries but hes not the first yes you have boss and court but before that there was other guys.
    hes committed himself to leinster and has now committed himself to being irish probably speaks more irish than myself.

actually i really dont like bent being called straight into the squad and pity he hasnt joined munster as then he could be ousting a foreigners position not an irish guys

i agree with eof and i except felix if he gets through this weekend to be called into the squad but you never know with kidney.

pom is a 6.5 if you ask me and i agree hes not an 8 and long term will not be playing there but he may not be an out and out 7 but is the best we have in the squad
    POM is not an out and out 7 and is probably a 6.5 but he can cover 8 if he is needed to. He shouldnt be played there ahead of players who always play 8 but can cover there if needed to.
    Munster dont need Bent as there is archer, cotter and ryan for irish men to take the places of the 2 saffers
    I just think its crazy that his first cousin is on the opposite side and playing against him and that he would never have thought of playing in green for ireland until very recently

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭seanand

ormond lad wrote: »
    Munster dont need Bent as there is archer, cotter and ryan for irish men to take the places of the 2 saffers
    I just think its crazy that his first cousin is on the opposite side and playing against him and that he would never have thought of playing in green for ireland until very recently
    i dont think archer will ever make it as for cotter and ryan its hard to know all they play is ail apart from the 4 weeks in england and they did do well there but penney seems to be nonbiased and willing to play irish guys if there up to it so hopefully will come on and push on as much as kilcoyne has.

how many "new zealanders" played against there cousins when they played the islands? i havent heard a scotish guy complain about stealing that winger from netherlands or belgium. hes been the best hooker in ireland for the last 2 seasons if you ask me. apparently cj slander the south african flanker has been brought to ireland to nationise him too

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

what ages are cotter, and ryan compared to archer?

ive herd alot more about their scrummaging ability then i have archers, yet iv never actually seen them play or even bench for munster.

Is archer gona be another Buckley? just continue playing him in the hope he turns good?

Anyways.. the Sh*te will hit the fan next May when BJ Bothas contract is up and the new IRFU laws come in :eek:

TheJims wrote: »
    what ages are cotter, and ryan compared to archer?

ive herd alot more about their scrummaging ability then i have archers, yet iv never actually seen them play or even bench for munster.

Is archer gona be another Buckley? just continue playing him in the hope he turns good?

Anyways.. the Sh*te will hit the fan next May when BJ Bothas contract is up and the new IRFU laws come in :eek:
    Cotter is 26. Ryan is 24 and Archer is 24
    Ryan and Cotter have played on loan in the premiership and done well scrummaging in a league that generally is a tougher scrummaging league.
    No archer isnt going to be another buckley.
    sh*t will not hit the fan when bj goes. we have prospects - nothing compared to BJ but that would be difficult but we'll be fine

Cotter is 26. Ryan is 24 and Archer is 24
    Ryan and Cotter have played on loan in the premiership and done well scrummaging in a league that generally is a tougher scrummaging league.
    No archer isnt going to be another buckley.
    sh*t will not hit the fan when bj goes. we have prospects - nothing compared to BJ but that would be difficult but we'll be fine

and done extremely well against top internations by all accounts too. archer seems to be great around the pitch but his scrumaging has been a let down so far

• Registered Users Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

O Mahony can cover the positions. isnt going to be world class in all 3 but he is not a poor 7 or 8. He has played all the way up at number 8 knows the role and Boss is slightly different as he played a season or two up here before his first appearance for ireland.
    www.rugbyworldcup.com/home/news/newsid=2048347

Strauss has played 3 seasons! ;) Bent in the squad I do not get at all. we are not that short of tightheads, fitzpatrick is playing well and ross is not injured.

Boss at least claims to have dreamed of playing for Ireland and not NZ. I picked a bad example obviously for this point! ;)

All I am saying is as the irish team is not about being born here, it is representing this Island. If players have an affinity to the Island then let them play (if the rules allow), but I would always champion an "irish born" player over a "foreign player" if they are of similar ability.

Irish born - lived here all their life basically, but may have been born abroad due to parents working abroad etc.

Foreign - player who has lived most of the developing years abroad and is eligible for Ireland via granny rule or the 3 year rule.

That is how I see it , I would have no issues with a foreign player paying if they had committed long term to Irish rugby.

Strauss has played 3 seasons! ;) Bent in the squad I do not get at all. we are not that short of tightheads, fitzpatrick is playing well and ross is not injured.

Boss at least claims to have dreamed of playing for Ireland and not NZ. I picked a bad example obviously for this point! ;)

All I am saying is as the irish team is not about being born here, it is representing this Island. If players have an affinity to the Island then let them play (if the rules allow), but I would always champion an "irish born" player over a "foreign player" if they are of similar ability.

Irish born - lived here all their life basically, but may have been born abroad due to parents working abroad etc.

Foreign - player who has lived most of the developing years abroad and is eligible for Ireland via granny rule or the 3 year rule.

That is how I see it , I would have no issues with a foreign player paying if they had committed long term to Irish rugby.

fitzpatrick is just back from injury as far as i know

seanand wrote: »
    fitzpatrick is just back from injury as far as i know

We still know what he is like - Bent we have no idea! just not comfortable with the message that sends out to other players.

Ireland team to play South Africa:
    Simon Zebo, Tommy Bowe, Keith Earls, Gordon D'Arcy, Andrew Trimble, Jonathan Sexton, Conor Murray, Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Mike McCarthy, Peter O'Mahony, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip (captain)
    Replacements: Sean Cronin, David Kilcoyne, Michael Bent, Donnacha O'Callaghan, Iain Henderson, Eoin Reddan, Ronan O'Gara, Fergus McFadden

So the talking points...

Zebo at Fullback, his first professional appearance there??
    Very nervous as iv never seen him play there, but great under the highball.

Mike McCarthy in the second row.
    Happy for McCarthy, its hard for a Connacht player to make the First XV. i hope he can handle the aggression of the Saffas second row.

O Mahony at 6 and Henry at 7.
    im happy with both of these players in their best positions, but would you of picking anyone different?

Heaslip as captain
    happy as i think a captain should be in the pack and i believe he can do a decent job, without it affecting his game.

Im going to leave out Strauss and Bent from this conversation coz i think its been done to death and dont want it to overshadow the rest

So the talking points...

I'm nervous too, I think he could make a good FB, as he is solid under high ball, and this season as developed nicely into a winger that goes looking for ball. He enters the line effetively, so hoping that he will bring a lot to the attack on Saturday. Last season I was dissapointed with Zebo getting selected, but this season he has really come on. Pick is a risk, but could pay dividends IMO

Happy for McCarthy, its hard for a Connacht player to make the First XV. i hope he can handle the aggression of the Saffas second row.
    I think like you this is great, I also think he will handle it. I know playing along with Swift he is not regarded as the "enforcer"/dirty work type player. But he has shown himself to be physical, and has good hands (from memory...not seen him in a while) again happy with this pick

im happy with both of these players in their best positions, but would you of picking anyone different?
    Happy that he has gone with POM at 6 rather than 7. do not like POM at 7, doesn't suit him IMO. While I probably wouldn't have picked him myself I don't think there is a huge difference between himself and locky. I would like to see Henderson come on for a good run. I think he could make a massive impact, and if doesn't will in time and the experience will stand to him. Henry at 7 is the call I agree with too, I had fears we'd see POM at 7, D.Ryan at 6 and DOC in second row!! :p

Heaslip as captain
    happy as i think a captain should be in the pack and i believe he can do a decent job, without it affecting his game.

Im going to leave out Strauss and Bent from this conversation coz i think its been done to death and dont want it to overshadow the rest[/QUOTE]
    Agreed to both points.

My excitement is building for these matches again, after a serious depression rugby related for Ireland. But yet again despite DK I am hopeful, lets see what happens. lets get the win, but please do not be kicking constantly or running predictable lines. Some creativity would be nice to see. The fast paced game that Leinster, Ulster and now Munster are playing/implementing should be appearing. all players are used to it

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭satory

So Jason Roberts is moving to Racing Metro....

For me this highlights the biggest problem in Irish Rugby. None of our players want to leave these shores, and while the best Irish players stay(due to central contracts from the IRFU), we will, as a country continue to criminally not develop a larger playing base to pick from.

Look at Wales for example, they also have 4 teams in the pro 12, and yet the WRU is able to pick the best players from those 4 teams, and also they can pick the key Welsh players playing abroad in England and France. The best welsh player will move on for financial and personal reasons, and it will always allow the regions to keep promoting players to test them out.

I think the IRFU and the provinces need to rethink the central contracts policy and ultimately drop it.

All 4 provinces should have to fend on their own, and if they cant afford to keep the best Irish players, then those players should be allowed to leave Ireland and at the same time not fear for their international squad status.

Of course this wont benefit the provinces at all, and we will more then likely not see to many european cups arriving, but the player pool that the national team selections can pick from will be greatly enhanced.

So the talking points...

Heaslip as captain

Im going to leave out Strauss and Bent from this conversation coz i think its been done to death and dont want it to overshadow the rest
    Dont see how their will be an issue with McCarthy and the physicality of the Saffers.
    Zebo at 15 could be an inspired pick. He is great under the high ball and has a very decent left boot.
    satory wrote: »
    For me this highlights the biggest problem in Irish Rugby. None of our players want to leave these shores, and while the best Irish players stay(due to central contracts from the IRFU), we will, as a country continue to criminally not develop a larger playing base to pick from.

Look at Wales for example, they also have 4 teams in the pro 12, and yet the WRU is able to pick the best players from those 4 teams, and also they can pick the key Welsh players playing abroad in England and France. The best welsh player will move on for financial and personal reasons, and it will always allow the regions to keep promoting players to test them out.

I think the IRFU and the provinces need to rethink the central contracts policy and ultimately drop it.

All 4 provinces should have to fend on their own, and if they cant afford to keep the best Irish players, then those players should be allowed to leave Ireland and at the same time not fear for their international squad status.

Of course this wont benefit the provinces at all, and we will more then likely not see to many european cups arriving, but the player pool that the national team selections can pick from will be greatly enhanced.
    I dont see our best players not leaving as a problem. While our performances over the years internationally have been disapoinnting id prefer our situation with strong provinces doing very well both on and off the pitch compared to the welsh who's regions are struggling financially and not successfull.
    The welsh fans dont care much for the regions but they do for the international side.
    Your viewpoint wouldnt be great in the longterm. Rugby has grown in Ireland the past decade due to the exploits of the provinces not the irish side.
    The central contracts system shouldnt be disbanded. We are able to develop a wider playing base with the central contract system. The top players are restricted in the amount of games they can play so the provinces have to develop other options.

I dont see our best players not leaving as a problem. While our performances over the years internationally have been disapoinnting id prefer our situation with strong provinces doing very well both on and off the pitch compared to the welsh who's regions are struggling financially and not successfull.
    The welsh fans dont care much for the regions but they do for the international side.
    Your viewpoint wouldnt be great in the longterm. Rugby has grown in Ireland the past decade due to the exploits of the provinces not the irish side.
    The central contracts system shouldnt be disbanded. We are able to develop a wider playing base with the central contract system. The top players are restricted in the amount of games they can play so the provinces have to develop other options.

I'd agree with this, and hopefully we will see an improvement in depth in time with the changes (if managed properly). For instance would be great to have four successful/competitive provinces with all Irish players, therefore having 4+ players for every position on the Irish team.

But for rugby to survive I think we need competitive provinces, the public identify with the provinces equally to the Irish team, they are to linked to try and split them, and thus split the supporter base.

I'd much rather strong provinces then a strong international team.

Their the teams we watch week in and week out in multi competitions. As a Munster fan (im sure Ulster, Leinster & Connacht fans would agree) I'd rather see them win week in and week out, Heineken Cups & Rabo Leagues then have them lose consistently by 30-50 points and have Ireland win their 6-10 matches a year.

the new IRFU regulations regarding foreign talent in certain places, should hopefully give us atleast 3 decent prospects in each position, realistically the only big problem position is TH anyways

I'd much rather strong provinces then a strong international team.

Their the teams we watch week in and week out in multi competitions. As a Munster fan (im sure Ulster, Leinster & Connacht fans would agree) I'd rather see them win week in and week out, Heineken Cups & Rabo Leagues then have them lose consistently by 30-50 points and have Ireland win their 6-10 matches a year.

the new IRFU regulations regarding foreign talent in certain places, should hopefully give us atleast 3 decent prospects in each position, realistically the only big problem position is TH anyways
    Id much rather both being strong to be perfectly honest:D
    Your post just shows the total disappointment with the irish team iver the last few years. I want both provinces and national side strong and think that they most def can both be strong at the one time
    No matter what would happen to the provinces they would never lose to the degree you state. that is slightly OTT.
    TH isnt that much of an issue. Their is decent prospects in all the provinces. Just getting them decent pro12 gametime is the issue

No matter what would happen to the provinces they would never lose to the degree you state. that is slightly OTT.
    TH isnt that much of an issue. Their is decent prospects in all the provinces. Just getting them decent pro12 gametime is the issue

I totally agree both can happen at once! and id love that to happen again soon

My statement regarding losing by big scores, just look what ulster and leinster are doing to the welsh teams, even though the welsh national team won a grand slam 8 months ago. I know theres a few welsh lads in france but not all of them!

Your right the TH issue isnt as bad as been made out, but its the only real example i could think of positional wise, despite injury set backs were good in most positions, strength in depthwise

did anyone watch the Leinster Ospreys match? i thought connor o shea was gona mess his pants whenever he talked about Jamie Hagan, he actually loves him

• Registered Users Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

But a huge amount of the finance the IRFU receives is through the success of the provinces. The provincial teams doing well is key to the development of the game down the line. Why not focus on improving Connaught? Sending players abroad won't increase the size of our players pool because at our population there are only so many international level players available. If we focused on having 4 strong provinces made of mostly Irish players that leaves us with 3-4 Irish players playing top class pro12 and Heineken cup rugby every week. Plenty to choose from IMO

As a Connacht fan I would love to see more effort put into improving Connacht, and having 4 (equally) strong provinces challenging for the Pro 12, and in europe, but I just cannot see that happening. I don't believe the IRFU give two sh!*s about Connacht, and when 2014/5? rolls around, and the european cup only grants 2* guarenteed places to Irish teams, Connacht will be the first province forgotten about.

Both the population and the fact that Rugby is still the 2nd/3rd sport in this country hampers Irelands chances of getting multiple international level players at each position. Yes having strong provinces and/or allowing our best players will all help, I just feel that we wont be able to maintain 4 strong provinces. Where as moving some players aside out of the provinces will allow lesser known player to get more game time, and get up to speed, and get a chance to improve enough to play international Rugby

* Lets face it theres not much chance of Ireland still maintaining 3 spots in europe once the the competition is re-organised.

I totally agree both can happen at once! and id love that to happen again soon

My statement regarding losing by big scores, just look what ulster and leinster are doing to the welsh teams, even though the welsh national team won a grand slam 8 months ago. I know theres a few welsh lads in france but not all of them!
    Munster for the mostpart have been doing it as well. their is a huge number of welsh players in france and its mainly their most experienced players
    Your right the TH issue isnt as bad as been made out, but its the only real example i could think of positional wise, despite injury set backs were good in most positions, strength in depthwise

did anyone watch the Leinster Ospreys match? i thought connor o shea was gona mess his pants whenever he talked about Jamie Hagan, he actually loves him
    ajeffares wrote: »
    But a huge amount of the finance the IRFU receives is through the success of the provinces. The provincial teams doing well is key to the development of the game down the line. Why not focus on improving Connaught? Sending players abroad won't increase the size of our players pool because at our population there are only so many international level players available. If we focused on having 4 strong provinces made of mostly Irish players that leaves us with 3-4 Irish players playing top class pro12 and Heineken cup rugby every week. Plenty to choose from IMO
    I dont think it is. Im fairly sure JustinDee over in the rugby forum has said in the past and shown that the international game brings in most of the money for rugby in Ireland.
    Connacht are improving and getting the resources. Their underage provincial sides are regularly winning intepro titles. In 2011 their 20s won a first ever interpro title and this year thier 19s won the intepro title dispite being in the weaker group at the start. Connachts 19s this year beat both leinster 19 sides, the exiles 19s and munster 19s
    provinces doing well is key to developing the game down the line like munsters run over 7/8 years in the heineken cup was the main driving force in rugby developing so much in area's like waterford, tipperary

As a Connacht fan I would love to see more effort put into improving Connacht, and having 4 (equally) strong provinces challenging for the Pro 12, and in europe, but I just cannot see that happening. I don't believe the IRFU give two sh!*s about Connacht, and when 2014/5? rolls around, and the european cup only grants 2* guarenteed places to Irish teams, Connacht will be the first province forgotten about.

Both the population and the fact that Rugby is still the 2nd/3rd sport in this country hampers Irelands chances of getting multiple international level players at each position. Yes having strong provinces and/or allowing our best players will all help, I just feel that we wont be able to maintain 4 strong provinces. Where as moving some players aside out of the provinces will allow lesser known player to get more game time, and get up to speed, and get a chance to improve enough to play international Rugby

* Lets face it theres not much chance of Ireland still maintaining 3 spots in europe once the the competition is re-organised.
    Their is very much a chance of ireland keeping 3 places if the competition is reorganised as the places for pro12 teams may go to league positions and munster/leinster/ulster would virtually always qualify by league position so connacht would get into the heineken cup like they have for the past 2 seasons
    Ireland can maintain 4 strong provinces with proper management. Leinster recently had to have open trials for those 6'6 and taller while munster have plenty of 2nd rows but few centres. They could do a trade

If Connacht want to do better they need to do more and more to get fans going to games. they are doing great work with the likes of the clan terrace but they need to be doing more and more

Their is very much a chance of ireland keeping 3 places if the competition is reorganised as the places for pro12 teams may go to league positions and munster/leinster/ulster would virtually always qualify by league position so connacht would get into the heineken cup like they have for the past 2 seasons

Firstly Connacht are only in the Heineken Cup for the last 2 seasons thanks to Leinster, An Irish team would have to continually win in order to continue bringing heineken cup rugby to the west.

Secondly thats an enormous IF....

There are currently 2 proposals that the ERC are looking at. One from England and France, and the other from the pro 12. The Anglo French proposal is for a 20 team competition, which will reduce the number of pro 12 teams from 10 to 6. But how will they select the 6? The TOP six in the league? I doubt it as you would be guarantying that no Italian team ever plays in the Heineken Cup again. What about 2 Irish, 2 Welsh, 1 Scottish and an Italian team? This is more plausible selection policy IMHO...

The pro 12 proposal is to create a 32 team competition, and to merge both the Amlim and the Heineken competitions. I have to say I am not a fan of this proposal, the benefit of having 2 tier competitions is it gives other, lesser teams a chance of winning something. Granted the Amlin is useless*, but think back a few years, Connacht had a chance in this competition, a more realistic chance of them ever winning the Heineken. I believe smaller teams need a competition like the Amlin, much like Liverpool Football Club need the Europa League ;)
    (* useless is probably a little too harsh...)
    If Connacht want to do better they need to do more and more to get fans going to games. they are doing great work with the likes of the clan terrace but they need to be doing more and more

This is true as fact... Numbers have been getting better at the sportsground, much better than what they were a few years ago. In fact I was at the Quinns match a few weeks back and I was talking to some quinns fans and they were impressed with the sportsground they had only ever heard negative things about it(they didn't travel to Galway last season, based on those negative views)

One thing I loved love for Connacht to try would be to branch out and host a yearly game in McHale park in Castlebar or other suitable venues else where in the province. To try and become a "brand" that the whole province are aware of, and not just in Galway.

Firstly Connacht are only in the Heineken Cup for the last 2 seasons thanks to Leinster, An Irish team would have to continually win in order to continue bringing heineken cup rugby to the west.

Secondly thats an enormous IF....

There are currently 2 proposals that the ERC are looking at. One from England and France, and the other from the pro 12. The Anglo French proposal is for a 20 team competition, which will reduce the number of pro 12 teams from 10 to 6. But how will they select the 6? The TOP six in the league? I doubt it as you would be guarantying that no Italian team ever plays in the Heineken Cup again. What about 2 Irish, 2 Welsh, 1 Scottish and an Italian team? This is more plausible selection policy IMHO...

The pro 12 proposal is to create a 32 team competition, and to merge both the Amlim and the Heineken competitions. I have to say I am not a fan of this proposal, the benefit of having 2 tier competitions is it gives other, lesser teams a chance of winning something. Granted the Amlin is useless*, but think back a few years, Connacht had a chance in this competition, a more realistic chance of them ever winning the Heineken. I believe smaller teams need a competition like the Amlin, much like Liverpool Football Club need the Europa League ;)
    (* useless is probably a little too harsh...)
    This is true as fact... Numbers have been getting better at the sportsground, much better than what they were a few years ago. In fact I was at the Quinns match a few weeks back and I was talking to some quinns fans and they were impressed with the sportsground they had only ever heard negative things about it(they didn't travel to Galway last season, based on those negative views)

One thing I loved love for Connacht to try would be to branch out and host a yearly game in McHale park in Castlebar or other suitable venues else where in the province. To try and become a "brand" that the whole province are aware of, and not just in Galway.
    Connacht should look to athlone and play games there. Buccaneers do great work in the town and the irish 20s games there the past few years have been well attended.
    I dont agree with the 20 team tournament. as it means a reduction in scottish/italian sides from 2 to 1 and neither will ever get back to having 2 teams in the main tournament
    The heineken cup is about 6 countries not 3 leagues
    Dont agree with the 32 tournament unless their is a secondary tournament. The heineken cup and amlin together as separate tournaments work but combining the 2 is stupid.

What did people think of the game saturday?

although the result wasnt great the performance was very good, all i need to say is darcy played well that just goes to show how good the rest player.

its easier to say who didnt play well heaslip is just not the player he use to be and with henry nd pom who did great tackling and robbing we then needed a no.8 to carry the ball and heaslip just cant do that anymore. also the two wings were almost non assistance even tho i think they are prob the best choice for wings.

zebo what a player only guy that looked likely to creat magic

delighted for McCarthy he did great, Zebo seemed to get on good, but i dont honestly think he was tested that much..

Strauss showed some serious passion and got targetted by his south african opponents! Bent came on and impressed me, against a fresh Van Der Merwe which is a good sign.

thought we missed Paulie in the lineout, thought Ryan could of doing alot better. Earls didn't have a good game, Murray done well, good kicks and decent passing..

The first half was good but we butchered a lot of chances and it annoyed me seeing our backs put in such useless chips ahead and consistently giving away possession when we should of been trying to build up the biggest lead possible before half time.
    Second half we got bullied off the ball and threw the match away, not scoring in 50 minutes of international rugby isn't good enough

Overall i felt our attack was very static and we never REALLY threatened their try line.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

The SA's were poor (they didn't want to know in the first half) and we were worse. Dire stuff really.

I've a certain sympathy for the players though. The structure of our attack and our general lack of an overall plan means they're up **** creek before the whistle blows. I mean someone can say Jamie Heaslip is not the player he used to be and if you only watch him in a green shirt thats true. Give him a blue shirt though, a plan and a purpose and he's one of our best. He's been top drawer so far this season. I'd say the same is true for most of our players. Just not given a platform to really shine.

Disillusioned isn't the word. The Scots and the Italians will be a danger at this rate; what the French will do to us doesn't bear thinking about. Give Deccie his P45 please.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

corny wrote: »
    The SA's were poor (they didn't want to know in the first half) and we were worse. Dire stuff really.

I've a certain sympathy for the players though. The structure of our attack and our general lack of an overall plan means they're up **** creek before the whistle blows. I mean someone can say Jamie Heaslip is not the player he used to be and if you only watch him in a green shirt thats true. Give him a blue shirt though, a plan and a purpose and he's one of our best. He's been top drawer so far this season. I'd say the same is true for most of our players. Just not given a platform to really shine.

Disillusioned isn't the word. The Scots and the Italians will be a danger at this rate; what the French will do to us doesn't bear thinking about. Give Deccie his P45 please.

Dunno, Heaslip was one of our best forwards, if not the best, during the 6N. I don't think it was a game that suited him as we stood off the rucks aside from the odd clear out from McCarthy. As you say, no platform really.

.ak wrote: »
    Dunno, Heaslip was one of our best forwards, if not the best, during the 6N. I don't think it was a game that suited him as we stood off the rucks aside from the odd clear out from McCarthy. As you say, no platform really.

They are coming over here lads, quick hide!!:p

.ak join the BR world and put your rugby knowledge to the test! :D:cool:

They are coming over here lads, quick hide!!:p

yellow cards and bans to follow! :pac:

should we take a zero tolerance approach? shoot first and ask questions later?!:D