Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O.T.B 2.1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Yeh but we already have the same problem with drugs I myself smoked hash from every day at the age of 14, by legalizing drugs we could make it harder for underage kids to get there hands on drugs that are readily available, wit the tax made from the income of drugs a lot of the money could be pumped into better educating our own society on drugs use and dangers which would hopefully lead to people when they get older being more responsible with there use off all drugs.

All we have to do is look at other cultures relationship with alcohol compared to our own to show it ca be done,, it would take time and money but could be done.

Plus we already have huge amounts of drug addicts on our streets it can't get any worse.

It wouldn't be difficult for kids to get their hands on drugs, I was getting men to buy my mates booze when we were all 12-13. You'll always find one gobshíte willing to get served for you. At least with drugs being illegal, it's harder for kids to get a hold of them than it is for them to get a hold of vodka. I'm no angel, but I wasn't able to get my hands on any illegal drugs til I was about 17, and I live in an area absolutely full of drugs. If it were legal, no doubt I would have started earlier. I had what I'll call a 'problem' with prescription drugs at one point, a type of drug I firmly believe should be criminalized, but I'm certain that if drugs were available to me at a younger age, I'd have had a much bigger problem with them than I ever had with that prescription drug, because I could get my hands on them whenever and as often as I liked, once I found or paid an adult to get them.

There are loads of addicts on the street, yes, but with alcoholism, for example, there are many, MANY more addicts at home, who don't end up on the streets. I can think of 6 alcoholics off the top of my head who I am/was very close to, all of whom are functioning individuals. Drug addiction seems to lead to worse outcomes than alcoholism, but that's not to say it's as prevalent. I'm happy to go get statistics, but statistically, there are far many more alcoholics than drug addicts in Ireland. That, to me, says something.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    It wouldn't be difficult for kids to get their hands on drugs, I was getting men to buy my mates booze when we were all 12-13. You'll always find one gobshíte willing to get served for you. At least with drugs being illegal, it's harder for kids to get a hold of them than it is for them to get a hold of vodka. I'm no angel, but I wasn't able to get my hands on any illegal drugs til I was about 17, and I live in an area absolutely full of drugs. If it were legal, no doubt I would have started earlier. I had what I'll call a 'problem' with prescription drugs at one point, a type of drug I firmly believe should be criminalized, but I'm certain that if drugs were available to me at a younger age, I'd have had a much bigger problem with them than I ever had with that prescription drug, because I could get my hands on them whenever and as often as I liked, once I found or paid an adult to get them.

There are loads of addicts on the street, yes, but with alcoholism, for example, there are many, MANY more addicts at home, who don't end up on the streets. I can think of 6 alcoholics off the top of my head who I am/was very close to, all of whom are functioning individuals. Drug addiction seems to lead to worse outcomes than alcoholism, but that's not to say it's as prevalent. I'm happy to go get statistics, but statistically, there are far many more alcoholics than drug addicts in Ireland. That, to me, says something.

Personally I think its a societal issue with alcohol. It's too much of a black/white, all or nothing issue in Ireland at the moment. I mean look at peoples reactions if you go into a pub and just order a coke instead of a pint or a short.

Prohibition and the 'quit or die' approach seems not to have worked. Most things can have positive aspects provided that they are taken in moderation.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Well see that I guess depends on your surroundings and is down to the individual person experience but by 14 I could easily get my hands on hash, coke, e, speed etc it was probably more readily available to me than alcohol was ;).

Again I knew more people effected by drugs in my youth than I did alcohol as I said I guess it all comes down to individual experiences.

Plus I meant educating people on alcohol and drugs with no preference over the other ;).

Well see that I guess depends on your surroundings and is down to the individual person experience but by 14 I could easily get my hands on hash, coke, e, speed etc it was probably more readily available to me than alcohol was ;).

Again I knew more people effected by drugs in my youth than I did alcohol as I said I guess it all comes down to individual experiences.

That's all just because you're from a kip. :p

*runs*

Plus I meant educating people on alcohol and drugs with no preference over the other ;).

That would be my preference too but sadly there are too many interest groups with too much power in most societies for such a neutral message to be widely presented which means its left to the individual to source the information themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Evenin' all. Not long in...jeez that's a shitty day out there. Really not the ideal weather to be going door to door!! :( Watching NY Ink now, then shower, shave and bed. Another day of it tomorrow. :rolleyes:

Believe me, I feel your pain! At least you can relax with the telly for a bit before bed. :)

I'm keeping an eye out for that tattoo nation docu-film to hit my local cinema, it's meant to get there around the day of my birthday. :D

Yeah its filthy out, went out to the driving range earlier and nearly froze my nads off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭LucyLouLou

If anyone is interested there's a bit on scarification on E4 now, part of the body shocking show, will be on +1 in an hour.

Its nearly d-day time for me im booked in with Remis for my third sitting on my movie piece on Wednesday and I have to decide on the final character to go in, I cant pick just one so hard :(, Iknow for some that will be mad but because this peice is about my love of films its more about the films than individuals if that makes sense, but I cant just pick one :(:eek:.

Narrow it down to two, and get him to give you another appointment to tattoo right down your arse cheek and along your inner thigh, since your ribs are pretty much fully covered now. :pac:

Even narrowing it down to two will be hard, plus this one will cover my arse :pac:, I have Pvt Pile from Full Metal Jacket it so iconic and the Kubrick stare, De Niro or Joe Pesci from Goodfellas love that film and two my favorite actors, Hellboy, the Faun or the eye monster from Pans Labyrinth or Hellboy because I love both films especially the visuals of Del Toro and then Forest Gump well because its Forest Gump.

See have it well narrowed down :(:pac:.

Edit: its also trying to decide what will fit or contrast with what I already have, in Terminator old school action star and sci fi, and in Battle Royale world cinema and one my favorite films.

Even narrowing it down to two will be hard, plus this one will cover my arse :pac:, I have Pvt Pile from Full Metal Jacket it so iconic and the Kubrick stare, De Niro or Joe Pesci from Goodfellas love that film and two my favorite actors, Hellboy, the Faun or the eye monster from Pans Labyrinth or Hellboy because I love both films especially the visuals of Del Toro and then Forest Gump well because its Forest Gump.

Wait, it's literally going to cover your arse? I thought it was only going an inch or two down? Good luck to you driving home after that. :pac:

Ah well you know my opinion on them. :)

I want to get Forrest Gump tattooed now. Actually no. I want Bubba. The shrimp bloke. Damn, I need to watch that film again. :D

Edit: its also trying to decide what will fit or contrast with what I already have, in Terminator old school action star and sci fi, and in Battle Royale world cinema and one my favorite films.

Jaysus, what a choice!!! If I had to pick two, it'd be between Pesci and Pile. But that's just me.

Wait, it's literally going to cover your arse? I thought it was only going an inch or two down? Good luck to you driving home after that. :pac:

Ah well you know my opinion on them. :)

I want to get Forrest Gump tattooed now. Actually no. I want Bubba. The shrimp bloke. Damn, I need to watch that film again. :D

:pac: well yeh it already comes down to just above my waistline he can hardly make the next one that small ;).

Ha I know I will narrow it down still have a few days :pac:, but I know I would love all of them its just trying to decide which one most.

:pac: well yeh it already comes down to just above my waistline he can hardly make the next one that small ;).

Ha I know I will narrow it down still have a few days :pac:, but I know I would love all of them its just trying to decide which one most.

So basically, when I demand you show me your new tattoo, instead of just yanking your top up, you'll have to pull your jocks down? That's not gonna be awkward at all. :pac:

Ah sure just get all of them. :p

...instead of just yanking your top up, you'll have to pull your jocks down? That's not gonna be awkward at all. :pac:

Pfft, as if you'd mind!! :p :pac:

Watching Green Mile on Sky ScFi/Hor. Seen it a dozen times but it's a classic!

I'm a virgin! :eek:

Fecking LOVE the Green Mile. :) One of my top 5 favourite films. :)

Jaysus, what a choice!!! If I had to pick two, it'd be between Pesci and Pile. But that's just me.

Trust you to pick the two psychos :pac:

But I do like the idea of them two a lot

fullmetaljacketbdcap2.jpg

I do also love Joe Pesci and his character in Goodfellas hardest part of that though is finding a truly iconic image of him or even a good psychotic one

joe_pesci.jpg

Then there is Forest Gump

tom-hanks-forrest-gump-image.jpg

Looking at them three the Pvt Pyle one is so cool and creepy and so iconic hmmm.

Green Mile what a film one them films you just never tire of watching :).

@eso for that comment either your nose just grew a few mile or your going to burn in hell :P.

Green Mile what a film one them films you just never tire of watching :).

@eso for that comment either your nose just grew a few mile or your going to burn in hell :P.

I'm going to murder you...

I'm a virgin! :eek:

BAAA-HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :pac:
    Fecking LOVE the Green Mile. :) One of my top 5 favourite films. :)

Yeah, it's class!

Aye!

1338322964-politifact_photos_tom-pantsonfire-xport4_.gif

BAAA-HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :pac:

Yeah, it's class!

Aye!

1338322964-politifact_photos_tom-pantsonfire-xport4_.gif

I AM. I'm just recycled. Fcuk sake. :(

Yeah, WELL recycled!!! :eek: :p

*runs like fook*

Yeah, WELL recycled!!! :eek: :p

*runs like fook*

Scuse you! Only recycled like, 3 times ffs! I'm a lot more innocent than you lot seem to believe!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Marty something from Casino might work better for pesci. Same type of character but there's more psycho style shots.

Gun to the head I'd probably pick pile especially since he'll be so close to your gun.

Scuse you! Only recycled like, 3 times ffs! I'm a lot more innocent than you lot seem to believe!

I believe ya. ;)

Feck this. I'm wrecked. Gonna bed. Talk to ye, be safe out there tomorrow. :)

I believe ya. ;)

Feck this. I'm wrecked. Gonna bed. Talk to ye, be safe out there tomorrow. :)

Sweet dreams, ya cnut. :pac: :p

Shocked.jpg

Orim wrote: »
    Marty something from Casino might work better for pesci. Same type of character but there's more psycho style shots.

Gun to the head I'd probably pick pile especially since he'll be so close to your gun.

Yeh I tired casino its still hard to get a god clean image of him looking psychotic.

:pac::pac: do like your reasoning on PVT Pyle though.